ARCHIVES, MANUSCRIPTS, FULL TEXT COLLECTIONS

 

Aberdeen Besiary Project
Digitized images from the manuscript. Indexed and searchable by word.
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Searchable by author or title.

Blake Archive
A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by several major universities.

British Poetry 1780-1910:  a Hypertext Archive of Scholarly Editions
From the University of Virginia electronic text center.
CAPA - Contemporary American Poetry Archive
An internet archive of out-of-print books.
Complete Works of Christopher Marlowe
An electronic text from Tufts University, supported by the Perseus Project.
Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse
Searchable texts. 
Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls
Stanford's Dime Novel and Story Paper Collection consists of over 8,000 individual items, and includes long runs of the major dime novel series and strong holdings of story papers.
Early Manuscripts at Oxford University
Digital facsimiles of complete manuscripts, scanned directly from the originals.
Emory Women Writers Resource Project
Intended as a pedagogical too, the project is a collection of edited and unedited texts from the 17th - 19th century. It provides the opportunity for students to edit their own texts.

First World War Poetry Digital Archive
An online repository of over 4000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research. It consists of primary material from major poets of the period, including Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg, Robert Graves, Vera Brittain, and Edward Thomas, and is is a significant resource for studying the First World War and the literature it inspired.

Internet Library of Early Journals
Facsimile reproductions of three 18th Century and three 19th century titles in 20 year runs.
Jane Austen's Writings
Searchable archive of writings, with several additional features. 
Literature for Children
A collection of children's literature published largely in the United States and Great Britain from before 1850 to beyond 1950. At the core of this Collection are books from the Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature, University of Florida.  It contains exceptional colour images.
Middle English Collection
A number of searchable texts from the University of Virginia.
Milton Reading Room
Poetry and prose works followed by a bibliography of recent criticism. The texts include framed annotations that link to reference materials, such as sources of literary allusions and historical background, as well as gloss archaic words or uses. From Dartmouth College English Department.

Modernist Journals Project
From Brown University, Tulsa. Provides the full text of the journal New Age, and links to many other resources on Modernism. 

Norton Anthology of English Literature
Provides access to texts via Acrobat Reader, and also readings from selected Old English texts. Free download of Real Audio for listening.
Paris Review
Over 300 interviews with major writers are available in full text, from the 1950s . Tables of Contents of back issues are also given, with selected items from the current issue. The Library subscribes to the Paris Review, in full text from 1994.
poetrymagazine
free access site to the full-text digital library of 20th and 21st century English poetry magazines from the Poetry Library collection. 
Repositories of Primary Sources
Locations of archives, arranged geographically. 
Representative Poetry Online
Created and maintained by Ian Lancashire, Department of English, University of Toronto. Full text searchable poems from all periods, with analysis, commentary, glossaries, and other links. 
The Rossetti Archive
The complete writings and pictures of Gabriel Dante Rossetti.
Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
Hosted by Indiana University, this is a text searchable collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.


 
 
File last updated : 1st July 2011
File location : littext.htm
Comments and suggestions to English Subject Librarian : l.george@auckland.ac.nz