Flexible Library Service for the Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences

Philson Library | Te Herenga Hauora

Philson Library Home  |  Tamaki Library Home

Designed for students enrolled in courses recognised as being delivered “flexibly"; may be extended (at the discretion of the Philson Library Manager) to students enrolled in other courses, if they live outside the greater Auckland region (i.e. outside the region from Warkworth to Waiuku).
This service supports flexible learning by:

  • Sending you (by courier) books and other resources held in the University of Auckland (UoA) Library system
  • Sending you (by email attachment) copies of journal articles and chapters of books held in the UoA Library system
  • Allowing you to request books or articles not available in the UoA Library system (Interlibrary Loans)
  • Giving assistance in how to use Library services and resources
  • Providing advice on how to conduct literature searches to find information on a topic

Registration is necessary to use the Flexible Service; there are no charges for the service (except urgent requests and some interlibrary loan requests for long documents).


Registration
Online Access to Electronic Library Resources
Resources Not Available Online
Obtaining Books
Obtaining Book Chapters
Obtaining Journal Articles
Obtaining Books or Articles Not Held (Interlibrary Loan)

 

How Is Material Delivered To Me?
How Do I Return Material to The Library?
How Do I Renew Items On Loan To Me?
Fines For Items Returned After The Due Date
How Do I Pay Charges And Fines?
Philson Library Flexible Service Contacts
Training and Help

 

Registration

Complete the Library Flexible Service registration form. Not all courses are eligible for Flexible Services, but Library staff will e-mail confirmation of your eligibility status within a short time.

(Note: Course codes eligible for Flexible Services are: K, KA, N, O, R, X, Z. Ineligible codes are: C, E, H, J, LM, M, T, Y, V. Library staff will check your course code for you when you apply to register.)

At the start of a year, if you are enrolled in only Semester 1 course(s), registration will last until the end of Semester 1 that year; if you then enrol in one or more Semester 2 courses, you will need to re-register.

Online Access to Electronic Library Resources

The Library website provides online access to many electronic services and resources useful for study - e.g. LibrarySearch, databases, e-journals, e-books, request forms. Access all these from anywhere - log in with NetID and NetPassword when prompted.

  • Students will receive your NetID and NetPassword in your letter of enrolment. Any problems please contact an Information Commons Helpdesk ichelpdesk@auckland.ac.nz; 09-3737-599 ext 82300 or 82333. 
  • Staff can obtain a NetID and NetPassword from ITS servicedesk@auckland.ac.nz; 09-3737-599 ext 85100.

Contact Philson's Information Services staff if you need assistance with: using LibrarySearch; accessing and searching databases; accessing articles in e-journals; or any other library resources or services.

Resources Not Available Online

Some resources are not available electronically - e.g. print books; articles in journals for which we have a print subscription but no electronic subscription; some audiovisual material; etc. Or, you may need resources which are not held by the University of Auckland Library system. The Flexible Service can deliver these types of resources to registered students.

Obtaining Books

Find books on your topic by searching either LibrarySearch - Catalogue tab or Voyager catalogue (both linked under Find at top left of the Library website).

If you need further assistance finding books, contact Information Services staff.

Request delivery of the book(s) you want:

a) You found the book using LibrarySearch:

If it says EITHER Available at Philson Library (or General Library, Tamaki Library etc) OR On Loan
It is a print book. To have it courriered to you:

  • click the Request link, sign in with NetID and Password if prompted. (Sign In link is at top right).
  • in the dropdown form, you MUST select Flexible Medical as the Pickup Location.
  • click the orange button.
  • Note: if it says On Loan, the book will take longer to reach you as we must first ask for it to be returned.

If it just says Available, it is an e-book, click the View online link to read the book on screen.

b) You found the book using Voyager:

  • Open the Voyager record (this gives full details of the book).
  • Scroll down and note the Status - it may say On loan or Renewed or Available or Returned. (Note: some books are available online; click the Link to e-Book to read the book on screen).
  • Click the Recall/Intercampus button (towards top of the Voyager record), login with NetID and Password
  • If the book is Available or Returned  choose Intercampus Delivery from the dropdown menu, complete the form. OR, if the book is On loan or Renewed  choose Recall from the dropdown menu, complete the form.
  • In the Comment box, enter your courier delivery address - must be a street address, not Private Bag or PO Box.
  • At REMEMBER to select a pickup location, you MUST select Flexible-Medical.
  • Click Submit Request.

Notes:

  • Some library materials may NOT be available via the Flexible Service, e.g. reference-only items, short loan and some special collection material. Photocopies of specific pages may be possible - see Obtaining Book Chapters.
  • Please check the Due Date (stamped inside books sent to you), as loan periods vary. Overdue items incur fines of 25 cents per day. 
  • Recalls: If another borrower needs a book you have, we will ask you to return it before its original Due Date. This is called a Recall.  Recalled books should be returned as close as possible to the new Recall Due Date or they will incur fines of $3.00 per day. You are advised to courier these to us at your own cost to avoid  fines. See also How do I return material to the library?

Obtaining Book Chapters

Request a copy of a single chapter/section of a book:

a) You found the book using LibrarySearch:

If it says EITHER Available at Philson Library (or General Library, Tamaki Library etc) OR On Loan
It is a print book. To have a single chapter sent to you (scanned and sent via email):

  • click the Request link, sign in with NetID and Password if prompted. (Sign In link is at top right).
  • in the dropdown form, click the Specify an issue button and give details of chapter title, author, pages.
  • you MUST select Flexible Medical as the Pickup Location.
  • click the orange button.
  • Note: if it says On Loan, the chapter will take longer to reach you as we must first ask for the book to be returned.
  • If you have any problems, email philson.iclds@auckland.ac.nz

If it just says Available, it is an e-book, click the View online link to read the book/chapter on screen.

b) You found the book using Voyager:

  • Open the Voyager record (this gives full details of the book).
  • Scroll down and note the Status - it must say Available or Returned (this service is not possible if the book is On loan or Renewed).
  • Click the Recall/Intercampus button (towards top of the Voyager record), login with NetID and Password.
  • Choose Intercampus Delivery from the dropdown menu.
  • In the OR specify an article or chapter section,give details of chapter title, author, pages.
  • In the Comment box, enter your courier delivery address - must be a street address, not Private Bag or PO Box (but note that the chapter will probably be delivered as an email attachment).
  • At REMEMBER to select a pickup location, you MUST select Flexible-Medical.
  • Click Submit Request.
  • If you have any problems, email philson.iclds@auckland.ac.nz.

Obtaining Journal Articles

Find articles on your topic:

You may find articles by doing a database search (contact Philson Information Services staff for assistance); or you may find details of articles in some other way, e.g. in a reading list.

1. You are searching a database and wish to read the full text of some of the articles without leaving the database.

  • In many cases, you will be able to get the full text of articles online from within the database - look for any links to Full Text or PDF or click the button next to a result.
  • Links to one or more providers from whom the article is available are listed, click to go to the full text; print the article for yourself.
  • If you can't get to the full text, follow steps in (2) below.

2. You cannot get to the full text of an article when you click the Find Full Text button.

  • Email, print or save article details.
  • Go to the Library website.
  • Click on Voyager (linked under Find at top left of the Library website).
  • Click on Main Voyager Search List (button at top left).
  • In the Search for: box, type the title of the journal in which the article was published.
  • In the Search in: menu, choose Serial Title, click Search.
  • If the library subscribes to the journal, you will find the Voyager record for it; this will show details of electronic and print volumes held.

If there are electronic holdings of the year/volume/issue in which your article was published, click the Link to: link, navigate to the article online and print it.

If there are only print holdings, complete a request for delivery via the Flexible Service:

  • Click the Recall/Intercampus button (towards top of the Voyager record), login with NetID and Password.
  • Choose Intercampus Delivery from the dropdown menu.
  • In the OR specify an article or chapter section, give details of author, article title, volume, issue, pages.
  • At REMEMBER to select a pickup location, you MUST select Flexible-Medical.
  • Click Submit Request; the article will be sent as an email attachment.
  • If you get the message "Your search returned no results" or "0 results" it means that the library has no holdings of that journal (but check your spelling of the journal title!) You can ask for an Interlibrary Loan (we try to obtain the article from another library).
  • If you have any problems, email philson.iclds@auckland.ac.nz.

3. The database you used does not have Find Full Text links, or you obtained article details in some other way (e.g. a reading list or other list of references).

  • Go to the Library website
  • Click on the Articles & more tab in LibrarySearch (top link in list at left)
  • Type (or copy and paste) an article title into the search box, click Search
  • If the article you want is among the results, click the View online link
  • Links to one or more providers from whom the article is available are listed; click to go to the full text and print the article for yourself.
  • If the article is not available via Articles & more, go through the steps in (2) above, checking Voyager for electronic/print holdings, and requesting the article if there are only print holdings.

Obtaining Books or Articles Not Held by the Library (Interlibrary Loan)

If a book or journal you want is not held by any University of Auckland Library, we can usually obtain a copy for you from elsewhere.

How Is Material Delivered To Me?

Journal articles and book chapters are usually scanned as PDFs, and sent to your student email address (NetID@aucklanduni.ac.nz). Please check this regularly. Copies are supplied in accordance with copyright restrictions (No more than one article from one issue of a journal may be obtained at any one time, or two articles if they are on the same topic. Articles may be requested for research or private study). There is no charge (except urgent and some very long articles from overseas).

Books and audiovisual material are couriered to the address you supplied with your request. Courier delivery is not available in the weekends; deliveries collected by the courier on a Friday are not usually delivered until the following week.

How Do I Return Material To The Library?

To avoid fines, renew borrowed items or return them to the Library by the due date (or the new due date for recalled items).

You are responsible for the cost of returning borrowed items. You may return books to the Library in person, or by post, using the return address label provided. It is recommended that recalled items be returned by courier to avoid overdue fines.

How Do I Renew Items On Loan To Me?

Renew your borrowed items on LibrarySearch.

  • Click Sign In (top right).
  • Log in with NetID and Password.
  • Click My Library Account (top right).
  • Find the List of Active Loans (books currently on loan to you).
  • Tick the Renew link at right of any book(s) you wish to renew; it will change to Success if your renewal is allowed.

 

Fines for Items Returned After The Due Date

You are liable for the same fees as other Library members:  

  • 25c per day for each overdue 28- and 60-day loan.
  • $3.00 per day for each overdue recalled item.
  • Items more than a month overdue are presumed lost and clients will be charged for replacement cost plus a $15.00 administration fee per item.
  • Failure to pay fines or return books will result in temporary withdrawal of borrowing privileges. See the fines information on the Library Lending Services Information page for more details.

How Do I Pay Charges And Fines?

When signed in to My Library Account in LibrarySearch , check the List of Active Loans for due dates for your loans, and view any fines you owe. You may pay fines by post or in person. When paying by post, remember to include your full name and ID number, and to indicate what the payment is for. Make cheques payable to “University of Auckland”. Post payment to Patrick Graham (details in Library Flexible Service Contacts).

Philson Library Flexible Service Contacts

For queries about registration, using the request forms, or delivery of material, please contact:
  Patrick Graham       ph (09) 3737599 ext 86125;  Fax (09) 3737491;  email philson.iclds@auckland.ac.nz

For queries about library resources, e.g. using LibrarSearch, searching databases, accessing e-journals, please contact  Philson Library Information Services staff:

Sue Foggin ph (09) 3737599 ext 86123 email: sm.foggin@auckland.ac.nz
Lorraine Nielsen ph (09) 3737599 ext 86158 email: lm.nielsen@auckland.ac.nz
Anne Wilson  ph (09) 3737599 ext 86126 email: a.wilson@auckland.ac.nz
Fran Clements ph (09) 3737599 ext 89121 email: f.clements@auckalnd.ac.nz
Laura Armstrong ph (09) 3737599 ext 86132 email: l.armstrong@auckland.ac.nz

           

Postal address for all the library staff above:

Philson Library
Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences
The University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019, Auckland Mail Centre
Auckland 1142

Training & Help

  • Book a consultation with Information Services staff at Philson Library for when you are in Auckland - email or phone to arrange a time that suits.
  • Information Services staff can also assist you over the phone. Arrange a time for us to call you.
  • Try the Information Skills Online tutorial.
  • You can also complete an electronic Ask a Librarian form (under Find on on the Library website).

 


Contact: Sue Foggin
Updated: 22 February, 2011