INTERNET GATEWAY : MATHEMATICS
Mathematics - Select an Internet Category... ------------------------------------------- Guide to Library services and resources Mathematics and Statistics: Subject Librarian Maths Databases NEW BOOKS of potential interest Other Mathematics resources Internet search engines, other libraries, etc
REFERENCES
This page contains links to online dictionaries and the like of potential use for Mathematicians. See also databases; web resources; etc
MathWorld: a searchable quick reference, regularly updated; over 12,000 entries; extensive references. For further details on any topic, consult the bibliographic references at the end of each article. The reference book "CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics", ed. Eric W. Weisstein, 2nd edition, 2003 is a snapshot of this useful website (sponsored by Wolfram).
Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC): the structured index used to categorise MathSciNet and Zentralblatt für Mathematik. The MSC does not define these terms, but does give a taxonomic context of broad terms.
Oxford Reference online. If you know a term will be an entry heading, use the browse button. Search all the references or just . . .
Oxford English Dictionary online searchable version of the full 20-vol set (plus addenda).
Glossary of Signed and Gain Graphs and Allied Areas by Thomas Zaslavsky (Binghamton U, SUNY)
Mathematical Programming Glossary by the INFORMS Computing Society
Sloane's On-Line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences the entry for each sequence gives: the beginning of the sequence; its name or description; any references or links; any formulae; cross-references to other sequences; the name of the person who submitted it, etc.
Link to to Subject Guides -- Mathematics || Subject Guides -- Statistics || Subject Guides -- Physics
Comments and suggestions to: Michael Parkinson (Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, and Physics) Last updated: 2011-08-08