| Back to Māori Studies Guides Page | |
|
Māori Archives and Manuscripts at The University of Auckland Library |
|
| Contents | |
| 2.1 | Introduction |
| 2.2 | Māori Archives and Manuscripts in Special Collections and Microtexts |
|
2.1
Introduction
Special Collections is located in the General Library, on the north side of Level G, and the Microtexts Room is right next door. Mātauranga Māori is located on the south side of Level G. A complete and up-to-date list of manuscripts in the General Library is maintained in the Manuscripts and Archives Catalogue, Special Collections. 2.2
Māori Archives and Manuscripts in Special Collections and Microtexts
Papers. 1906-1948. ca. 7m. Personal papers 1906-1948; Maori Affairs - Native Land Court - 1920-1943, including formal studies on Maori land tenure, theses, etc.; Judge Acheson's relations with the Native Affairs Dept, 1933-1943; Public interests separate from work in the Native Land Court, 1933-1947; Literary projects (includes papers of Sir George Spafford Richardson 1891-1938); travel 1924-1937; books and journals preserved among papers. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: MSS & Archives 96/1 ADAMS, J C Tainui History and Whakapapa. c1977. 1 folder. Notes of J C Adams. Histories and whakapapa as told to him by various people. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 94/7 ARDERN, P. S. (Philip Sydney), 1881-1964 Papers. ca. 1953. 8, 22 leaves. Consists of a paper on the comparison of 'the faunal & floral nomenclature of the Maori & Fijian languages' and a paper entitled 'Fiji-Polynesian relations'. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-267 ASHWELL, B. Y.
(Benjamin Yate), 1810-1883. ATKINSON, Arthur Samuel Papers. 1865-1870. 1 folder. Account of the campaign against Hauhau, East Coast. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 90/4 BIGGS, Bruce, 1921- Rohe Pootae transcript. 1986. 93 leaves. A transcript of portions of vols. 6 and 7 of W.G. Mair's Native Land Court Notebooks, 1883-91, concerning the Rohe Pootae case, a contest for ownership of a block of land in the King Country by five tribes. The hearings were conducted in Otorohanga and were notable for their orderly proceedings. Judge Mair was commended for his handling of the case. Professor Biggs has "attempted some analysis, by hyphenation, of many of the place-names" and has also "used double-vowel orthography to indicate long vowels". Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-36 BOSCAWEN, John Hugh, 1851-1937. Photographic prints and tranparencies. 1899. 103 prints and 103 colour transparencies. Prints and transparencies of Auckland pa sites. Access conditions: Not restricted. Finding aids: List with collection. Location: MSS & Archives A-204
BROWN, Alfred Nesbitt, 1803-1884. Journal. 1835-1850. 4 volumes. Journal of the Rev. A.N. Brown at Matamata, Tauranga and the Bay of Islands, 1835-1859. Volume 1: 1835-1838; v. 2: 1839-1843; v. 3: 1844-1846; v. 4: 1847-1850. Access conditions: Not restricted. Location: MSS & Archives A-179 BROWNE, Thomas Gore, Sir, 1807-1887. Letter. 1856. 8 leaves. Letter to Gov Gore Browne from Te Arawa people. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 93/3 BUSE, Jasper Papers re Cook Islands Maori dictionary. [1957] - 1995. 1 box. Includes mss of Jasper Buse who began the work of compiling a Cook Islands language dictionary in association with Raututi Taringa. After he died in 1985 Bruce Biggs and Rangi Moeka'a undertook the task of editing the unfinished manuscript for publication. The papers include mss of both Biggs and Buse. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available. Location: MSS & Archives 97/7 CHAPMAN, Thomas, 1792-1876. CHURCH Missionary Society. Records. 1799-1884. 71 microfilm reels. Records of the CMS 1799-1884, consisting of: Committee minutes, 1799-1884; sub-committee minutes; indexes to the minutes of the Society; correspondence 1809-1866; letterbooks of various missionaries, 1852-1858, 1858-1883; mission books 1820-1880; papers of various missionaries in New Zealand including letters and journals; miscellaneous correspondence relating to the New Zealand mission. Access conditions: Not restricted. Finding aids: An inventory to these microfilmed archives is available at NZ&P266.3 C56g and NZGC266.3 C56g Location: Microfilm 79-286/356. CLARKE, Alan F. Genealogies. ca. 1870. 1 microfilm reel and 1 v. Maori traditions and genealogies of the Ngaiterangi and Ngaiteranginui iwi of Opotiki and Whakatane. These were collected from a number of informants. Access conditions: Not restricted. Location: Microfilm 1528 MSS & Archives C-24 COWAN, James, 1870-1943 Letters. 1938. 4 items, 5 leaves. Letters sent to E. Stanhope Andrews, Auckland, when Andrews was editor of National Education, 1936-1941. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-211 CROSADO, D. Tape recording. 1976. 6 tapes. Interview with Ella Ayo, George Jackson and Bruce Skiltern on the history of the Communist Party. Tape 1. Early years in the life of the Communist Party. Tape 2. CP identities in the 1930s. YCL "Industrial Worker". Tape 3. Mainly illegal CP publications in Wellington and Auckland. Tape 4. 1932 riots; CP conference; Soviet-German non-aggression pact. Tape 5. F.P. Walsh and compulsory unionism; 1943 election; Maori; Peter Fraser. Tape 6. P. Fraser; CPNZ and Maori; W. McAra; CPNZ split and China. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-184 DALE, William Sydney John Research papers. 1930s - 1940s. 3 folders. (1) Draft of article: "The musical instruments of the primitive Maori" / by W.S. Dale, M.A., Ph.D.; illustrated with sketches by Sina Woolcott. Includes sketches of instruments and research notes. n.d. 1 folder. (2) Sketches of Maori musical instruments. n.d. 1 folder. (3) Report on conditions of Maori on the East Coast (for New Zealand Educational Institute). 1941. 24 p. (4) The influence of Te Rauparaha on the colonization of New Zealand / by W.S.J. Dale. Auckland University College, 1932. Thesis? Status unclear. 174 leaves. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives Accession no.1106 DE THIERRY, Baron Letters. 1 folder. Letter concerning Maori Land. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 89/4 DIETER, Meyer Meyer Dieter Memorial Collection. 1973-1978. 1 box, 41 tapes. Includes cassette tapes and papers relating to Te Matakite o Aotearoa and the Land March. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 87/2 ENGLISH abstracts of the Maori language newspapers 1999 - 2002. The English abstracts of Maori newspapers are intended to facilitate use of the Maori-language newspapers by those who do not read Maori. They are designed to guide readers and researchers to particular articles or information and to give an impression of a whole newspaper issue. Every item in an issue is noted but the abstracts are not an account of the entire content. They briefly summarise the main subjects of long items, such as editorials, articles, and letters, and record, sometimes by a complete translation, small items such as notices, advertisements, and short news reports. Abstracts: Ko Aotearoa or the Maori recorder. Vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 1861) - vol. 1, no. 2 (Jan. 1862) Aotearoa : he nupepa ma nga tangata Maori. Vol. 1, no. 1 (4 June 1892) - vol. 1, no. 2 (25 June 1892) Ko Te Karere Maori o Nui Tireni. Vol. 1, no. 1 (1 Jan. 1842) - vol. 5, no. 1 (15 Jan. 1846) Te Karere o Poneke. Vol. 1, no. 1 (17 Sept. 1857) - vol. 1, no. 58 (27 dec. 1858) Te Korimako. Vol. 1, no. 1 (Mar. 1882) - vol. 1, no. 75 (16 May 1888) Matariki. No. 1 (23 Apr. 1881) - no.2 (14 May 1881) Te Wananga. Vol. 1, no. 1 (5 Aug. 1874) - vol. 5, no. 51 (21 Dec. 1878) Te Haeata. Vol. 1, no. 1 (1 Apr. 1859) - vol. 3, no. 12 (1 Mar. 1862) Te Paki o Matariki. 26 July 1892 - 10/8/1935. Te Waka o te iwi. Vol. 1, no. 1 (Oct. 1857) - vol. 1, no. 2 (Nov. 1857) Te Whetu o te Tau. Vol. 1, no. 1 (1 June 1858) - vol. 1, no. 3 (1 Sept. 1858) The abstracts appear with the relevant newspaper text on the New Zealand Digital Library (University of Waikato) website: http://www.nzdl.org/cgi-bin/library . Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives 2003/2 FERGUSON, N. The Tihoi land purchase. 1919-1951; 1965-1972. 1 folder (80 leaves). In two parts: part 1, 1919 to 1951; part 2, 1965 to 1972. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-278 FITZGERALD, James Edward, 1818-1896 Correspondence, together with a poem. 1852-1856. 29 leaves. Letters from James Fitzgerald and Fanny Fitzgerald to William Sandys Wright Vaux, 1852-1856. Six copies were made by Canterbury University College Library, 1952-1953. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: MSS & Archives A-15 FLETCHER, Henry James, 1868-1933. Index. n.d. 2 microfilm reels. An index of Maori names, with sources listed beside each entry, in the first 19 volumes of Journal of the Polynesian Society; the first 42 volumes of the Transactions of the New Zealand Institute; Shortland's three books, and White's six volumes Ancient History of the Maori. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Microfilm 194/195 FOWLDS, George, (1860-1934) Papers. 1872-1934. 8.9m. The bulk of the Papers consist of the office records of a Cabinet minister, his earlier and later life being less fully documented. The correspondence covers family, business, political and social matters with a wide array of people in N.Z. and overseas, particularly the United Kingdom, U.S.A., and South Africa. His regular letters to his London friend T.W. Orr provide a commentary on G.F.'s affairs and the N.Z. scene1906-1918. There are some 40,000 letters, together with files of newspaper clippings, documents relating to the parliamentary period, account books and other records of his many-sided business affairs, correspondence relating to a large number of organisations, drafts of speeches, articles, sermons and reminiscences, books and other printed matter including photographs and cartoons. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Rogers, Frank. An Inventory of the Sir George Fowlds Collection. Auckland, University of Auckland, 1964 (Library bibliographical bulletin, 2) . The Fowlds papers : index of correspondents and subjects 1878 - 1934 . The Fowlds papers : a calendar of letters relating to politics . The Fowlds papers : a calendar of letters relating to education . A calendar of letters relating to health . The Fowlds papers : a calendar of letters relating to Auckland University College Location: MSS & Archives A-17 GARVEN, Peter D. Genealogy of the Ngai Tahu. 1974-77. 3 v. Genealogy of the Ngai Tahu tribe, with genealogies and explanatory notes compiled from published sources, Department of Maori and Island Affairs records, Maori Land Court minute books, private records and oral traditions. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Includes comprehensive indexes Location: MSS & Archives C-32A GARVEN, Peter D. Genealogy. 1974. 2 volumes. Genealogy of the Ngai Tahu tribe, with genealogies and explanatory notes compiled from published sources, Dept. of Maori and Island Affairs records, Maori Land Court minute books, private records and oral traditions. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-32 HAMLIN, James, 1803-1865 Diary. 1830-1834. (3) 121 l. Part of a diary of James Hamlin, April 13, 1830- December 22, 1834. A record of daily activities, including journeys on missionary activities. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-169 HARDIE, James
Keir, 1856-1915 HARRIS, C.L. Genealogies. ca. 1971. 1 volume (various pagings) and 1 microfilm reel. Whakapapa Ngati Porou. Three loose sheets of typescript notes on the making of genealogies, and two loose sheets of rough manuscript genealogies. The file contains an alphabetical name index followed by genealogical tables separately paged. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-26 and Microfilm 1526 HARRIS, Cecil Thomas Literary manuscript. 1935. 7 volumes. Unpublished typescript entitled The Romance of the Upper Thames Valley. V.1. A study in New Zealand colonization (53 leaves) -- v.2. Maori legend and history (242 leaves) -- v.3. Christianity in the Thames Valley (75 leaves, 2 copies) -- v.4. War in the Waikato (148 leaves, 2 copies) -- v.5. Settlement of the upper Thames Valley before 1880 (242 leaves, 2 copies) -- Settlement of the upper Thames Valley after 1880 (302 leaves) -- The rise of the dairying industry (184 leaves, 2 copies) Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Draft inventory with Special Collections Librarian. Location: MSS & Archives A-21 HENDERSON, Phil History notes. 1960? 12 l.. Notes relating to Maori places and people, including locations of sacred springs and Maori flour mills, Kaupokonui, Taranaki. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 94/6 HERANGI, Te Puea, Princess, 1883-1952 Diary. 1929-1931. 70 leaves. The diary, 31 December 1929 to 8 January 1931, relates to the working of "land owned by Henare Kaihau's children at the request of A. Ngata" by a party under the direction of Princess Te Puea. The scheme fell through and after a year they moved off the land, which was near Waiuku. English translation of Maori original. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-130 HETERAKA, Wi Repa Papers. ca. 1908 - 1948. 2 boxes. Private papers of Wi Repa Hetaraka or Haukaka, also known as Bill Herbert. In Maori and English. Includes diary entries, letters, minutes of meetings, genealogy, and notes on tribal history (mainly relating to Ngati Whatua and Ngapuhi); also papers re Hetaraka's involvement in the Labour Party, Ratana Movement, and local body politics in Auckland. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 89/5 HOROUTA Maori Council Minutes. 1909-1935. [27], 382 p. The minute book includes letters from Te Rangi Hiroa (Sir Peter Buck), the medical officer to Maori in the Dept. of Health. The letters are pasted into the minute book. In Maori. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-115 HURSTHOUSE, Charles Wilson Diaries. 1881. 1 folder. Transcripts of speeches made by Te Whiti and Tohu. In Maori and English. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 94/5 KAPITI, Pita 1 folder, 102 l. Manuscript written by Pita Kapiti, concerning bird snaring, Pikea, Maia, Takitimu, Horouta and kumara planting. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 89/2 KEMP, James, 1798-1872 Journal. 1832-1852. 89 p. Journal of James Kemp, 1832-1852. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-186 KENANA, Rua, 1869-1937 Notebook. n.d. 2 volumes (unpaged). The notebook contains notes for sermons, as well as hymns and biblical texts. A photocopy of the item is held in the same folder. Access conditions: Partly restricted: use photocopy in preference to original which is fragile. Location: MSS & Archives C-22 KENDALL, Thomas, 1778-1832 Journal. 1814. 44 leaves. Journal of a voyage from Port Jackson to New Zealand in the year 1814. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-27
KEREMENETA, Manihera Diaries, notes, papers. 1897-1928. 3 folders. A resident at the Catholic Mission at Jerusalem (Wanganui River), Manihera Keremeneta'a papers include diaries, notes, waiata and whakapapa. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 94/4 KING, D Tainui Waka History. 1 folder, 79l. Notes, writings on Rangi and Papa, Tainui migration and Te Arawa Waka. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 93/10 MacRAE, John Tait Computer printouts. ca 1975. 10 cm. A computer print-out of Maori incomes/expenditure survey. Results of survey incorporated in doctoral thesis: 'A study in the application of economic analysis to social issues, the Maori, and the New Zealand economy, (University of London, 1975), two copies of which are housed in the University of Auckland Library. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-153 MAHURI mansuscripts 1860-1880. 1 folder. Manuscript book in various hands containing personal and diary notes. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 90/3 MAIR, William Gilbert, 1832-1912 Papers. 1871-1904. 0.6 metres. Includes transcripts of his diaries for 1876, 1878-1904 (originals in the Auckland Institute and Museum Library); letter and telegram book, 1871-1875; thirteen volumes of evidence in the land courts, 1883-91; account book containing the return of fees, 1882-1891. The Alexander Turnbull Library has diaries, 1866-75, 1877, and notebook, 1894-1916. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-31 MAORI flags Copies of some Hauhau and other rebel flags, many of which were captured or surrendered during the Maori wars. Flat sheet. 85x136mm. "Collected by W.F. Gordon". Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives 89/17 MAORI manuscript Petition. 1831. 2 leaves. Two copies of a petition by thirteen Maori chiefs to William IV, seeking protection of their lands, Kerikeri, Oct 5 1831. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-14 MAORI manuscripts Letters. 1907-1909; 1922. 8 items; 1 microfilm reel. Miscellaneous Maori manuscripts consisting of historical letters from Wellington and Te Kuiti. The contents of the collection are: 1907, Wellington, a letter from Anaru Eketone to Tupu; 1908, Te Kuiti, a letter from Pepene Eketone to Tupu Taingakawa te Waharoa; 1922, speeches on the occasion of a visit of Ngati Raukawa living in the Wellington district to the marae of King Rata Mahuta. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-9; also Microfilm 1527 MAORI Students Conference Papers. 1960. 1 folder. Interim record. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives Vault 24 McARA, P. W. G. (Peter Wilfred George), 1904-1989 Further papers. 1929-1988. 9 metres. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: MSS & Archives 94/4 McLEAN, Donald, Sir, 1820-1877 Letters. 1850-1860. 2 microfilm reels (ca.450 items). Inward letters, written in Maori. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Microfilm 6/7 METGE, Joan, 1930- Collection of papers relating to modern Maori society. 1953-ca.1960. 1 folder. 1. 'Some modern Maoris - a review discussion', Anthropology Department, Auckland University College, ca.1953. 2. 'Maori society today - discussion course', Council of Adult Education, University of Auckland. Introductory paper and 10 numbered lectures, ca.1960. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives 89/37 MORGAN, John, 1806?-1865 Papers. 1833-1865. 3 volumes. Letters and journals of the Rev. J. Morgan, missionary at Otawhao, 1833-1865. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-175 NEHUA, W. Diary. 1888-1889. 1 volume (unpaged). This is a Maori diary of the tour of the Native Team in Great Britain, Australia and New Zealand in 1888-1889. The diary is linguistically notable for its author's attempt to use the Maori language in describing foreign experiences. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Microfilm 73-058 NEHUA, W. Diary. 1888-1889. 1 folder. This is a Maori diary of the tour of the Native Team in Great Britain, Australia and New Zealand in 1888-1889. The diary is linguistically notable for its author's attempt to use the Maori language in describing foreign experiences. Photocopy of microfilm of diary reproduced from Microfilm 73-058, with English translation by John Laurie. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives Vault 150 NEW SOUTH WALES Gazette. 1841. 1 volume (various pagings). Government gazette, March 9 to April 27 1841, containing extracts relating to land claims in New Zealand. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-116 NEW Zealand Citizens' All Black Tour Association. Auckland Branch Records. 1959-1960. 30 cm. The collection consists primarily of Auckland Branch material and includes correspondence, minutes, speech extracts, newsletters, newspaper clippings and related ephemera. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-245 NEW Zealand. Dept. of Maori Affairs Auckland Maori Housing Survey data. 1955. 233 leaves. The survey gives names, ages, incomes, etc., of residents, and assessment of the quality of accommodation. Access conditions: Not restricted. Location: MSS & Archives A-141. NEW Zealand. High Court. Auckland Registry Records. 1997 - 98. 2 boxes. Evidence presented at hearings to determine appropriate allocation of Maori fishing assets by Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission. The Court was to determine two questions: whether allocation of assets prior to the 1992 Deed of Settlement over Maori fisheries (the "Sealords deal") must be exclusively to iwi, and secondly, is "iwi" taken to mean traditional Maori tribes. Urban Maori authorities maintained that they should gain a share of the assets on the basis that they represent modern day tribes of Maori who may miss out under traditional arrangements because they are distant from ancestral regions or who have lost tribal links. Justice Paterson decided that, as used in the act, "iwi" meant traditional tribes. However, he said that tribal bodies had a responsibility to ensure that the benefits resulting from settlement assets would be delivered to all tribe members. Includes submissions from a wide range of academics, tribal figures and historians over the nature of traditional Maori society and social organisation and the difficulty of determining "iwi" in the modern context Submission by Dr Steve Webster and preliminary listing in box 1. Interim record. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Preliminary listing of contents in box 1 Location: MSS & Archives Vault 146 NEW ZEALAND Maori Council Papers. 1971. 1 volume (various pagings). Photocopy of analyses and submissions on the Race Relations Bill, 1971. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-100 NEW Zealand. Maori Land Court Minutes. 1888. 87 leaves. These minutes, written in Maori, record a sitting of the Native Land Court at Otorohanga in 1888, concerning the land of Te Oro. They cover claimants' speeches and cross-examination, but not the complete case. Writer unknown. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 1988/3 NEW Zealand. Maori Land Court Minutes. 1901-1921. 5 folders. Notes in Maori made during sittings of the Maori Land Court. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 93/1 NEW ZEALAND. Maori Land Court Minute books. 1865-1900. 253 microfilm reels. Minutes of evidence and judgments given at sittings of the Court throughout New Zealand. Includes many whakapapa. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available (NZ Glass Case 333.0995 N536) Location: Microfilm 201/287, 1300/1467 NEW ZEALAND. Maori Land Court Minute books. 1867-1878. 1 microfilm reel. Minute books of Maori Land Court proceedings at Maketu, 1867-1871 and 1871-1878. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Microfilm 78-263 NEW Zealand Maori Land Court Records. 1890. 45 leaves; 1 microfilm reel. New Zealand Native Land Court hearing in Otorohanga of Waikato tribes and Maori King family, before Judge W.G. Mair and P. Mikorima, concerning the Pohuru Block. An unofficial Maori transcript of the proceedings, including fifteen pages of whakapapa. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-11 NEW Zealand Young Socialists Records. 1971-1980. 9 folders. Consists of subject files headed 'ALRANZ', 'National Anti-Apartheid conference', 'Daniel Houpapa inquest', Maori land march'. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-300 NGATA, Apirana, Sir, 1874-1950 Lecture. n.d. 22 p. 'The genealogical method as applied to the early history of New Zealand', a lecture read before the Wellington Branch of the Historical Association. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-135 NGATA, Apirana, Sir, 1874-1950 Lectures. 1944. 1 volume and 1 microfilm reel. A xerox copy of lectures given by Sir Apirana Ngata to the Porourangi Maori Cultural School, Whakarua Park, Ruatoria, 1944, on the traditions and genealogies of Ngati Porou, and several Ngati Porou genealogies. The volume is made up of separately paged items bound together. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-28 NGATA, Apirana, Sir, 1874-1950 Maori manuscript. n.d. 2 p. He panui ki te tiamana kaunihera Maori. Announcement of Chair of Maori Council. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-144 NGATI HAUA. Rukumoana Records. 1879-1927. 78 items. The records include correspondence, notes, lists of names, and are mainly written in Maori. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-30 NGATI Toa Rangatira Papers re Ngati Toa Rangatira. 3 vols. Folder 1 History of the tribes - George Graham Folder 2 Opening of Toa Rangatira Wharenui - Porirua Folder 3 Notes from Ngati Toa tribal wänanga. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 94/9 [NOTES on Tai Tokerau Maori History] [Notes on Tai Tokerau Maori History] 1844-1850. 1 folder. Letters and notes concerning Maori history in Tai Tokerau. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 88/4 HE OHAKI no te Kingitanga o Potatau Te Wherowhero o Tawhiao, 1860-1870 Speeches. 1860-1878. 37 leaves. Some pronouncements in the time of Kings Potatau and Tawhiao concerning the Maori King Movement, 1860-1870, Waahi Pa, Huntly, 1860-1878. Pronouncements by King Potatau, Te Ua Haumene, Wiremu Tamihana Te Waharoa, King Tawhiao, Te Whiti, Tohu, Manuhiri and Te Pou ki Hikurangi. Filed with this item is a draft transcription and translation by June Westwood. This may not be photocopied or quoted without permission of the translator [4.6.91]. Location: MSS & Archives C-13
ORAKEI Marae Songbook PEACOCKE, Isabel Maud, 1881-1973 Literary papers. 1893 - 1954. 1 metre. Contains memorabilia and unpublished works. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: MSS & Archives 94/5 PEARSON, Bill, 1922- Collection of papers relating to Maori issues. ca.1965-6. 1 folder. 4 subjects: Education of Maori children; New Zealand Maori Council, National Conference on recommended changes in Maori land legislation; data papers and conference agenda, Maori Students Federation, Hamilton, 1966; 3 papers relating to the Committee of Inquiry into laws affecting Maori land and powers of the Maori Land Court, 1965 (the Prichard-Waetford Report) including one by Hugh Kawharu. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives 89/38 PEWHAIRANGI (Bay of Islands) District Runanga Minute Book. 1862-1865. 1 vol. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 92/3 PHILLIPS, Caroline Paper on Maori Fisheries in Northland. 1988. 1 item. Document drafted for the Maori Fisheries Unit of the New Zealand Maori Council giving the archeological evidence for the state of Maori fishing in pre-European times in Northland, Auckland and North Waikato. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 88/8 PHILLIPS, Hilda, 1922- Papers. 1976-1981. 24cm.. The collection includes submissions to the 1979 Royal Commission on the Maori Land Courts; as well as periodical articles by Mrs Phillips on the subjects of apartheid and Maori and land. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-237 POPATA, Wiki Te Aupouri tribal history. 1978. 1 item (9 leaves). Incidents of tribal history - Te Aupouri. In Maori. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 1988/1 POTI, Hepi Whakapapa concerning Ngapuhi. 1941. 1 vol. Manuscript book written by Hepi Poti with history and whakapapa concerning Ngapuhi. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 89/1 POUTU, Taranaki Ngapuhi Whakapapa and Tribal History Books. ca. 1940 - 1981. 3 vols. Manuscript books of Ngapuhi Whakapapa and tribal history, written by Taranaki Poutu (aka Eparima Tarau) Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 88/5 PRONOUNCEMENTS from the King Movement 1860-1870. 1 folder. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 90/2 PUCKEY, William Gilbert,
1805-1878
RUTHERFORD, James, 1906-1963 Papers. 1926-1963. 2.6 metres. Lecture notes; typescripts of books and articles; research notes; transcripts of early family and personal papers; inventories and transcripts of Colonial Office despatches. The more important papers are: (a) Auckland Provincial Centennial Council. Historical Research Committee. Records, 1936-1939. 30 cms. A collection of minutes, correspondence and working papers, collected by Rutherford who was a member. (b) Clendon, James Reddy, 1801-72. Papers, 1840-72. 30 items. Includes Clendon's census of the Bay of Islands district, 1846. Transcribed by Rutherford from originals now in the Auckland Public Library. (c) Dillon, Constantine A., 1813-53. Letters, 1843-9, to his mother and sister describing events in the Nelson settlement, notably the Wairau massacre, 1843. 11 items. Transcript (typewritten). (d) Hobbs, John, 1800-83. Papers, 1824-1900. 70 items. Mainly letters between missionaries and the Wesleyan Missionary Society. Transcripts by Rutherford of the originals in the possession (1937) of Mrs A.W.B. Powell, Auckland. (e) Mair, Gilbert, 1799-1857. Papers, 1839-57. Papers, 1839-74. 100 items. Transcripts by Rutherford of originals in the possession (1938) of Mr G. Mair, Torbay, Auckland. (f) Russell, Andrew H. Expedition chiefly by canoe and foot from Auckland to the Hot Lakes, Pink Terraces and Lake Taupo in the year 1850. 48 leaves. Typewritten transcript of the original in the possession (1939) of commander G.H. Denniston, London. (g) Sewell, Henry. Journal, 1852-66. 2 v. in 7. Carbon copies of typescript. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: MSS & Archives A-42 SALVATION Army 1895-1905. 1 folder. Photocopies of articles relating to Maori, from War Cry, the Salvation Army newsletter. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 94/8 SELWYN, George Augustus Letters. 3 boxes. Letters in Maori written to Bishop Selwyn. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 90/5 SHEPHERD, Isaac Papers. 1862-1871. 33 items. Papers include rough drafts of reports on Maori movements between Taranaki and the Waikato; refutation of charges of absconding with fines money; and sermon notes in Maori railing against the evils of alcohol. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-47
SINCLAIR, Keith, 1922-1993 Research notes re "Origins of the Maori wars" ca. 1954 - 1961? 3 filing drawers. Index cards. interim record. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives Vault 147 STOKES, Evelyn Stories
from Tauranga.
TE KAHU, Hoani Manuscript. 1 vol. He korero mo Kati Tuhiatara. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 95/2 TE KOOTI, Arikirangi Te Turuki, d. 1893. Notebook. 1866 - 1890. 1 volume (26p.). The notebook contains Waiata composed by Te Kooti. It is thought that the Waiata were transcribed by one of Te Kooti's secretaries, probably Hamiora Aparoa. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-35 TE KOOTI Arikirangi Te Turuki, d. 1893. Manuscript. 1884. 12 p. Includes prophetic sayings, waiata and hymns. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives Vault 140 TE PAA, Wiki (Rev.) Diaries. 1881-1906. 4 boxes. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 90/1 TE RANGI PAI, Princess, 1868-1916 Papers. 1900s. 66 items. Accounts and receipts, newspaper clippings, concert programmes, texts of Maori songs, and the text of Te Rangi Pai's oration at the funeral of John Howie, her husband. Folder 1: Accounts and receipts. Folder 2: Newspaper clippings including: article by Colonel T.W. Porter "The Tohunga", Wellington, 1919. Traditions narrated by Te Rua-tapu ca 1870; re Tane-nui-a-Rangi and creation; Maui, tattooing, karakia etc. Reviews of Te Rangi Pai concert company performances at Wanganui ca 30 May 1906. Te Rangi Pai and study in UK, Albert Hall concerts c. 1902. Advertisements for concerts. Folder 3: Concert programmes and photographs. Folder 4: Maori song texts. 1. "Pohiritia ra e nga iwi e Nga ope e whakaeke mai nei Ka eke nui ki runga o Maungaroa..." with translation. 2. "Ka eke i te wiwi ... i te wawa..." Ngapuhi war dance of triumph with translation, and explanation of origin as Kaharau on storming Whiria pa and other notes. 3. "I moea e ahau kua hinga ki au..." 4. "Po atarau i moea iho ai" ("Now is the hour..."). 5. "Aue hine, Nuku nuku mai" with translation. 6. "He aroha e Hine...", dedicated to Moanaroa Allison. 7. He waiata tangi o te Whanau-Apanui, Maungaroa...Te hapuu a Kaiaio, with translation. 8. He waiata o Whanau-Apanui: "Haere ra e te mate kino...", with translation. 9. He waiata Apanui. "Te iwi, te iwi... Tenei to reo powhiri nei..." Notes in Maori and English re Whanau Apanui boundaries as defined by Tautuki-o-rongo. Description of his taking revenge for the death of his father Pararaki killed by Ngati Porou, and that victory also determined the boundary. Maori version has whakapapa Toi - Kaiaio. Folder 5: Oration delivered by Paerau Te Kani, paramount chief of Te Whanau-A-Kaiaio, at Maungaroa meeting house for tangi of John Howie (husband of Te Rangi Pai). English translation. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-25 TE RANGITUATAHI Te Kanawa Manuscripts Genealogies. 1880?-1930? 8 volumes; also on microfilm. There are 8 volumes of manuscripts in the collection: vol.1: A Maori genealogy of Maori tribes; vol.2: Maori genealogy of Ngati-Maniapoto and Waikato tribes, written by Te Atanatiu, in 2 parts. This book belonged to a Pakeha known to the Maoris as Te Atanatiu (Mr Athanasius). vol.3: a historical record of the King Country, Waikato district, late 19th century, written by Tuheka Hetet; vol.4a and vol.4b: Maori genealogy and family book of the Hetet family, Waikato district; vol.5: Maori genealogy of Waikato tribes, Hetet and Taituha families and others; vols. 6, 7 and 8: Otorohanga Maori Land Court investigation Kinohaku block, King Country, Waikato district, 1888. Genealogies and claims in 3 parts. This book appears to be an original record from the Maori Land Court investigation of the Rohe Potae (King Country) lands. It begins at October 8 1888. The content, in Maori, covers the same ground, but is not identical with the content of Judge Gilbert Mair's notebooks, held at the Auckland University Library. It is possible that this manuscript was the record kept by Paratene Ngata, the assessor at the Court sessions. vol.8: Contains an official copy of the lists of owners in a number of Kinohaku Land Blocks, plus much miscellaneous genealogy and a copy of an interesting account of proceedings of a meeting at Hangatiki in 1957. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-15 TE UA HAUMENE Maori manuscript. 1863? 1 volume (unpaged); 18 cm 84 p. The gospel (Na Rongo Pai) according to Te Ua Haumene, with corrections to the Maori manuscript by Sir George Grey. Ua Rongo Pai sets out the organisation and ethical teaching of the Hauhau Church. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-33 TIRAMOREHU, Matiaha South Island Myths. 1849. 72 leaves. South Island Myths written by Matiaha Tiramorehu. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 88/6 TUWHARE, Hone, 1922- Literary manuscript. n.d. [3] leaves. The collection contains three poems by Tuwhare, entitled "Rain", "On a theme by Hone Taiapa", and "In another sense". Also included is a letter, 13 September 1973, from J. Hayward, Registrar, University of Otago, to Hone Tuwhare informing him of his appointment as Robert Burns Fellow, 1974. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives B-26 UNIVERSITY of Auckland. Dept of Anthropology Clipping files re Maori and Pacific issues. 1970 - ca. 1985. 4 metres (23 v.). Compiled by the Dept. of Anthropology.. Interim record. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives Accession no. 1088 (row 21) WAIPAPA Marae Establishment papers. 1979-1986. 11 folders, 3 boxes. Papers relating to the establishment and construction of the University Marae. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 91/3 WAITANGI Meeting House n.d [1960's?] 1 folder. Typescript of details of the carvings in the meeting house at Waitangi, Bay of Islands. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 92/2 WALKER, Ranginui Papers. 1968 - 2001. 1 metre (12 files) + 1 envelope. Includes drafts of columns in Listener and Metro, reviews, submissions, correspondence, and lecture notes. Interim record. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventory available Location: Maori MSS MP 1995/4 WAY, Emily Stanley Memoirs. ca. 1850-70. [30] p. 'Echoes of long ago (or the past)' is a description of the life of missionary families in the Hot Lakes District; the visit of Dr Hochstetter, 1859; the flight to Tauranga, 1863; and the assault on Gate Pa, 1864. A typescript transcription is held with the photocopied manuscript. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-72
[WHAKAPAPA Ngapuhi/Waikato/Maniapoto] [Whakapapa Ngapuhi/Waikato/Maniapoto] 28 leaves. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Maori MSS MP 1988/2 WHATAHORO, H T Maori genealogies. n.d. 9 volumes. Maori genealogies and other material relating to Wairarapa and Ngati Kahungunu. Photocopied set. Contents: vol. 1: Whakapapa and account of warfare between Ngaati Apa and Ngaa Rauru and Whanganui vol. 2: Traditions and cosmogeny by Hikawera Wiremu Mahupuku vol. 3: Whakapapa by Te Whatahoro vol. 4: Whakapapa by Nepia Pohuhu Whatahoro of Napier vol. 5: Whakapapa by Rihari Te Hamatu Whatahoro vol. 6: Whakapapa, waiata and notes on medicine by Raungaiti vol. 7: Whakapapa, waiata and notes by Meiha Keepa vol.8: Moihi Torohanga pukapuka tenei whakapapa (1865) vol. 9: Traditions and whakapapa by Moihi Torohanga (1876). S. Percy Smith's 'The lore of the Whare-wananga' (Wellington, 1913-1915), is an edited transcript of the teachings of Te Matorohanga and Nepia Pohuhu, two eminent tohunga, written down by H.T. Whatahoro and Aporo Tu Kumeroa at a session of the East Coast Whare-wananga. The manuscripts listed here are part of the sources used by Smith in preparing 'The lore of the Whare-wananga'. For a full description of the manuscripts see 'The sources of the Whare-wananga', by David simmons and Bruce Biggs, Journal of the Polynesian society, v.79, March 1970, p.22-42. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: See inventory to MSS & Archives C-8 and 'The sources of the Whare-wananga', by David Simmons and Bruce Biggs in Journal of the Polynesian Society, v.79, March 1970, pp. 22-42 Location: Maori MSS MP 1987/3/1 2 WHATAHORO, H. T. Genealogies. n.d. 9 volumes. Maori genealogies and other material relating to Wairarapa and Ngati Kahungunu. Holograph in 9 volumes + photocopied set. Contents: vol. 1: Whakapapa and account of warfare between Ngaati Apa and Ngaa Rauru and Whanganui vol. 2: Traditions and cosmogeny by Hikawera Wiremu Mahupuku vol. 3: Whakapapa by Te Whatahoro vol. 4: Whakapapa by Nepia Pohuhu Whatahoro of Napier vol. 5: Whakapapa by Rihari Te Hamatu Whatahoro vol. 6: Whakapapa, waiata and notes on medicine by Raungaiti vol. 7: Whakapapa, waiata and notes by Meiha Keepa vol.8: Moihi Torohanga pukapuka tenei whakapapa (1865) vol. 9: Traditions and whakapapa by Moihi Torohanga (1876). S. Percy Smith's 'The lore of the Whare-wananga' (Wellington, 1913-1915), is an edited transcript of the teachings of Te Matorohanga and Nepia Pohuhu, two eminent tohunga, written down by H.T. Whatahoro and Aporo Tu Kumeroa at a session of the East Coast Whare-wananga. The manuscripts listed here are part of the sources used by Smith in preparing 'The lore of the Whare-wananga'. For a full description of the manuscripts see 'The sources of the Whare-wananga', by David Simmons and Bruce Biggs, Journal of the Polynesian society, v.79, March 1970, p.22-42. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: Inventories available Location: MSS & Archives C-8 WHATAHORO, H.T. Maori genealogies. 2 microfilm reels. Incomplete microfilm copy of MSS & Archives C-8 (lacking parts 46, 47 and 49). Microfilmed by Genealogical Society of Utah in 1973. Access conditions: Not restricted Finding aids: See inventory to MSS & Archives C-8 and 'The sources of the Whare-wananga', by David Simmons and Bruce Biggs in Journal of the Polynesian Society, v.79, March 1970, pp. 22-42 Location: Microfilm 1524/1525 WHENUA Manihera Manuscript Book Genealogies. n.d. 40-53, 161-227, 234-246, 309-312p. ; 1 microfilm reel. Whenua Manihera manuscript book, containing tribal genealogies of Ngati Kahungunu origin. Irregular paging is due to the loss of leaves from the book before it was used as a manuscript book. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives C-27 WHITE, John, 1826-1891 Literary manuscript. n.s. 6 microfilm reels. John White manuscript papers 75 : 'Ancient History of the Maori', volumes 8-13. Folder B16-25. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: Microfilm 78-247/252 WILLIAMS, Henry, 1792-1867 Papers. 1822-1864. 100, 247, 204 [1] leaves (4 volumes in 2). Letters and journals written by the Rev. Henry and Mrs Marianne Williams, and the Rev. William and Mrs Jane Williams, 1822-1864. The letters and journals describe pioneering life, missionary activities and relations with the Maoris in the Bay of Islands and on the East Coast. The extracts have been copied by an unidentified compiler, and they cover the following periods: September 15 1822-October 8 1824; September 12 1825-August 31 1831; September 22 1828-October 11 1864. They describe pioneering life; missionary activities and relations with Maori in Bay of Islands and on East Coast. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-68 WILSON, John Alexander, 1809-1887 Letters. 1833-1865. 1 volume, 278, 11[index] p. The letters of the Rev. John A. Wilson, missionary at Opotiki, Tauranga, Auckland and Puriri, 1833-1865. Access conditions: Not restricted Location: MSS & Archives A-173
|
|
|
Contact: Māori and Pasifika Services |
|