Linda George MA (Hons), Dip.Libr.
Subject Librarian - English

 


Drop-in Office Hours:  

Arts Information Services,
Level 1, General Library

Any time - check at Enquiry Desk

Research Consultations

Subject Seminars

Current Awareness Service

Collection Management

Library Workshops

Library resources for research and teaching

Arts Information Services/Toi Aronui
Level 1,
General Library
University of Auckland
5 Alfred Street, Auckland
Private Bag 92019
Auckland
Mail Centre
Auckland 1142
New Zealand 

Phone 64-9-3737599 ext. 87347

l.george@auckland.ac.nz

Arts Information Services

Department of English

Other  contacts:


Sarah Etheridge
Film, TV & Media Studies and Women's Studies
s.etheridge@auckland.ac.nz
Ph. 3737 599 ext. 87152 or 85982

Mark Hangartner
European Languages & Literature
m.hangartner@auckland.ac.nz
Ph. 3737 599 ext. 88059

All Arts Information Services subject librarians



Research  Consultations 
Available to BA Hons,  MA and PhD students

Provision of a personal research guide
Identification and selection of print and electronic resources that are relevant to your specific topic
Designing search strategies to find information
One-to-one training in using Library resources [electronic and print]
Managing citations and bibliography
Follow-up appointments at your request

Request a Research Consultation

Subject Seminars Top of page
Arranged in consultation with course convener/lecturer

Course-specific seminar for graduate courses
Focus on Library resources that support course content, or a specific assignment
Handout material provided
Hands-on tuition at individual workstations
Assistance with library resources and information skills for undergraduate courses

Current Awareness Service Top of page
Provided to graduates and staff

References tailored to your research or teaching from the MLA International Bibliography
E-mailed to you at each database up-date

Collection Management Top of page
Evaluation, acquisition and de-acquisition of print and electronic resources

Selection and distribution of book reviews in your research and teaching area
Evaluation and purchase of new reference resources
Evaluation and recommendation of electronic resources
Maintenance and development of the English Language and Literature subject pages on the Library web page
Responsibility for Collection Management Plan in subject area
Assessment of donated materials
Evaluation of collection for currency, relevance and condition in consultation with academic staff

Library Workshops Top of page

Electronic booking forms for all Library workshops
Database courses also by arrangement, or in conjunction with course seminars



Full list of databases for English Language and Literature


Contact: l.george@auckland.ac.nz
File Last updated: 1st March 2011