ENGLISH - LIBRARY RESOURCES
ABOUT BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Bibliographies provide references to the contents of books and journals. References will pre-date the publication date of the bibliography.
 
From titles of bibliographies listed in the Resource Guide, you can see that often a bibliography deals with a genre, period, topic or author. 
Sometimes they deal with an individual literary work [e.g. Macbeth]. 

You may need to use more than one type from the list to find the material that you need for your topic.
 
Check how the bibliography is arranged. 
Use the Table of Contents and the Subject Index at the back to find references to particular themes, topics, or people.
The more specific the bibliography, the more in-depth its coverage is likely to be. For instance, a bibliography that deals with an individual literary work may have a section that cites references to film adaptations or reviews of stage productions. 
The Table of Contents and indexing should correspond with the scope of the bibliography.
 
Annotated entries summarise the contents of the article or chapter so that you can evaluate its usefulness.

To find the items you have selected from a bibliography, enter the title of the journal or book into Voyager to see if the Library has it.

You can check the elements of a reference to determine whether it is a book, chapter in a book, or journal article from the guide on the Study and Research Help page of the Library web page.


Contact: l.george@auckland.ac.nz
File Last updated:5th October 2009