I N T E R N E T   R E S O U R C E S:   E N G L I S H    L A N G U A G E  &  L I T E R A T U R E

REFERENCE


Bartleby.com

Collections of both contemporary and classic quotations

The Cambridge History of English and American Literature: An Encyclopedia in Eighteen Volumes
Full searchable text. Also indexed by chapters.  Includes bibliographies
Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Search a word from one of  four English teaching dictionaries
Citation Styles
Choose a style [usually MLA for students of English] to see examples of how to cite references appropriately. Includes electronic resources 
Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story
Part of Literature Online. Tick the box next to the title in the Publications list, or search all titles
Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature
Part of Literature Online. Tick the box next to the title in the Publications list, or search all titles
Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Culturual Criticism
Part of Literature Online. Tick the box next to the title in the Publications list, or search all titles
Concise Oxford Dictionary
Part of Literature Online. Select from the Reference Shelf pull-down menu to the left of the screen
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Part of Literature Online. Tick the box next to the title in the Publications list, or search all titles
The Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
Revised and extended edition of 1894
Encyclopedia of American Poetry : The Nineteenth Century
Part of Literature Online. Tick the box next to the title in the Publications list, or search all titles
Encyclopedia of the Novel
Part of Literature Online. Tick the box next to the title in the Publications list, or search all titles
Handbook of Rhetorical Devices
Lists rhetorical terms with definitions. Includes a self-test of terminology 
Location Register of 20th Century English Literary Manuscripts and Letters
A project from the University of Reading 
MLA Style
Documentation style guide of  the Modern Language Association of America 
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Part of Literature Online. Tick the box next to the title in the Publications list, or search all titles
Roget's Thesaurus
1911 edition 
Routledge Encyclopedia of Post-colonial Literatures in English
Part of Literature Online. Tick the box next to the title in the Publications list, or search all titles
Shakespeare Glossary
Part of Literature Online. Select from the Reference Shelf pull-down menu to the left of the screen
Wallace Stevens Online Concordance
Concordance to poetry. Source works are listed on the website 
Webster's Third International Dictionary
Part of Literature Online. Select from the Reference Shelf pull-down menu to the left of the screen


 
File last updated :  18 June 2008
File location : litref.htm
Comments and suggestions to English Subject Librarian : l.george@auckland.ac.nz