Māori and Pasifika Services

Mātauranga Māori Collection


Māori and Pasifika Services / Mātauranga Māori Collection

Location

Level G
General Library,
5 Alfred St,
Auckland City.

Previous PageTop of Page

Introduction and Philosophy of the Collection

The Mātauranga Māori Collection was created in 2002 in its current location on the north side of Level G in the General Library, drawing on Māori material from the New Zealand and Pacific Collection and the Department of Māori Studies Library, Te Huka-ā-tai.

It is a show-case research collection that provides a focus for researchers of Māori topics.

The development of the collection coincided with the establishment of the Māori Services Team who are based at offices near the Mātauranga Māori area of Level G.

Previous PageTop of Page

Description of Collection

The Mātauranga Māori Collection comprises monographs, serials, bound manuscripts, government reports, and printed Māori Land Court Minute Books pertaining to all aspects of Māori life.

It is in close proximity to other relevant collections and services in the General Library on Level G. This includes: the New Zealand and Pacific collection, which holds a regularly updated research collection of NZ and Pacific resources; the Microtexts Room, where a comprehensive set of microfilm Māori Land Court Minute Books from 1865 to 1975 are housed; and Special Collections, where rare items and original manuscripts are held in controlled conditions.

Collection highlights includes complete sets of Te Ao Hou; the contemporary Māori newspapers Te Iwi o Aotearoa, Kahungunu and Te Māori News, and the Waitangi Tribunal Reports. Special strengths are in the areas of anthropology, Māori language, land, culture, literature and history.

A significant purchase, available in Special Collections, completed the Library's collection of the Māori Television NZ programmes Waka huia and Marae. Other audiovisual materials, also in Special Collections, duplicate the unrestricted sound recordings of the Archive of Māori and Pacific Music in the University's Department of Anthropology.

Most items are borrowable, with the significant exceptions of the bound facsimile manuscripts (George Grey, Edward Shortland, and John White papers), the Raupatu Document Bank, and the hard-bound volumes of Māori Land Court Minute Books (Orakei, Auckland, Tai Tokerau and Papatupu books pertaining to Northland).

Previous PageTop of Page

Users

Academic staff, students enrolled in courses with a significant Māori component, plus researchers of Māori subjects.

Previous PageTop of Page

Collection Priorities

The priority is to establish and maintain a research level collection on topics pertaining to all aspects of Māori life, especially Māori language items, literature, linguistics, education, history, material culture, music, and traditional culture. Where there are other specialist Library collections, e.g. Davis Law, Philson, Fine Arts, material collected will not be of a technical or highly specialised nature.

Iwi/hapu specific items will be included. Waitangi Tribunal reports and associated papers are included where shelf-space and finance permits.

Previous PageTop of Page

Collection Development Resources

Faculty, students and colleagues are welcome to make recommendations for acquiring materials for the collection.

Print resources used to develop the collection include subject guides and bibliographies to Māori topics developed here and in other institutions.

Catalogues from second hand book dealers and auction houses such as Bethunes and Parsons are also used.

The New Zealand National Bibliography is consulted monthly for new publications.

Previous PageTop of Page
 


Library Manager, Māori and Pasifika Services

Previous PageTop of Page

Library Website | Previous Page

  Maori Image 1
Maori Image 1

Contact: Māori and Pasifika Services