M Ā O R I   S T U D I E S    D A T A B A S E S
 
Bibliographic Databases   Full-text Databases   Dictionaries   Audiovisual Index
Land Databases   Manuscript Catalogues    Image Databases   General Databases

Access

DATABASE


Bibliographic Databases

    


INNZ  1987- 
General index to New Zealand journals and newspapers from 1987 on.

Maori Bibliography
An index to sources of information on all Māori subject areas found in chapters of books, conference proceedings and journals not covered by INNZ. Produced and maintained by The University of Waikato Library. 

Iwidex
A index to the sources of information on tribal history, tikanga-a-iwi, and whakapapa held in the Heritage and Research Collections of Auckland City Libraries / Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero. 

Index to Te Ao Hou, Te Māori and Te Kaunihera Māori
An index to three Māori newspapers accessed via University of Waikato Library's catalogue.

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
A selective index to over 50 Hawaii and Pacific Journal titles, including the Journal of the Polynesian Society back to 1892. Produced and maintained by the University of Hawaii, Mānoa. 

Te Puna
Over 10 million records for New Zealand and overseas resources, with links to New Zealand holding libraries.

Fletchers Index Online
This index is from an unpublished manuscript compiled about 1925 by the missionary Rev. Henry James Fletcher (1868-1933). It provides a listing of Māori names referred to in books and journals, including the names of boundaries, Māori individuals, canoes, trees, landmarks and geographical locations.


Full-text Databases

NewzText
Full-text database of major New Zealand newspapers and business magazines.

Dictionary of New Zealand Biography
Full-text database of all published entries.

Te Ara, the Encyclopedia of New Zealand
General encyclopedia, published in English and te reo Māori.

Early New Zealand Books  
Developed by staff at The University of Auckland Library, this e-project aims to provide the keyword-searchable text of significant books published about New Zealand in the nineteenth century. Includes illustrations and maps. Currently 20 books have been digitised.

Waitangi Tribunal Reports
Fulltext and searchable database of all Waitangi Tribunal Reports.

Niupepa Maori
The Niupepa: Maori Newspapers Digital Collection is an electronic collection of over 17,000 pages taken from 34 separate periodicals.  It is based on 'Niupepa 1842-1933', a microfiche collection produced by the Alexander Turnball Library.

Library Only

Fenton's Important Judgements, Native Land Court
Full-text and searchable database of the judgements. 


Dictionaries

Wakareo
Wakareo a-ipurangi is an on-line Maori-English-Maori lexicon that represents the largest repository of Maori dictionary resources ever produced. It's core content includes: Wordstream's WILLIAMS corpus, H.M. Ngata dictionary, Wordstream's TREGEAR exceptions, · Te Matatiki contemporary words, Kimikupu Hou contemporary words, He Kupu Arotake educational terms, Kupu Rorohiko I.T. terms, Nga tini a Tangaroa fish names.

Ngata Dictionary
Online version of the printed English-Maori dictionary by H.M. Ngata. Produced by Learning Media.


Audiovisual Index

Maori AV Catalogue
An index of the Television New Zealand Māori language programmes held by the University of Auckland Library. Main titles are: Marae, Waka Huia, Koha, Tiki tiki, Pukana, Te Karere & Mai Time. Supercedes the Marae and Waka Huia database formerly available. 


Land Databases

Maori Land Information Base
Provides ownership information about Māori land. Produced by Te Puni Kōkiri.

Maori Land Court Minute Books Index
Indexes New Zealand Maori Land Court minute books 1865-1910 by block name, witnesses' name, type and length of case, place of sitting, whakapapa and hapu.

Maori Land Legislation Database
The Maori Land Legislation Database provides a summary of all New Zealand legislation since 1840 (including private and local Acts) which has affected Maori or Maori land.


 

Manuscript Catalogues

 

Manuscripts and Archives Catalogue
Index to the manuscripts and archives of Special Collections, Level G, University of Auckland General Library / Te Herenga Mātauranga Whānui.

National Register of Archives and Manuscripts
Archives and manuscripts collections in institutions throughout New Zealand.

TAPUHI is the Alexander Turnbull Library's catalogue of unpublished manuscripts and archives, drawings, prints, photographs, oral history and music. Instructions on how to search the catalogue are contained in the introduction to TAPUHI.

Auckland Museum Catalogue
The Auckland War Memorial Museum Library is one of the major research libraries in the country.  Included in there collections are important rare books, manuscripts and archives as well as maps, charts and plans.  The focus of the collection includes Maori language, whakapapa and history amongst other topics.


Image Databases

Timeframes  
An online database of images from the Alexander Turnbull Library. 

Picture Australia
Search for images of people, places and events in the collections of libraries, museums, galleries, archives, universities and other cultural agencies, in Australia and abroad. Over 400 images of Māori are in the database.


General Databases

Library Only

Social Sciences Citation Index  1981- 
Covers1,400 journals in the Social Sciences.  Stand-alone computer on Floor One of the General Library.

New Zealand and Pacific Databases
For other New Zealand and Pacific material.

Anthropology and Archaeology Databases
For an international perspective.

Digital Dissertations   1988- 
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses world-wide. Some can be downloaded.

Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. 

Interdisciplinary Databases
UnCover, Current Contents, Expanded Academic etc 

File last updated :  31 October, 2008
File location : /subject-guides/maori/maori.htm
Comments and suggestions to : Māori and Pasifika Services