INTERNET   GATEWAY  :  MATHEMATICS

SELECTED   WEBSITES   &   INTERNET   RESOURCES


Key quick references

MacTutor History of Mathematics archive (U. St Andrews, Scotland). An excellent web resource: 28,000 files including 1700 hyperlinked biographies. Entries have references.

Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) codes.

Bibliography of Collected Works and Correspondence of Mathematicians, (Cornell U)

Diversions

Symbolic Sculpture and Mathematics presents the sculptures of John Robinson and examines their links with mathematics and sculpture. From the Centre for the Popularisation of Mathematics.

Mathematical Quotations Server

Erdös Number Project

News from Societies, etc

Preprints/ePrints & Publishing

These can be excellent sources for material — although many items, especially journal articles, will be available directly from our major databases [MathSciNet, Zentralblatt, & Scopus] in full-text.

Mathematics ArXiv is an ongoing resource (over 50,000 items). If it is not successful, try the AMS Directory of Preprint Servers, which includes other broad mathematical preprint servers, subject specific servers,& retired servers. Also check the meta-resource Euler Project.

Publishers/Journals: Math on the Web's list of Mathematics Publishers. For Mathematical journals, see Zentralblatt's Serials & Journals link.

Zentralblatt Serials & Journals link.

Technical reports: The easiest way to find such full-text material is a Scopus web-search or, failing that, Citeseerx or Google Scholar.

A few, specific mathematical topics

Complexity

Conversion of measurements

  • Equplus Online units conversion: calculators for converting many measurements: length, area, volume, energy, mass, etc.
  • Physics: length, weight, temperature.
  • "Xreferplus conversion"
  • Otherwise, use print resources — e.g., "Spillman’s handbook of conversion factors", Gen. Lib, Science Ref. (Level M), 389.152 S75

Education

  • PBS Math: a teacher resource service
  • The EDUCAUSE Information Resources Library.

Equations & typography : Equplus, pages indexing images and LaTeX code for a variety of common equations in Algebra, Calculus, Geometry, Trignometry, etc.

Fractals: Spanky Fractal Database with related material & other sites.

Geometry

  • Geometry in Action: discrete and computational geometry; real world applications (Prof David Eppstein, UC Irvine)
  • Geometry Junkyard: usenet clippings, lecture notes, research excerpts, papers, etc (Prof David Eppstein, UC Irvine)

Matrices: Mathematics at the NIST, the US National Institute of Standards and Technology, including MatrixMarket (repository of test data & tools, featuring nearly 500 sparse matrices from a variety of applications)

Primes

Software: Mathematics at the NIST, the US National Institute of Standards and Technology, including Guide to Available Mathematics Software

Topology: British Topology Home Page (Andrew Baker, U. Glasgow).


Link to to Subject Guides -- Mathematics   ||   Subject Guides -- Statistics   ||  Subject Guides -- Physics

File last updated: 25 November, 2013. Comments and suggestions to: Michael Parkinson (Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, and Physics)