Barlow, Cleve. Tikanga whakaaro : key concepts in Māori culture.
1991.
[NZ & P 301.451095 B25] Also in
Short Loan Collection
70 essays in Māori and English about the meaning of concepts such as mana, ihi,
kotahitanga, aituā, aroha, whakapapa and whaikörero. Mainly traditional
concepts.
Dansey, Harry. Māori custom today. 1978. [MM 572.995 D19 1978]
Includes information on contemporary attitudes to tapu, marae kawa, personal
names and hui.
Metge, Joan. The Māori of New Zealand : Rautahi. 1976.
[NZ & P 572.995 M58m] Also in Short Loan Collection
Includes a survey of the concepts of tapu, noa, aituā, tika, mana, whakamā,
whakaiti, whakahihi, aroha, utu etc.
New Zealand. Royal Commission on Social Policy. The April report.
1985
[NZ & P 309.195 N536]
Volume 1 contains results of a large scale survey of attitudes and values about
health, housing, education, crime and unemployment with separate figures for Māori
responses. There is also a special Māori section with questions on Māori
issues.
Patterson, John. Exploring Māori values. 1992. [NZ & P
301.451095 P31]
Rata, Elizabeth Mary. Global
capitalism and the revival of ethnic traditionalism in New
Zealand : the emergence of tribal-capitalism. 1996. [THESIS 97-247]
Analyses recent developments in Māoridom, including kura kaupapa Māori.
Salmond, Anne. Hui : a study of Māori ceremonial gatherings. 2nd ed.
1976.
[NZ & P 572.995 S17] Also in Short Loan
Shirres, Michael P. Te tangata:
the human person. 1997 [NZ & P 291.13 S55]
Religion and spirituality including notes on tapu and mana.
Stirling, Eruera K.W. Eruera : the teachings of a Māori elder. 1980.
[MM 572.995 S17e]
As told to Anne Salmond by Whānau-ā-Apanui elder, Eruera Stirling. In
pp.205-244 he reflects on the modern world. Most of the book is devoted to the
story of his life.
Walker, R.J. Ngā pepa a Ranginui. 1996 [NZ & P 301.451095 W18p]
A selection of published magazine articles, seminars and papers. Sections
include Being Māori, The meeting house, Waitangi and tino rangatiratanga,
Education, Science, intellectual property and cultural safety and Immigration.
maori education
multicultural education zealand
maori education attitudes
indigenous peoples education
maori education bibliography
Search for journal articles on Index New Zealand
(INNZ)
under
maori education
maori education attitudes
education multicultural maori
kohanga reo
kura kaupapa maori
A large number of studies and reports have been written in
this area and the following items are only a selection.
Hohepa, Margie Kahukura. Preferred pedagogies and language interactions in Te
Kohanga Reo. 1993 [NZ & P 371.970995 U58m 13]
Irwin, Kathie. Māori research methods and processes : an
exploration in Sites, No.28, pp.25-43 (Autumn 1994)
Māori and Pacific Island demand for educational
services : Māori Auckland : research report. 1995. [NZ & P 371.97
M297ma]
Mead, Linda Tuhiwai Te Rina. Ngā aho o te kākahu mātauranga:
the multiple layers of struggle by Māori in education. 1996. [Thesis
96-051]
New Zealand. Royal Commission on Social Policy. The
April report. 1988
[NZ & P 309.195 N536] See Vol. 3 for "Fairness in Māori
education" and Vol 4 for "Māori education for a just society"
Ngā kete wānanga : te kete tuarua. 1986 [NZ &
P 371.970995 K43]
Pere, Rangimarie. Ako : concepts and learning in the Māori
tradition. 1994
[MM 371.970995 P43 1994]
Rzoska, Krystyna M. Ward, Colleen. The effects of
cooperative and competitive learning methods on the mathematics achievement,
attitudes towards school, self-concepts and friendship choices of Māri, Pākeha
and Samoan children in New Zealand journal of Psychology,
Vol.20, no.1, pp.17-24, (June, 1991) [Short Loan Collection 150.5 N532]
Simon, Judith A. The place of schooling in Māori-Pākeha
relations. 1990
[Thesis 90-166]
Survey of demand for bilingual and immersion education
education in Māori : a report to the Ministry of Education. 1992 [NZ
& P 499.541 a26]
Health
Search
VOYAGER using the following guided keyword searches:
maori health medical anthropology
(for more general material)
Search for journal articles on Index New Zealand (INNZ)
under
maori and health
Best
Elsdon. ‘Māori medical lore’ in Journal
of the Polynesian Society, v.13, pp.213-237 and v.14, pp.1-23
Buck, Peter H. Medicine amongst the Maoris in ancient
and modern times. 1910
[General Library Thesis 75-248, and Philson]
Dow, Derek A. Annotated bibliography for the history of
medicine & health in New Zealand. 1994 [NZ & P 016.614 D74]
Durie, Mason. ‘A Māori perspective of health’ in
Social science magazine, v.20, no.5, 1985,pp.483-6
Encounters with biomedicine : case studies in medical
anthropology. 1987
[362.1 E56]
Imperial medicine and indigenous societies, 1988
[362.1 E56]
Lange, R.T. ‘The tohunga and the Government in the
twentieth century’ in University of Auckland Historical Society . Annual.
1968, pp.12-38
[NZ & P 908 A89] Covers Tohunga Suppression Act
Lloyd, G.E.R. Demystifying mentalities. 1990 [301.2
L79] Hui whakaoranga : Māori health planning workshop. 1984
[614.0995 M29]
Prichard, Arapera. Rural Māori women’s health
practices : a case study of three generations in Omāhu, Hawkes Bay. 1992
[Thesis 93-022]
Ramsden, Irihapeti. Kawa whakaruruhau: cultural safety in
nursing education in Aotearoa (New Zealand) in Nursing praxis in New
Zealand , v.8, no.3, pp.4-10 (Nov. 1993)
Rolleston, Sam. Kohikohitanga : a Māori health
knowledge base. 1989.
NZ & P 613.0995 R75] Includes chapters about attitudes and views with regard
to research, tangihanga, tohunga.
Simpson, A.I.F. An assessment of health in the
prehistoric inhabitants of New Zealand and the Chatham Islands. 1979 [Thesis
86-022]
Smith, Graham H. The development of kaupapa Māori:
theory and praxis. 1997. [Thesis 97-169]
Tipene-Leach, David. ‘Māoris : our feelings about the
medical profession’ in Primary health care and the community.
1981
[NZ & P 362.10995 P95]
Wood, Pamela J. Cultural safety: a framework for changing
attitudes in Nursing praxis in New Zealand. Vol.8, no.1, pp.4-15
(March 1993)
History

Search
VOYAGER
using the following guided keyword searches :
maori history
Search for journal articles on Index New Zealand (INNZ)
under
maori historiography
Binney,
Judith. Māori oral narratives, Pakeha written texts - two forms of telling
history in New Zealand journal of history
Vol.21, no.1 pp.16-28 (April 1987)
[NZ & P 995.005 N53]
Broughton, Ruka. Ngaa mahi whakaari a Titokowaru in
Phillips, Jock (ed.) Biography in New Zealand. 1985 [MM 920.095
B61]
Mead, S.M. Landmarks, bridges and visions: aspects of Māori
culture. 1997. [MM 305.899442 M48]
O’Regan, Tipene. Old myths and new politics : some
contemporary uses of traditional history in New Zealand journal of
history, Vol.26, no.1, pp.5-27 (April 1992) [NZ & P 995.005 N53] Looks
at issues relating to the Ngai Tahu claim, difficulties with oral tradition and
the use and misuse of evidence.
Pere, Joseph Hetekia Te Kani. Hitori Māori in The
future of the past : themes in New Zealand history. 1991. [NZ & P
995.0072. F99]
Royal, Charles. Te haurapa. an introduction to
researching tribal histories and traditions. 1992. [MM 929.10995 R88]
Smit, Grace. Mana Māori: questions of authority on the
East Coast during the nineteenth century. 1997 [Thesis 97-086]
Soutar, Monty. Tribal history in New Zealand in
Oral history in New Zealand, No.6, pp.29-40 (i994) [NZ & P 907.2 N27o]
Looks at two early histories of Ngati Porou in the context of difficulties in
reconciling academic and tribal history
Ward, Alan. Historical method and Waitangi Tribunal claims
in Fairburn, Miles and Bill Oliver (eds.) The certainty of doubt.
1996 [NZ & P 907.2 M97]
Work in flux.1995 [MM 990.72 G81] A collection of
essays on indigenous and Western history in Australia, New Zealand and the
Pacific. Sections include Scholarship and indigenous knowledge, Identity
politics and Indigenous people and the academy.
Psychology

Search VOYAGER
using the following guided keyword searches :
maori new zealand people psychology
Search for journal articles on Index New Zealand (INNZ)
under
maori psychology
McFarlane-Nathan, Garry Huingahau. Cultural bias in
neuropsychological assessment. 1992 [Thesis 92-086]
Metge, Joan. In and out of touch : whakamā in a
cross-cultural context. 1986
[NZ & P 572.995 M58i]
Metge, Joan. New growth from old : the whānau in the
modern world. 1995
[NZ & P 572.995 M58w] Also in the Short Loan Collection
One of the boys?: changing views of masculinity in
New Zealand. 1988
[NZ & P 301.411 O58] Includes autiobiographical essays by Ranginui Walker
and Sir James Henare.
Ritchie, James. Basic personality in Rākau.
1956 [MM 378.95 V64p 8]
Ritchie, James. The making of a Māori. 1963
[NZ & P 378.95 V64p 15]
Ritchie, James. E tipu e rea : Polynesian
socialization and psychological development. 1985
[NZ & P 301.32995 O15 28]
Ritchie, Jane. Childhood in Rākau.1956 [NZ
& P 378.95 V64p 10]
Stewart, Tereki R. Ka pū te ruha, ka hao te
rangatahi : contributions to an indigenous psychology in Aotearoa/New Zealand.
1995 [Thesis 96-24]
Waipara-Panapa, Aroha L. Body and soul : a
socio-cultural analysis of body image in Aotearoa. 1995 [Thesis 96-248]
Women

Search VOYAGER using the
following guided keyword searches:
Māori women
Search for journal articles on Index New Zealand
(INNZ) under
maori women
maori women research attitudes
or
replace the word attitudes in the search above with either
perceptions
views
values
Edwards, Mihi. Mihipeka : time of
turmoil : ngā wā raruraru. 1992
[MM 995.054 E26m] Autiobiography concentrating on the 1940’s
and 50’s.
Mana wahine : women who show the way.
1994 [NZ & P 301.4120995 M26] 24 well-known Māori
women of all ages reflect on their backgrounds, education, careers and
experiences and give their opinions on various issues.
Paraha, Glynnis. He pounamu kakano rua :
construction of Māori women : a visual discourse. 1993 [Thesis 93-078]
Ralston, Caroline. Māori women and politics of
tradition: what roles and power did, do and should Māori women exercise’ in
Contemporary Pacific, v.5, no.1, pp.223-44, 1993.
Te Awekotuku, Ngahuia. Mana wahine Māori :
selected writings on Māori women’s art, culture and politics. 1991 [NZ
& P 301.4120995 T23]
Toi wahine : the worlds of Māori
women. 1995 [MM 301.412 T646]
8.5
Key Books and Articles on Traditional Māori Society
Best, Elsdon. Spiritual and mental concepts of the Māori. 1986
[MM
572.995 N53dm 2] Also in the NZ Glass Case. Looks at the spiritual concepts
wairua, mauri, kēhua, aria, āhua, hau, manawa and tipua and the mental
concepts hinengaro, ngākau and puku.
Best, Elsdon. The Māori.
1924. [MM 572.995 B56] [NZGC]
Best lived among the Tūhoe
of the Urewera mountafins from the 1880s, was the Dominion Museum's Ethnologist
from 1911 to 1931? and was president and editor of the J.P.S. 1922-1931. This
book covers social life and customs, arts, agriculture, fishing, war, music,
games, forest lore, buildings and scientific knowledge. 2 volumes.
Best, Elsdon. The Māori as he was : a brief account of Māori
life as it was in pre-European days. 1934. [MM 572.995 B56m] Also in the
NZ Glass Case. Post-humously published. Shorter than the previous work. Covers
physical and mental characteristics, traditional history, mythology and
folklore, fishing, agriculture, war, music, games. forest lore, buildings and
science. Best lived among the Tūhoe of the Urewera from 1890 to 1911, later
becoming ethnologist at the Dominion Museum.
Firth, Raymond. Primitive economics of the New Zealand Māori.
1929 [MM 572.995 F52]
Includes
chapters on transport, gift exchange, land, property and wealth, hākari and
work and production.
Hanson, F. Allan.
Counterpoint in Māori culture. [MM 572.995 H25]
Looks at tapu, noa, muru, war and
conflict, cannibalism and slavery.
Makereti. The old-time Māori.
1986. [MM and NZGC 572.995 M23]
Kinship, the whanau
and hapu, marriage. Birth and children, menstruation, massage. Food,
agriculture, fishing and hunting. The author, from Te Arawa, was the first Māori
woman to obtain an M.A. First published in 1938.
Orbell, Margaret. The illustrated encyclopedia of Māori
myth and legend. 1995 [NZ & P 398.2 O64, also in NZ Glass Case] The bulk
of the entries relate to famous ancestors, mythical figures and atua. There is
also material on more general aspects of traditional Māori society including
spritual and mental concepts and natural phenomena. Sources are listed in an
endnote.
Salmond, Anne. Two worlds : first meetings between Māori
and European, 1642-1772. 1991 [MM 995.01 S17] Also in Short Loan.
Covers voyages of Tasman, Cook and earliest French explorers. Compares
European and Māori society at this time.
Shawcross, Kathleen Anne. Māoris of the Bay of Islands 1769-1840 : a study in changing Māori attitudes
to Europeans. 1966 [Thesis 995.019 S63]
Shortland, Edward. Traditions
and superstitions of the New Zealanders : with illustrations of their
manners and customs. 1856. [MM & NZGC 398.3 S55]
Has detailed contents pages but no
index.
Tikao, Teone Tāre. Tikao talks : kā taoka tapu o te ao
kohatu : treasures from the ancient world of the Māori. 1990 [NZ & P
299.95 T56 1990] Also in NZGC
Tikao was a Ngāi Tahu kaumatua. A compendium of Māori
knowledge.
Tregear, Edward. The Māori race. 1904. [MM & NZGC
572.995 T78m]
572 pp and index. Aims to be
comprehensive.
Religion
Best, Elsdon. Māori religion and mythology : being an account of
the cosmogony, anthropogeny, religious beliefs and rites magic and folklore of
the Māori folk of New Zealand. 1924 [MM & NZGC 572.995 N53d 10 and 11]
Well-indexed
with listings under names of atua and tipua. Covers mauri, hau and manawa ora,
the spiritual nature of man, mākutu, "origin myths, nature myths,
personification in myths, demon lore and fables, omens and superstitions".
Prytz-Johansen, J. The Māori and his religion in its
non-ritualistic aspects. 1954
[MM 572.995 J65] Has been
influential. Looks at meanings of concepts such as mana, tapu, utu as revealed
by a careful study of all the early published sources.
Prytz-Johansen,
J. Studies in Māori rites and myths. 1958 [NZGC 572.995 J65]
Smith, S. Percy. The lore of the whare wānanga or
Teachings of the Māori college on religion, cosmogony, and history.
1913-1915. [MM 572.995 S66] Also in NZGC.
Transcript of the proceedings kept by Te
Whatahoro at one of the last of the traditional whare wānanga,
held at Papawai c1860. In Māori and English.
Cosmology and cosmogony

Salmond, Anne. ‘Te Ao
tawhito : a semantic approach to the traditional Māori cosmos’ in Journal
of the Polynesian Society, v.87, pp.5-28.
Schrempp,
Gregory Allen. Māori cosmogonic thought. 1987 [MM 299.95 S37]
Law and Government

Bowden, Ross. ‘Tapu and Mana :
ritual authority and political power in traditional Māori society’ in Journal of Pacific History, 1979 [NZGC 572.993 P78]
Gathercole, Peter. ‘Hau, mauri
and utu : a re-examination’ in Mankind, no.11, p.334, 1978
[572.05 M27]
Patterson, John. ‘Utu and
punishment’ in Victoria University of Wellington Law Review,
no.21:p.239, 1991 [ Davis Law Library]
Patterson, John. ‘Utu, revenge
and mana’ in British review of New Zealand studies, v. 2, 1989
p.51, [NZ & P 995.005 B86]
Education

Openshaw, Roger. ‘Early Māori
education : creating an educational heritage for Aotearoa?’ in British
review of New Zealand studies, v.6, pp.93-103.
[NZ & P 995.005 B86]
"Considers the
reconceptualization of pre-European Māori education."
Smith, S. Percy. The lore of
the whare wānanga or Teachings of the Māori college on religion, cosmogony,
and history. 1913-1915. [MM 572.995 S66] Also in NZGC.
Transcript of the proceedings kept
by Te Whatahoro at one of the last of the traditional whare wananga, held at
Papawai c1860. In Māori and English.
Whānau, Hapū and Iwi 
Best, Elsdon. The Māori. 1924 [NZ & P 572.995 B56][NZGC]
Pages 2-27 on birth, abortion, infanticide, weaning, contraception etc.
Best, Elsdon. ‘Māori customs
pertaining to birth and baptism’ in Journal of the Polynesian
Society, v.38, pp.241-269
Best,
Elsdon. The whare kohanga, (the "nest house") and its lore :
comprising data pertaining to procreation, baptism and infant betrothal
&c, contributed by members of the Ngāti Kahungunu tribe... 1975.
[MM 572.995 N53d 13 1975] First edition, 1929 in NZGC.
Graham, George. ‘Whāngai
tamariki : the custom pertaining to the adoption of children’ in Journal
of the Polynesian Society, v. 57, pp.268-278
Metge, Joan. ‘Te rito o te
harakeke : conceptions of the whānau’ in Journal of the
Polynesian Society, v.99, 1990, p.55
Orbell, Margaret. ‘The
traditional Māori family’ in Koopman-Boyden, Peggy. Families in
New Zealand society. 1978 [NZ & P 301.420995 F19] Also in the Short
Loan Collection
Schwimmer, Eric. ‘The Māori
hapū : a generative model’ in Journal of the Polynesian Society,
v.99, 1990, pp.297-317
Women
Binney, Judith. Some observations on
the status of Māori women in New Zealand journal of history
Vol.23, no.1, pp.22-31 (April 1989)
Heuer, Berys.
‘Māori women in traditional family and tribal life’ in Journal of the Polynesian
Society, v.78, pp.448-494
First Hand Accounts of Early
Explorers, Missionaries and Traders

Banks, Joseph. The Endeavour
journal of Joseph Banks. 1962 [NZ & P 910.4 B21]
Cook, James. The journals of
Captain James Cook on his voyages of discovery. 1955-1974
[NZ & P 910.4 C77b] Also NZGC and
Short Loan
Craik, George L. The New
Zealanders. 1830 [MM & NZGC 919.5 C88]
Includes notes about early Māori
visitors to England and Australia and their impressions of English civilisation.
Dieffenbach, Ernest. Travels in
New Zealand. 1843, 1974.
[NZ & P & NZGC 919.5 D55 1974]
Earle, Augustus. Narrative of a
residence in New Zealand...1966.
[NZ & P 919.5 E122] Also in NZ
Glass Case
Earle was a young gentleman artist on
an extended holiday. Generally antipathetic to missionary endeavours, and
sympathetic to Māori.
Maning, F.E. Old New Zealand.
1863 [MM 919.5 M27] Various subsequent editions. Maning's reminiscences of life
as a trader in Hokianga in the 1830s. Includes anecdotes of muru, tapu, tohunga,
matakite
Nicholas, John Liddiard. Narrative
of a voyage to New Zealand. 1817 [MM & NZGC 919.5 N59]
Notes on family life, women, polygamy
and adultery, cannibalism, tapu and Māori "character".
Polack, Joel Samuel. Manners and
customs of the NewZealanders : with notes corroborative of their habits usages
etc...1976. [MM & NZGC 919.5 P76] Also in NZ Glass Case
Polack was in New Zealand from
1831-1837 working as a trader. The books are mainly about the Bay of Islands and
Tolaga Bay.
Polack, Joel Samuel. New Zealand
: being a narrative of travels and adventures during a residence in that country
between the years 1831 and 1837. 1839 [MM & NZGC 919.5 P76n]
Tolaga, Northland.
Savage, John. Some account of
New Zealand : particularly the Bay of Islands and surrounding country : with a
description of the religion and government , language, arts manufactures,
manners and customs of the natives...1973. [NZ & P 919.5 S26]
Taylor, Richard. Te Ika-ā-Māui. 1974. [NZ & P 919.5 T247] Also in NZ Glass Case
Taylor was a missionary stationed at
Wanganui. His book includes notes on cosmology, mythology, atua, matakite,
patupaiarehe, tapu, karakia, tangaihanga and whakataukï.
Yate, William. An account of New
Zealand...1835 [MM & NZGC 919.5 Y31] Yate was a C.M.S. missionary at the
Bay of Islands. Pages 80-164 of his book note his impressions of Māori customs
and beliefs.