INTERNET   GATEWAY  :  MATHEMATICS

DATABASES for MATHEMATICS

ACCESS

 

SUBJECT-SPECIFIC DATABASES

Campus

MathSciNet is a key mathematical resource produced by the AMS, indexing some 2½ million items: books, papers from books, conferences, and journals, etc. Some 100,000 are added each year, of which 40% are reviewed. It also includes links to subsequent citations for some items.

Campus  

Zentralblatt MATH database is also a key mathematical resource that indexes and reviews books, papers in journals & conferences, etc.  The coverage is now from 1868 to the present; with 3.0 million items indexed. Zentralblatt classifies all its items under the MSC 2000 codes.

Campus   MathEduc, ormerly known as MATHDI, edited by Gesellschaft für Didaktik der Mathematik (GDM), MathEduc is an international reference database covering the literature on research, theory and practice in mathematics education.
Access to the Full-Text e-versions: (1) Click the "WorldCat" button.
(2) If that does not work, check individual book or journal titles in the Library's catalogue ... or contact your Subject Librarian for assistance. Unfortunately there are many full-text items for which the "WorldCat" button does not work.
 

FULL-TEXT resources

Campus  

SpringerLinkfull-text online access to over 20,000 books and 2000 journals ... primarily published by Springer-Verlag (a major publisher in Maths & Stats), but also including titles from Birkhauser, Karger, & others — full-text searchable! Most of the books are also listed in the Library Catalogue.
The Library does not have the complete SpringerLink content. Access is shown by a box beside each reference with three following options: If the box is filled with green, then there is access to it all; if it is half-filled then there is access to some; and if it is white there is no access.

Campus  

ScienceDirect a publisher's full-text delivery system to over 2000 Elsevier journals, mostly in the sciences; also some full-text books.  ScienceDirect classifies over 100 journals as mathematical.  Has an Alert service. — full-text searchable!

Campus   MATHnetBASEfull-text online access over 500 books, published by CRC; the search interface was significantly upgraded in 2010. You may browse an individual title or search across all Mathematical titles. For an even broader search of all CRC ebooks, use CRCnetBASE instead (over 7,700 titles) — full-text searchable!
Campus   JSTOR: an archive of scholarly journal literature, including 20-odd titles in Mathematics — with a few more in Statistics; Education; History of Science, etc.
 

MUTIDISCIPLINARY databases — usually with some full-text links

Campus  

Scopus provides abstracts and references to over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals (across more than 4,000 publishers), many with direct links to the electronic full-text version. Citation data available from 1996 onwards. It has over 36 million items, with a strong emphasis on the Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, & Social Sciences. It also indexes over 310 million scientific web-pages. Has an Alert service.

Campus  

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation database indexing 48 million items: primarily journal articles from over 10,000 journals in all subjects; also conference proceedings.  Search options include: author, topic (i.e., keywords), the cited articles/books.  Citation data is now available from 1898 onwards. Has an Alert service.

Campus  

Project Euclid: a searchable collection of abstracted Mathematical & Statistical journals, most of which are available in full-text.

Campus  

ProQuest Dissertations & These database (formerly know as Digital Dissertations): some dissertations/theses are available in full-text. Currently, about 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses added annually.

Campus   ADT: Australasian Digital Theses Program: currently indexes over 130,000 dissertations/theses in ALL subjects. Currently only some 10,000 are available electronically, but many member institutions have an active digitisation programme.
 

Further databases for Mathematical Education

Campus  

ERIC indexes, with abstracts, articles from over 750 journals; also conference papers, research reports, surveys, descriptions and evaluations of programmes, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, etc.  Has an Alert service.

Campus  

AEI : Australian Education Index, produced by the Australian Council for Educational Research Coverage, indexes and abstracts articles from published & unpublished material at all levels of education and related fields.

Campus  

PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, indexes and abstracts over 1800 journals from over 50 countries, as well as English-language books & book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations.  Has an Alert service.

There are many more resources (PsycBOOKS, Oxford English Dictionary online, etc.); some may be appropriate for your research topic.  Staff & Postgraduate students should contact the Mathematics & Statistics Subject Librarian for a research consultation.

Link to to Subject Guides -- Mathematics   ||   Subject Guides -- Statistics   ||  Subject Guides -- Physics

Comments and suggestions to: Michael Parkinson (Subject Librarian: Mathematics, Statistics, and Physics)
Last updated: 2011-08-08