RESEARCH RESOURCES

American Transcendentalism 
Created by graduate students of Virginia Commonwealth University.
Anglistik Guide
A subject gateway to scholarly relevant Internet resources on Anglo-American language and literature. 
Bohemian Ink
Literary underground review. Use the menu bar at the foot of the screen. Strong on Beats and Postmodernism. 

Book History Online
BHO retrieves references on book production and collection, the publishing industry, and all aspects of the book. Search by geographical region and date. Includes New Zealand.

British Fiction 1800-1820 - a database of production, circulation and reception.
Created and maintained by the University of Cardiff, this database links to the contemporary reviews, newspaper advertisements, anecdotal records [letters etc], publishing papers and libraries for each of the works represented.
Camelot Project
Arthurian texts, images and bibliographies and conferences.  Links to other sites, including Robin Hood and Cinderalla. Sponsored by the University of Rochester.
Contemporary Theatre and Drama in English
Promotes the study and research of drama to both students and teachers.  Bibliographies on individual playwrights, theatre topics, teaching, and general contemporary drama. 
Contemporary Writers
Part of British Council Literature Resources Online, this site promotes UK and Commonwealth contemporary literature and contains information on about 200 authors currently, with new authors added on a regular basis.
Contemporary Women Writers
Part of the Luminarium site. Features Margaret At wood, Amy Tan, Alice Walker, Toni Morrison and Arundhati Roy.
Domestic Goddesses
A Web Page devoted to several women writers beginning in the 19th century who wrote "domestic fiction".
Early Modern Literary Studies
This page gathers links to a number of sixteenth and seventeenth century resource materials which can be found on the Internet, as well as those which catalogue resources of interest to literary scholars.
The English Renaissance in Context
From University of Pennsylvania. The site combines access to scanned texts from the Furness Shakespeare Library with on-line tutorials that cover the making of the book during the Early Modern Period, and some of Shakespeare's plays. 
Introduction to Modern Literary Theory  
Includes definitions of terms, key terms, further reading, and links to websites. Created by the Associate Professor of English at Mount Mary College in Milwaukee.
  Luminarium
Medieval - Renaissance - Early 17th Century.
Modern American Poetry
Exhaustive site created by Cary Nelson, editor of Anthology of Modern American Poetry. Contains commentary, biography, illustrations, manuscripts, drafts, book reviews.
New Chaucer Society
Scholarly site of materials on Chaucer and late medieval literature and culture. 
Norton Topics Online
A web companion to the Norton Anthology of English Literature which offers four topics over seven literary periods for study and discussion. Click on the literary period just below the main banner.
PAL - Perspectives in American Literature
A research and reference guide to various American literary periods and authors. 
  Romantic Circles
A website devoted to the study of Lord Byron, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, Percy Bysshe Shelley, John Keats, their contemporaries and historical contexts.
Sickly Taper - Gothic fiction bibliography
Compiled and maintained by Frederick Frank - scroll down the page for the bibliography. 
Sonnet Central
An archive of English sonnets, commentary, pictures and relevant web links. Sonnets are grouped by period and also by an alphabetical list of authors. Geographical links are provided, including one to Australia and New Zealand.
Victoria Research Web
Dedicated to the scholarly study of 19th century Britain. Includes book reviews, listservs for specific areas of research, directory of scholarly e-conferences and Tables of Contents of major serials.
Victorian Web
Deals with every aspect of the period, discussing both individual author's work and the context in which it is placed.
Voices from the Gaps - Women Writers of Color
An instructional Web site focusing on the lives and works of North American women writers of color, compiled by the University of Minnesota.


File last updated : 1st July 2011
File location : litmeta.htm
Comments and suggestions to English Subject Librarian : l.george@auckland.ac.nz