|
General 
Bercovitch, Sacvan, ed. The Cambridge
history of American literature. 8 vols. Cambridge ; New York:
Cambridge University Press, 2004.
810.9 B48c
Figueredo, D. H., ed. Encyclopedia of
Caribbean literature. 2 vols. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood
Press, 2006.
General Arts Reference 809.89729 F47
Harman, William. A handbook to
literature. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson/Prentice Hall, 2006.
General Arts Reference 803 H74
Klarer, Mario. Introduction to literary
studies. London ; New York: Routledge, 2004.
820.9 K634
Littlewood, Ian. The literature
students' survival kit : what every reader needs to know. Malden,
MA: Blackwell, 2006.
General Arts Reference 809.891821 L78
Matterson, Stephen. American
literature : the essential glossary. London: Arnold, 2003.
General Arts Reference 810.3 M43
Ostrom, Hans A, and J. David Macey, eds. The
Greenwood encyclopedia of African American literature. 5 vols.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2005.
General Arts Reference 810.9896073 O85
Padley, Steve. Key concepts in
contemporary literature. Houndsmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire; New
York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.
Rec'd 17/07/06 - check Voyager for call number
Sturm, T. ed. The Oxford history of New Zealand literature in English. 2nd ed. Auckland: Oxford University Press, 1998.
NZ & P 820.9 O98n
General Arts Reference 820.9 O98n
Robinson, Roger, and Nelson Wattie, eds. The Oxford companion to New Zealand literature. Auckland: Oxford University Press, 1998.
NZ & P 820.9 O98c
NZ & P Quick Reference 820.9 O98c
Parini, Jay, ed. Encyclopedia of American literature. 4 vols. New York ; Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.
General Arts Reference 810.3 P23
Hendin, Josephine, G., ed. Concise companion to
postwar American literature and culture. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2004.
810.90054 H49
Table
of Contents
Serafin, Stephen R., ed. The Continuum encyclopedia of American literature. New York: Continuum, 1999.
General Arts Reference 810.3 S84
Literary Terms 
Barton, Edwin J. A
contemporary guide to literary terms : with strategies for writing essays
about literature. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1997.
General Arts Reference 801.95 B29
Childs, Peter, and Roger
Fowler, eds. Routledge dictionary of literary terms. London:
Routledge, 2006.
General Arts Reference 801.903 F78
Cuddon, J. A. A dictionary
of literary terms and literary theory. 4th ed. revised by C.E.
Preston. Oxford, UK ; Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 1998.
General Arts Reference 803 C96 1998
Ferber, Michael. A
dictionary of literary symbols. Cambridge, England ; New York:
Cambridge University Press, 1999.
General Arts Reference 809.915 F34
Kennedy, X. J., Dana Gioia,
and Mark Bauerlein. The Longman dictionary of literary terms :
vocabulary for the informed reader. New York: Pearson/Longman, 2006.
General Arts Reference 808.03 L28
Lanham, Richard A. A
handlist of rhetorical terms. Berkeley: University of California
Press, 1991.
General Arts Reference 808.03 L28
Myers, Jack Elliot, and Don
Charles Wukasch. Dictionary of poetic terms. Denton, Tex.:
University of North Texas, 2003.
General Arts Reference 808.1 M99
Simpson, Paul. Stylistics :
a resource book for students. London ; New York: Routledge, 2004.
808 S61
Table
of Contents
Turco, Lewis. The book of
literary terms : the genres of fiction, drama, nonfiction, literary
criticism, and scholarship. Hanover, NH: University Press of New
England, 1999.
General Arts Reference 803 T93
Literary Theory
& Criticism 
Bal, Mieke, ed. Narrative theory :
critical concepts in literary and cultural studies. 4 vols. London ;
New York : Routledge, 2004.
808.3014 B17
Bennett, Andrew, and Nicholas Royle. An
introduction to literature, criticism and theory. New York: Pearson
Longman, 2004.
801.95 B471
Benson, Eugene, and Leonard Connolly, eds. Encyclopedia
of postcolonial literatures in English. 3 vols. London : Routledge,
2005.
General Arts Reference 820.3 B47
Bomarito, Jessica, and Jeffrey W. Hunter,
eds. Feminism in literature : a Gale critical companion. 6 vols.
Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2005.
General Arts Reference 809.89287 G16
Brydon, Diana, ed. Postcolonialism :
critical concepts in literary and cultural criticism. 5 vols. London
; New York: Routledge, 2000.
325. 3 B91
Cuddon, J. A. A dictionary of literary
terms and literary theory. 4th ed. revised by C.E. Preston. Oxford, UK
; Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 1998.
General Arts Reference 803 C96 1998
Culler, Jonathan D., ed. Deconstruction
: critical concepts in literary and cultural studies. 4 vols. London
; New York: Routledge, 2003.
801.95 C96d
Evans, Mary, ed. Feminism : critical
concepts in literary and cultural studies. 4 vols. New York:
Routledge, 2001.
305.4201 E92
Hawley, John C., ed. Encyclopedia of
postcolonial studies. Westport, CT.: Greenwood Press, 2001.
General Arts Reference 809.891724 H39
Hawthorn, Jeremy. A glossary of
contemporary literary theory. London: Arnold ; New York: Oxford
University Press, 2000.
General Arts Reference 803 H39g
Herman, David, Manfred Jahn, and Marie-Laure
Ryan, eds. Routledge encyclopedia of narrative theory. London ; New
York: Routledge, 2004.
General Arts Reference 808.003 H55
Lazarus, Neil, ed. The Cambridge
companion to postcolonial literary studies. New York: Cambridge
University Press, 2004.
809.93358 L431
Table
of Contents
Middleton, Tim, ed. Modernism :
critical concepts in literary and cultural studies. 5 vols. New
York: Routledge, 2003.
820.9112 M62
Phelan, James, and Peter J. Rabinowitz,
eds. A companion to narrative theory. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub.,
2005.
808 P53
Poddar, Prem, and David Johnson, eds. A
historical companion to postcolonial literatures in English. Edinburgh
: Edinburgh University Press, 2005.
General Arts Reference 820.9 P74
Prince, Gerald. A dictionary of
narratology. Lincoln, Neb.: University of Nebraska Press ; Chesham:
Combined Academic, 2003.
General Arts Reference 809.3 P95
Whitson, Kathy J. Encyclopedia of
feminist literature. Wesport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.
General Arts Reference 809.8928703 W62
Taylor, Victor E., and Charles E. Winquist,
eds. Postmodernism : critical concepts. 4 vols. London ; New York:
Routledge, 1998.
149.97 T24
Literary
Periods 
Castillo, Susan P., and Ivy Schweitzer,
eds. A companion to the literatures of colonial America. Malden,
MA: Blackwell, 2005.
810.9001 C35
Table
of Contents
Coredon, Christopher, ed. A dictionary
of medieval terms and phrases. Woodbridge, Suffolk, UK ; Rochester,
NY: D.S. Brewer, 2004.
General Arts Reference 909.07014 C78
Dalrymple, Roger, ed. Middle English
literature : a guide to criticism. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2004.
820.9001 D15
Table
of Contents
Davenport, W. A. Medieval narrative : an
introduction. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.
809.02 D24
Donker, Marjorie. Dictionary of
literary-rhetorical conventions of the English Renaissance. Wesport,
Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1982.
821.309 D68
Duncan, Thomas, G., ed. A companion to
the Middle English lyric. Cambridge, England: D. S. Brewer, 2005.
821.109 D91
Hattaway, Michael, ed. A companion to
renaissance literature and culture. Oxford, UK ; Malden, Mass.:
Blackwell, 2001.
820.9003 H36
__________________. Renaissance and
reformations : an introduction to early modern English literature. Malden,
MA: Blackwell, 2005.
820.9003 H36r
Goldie, Matthew Boyd, ed. Middle English
literature : an historical sourcebook. Oxford: Blackwell, 2003.
820.9001 G61
Keeran, Peggy, and Jennifer Bowers. Literary
research and the British Romantic era : strategies and sources. Lanham,
Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005.
Received 11/05/06 - check Voyager for availability
Krueger, Roberta L., ed. The Cambridge
companion to medieval romance. New York: Cambridge University Press,
2000.
808.02 K94
Lambdin, Laura Cooner, and Robert Thomas
Lambdin, eds. A companion to Old and Middle English literature. Westport,
Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
829.09 L21
Loewenstein, David, and Janel M. Mueller,
eds. The
Cambridge history of early modern English literature. Cambridge,
UK ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
820.9003 L82
Table
of Contents
McHale, Brian, and Randall Stevenson, eds. The
Edinburgh companion to twentieth-century literatures in English. Edinburgh,
Edinburgh University Press: 2006.
On order 15/08/2006 - check Voyager for availability
Marcus, Laura, and Peter Nicholls, eds. The
Cambridge history of twentieth-century English literature. Cambridge ;
New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
820.90091 M32
O'Neill, Michael, and Mark Sandy, eds. Romanticism
: critical concepts in literary and cultural studies. 4 vols. New
York: Routledge, 2005.
809.9145 O58
Pulsiano, Phillip, and Elaine M. Traherne,
eds. A companion to Anglo-Saxon literature. Malden, MA:
Blackwell, 2001.
829.09 P98
Purchase, Sean. Key concepts in
Victorian literature. Houndmills, Basingstoke ; New York: Palgrave
Macmillan, 2006.
820.9009 P98
Richetti, John J., ed. The Cambridge
history of English literature, 1660-1780. Cambridge: Cambridge
University Press, 2005.
820.9005 R52
Ruud, Jay. Encyclopedia of medieval
literature. New York : Facts On File, 2006.
General Arts Reference 809.02 R98
Samuels, Shirley, ed. A companion to
American fiction, 1780-1865. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2004.
813.209 S19
Table
of Contents
Scott-Warren, Jason. Early modern
English literature. Cambridge ; Malden, MA: Polity, 2005.
820.9003 S42
Sutherland, John. Victorian fiction :
writers, publishers, readers. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.
Copy received 01/05/06 - check Voyager for availability
Wallace, David, ed. The Cambridge
history of medieval English literature. Cambridge ; New York:
Cambridge University Press, 1999.
820.9001 W18
Wu, Duncan, ed. A companion to
Romanticism. Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell, 1998.
820.9007 W95
Literary
Movements 
Botting, Fred, and Dale Townshend, eds. Gothic
: critical concepts in literary and cultural studies. 4 vols. London
; New York: Routledge, 2004.
809.3 B74
Table of Contents
Bradshaw, David, ed. A concise companion
to modernism. Oxford, UK ; Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2003.
820.9112 B81
Hogle, Jerrold, E., ed. Cambridge
companion to gothic fiction. New York: Cambridge University Press,
2002.
823.0872909 H71
Table
of Contents
Bradshaw, David, and Kevin J. Dettmar, eds.
A companion to modernist literature and culture. Malden, MA:
Blackwell Pub., 2005.
820.9112 B81c
Table
of Contents
Poplawski, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of
literary modernism. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
General Arts Reference 809.9112 P82
Punter, David, and Glennis Byron. The
Gothic. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2004.
823.0872909 P98go
Table
of Contents
Women 
Aston, Elaine, and Janelle Reinelt, eds. The
Cambridge companion to modern women playwrights. Cambridge, UK ; New
York: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
822.91099287 A82
Dowson, Jane, and Alice Entwistle. A
history of twentieth-century British women's poetry. New York:
Cambridge University Press, 2005.
821.91099287 D75
Table
of Contents
Hammill, Faye, Esme Miskimmin, and Ashlie
Sponenberg, eds. Encyclopedia of British women's writing, 1900-1950. New
York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.
820.99287 H22
Jordan, Kasper LeRoy. A bibliographic
guide to African-American women writers. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood
Press, 1993.
810.8 J82S [not to be borrowed]
Makinen, Merja. Feminist popular
fiction. New York: Palgrave, 2001.
823.914099287 M23
Pacheco, Anita, ed. A companion to Early
Modern women's writing. Oxford: Blackwell, 2002.
820.99287 P11c
Peterson, Jane T. Women playwrights of
diversity : a bio-bibliographical sourcebook. Westport, Conn.:
Greenwood Press, 1997.
General Arts Reference 812.54099287 P48
Robinson, Lillian S., ed. Modern women
writers. 4 vols. New York: Continuum, 1996.
General Arts Reference 809.89287 R66
Fiction 
Baker, William, and Kenneth Womack, eds. A
companion to the Victorian novel. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press,
2002.
823.809 B16
Table
of Contents
Childs, Peter, ed. Contemporary
novelists : British fiction since 1970. Houndmills, Basingstoke,
Hampshire ; New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2004.
823.91409 C53
Head, Dominic. Cambridge introduction to
modern British fiction, 1950-2000. Cambridge, UK ; New York: Cambridge
University Press, 2002.
823.91409 H43
James, Louis, ed. The Victorian novel. Oxford,
UK ; Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2006.
823.809145 J27
Table
of Contents
O'Gorman, Francis, ed. A concise
companion to the Victorian novel. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2005.
823.809 O35v
Table
of Contents
Schellinger, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia
of the novel. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.
General Arts Reference 809.3003 S32
Shaffer, Brian W., ed. A companion to
the British and Irish novel 1945-2000. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2005.
823.91409 S52
Table
of Contents
Drama 
Braunmuller, A.R., and Michael Hattaway,
eds. Cambridge companion to English renaissance drama. Cambridge,
UK ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
822.309 C17 2003
Table
of Contents
Bushnell, Rebecca, ed. A companion to
tragedy. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.
809.2512 B97
Table
of Contents
Cassell companion to theatre. London
: Cassell, 1999.
General Arts Reference 792.03 C34
Chambers, Colin. The Continuum companion
to twentieth century theatre. London: Continuum, 2002.
General Arts Reference 792.03 C444
Dessem, Allen C. A dictionary of stage
directions in English drama, 1580-1642. Cambridge, UK ; New York, NY:
Cambridge University Press, 1999.
General Arts Reference 822.3003 D47
Harrison Martin. The language of
theatre. Manchester: Carcenet, 1998.
General Arts Reference 792.03 H29
Hawkins-Dady, Mark, ed. International
dictionary of theatre. 3 vols. Chicago: St. James Press, 1996.
General Arts Reference 792.03 I61
Innes, C. D. Modern British drama : the
twentieth century. Cambridge, UK ; New York ; Cambridge University
Press, 2002.
822.9109 I58m
Kinney, Arthur F., ed. A
companion to Renaissance drama. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers,
2002.
822.309 K59
Krasner, David, ed. A companion to
twentieth-century American drama. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2005.
812.509 K89
McRae, Andrew. Renaissance drama. London:
Arnold, 2003.
822.309 M17
Milling, Jane, et al, eds. The Cambridge
history of British theatre. 3 vols. New York: Cambridge University
Press, 2004.
792.0941 C17
Mobley, Jonnie Patricia. NTC's
dictionary of theatre and drama terms. Lincolnwood, IL: NTC Pub.
Group, 1998.
General Arts Reference 792.03 M68
Owen, Susan J., ed. A companion to
Restoration drama. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2001.
822.409 O98c
Pavis, Patrice. Dictionary of the
theatre : terms, concepts, and analysis. Toronto: University of
Toronto Press, 1998.
General Arts Reference 792.03 P33Y
Richards, Shaun, ed. The Cambridge
companion to twentieth-century Irish drama. Cambridge, UK ; New York:
Cambridge University Press, 2003.
822.91099417 R48
Table
of Contents
Rollyson, Carl, ed. Critical survey of
drama. 8 vols. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 2003.
General Arts Reference 809.2003 M19 2003
Rubin, Don, et al, eds. The World
encyclopedia of contemporary theatre. 6 vols. London ; New York:
Routledge, 2000.
General Arts Reference 792.03 R89
Sternlicht, Stanford V. A reader's guide
to modern American drama. Syracause, N.Y.: Syracause University Press,
2002.
812.509 S83
White, R. Kerry. An annotated dictionary
of technical, historical, and stylistic terms relating to theatre and
drama : a handbook of dramaturgy. Lewiston, NY: E. Mellen Press, 1995.
General Arts Reference 792.03 W58
Wilmeth, Don B., and C. W. E. Bigsby, eds. The
Cambridge history of American theatre. 3 vols. Cambridge, UK ;
New York: Cambridge University Press, 1998-2000.
792.0973 W744
Poetry 
Cronin, Richard, Alison Chapman, and Antony
H. Harrison, eds. A
companion to Victorian poetry. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2002.
821.809 C94
Fredman, Stephen, ed. A concise
companion to twentieth-century American poetry. Malden, MA: Blackwell,
2005.
811.509 F85c
Table
of Contents
Haralson, Eric L., ed. Encyclopedia of
American poetry. The 20th century. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
General Arts Reference 811.509 H25
_________________. Encyclopedia
of American poetry. The nineteenth century. Cambridge: ProQuest
Information and Learning, 2000.
Lennard, John. The poetry handbook : a
guide to reading poetry for pleasure and practical criticism. Oxford ;
New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
808.1 L56
Table
of Contents
McGowan, Christopher. Twentieth-century
American poetry. Maldon, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2004.
811.509 M146
Table
of Contents
Parini, Jay, ed. The Columbia history of
American poetry. New York: Columbia University Press, 1993.
811.09 C71
Preminger, Alex, and T. V. F. Brogan, eds. The
New Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics. Princeton, N.J.:
Princeton University Press, 1993.
General Arts Reference 809.103 E56
Roberts, Neil. A companion to
twentieth-century poetry. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2001.
821.9109 R64
Smith, Eric. A dictionary of classical
reference in English poetry. Woodbridge, Suffolk: D. S. Brewer ;
Totowa, NJ. : Barnes & Noble, 1984
General Arts Reference 821.003 S64
Writing & Rhetoric 
Booker, M. Keith, ed. Encyclopedia of
literature and politics : censorship, revolution, and writing. 3 vols.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2005.
General Arts Reference 809.9335803 B72
Enos, Theresa, ed. Encyclopedia of
rhetoric and composition : communication from ancient times to the
information age. New York: Garland Pub., 1996.
808.003 E59
Hart, Roderick P., and Susanne M. Daughton.
Modern rhetorical criticism. Boston: Pearson/Allyn & Bacon,
2005.
808 H32
Jost, Walter, and Wendy Olmsted, eds. A
companion to rhetoric and rhetorical criticism. Malden, MA: Blackwell,
2004.
808.042 J84
Table
of Contents
Moran, Michael G., and Michelle Ballif,
eds. Twentieth-century rhetorics and rhetoricians : critical studies
and sources. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000.
General Arts Reference 808.00904 M8
Sloane, Thomas O., ed. Encyclopedia of
rhetoric. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
General Arts Reference 808.003 S63
Voyager searches


Search for books on other aspects of English literature using a Guided Keyword, or Subject Heading search in Voyager.
Guided Keyword
Results from a Guided Keyword search display in descending date order, so the most recent titles are at the top of the list. You may add other synonymous search words in the first box, or use fewer words than those shown in the example.
Subject Heading
Personal names and collective nouns can be used as Subject Headings, provided the person or group is prominent enough to have generated a significant amount of
information:
austen jane 1775-1817 encyclopedias
There may be an intermediary sub-division
before the type of reference book: dickens
charles 1812-1870 criticism and interpretation encyclopedias Other
sub-divisions that denote reference works are: bio-bibliographies
dictionaries
handbooks, manuals Another method of
locating more reference books of a particular type or about a literary
period is to look at the Subject Headings assigned to one of the titles
listed on this page. Click on the link to see the other titles in this
category:


Reference databases
- Literature
Online
The above link takes you straight to the Reference section
[you must be logged on with NetID and Password]. A number of online
reference sources are listed. Tick boxes to search individual titles,
or search all the titles simultaneously. Click the pull down arrow of
the REFERENCE SHELF in the left menu bar to access other dictionaries
and glossaries.
- Ebsco
The Ebsco Reference Center section contains a number of relevant titles.
- New Zealand Literature File
Check the A-Z Authors list.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographical information on people who lived in the British Isles, from earliest times to 2001. Does not cover living people.
- Oxford
English Dictionary
The most comprehensive English dictionary.
- Oxford Reference Online
Online reference collection containing Oxford University Press dictionaries and companion guides.
- Xreferplus
Contains dictionaries, directories and encyclopedias covering all disciplines.
Other electronic references sources are
available from the Reference
section of the English Language & Literature subject page on the
Library web page.
Style manual
- Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA handbook for writers of research papers. 7th ed. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2009.
General Arts Reference 808.02 M689m 2009
[borrowable copies on the main shelves at the same call number, and elsewhere in the Library system - check Voyager for locations and call numbers]
- _____________. MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing. 3rd ed. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2008.
Arts General Reference 808.027 M689a 2008
[borrowable copies on the main shelves at the same call number, and a copy in SLC]
File last updated :
5th October 2009
.
File location : engref.htm
Comments and suggestions to : l.george@auckland.ac.nz |