Mathematics and Statistics

Michael Parkinson  MA (Hons), MLIS, BSc, RLIANZA
Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, & Physics
Supporting individual research and teaching needs
Available most hours at:
Room M13, Level M, General Library
University of Auckland, 5 Alfred Street, Auckland
      Private Bag 92019
      Auckland Mail Centre, Auckland 1142

Phone: +64 9 3737599 ext. 85858
m.parkinson@auckland.ac.nz

Maths Resources || Statistics Resources

   

Other subject librarians

Other Web Pages

Student IT essentials (everything you need to know about IT services and support at The University of Auckland)

Department of Mathematics

Department of Statistics

Voyager, the Library Catalogue

Library Search

Science Information Services

Aims: To support, facilitate, and enhance the research, study, and teaching activities of the graduate students, academic staff, and researchers.
If you don’t know which resource to use, or how to use it, ask your Subject Librarian.

Core Guide

Your Subject Librarian offers the following services:

Research Consultation
Designing a search strategy
Using electronic resources
Managing your citations and bibliography
One-on-one training with resources applicable to your area of research
Current Awareness
The results from personally tailored database searches (e.g. Scopus, Web of Science), emailed to you weekly/monthly/daily
Collection management
You may recommend the purchase of library materials through your Subject Librarian
Database tutorials
Tutorials can be arranged in advance for your postgraduate class.   Resources include ...
Subject-Specific Resources
MathSciNet; Zentralblatt MATH Database; MathEduc (aka MATHDI)
Relevant Full-text Resources, including e-books
SpringerLink; ScienceDirect; CRCnetBASE
Multidisciplinary Scientific Resources
Scopus ; Web of Science; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (formerly Digital Dissertations)
Citation Searching & bibliometrics
Scopus ; Web of Science; MathSciNet; Journal Citation Reports; ResearcherID
Other enquiry-specific resources, as required, including
New Zealand Time Series; Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts; Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (Stats150); Biological Abstracts; ERIC; Medline; FSTA, Food Science & Technology Abstracts; IEEE Xplore; INSPEC; EndNote; and many other resources on request … including books!

The subject librarian service is free for staff and students — to help you get the most out of the Library, its resources, and its services.

Back to the Library homepage

Link to to Subject Guides -- Mathematics   ||   Subject Guides -- Statistics   ||  Subject Guides -- Physics

Comments and suggestions to: Michael Parkinson (Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, and Physics)
Last updated: 2011-08-29