Leigh Marine Laboratory Library

Collection


Leigh Marine Laboratory Library / Collection

Index


Subject Areas Covered
Books
Serials
Theses

Reference Collection
Electronic Resources
Suggestions for Purchase

Previous PageTop of Page

Subject Areas Covered

The Leigh Marine Laboratory collects material, in various formats, in the following subject areas:

  • Marine Biology
  • Marine Ecology
  • Physiology
  • Oceanography
  • Meteorology

The Leigh Marine Laboratory Library's collections principally consist of monographs (also known as books) and serials (also referred to as journals or periodicals), articles, theses on marine subjects (the bulk of them written by students at Leigh), atlases, microform, videos, and electronic products such as subscriptions to online databases.

Material is collected according to the criteria laid out in the Collection Development Policy.

Previous PageTop of Page

Books

Most books in the Leigh Library are arranged on the shelves according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System.

New books are displayed for two weeks on the serials display shelves at Leigh.

To locate Leigh Library books, use Voyager, the Library's online catalogue. If you are not sure whether you are looking for book, serial, thesis, etc., refer to the guide to Interpreting References.

Previous PageTop of Page

Serials

Serials are shelved in alphabetical title order. To locate Leigh Library serials, use Voyager, the Library's online catalogue. If you are not sure whether you are looking for book, serial, thesis, etc., refer to the guide to Interpreting References.

Previous PageTop of Page

Theses

The Leigh Library holds PhD and MSc theses written by students from the Leigh Marine Laboratory.

Theses are stored on the thesis shelves to the left of the serial collection in alphabetical order by the author's surname.

To locate particular Leigh Library theses, use Voyager the Library's online catalogue, or the Theses and Dissertations link. If you wish to scan theses chronologically, use the Marine Theses pages. If you are not sure whether you are looking for book, serial, thesis, etc., refer to the guide to Interpreting References.

Previous PageTop of Page

Reference Collection

The Leigh Library has a small Reference Collection which includes :

  • dictionaries
  • bibliographies
  • abstracts
  • indexes
  • encyclopaedias
  • standard science reference texts

Reference Collection items may only be used in the Library. This allows all users greater access to Reference material.

Previous PageTop of Page

Electronic Resources

The Leigh Library provides access to The Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) database. The General Library provides access to a number of Web based information databases.

A number of pamphlets have been produced to help staff and students to make better use of the Library's resources and services. These should be available in the Leigh Library, and many of these are also online. Database guides are available from the connect pages.

Previous PageTop of Page
Suggestions for Purchase

All staff, postgrad and undergrad students of the University are able to  recommend books for purchase by the University Library : 

Previous PageTop of Page

  Leigh Image 1
Leigh Image 3

Contact: John Lavas