L A N G U A G E & L I T E R A T U R E
D A T A B A S E S
Please read the Connect page of each database for a fuller explanation of content and scope. ASE
Bibliographic Databases
these databases give bibliographic references which must be checked on Voyager for availability. Look for thein results lists. Click this link to search Voyager automatically for the journal or book.
ABELL+FT
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, with some full text journals. Indexes journals, books, contents of books, book reviews and dissertations. Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A citation database that retrieves bibliographic details of serial articles by using a cited reference as a search term. Part of Web of Science, which includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index.AustLit
Indexes primary works of Australian literature and critical material from books, journals, newspapers and Internet sites. A small proportion of secondary material is full text.C19, Nineteenth Century Index
Contains 9 collections that can be searched simultaneously or individually. As well as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue and Poole's Index to Periodical Literature it includes Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals. Some full text.English Short Title Catalogue
Lists all recorded monographs printed between 1475-1700, and 80% of recorded serials titles between 1620-1800. Catalogue records include library locations, reproduction availability [microfilm or Early English Books Online], and Library of Congress Subject Headings.IBZ Online
An online international periodicals index. Its emphasis is on European periodicals but it indexes a number of scholarly journals relating to English literature.International Medieval Bibliography
Covers all aspects of the medieval period, and indexes a high proportion of material on literature.ITER - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
In addition to a bibliography of citations to general literature to the period [400 - 1700], this database includes the full text of the journals Early Theatre and Renaissance and Reformation, and John T. Shawcross's Milton: A Bibliography. This is the only Milton bibliography that covers the 18th century.MLA International Bibliography
Modern Languages Association of America International Bibliography. Indexes major scholarly serials in the field of literature, modern languages, popular culture, theory, theatre, and folklore. Includes dissertations and contents of books. Includes some full text.Nineteenth Century Masterfile Series I
Broadly covering the 19th and early 20th centuries, this database includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1907, Index to Periodicals 1890-1906, and Cumulative Index to a Selected List of Periodicals 1896-1899.Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue
A catalogue of British books published in Britain, its colonies, and the USA, between 1801-1919. It lists all editions, source libraries, and includes Library of Congress Subject Headings in catalogue records.Orlando
Provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies. Interacting with these materials creates a dynamic inquiry from any number of perspectives into centuries
of women's writing.Victorian Database
This database covers every aspect of the Victorian period, and indexes books, articles and dissertations.World Shakespeare Bibliography
Cumulates the annual bibliographies published in Shakespeare Quarterly. Entries are annotated and include references to books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions and reviews, audiovisual material and electronic media.
ABELL+FT
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. A high proportion of serials are provided in full text. Expanded Academic
Multidisciplinary full text database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers.IIPA Full Text: International Index to Performing Arts
Full text database containing many key theatre journals. Some titles are represented in other databases but several are unique to IIPA and not previously subscribed to by the Library. Click here for a full list of theatre titles. JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) is a fulltext archive of scholarly journal literature, with a high proportion of titles for English literature. Literary Encyclopedia
A full text reference work on literature written in, or translated into, English. It aims to provide detailed profiles of authors and texts, and basic knowledge on their cultural contexts. It includes a glossary of literary terms and a style book on the writing of scholarly English. Literature Online
A database of full text-searchable primary works of English and American literature, with supporting secondary material about the authors. Full text reference works are included, with links to the full text of Oxford Reference Online. References to secondary literature in scholarly journals and books are provided through ABELL and MLA International Bibliography. A significant number of journals are full text, and links are provided to full text in JSTOR and Project Muse. Nineteenth Century Masterfile Series I
Indexes a wide range of periodicals from the late eighteenth century to the early twentieth century, some in full text, including Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1907. Periodicals Archive Online
Indexes and provides some full text of journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature. The core period covered for literature is from mid/late 19th century to the end of the 20th century, depending on the journal, and covers a range of dates not extensively indexed by print resources or other databases. As well as the titles listed under Literature, those under Humanities (General) have a high literary content, especially for book reviews and short fiction. Project Muse
A database of selected full text current serials in the humanities, with a high proportion of titles in English literature.TLS Historical Archive
An index to the Times Literary Supplement for the years 1902-2005, with facsimile images of the reviews, articles, poems and letters. The names of previously anonymous reviewers are now includedPrimary Text Databases
these databases provide the full text of primary materials.Audio Drama: the L.A. Theatre Works Collection
A collection of plays performed by the L.A. Theatre Works company and recorded for online listening. Includes works by Shakespeare, Chekov, George Bernard Shaw, Oscar Wilde, J.M. Synge, Eugene O'Neill, Arthur Miller, and Lillian Hellman.Black Women Writers
A searchable online collection from Alexander Street Press providing fiction, poetry, and essays by black women from twenty countries in Africa, North America, Europe, and the Caribbean.British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950
Primary material that documents the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Caribbean Literature
A searchable online collection of Caribbean poetry and fiction from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, including hard-to-find works in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Early New Zealand Books
Text searchable images of key works from the 19th century. ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A digitised collection of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom from 1701-1800, with thousands of important works from the Americas. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Early English Books Online
Facsimile access to over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection.English Letters: Past Masters
A full text database of the work, correspondence and/or journals of prominent English literary and political figures. Searches may be made within a single text, across a database of texts or throughout the entire English Letters collection. Material is also grouped under broader themed headings, e.g. The Romantic Age. Another subset is Women Writers.
Hengwrt Chaucer
An online facsmile edition of this manuscript. The text can be viewed alongside the images. Individual tales can be selected and the manuscript displayed in various configurations.
Latin American Women Writers
An extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama by women writing in Mexico, Central and South America. Coverage is from the seventeenth century to the present day.
Literary Manuscripts (Berg Collection)
A searchable online collection of manuscripts from major nineteenth century English and American writers, selected from the Berg Collection at the New York Public Library. Authors include Matthew Arnold, the Brontes, Robert Browning, Conrad, Dickens, George Eliot, Gissing, Hardy, Henry James and Thackeray. Notebooks, correspondence, drawings, and holograph manuscripts are supplemented by rare printed materials, including early editions annotated by the authors.
Literature Online
An extensive text searchable 'library' of English and American literature resources including the full texts of major works from 600 AD to the present, with links to Early English Books Online. Literature Online may be searched in its entirety, or each collection searched independently. Middle English Compendium
Combines three major Middle English Resources and provides links among them. The Middle English Dictionary lists words from 1100-1500. The Hyperbibliography gives bibliographic information about sources cited in the Dictionary, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse provides the full text of many cited works.Orlando
Provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies.
Access individual author entries, or search on names, places, occupations or literary genre.Perdita Manuscripts
Writings previously considered "lost" due to only being available in manuscript form, this database collects writings of all kinds from the early modern period. Contains full text searchable facsimiles. Romantic Era Redefined
A searchable collection of writing from the period 1800-1830, by a wide range of authors in Britain, the British Empire and North America. The primary texts are supported by over fifty critical essays from Romantic-era scholars. Genres represented include poetry, drama, novels, letters and diaries, as well as political and philosophical works.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
A searchable online collection of over 60 volumes of poetry by Scottish women from the eighteenth through to the mid-nineteenth century. The database also includes contemporary reviews, and scholarly essays especially commissioned for the project. Women Writers Online
A full text collection of women's writing from 1400 - 1850.
The Community Archive (formerly NRAM National Register of Archives and Manuscripts)
Archives and manuscripts collections reported to the National Register of Archives and Manuscripts / Te Raarangi Puuranga, Tuhinga Ake o te Motu, from repositories throughout New Zealand. It excludes the Alexander Turnbull Library (see Tapuhi instead) and Archives New Zealand. INNZ
Indexes the contents of a wide range of New Zealand publications. Manuscripts and Archives Catalogue Special Collections/Kohikohinga Motuhake (General Library)
Lists manuscripts and archives held in Special Collections (General Library) including those formerly held in Te Huka-ā-tai (Maori Studies Library) and covers both original and copied material such as microfilm. NZ Literature File
Provides references to critical and biographical material of various New Zealand and Pacific authors. Newztext Plus
Provides the full text of many newspapers and magazines indexed in INNZ. A useful source for book reviews of New Zealand literature - either look for the full text of references retrieved from INNZ, or search by topic. Te Puna
A national catalogue with links to library holdings.
Theses
these databases cite theses and dissertations, or provide full text where indicated.
For in-depth help with finding theses - see the Theses & Dissertations page of the Library web page. ABELL+FT
Indexes some theses and dissertations, including those from New Zealand universities. Australasian Digital Theses Programme
A database of digital versions of theses produced by the postgraduate research students at Australian universities. Digital Dissertations
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses at over 1000 universities worldwide. From 1996 the full text of over 100,000 theses is available. Index to Theses
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland. MLA International Bibliography
Includes theses and dissertations on topics indexed by the database. Searches can be limited to find only these publications. Te Puna
Catalogues theses in New Zealand University Libraries.
Dictionary of Old English Corpus
Boolean and proximity searching of Old English texts, returning occurrences in context.Johnson's Dictionary
Samuel Johnson's Dictionary of the English Language on CD-ROM, with texts of the first edition [1755], and the fourth edition [1773]. For a review and search examples of the dictionary, click here.Middle English Compendium
Includes the Middle English Dictionary, with links to cited resources and full text documents. For a review and search examples of the dictionary, click here.Oxford English Dictionary
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language, tracing the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day. Searchable by headword, quotation, etymology and full text.Blackwell Reference Online
Full text encyclopedias, dictionaries and reference titles from the Blackwell Companions series covering all aspects and periods of English literature. Search individual titles, or across a collection.Cambridge Collections Online
Searchable full text collection of the Cambridge Companions Literature and Classics. Search for a topic across the entire collection or within an individual title.Oxford Reference Online
Over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works that may be searched collectively, individually, or by subject grouping. A high proportion of titles cover English literature of all types and periods - click the Literature link when you enter the database.
File last updated : 18 March, 2011
File location : /subject-guides/lit/lit.htm
Comments and suggestions to English Subject Librarian : l.george@auckland.ac.nz