| Back to Māori Studies Guides Page |
|
Māori Material Culture |
| Contents | ||||
| 7.1 | Introduction | |||
| 7.2 | How
to find books on Māori material culture Searching VOYAGER |
|||
| 7.3 | Searching
for Māori language materials Finding journal articles Journal of the Polynesian Society (JPS) Transactions and proceedings of the New Zealand Institute (TNZI) |
|||
| 7.4 | Bibliography | |||
| 7.5 | Museums | |||
| 7.6 | General books on Māori material culture | |||
| 7.7 | Pictorial Sources | |||
| 7.8 | Early accounts of Māori life | |||
| 7.9 | Key to Library Locations | |||
This guide is designed to help you find sources of information on traditional Māori material culture. As well as general instructions for locating books and journal articles it includes a selected list of published accounts by early explorers, traders and missionaries and a list of pictorial sources. 7.2
How to Find Books
on Māori Material Culture Searching VOYAGER
The same books can also be found with a guided keyword search.
Searching by
iwi or region
Some works relating to regions and iwi are only
indexed under subject headings in the following form
The same books can also be found with a guided keyword
search 7.3
Searching
for Māori language material on Voyager
Finding Journal Articles
Index New Zealand (INNZ) 1987- [Computer
Database] All searches are keyword searches which search all the words of the
record unless the computer is instructed to search only one particular
field. The asterisk is the truncation symbol.
Try searches like flax, tools primitive and maori, maori arts, maori and
(artefacts or artifacts) etc. The last search will find archaeological
material including records of excavations.
Research (academic) level material can be sorted out from general
interest material by adding the words and research in ds to the search.
Add the words and book reviews to your search to locate book reviews
Subject headings used are listed in the
Te Ao hou 1952-1975
Journal of the Polynesian Society 1892-
Transactions
and proceedings of the New Zealand Institute. 1868-
7.4
Bibliography
The book listed below is the most important
general bibliography. Bibliographies in other books may also prove useful.
Books with bibliographies can be found by adding the words AND
bibliography to any relevance or expert keyword search. You will have to
view the record in Full View format to see the note about bibliographies on
the screen.(Click on Full View)
Taylor, C.R.H. A bibliography of
publications on the New Zealand Māori and the Moriori of the Chatham
Islands. 1972. [NZ & P 016.995 T23]
See also Edge-Partington, J. in the section on
pictorial material.
7.6
General
Books on Māori Material Culture
The books listed below are some of the most important general sources. They
cover many different facets of traditional Māori society and will not be
found under the more specific subject headings given above.
Best, Elsdon. The Māori. 1924. Best, Elsdon. The Māori as he was : a brief account of Māori life as
it was in pre-European days. 1934. [NZ & P 572.995 B56m. Also NZ
Glass Case] Posthumously published. Shorter than the previous work. Covers
physical and mental characteristics, traditional history, mythology and
folklore, fishing, agriculture, war, music, games. forest lore, buildings
and science. Best lived among the Tuhoe of the Urewera from 1890 to 1911,
later becoming ethnologist at the Dominion Museum.
Firth, Raymond. Primitive economics of the New Zealand Māori. 1929 Hamilton, A. Māori art. London : Holland House, 1972. Makereti. The old-time Māori. 1986. Orbell, Margaret. The illustrated encyclopedia of Māori myth and
legend. 1995.
Reed A.W.; revised by Buddy Mikaere. Taonga tuku iho : illustrated
encyclopedia of traditional Māori life. 2002. [MM 305.899442 R32 2002] Tangata
whenua o Aotearoa: an interactive encyclopedia of Māori culture and
lifestyle. Computer database. 1999. [Audiovisual Library CD-ROM
L99-001]
Tregear, Edward. The Māori race. 1904. [NZ Glass Case 572.995 T78m] Ellis, E.M. Early prints of New Zealand 1642-1875. 1978 Angas, George French. The New Zealanders illustrated. 1847 Angas, George French. Savage life and scenes in Australia and New
Zealand. 2nd ed. 1847 [NZGlass Case 919.4 A59.] Angas, George French. Early paintings of the Māori. 1979 [NZ &
P 919.5 A59e] Angas, George French. Māori scenes and portraits. 1979. [NZ &
P 919.5 A59m] Archey, Gilbert. Whaowhia : Māori art and its artists. 1977 [NZ
& P 709.95 A67] The art of Captain Cook?s voyages [4 vols] 1985. [NZGlass Case
910.4 C77Tj] Bell, Leonard. The Māori in European art : a survey of the
representation of the Māori by European artists from the time of Captain
Cook to the present day. 1980 Bell, Leonard. Colonial constructs : European images of Māori,
1840-1914. 1992 Collins, R.D.J. New Zealand seen by the French, 1769-1846. 1991
[NZ & P 759.4 C71] Edge-Partington, J. An album of the weapons, tools, ornaments,
articles of dress of the natives of the Pacific Islands. [NZGlass Case
572.99 E23] Gordon, B.E.R. Gottfried Lindauer : his life and Māori art. 1985 King, Michael. Māori : a photographic and
social history. 1983. Hamilton. A. Māori art. 1972 [NZ & P
736.0995 H21] Originally published in 1897. Earlier edition in NZGC.
Includes large sections of photograhic plates of items from museum
collections. Chapters on canoes, habitations, weapons, ornaments and dress.
Vocabularies of Māori terms.
Te Māori : art from New Zealand collections.
1984 Murray-Oliver, A.A.S.M. Captain Cook?s artists in
the Pacific 1769-1779. Murray-Oliver, Anthony. Augustus Earle in New
Zealand. [NZ & P 919.5 E122Ym]
Earle was an artist who visited the Bay of Islands in
the 1820s.
Portraits of the famous and infamous : Australia,
New Zealand and the Pacific, 1492-1970. 1970 Simmons, D.R. Catalogue of Māori artefacts in the
museums of Canada and the United States of America. 1982. [NZ & P
709.95 S59] White, John. The ancient history of the Māori.
1887-1890.
7.8
Early
Accounts of Māori Life
Banks, Joseph. The Endeavour journal of Joseph
Banks. 1962 Cook, James. The journals of Captain James Cook on
his voyages of discovery. 1955-1974 [NZ & P 910.4 C77b. Also in NZ
Glass Case and Short Loan]
Craik, George L. The New Zealanders. 1830 [NZGlass
Case 919.5 C88] Earle, Augustus. Narrative of a residence in New
Zealand...1966. Maning, F.E. Old New Zealand. 1876 [NZ & P
919.5 M27. Also in NZ Glass Case] Nicholas, John Liddiard. Narrative of a voyage to
New Zealand. 1817 Polack, Joel Samuel. New Zealand : being a
narrative of travels and adventures during a residence in that country
between the years 1831 and 1837. 1839 Savage, John. Some account of New Zealand :
particularly the Bay of Islands and surrounding country : with a description
of the religion and government , language, arts manufactures, manners and
customs of the natives...1973. Taylor, Richard. Te Ika-ā-Maui. 1974. [NZ &
P 919.5 T247. Also in NZ Glass Case] Yate, William. An account of New Zealand...1835
[NZ Glass Case 919.5 Y31] |
||||
|
7.9 Key to Library Locations |
|
| VOYAGER (the on-line catalogue) | Can be accessed from workstations in all University of Auckland libraries and via the University of Auckland Library home page on the Internet. |
| Library Website | Library Electronic Academic Resources Network. Available on public access workstations in the Library. |
| General Library | 5 Alfred St, Auckland City |
| MM Mātauranga Māori Collection | At the north-side of Level G, following the wooden display shelving on the right. |
| Microfilm | Held in the Microtext Reading Room, Level G, to the left of the glass staircase. |
| NZ Glass Case | A restricted access collection in Special Collections. Ask at the Special Collections reception desk. |
| NZ & P | Books with these letters preceding the call number are held on the open shelves in the NZ & Pacific Collection, Level G of the General Library Building. |
| NZ & P Quick Reference | Level G, General Library, on the wooden display shelving at the entrance to the Mātauranga Māori area. |
| Short Loan Collection | Level 1, Kate Edger Information Commons |
| Special Collections | To the south-side of Level G of the General Library, left of the glass staircase. |
| Thesis General Library | Ask for items with this location at the Lending Services Desk, Level G, General Library. |
|
Contact:
Māori and Pasifika Services
|
|