Hauora Māori - Māori Health Intensive


Philson Library Home


 

Key Resources
   Māori Health Intensive Course E-book
   Ngāti Whatua Case Study
   Marae Visit Resources
   Te Reo Māori: Māori Language Resources
   Pepeha Resources
   E-poster Resources
   Williams Model
   Racism
   Ethnicity/Ancestry
   Treaty of Waitangi Resources
   Māori Health Data Resources
   Quality of Care

Health Issue Resources
   Asthma
   Cellulitis
   Diabetes
   Depression
   Lung cancer
   Teen pregnancy

Referencing and Plagiarism


 

Megan Clark



Subject Librarian, Philson Library Manager
mp.clark@auckland.ac.nz

ph. (09) 3737599 ext. 86130

Philson Information Services Staff

Contact us for assistance or to report broken links.

 


Key Resources



Māori Health Intensive Course E-book

To view the Māori Health Intensive course e-book click here or on the image below:

Maori Health Intensive Course E-book

up

Ngāti Whatua Case Study

up

Marae Visit Resources

up

Te Reo Māori: Māori Language Resources

  • Te Reo Māori
  • Karakia/Prayer: Whakataka te Hau
  • Kōrero Māori
    Māori language pronounciation with voice recordings of the vowel sounds.
  • Hika
    Links to an App with interactive activities and voice recordings for te reo Māori. An easy way to learn and practice basic pepeha, greetings and sentence structures.
  • Māori Dictionary Online
    Look up a Māori word (as you type in English the Māori equivalent comes up). An excellent way to identify if a Māori word is spelt correctly or has a macron (tohutō) indicating a short or long vowel sound.
  • 100 words in te reo Māori
    100 words every New Zealander should know. Voice recordings and words are grouped by category eg, the marae, concepts, people and their groups, components of place names, greetings, body parts.

up

Pepeha Resources

up

E-poster Resources

up

Williams Model

  • Williams DR. Race and health: basic questions, emerging directions. Annals of Epidemiology 1997;(7): 322-333.
    Full text

up

Racism

  • Jones CP. Levels of racism: a theoretic framework and a gardener's tale. American Journal of Public Health 2000;90(8):1212-1215.
    Full text

up

Ethnicity/Ancestry

  • Workshop 4: Identity (powerpoint)
  • Ministry of Health. 2004. Ethnicity Data Protocols for the Health and Disability Sector. Wellington: Ministry of Health.
    Full text

up

Treaty of Waitangi Resources

  • History Group of the New Zealand Ministry for Culture and Heritage. Treaty of Waitangi. In: New Zealand History online. Nga korero aipurangi o Aotearoa.(n.d.)
    Full text
  • Network Waitangi. Treaty of Waitangi: questions and answers. 3rd rev. ed. Christchurch (NZ): Network Waitangi Otautahi;2008.
    Full text

up

Māori Health Data Resources

  • Ministry of Health. Tatau Kahukura: Māori health chart book 2010. Wellington (NZ) : Ministry of Health, 2010.
    Full text
  • Robson B, Harris R, editors, Hauora, Māori standards of health IV: A study of the years, 2000-2005. Wellington (N.Z): Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare; 2007.
    Full Text (hard copies can be requested for free).
    Library catalogue (for hard copies in the Library).

up

Quality of Healthcare

  • Rumball-Smith JML. Not in my hospital? Ethnic disparities in quality of hospital care in New Zealand: a narrative review of the evidence. New Zealand Medical Journal 2009;122(1297): 68-83.
    Full text
  • Smedley BD, Stith AY, Nelson AR. Unequal treatment: confronting racial and ethnic disparities in health care. Washington DC: National Academy Press; 2003.
    Library catalogue


Health Issue Resources



Asthma

  • Crengle S, Pink R, Pitama S. Respiratory disease. In: Robson B, Harris R editors. Hauora: Māori standards of health IV. a study of the years 2000-2005. Wellington (NZ): Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare; 2007.
    Full text
  • Davidson and Sheikh. Davidson E, Sheikh A. Tackling ethnic variations in asthma outcomes in New Zealand's Māori and Pacific children will need a long-term strategy. Primary Care Respiratory Journal. 2013;22(3):269-70. http://dx.doi.org/10.4104/pcrj.2013.00076
    Full text
  • Gillies TD, Tomlin AM, Dovey SM, Tilyard MW. Ethnic disparities in asthma treatment and outcomes in children aged under 15 years in New Zealand: analysis of national databases. Primary Care Respiratory Journal. 2013;22(3):312-8. http://dx.doi.org/10.4104/pcrj.2013.00068
    Full text

Cellulitis

  • Koea JB, Beban GR. Indigenous child health in New Zealand: some surgical issues. Journal of Paediatrics & Child Health. 2010;46(9):466-70. doi:10.1111/j.1440-1754.2010.01852.x
    Full text
  • O'Sullivan C, Baker M, Zhang J. Increasing hospitalizations for serious skin infections in New Zealand children, 1990–2007. Epidemiology & Infection. 2011;139(11):1794-804. http://dx.doi.org/10.1017/S0950268810002761
    Full text
  • Vogel AM, Lennon DR, Gray S, Farrell E, Anderson P. Registered nurse assessment and treatment of skin sepsis in New Zealand schools: the development of protocols. New Zealand Medical Journal. 2013;126(1380):27-38.
    Full text

Diabetes

  • Harwood M, Tipene-Leach D. Diabetes. In: Robson B, Harris R editors. Hauora: Māori standards of health IV: a study of the years 2000-2005. Wellington (NZ): Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare; 2007.
    Full text
  • Hotu C, Bagg W, Collins J, Harwood L, Whalley G, Doughty R, et al. A community-based model of care improves blood pressure control and delays progression of proteinuria, left ventricular hypertrophy and diastolic dysfunction in Māori and Pacific patients with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease: a randomized controlled trial. Nephrology, Dialysis, Transplantation 2010;25:3260-3266. http://dx.doi.org/10.1093/ndt/gfq168
    Full Text
  • Kenealy TW, Eggleton KS, Robinson EM, Sheridan NF. Systematic care to reduce ethnic disparities in diabetes care. Diabetes Research and Clinical Practice 2010;89(3):256-261. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.diabres.2010.05.003
    Full text


Depression

  • Clark T, Robinson E, Crengle S, Fleming T, Ameratunga S, Denny S, et al. Risk and protective factors for suicide attempt among indigenous Māori youth in New Zealand: The role of family connection. Journal of Aboriginal Health. 2011;March:16-31.
    Full text
  • Fitzpatrick SJ, Kerridge IH. Challenges to a more open discussion of suicide. Medical Journal of Australia. 2013;198(9):470-1. doi: 10.5694/mja12.11540
    Full text
  • Paradies YC, Cunningham J. The DRUID study: exploring mediating pathways between racism and depressive symptoms among indigenous Australians. Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology. 2012;47(2):165-73. doi: 10.1007/s00127-010-0332-x
    Full text
  • Robertson L, Skegg K, Poore M, Williams S, Taylor B. An adolescent suicide cluster and the possible role of electronic communication technology. Crisis: Journal of Crisis Intervention & Suicide. 2012;33(4):239-45. doi: 10.1027/0227-5910/a000140
    Full text


Lung Cancer

  • Johnston V, Westphal DW, Glover M, Thomas DP, Segan C, Walker N. Reducing smoking among indigenous populations: new evidence from a review of trials. Nicotine & Tobacco Research. 2013;15(8):1329-38.
    Full text
  • Robson B, Cormack D, Purdie G. Unequal impact II: Māori and non-Māori cancer statistics by deprivation and rural-urban status 2002-2006. Wellington (NZ): Ministry of Health; 2010.
    Full text
  • Stevens W, Murray M. Barriers to the early diagnosis of lung cancer and recommended best practice solutions, with particular reference to maori and pacific peoples. Australasian Epidemiologist 2010;17(3):11-5.
    Full text


up

Teen Pregnancy

  • Grigg CP, Tracy SK. New Zealand's unique maternity system. Women & Birth: Journal of the Australian College of Midwives. 2013;26(1):e59-64. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.wombi.2012.09.006
    Full text
  • Ratima M, Crengle S. Antenatal, labour, and delivery care for Māori: experiences, location within a lifecourse approach, and knowledge gaps. Pimatisiwin: A Journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous Community Health. 2013;10(353-366).
    Full text
  • Makowharemahihi C, Lawton BA, Cram F, Ngata T, Brown S, Robson B. Initiation of maternity care for young Maori women under 20 years of age. New Zealand Medical Journal. 2014;127(1393):52-61.
    Full text


Referencing and Plagiarism


Copyright: Readings may only be used for the University's educational purposes. You may print a copy for your own use, but you may not make a further copy for any other purpose. You may not copy or distribute any part of the reading to any other person. Failure to comply with these terms may expose you to legal action for copyright infringement and/or disciplinary action by the University.


Contact: Megan Clark
Upated: July 15, 2014