Back to Māori Subject Resource Page

E - Journals / E - Books / Full-Text
Contents
1. E - Journals
2. E - Books
3.

Full - Text Documents


E - Journals Top of page

Māori Law Review
"The Māori Law Review is a reporter of law affecting Māori, the indigenous people of New Zealand/Aotearoa. The Review covers decisions of the Māori Land Court and general courts, reports of the Waitangi Tribunal and publications of government and law schools. This site complements the printed version and contains the full text of all issues except the latest two months."

Māori Newspaper Collection
Contains the full text of Māori language newspapers 1845-1933.

Te Ao Hou
Te Ao Hou was published from 1952 to 1976 by the Māori Affairs Department in New Zealand Aotearoa. According to its first editorial, Te Ao Hou aimed "to provide interesting and informative reading for Maori homes … like a marae on paper, where all questions of interest to the Maori can be discussed". Te Ao Hou features bilingual content, with articles in both English and te reo Māori.

Te Manutukutuku
Waitangi Tribunal newsletter.

Project Muse
Links to a large number of full-text journals, including Contemporary Pacific.

E - Books Top of page

Best, Elsdon. Astronomical knowledge of the Māori. Wellington: Dominion Museum, 1922.

Best, Elsdon. The Māori Division of Time. Wellington: Dominion Museum, 1922.

Best, Elson. The Māori school of learning. Wellington: Dominion Museum, 1923.

Best, Elsdon. Polynesian Voyagers. The Māori as a Deep-sea Navigator, Explorer, and Colonizer. Wellington: Dominion Museum, 1923.

Best, Elsdon. Some aspects of Māori myth and religion. Wellington: Dominion Museum, 1922.

Best, Elsdon. Spiritual and mental concepts of the Māori. Wellington: Dominion Museum, 1954.

Sullivan, Robert. Piki ake! (Auckland: Trout Press, 2002, 2nd edition). A book of poetry originally published in 1993 by Auckland University Press.

Full - Text Documents Top of page

Instructions to Captain Hobson, HM Consul to New Zealand, 1839.

Notices of New Zealand. From Original Documents in the Colonial Office. Communicated by R.W. Hay, Esq. from The Journal of the Royal Geographical Society, Volume 2, 1832 (531k)

Te Puni Kokiri
This site describes the Ministry's role and functions.The site publishes a range of the Ministry's publications such as: Maori Future Makers. May 2007

Other full-text publications are also available from the site on the following subjects: biodiversity, business, crown relations, demographics, economics, education, employment and income, government and Māori, health, indigenous issues, information technology, land, language, legislation, Māori television, natural resources, reserved lands, resource management, tourism and youth.Māori


Contact: Māori and Pasifika Services
File Last updated: 11 August, 2009