M A R I N E   S C I E N C E
 

Refer to InfoQuest: the online guide to finding journal articles when using these databases.

Core Marine Science Databases | Other Databases | New Zealand Databases

 
Access   DATABASE - Arranged by Relevance
 

Core Marine Science Databases

Campus

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
International database on science, technology and the management of marine, brackish and freshwater environments

Campus Biological Abstracts
Covers biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology
Internet FishBase
Contains information on over 28,100 species, 78,300 synonyms, 152,900 common names, 35,300 pictures, and 31,200 references. Entries include family, order, class, English name, distribution, biology, environment, climate zone, and additional information.
Campus SCOPUS 
Provides citations, abstracts and references covering 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from 4,000 publishers. It includes approximately 27 million abstracts. Subjects covered are Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and General Science.
Campus

Science Citation Index/Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (1990-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1995-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1995-). Records include an article's cited reference list or bibliography.
Campus Antarctic Bibliography
Published by the American Geological Institute with contributions from the Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge, Antarctic Bibliography covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.
Campus Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
Published by the American Geological Institute, and funded in part by the National Science Foundation and the U. S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory, the Bibliography includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.
 

Other Databases

Campus

SciFinder
The online version of Chemical Abstracts. Covering biotechnology, medicine agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, and food science, 1907 to the present.

Campus
JSTOR
JSTOR  (Journal Storage Project) is an archive of scholarly journal literature, with over 80 digitised full text journals. Includes Ecology and Botany collections.

Campus

 

Journal Citation Reports/Impact Factors
Content: covers journals in areas of science and technology. Contains publication data, accumulating and tabulating citation and article counts. Coverage: 1999-2000.

Campus ELS: Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Content: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Clinical Medicine, Developmental Biology, Diversity of Life, Ecology, Evolution, Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Structural Biology and Virology, with many related areas such as Bioethics, Pharmacology, Physiology, Theoretical Biology etc.
Campus Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This database provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. 

Campus

 

MathSciNet
A key mathematical resource produced by the A.M.S. Currently it reviews 1600 journals & serials (and new books, conference proceedings, etc.) with 47,000 reviews added per year. All reviews (from 1940 onwards) are now available in PDF.

Campus Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.  Subject emphasis is in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, coverage 1982 - present.
Campus ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
An essential database for all MSc and PhD students, providing bibliographic citations and abstracts from all subject areas for doctoral dissertations and masters’ theses completed at over 1000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
   
 

New Zealand Databases

Campus
NZ Science
A comprehensive index of New Zealand Science, provided by The Crown Research Institutes.  Searches can be restricted to all or any of the following: NIWA, Landcare, HortResearch, Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences (IGNS) and the Forest Bibliography.
Campus Ocean Gateway
Wade Doak's Ocean Gateway is a collection of works (text, images, maps and charts) described by Wade as 'an accumulation of diver observation over four decades'. Ocean Gateway contains seven eBooks abundantly illustrating what is undeniably New Zealand's most diverse living community, the Poor Knights Islands.
Campus New Zealand Antarctic Bibliography
Contains resources compiled from a wide range of sources about Antarctica and the Southern Ocean and Antarctica New Zealand.
Campus
Index New Zealand: INNZ  
INNZ indexes nearly 300 journals and newspapers. It is the key New Zealand database for social sciences, arts, humanities and general interest material. 
Campus
Newztext
Contains the fulltext of all the major daily New Zealand newspapers. While newspaper articles are not always suitable for scientific essays they do provide a good overview and background to a topic.  Newspapers also give general public opinion on a topic (especially a controversial topic).
Campus Te Puna: the New Zealand National Bibliographic database
Includes library catalogue records from all NZ Universities and other tertiary institutes, public libraries, CRI libraries, corporate libraries.  A useful database for checking the availability of publictions elsewhere in NZ.
Campus The Auckland Regional Council (ARC) Information Centre Database
Includes records of books, newspaper clippings, reports and journal articles, 1987 onwards.It covers information relating to regional and local government, planning, resource management, environment, heritage, transport and parks.

Comments to John Lavas
Last updated: 18 April, 2011