LEGAL DATABASES A-Z ON Library website

  Davis Law Library


A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

  • AGIS Plus Text  the Australian Attorney General's Information Service
    Indexes and abstracts articles from over 120 Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals and selectively indexes and abstracts articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Provides scanned images of journal articles on all aspects of law, including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices

  • Bills Digest  Created by the New Zealand Parliamentary Library. Provides digest information on Bills before Parliament

  • British Tax Cases - Online Edition  Fulltext judgments of tax cases decided by the Chancery and the Queen's Bench divisions of the High Court, the Scottish Court of Session, the Court of Appeal, the House of Lords (including the Privy Council) and rulings of the European Court of Justice with a bearing on UK taxation
  • British Tax Guide - Online Edition  Tax commentary and a selection of core Revenue Manuals together with selected British legislation

  • Brookers Online  Access to over 50 fulltext New Zealand legal resources published by Thomson Reuters.  Includes consolidated NZ legislation; bills, both current and defeated, with explanatory notes, select committee reports and bill versions; fulltext reported case law series, subject specific infobases with fulltext legal commentary; and the case law indexing database, Briefcase, which includes access to unreported judgments

  • Business Law Reports - Online Edition.  Produced by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales. Contains cases in Company, Commercial, Insolvency and Intellectual Property law.    

  • Canada Income Tax Guide  Provides a comprehensive yet concise treatment of the Canada Income Tax Act

  • Canada Corporations Law Reporter.  Provides comprehensive on Canadian corporate and commercial law. Reproduces all relevant acts and regulations as well as digests of recent cases and forms, precedents and government policies.

  • Conflictz Database of New Zealand conflict of laws/private international law
  • Canadian Goods and Services Tax Reporter  Complete coverage of developments concerning GST, including  legislation, proposed legislation, detailed commentary and analysis and all related government documents
  • CCH IntelliConnect  Access to fulltext New Zealand legal resources published by CCH New Zealand. Includes fulltext legislation, case law, and  commentary.  Subject specific areas include tax, employment, company, health and safety, business law, trusts, property and conveyancing, e-commerce, customs and duties, and sales and marketing
  • Croner's Company Administration Provides a comprehensive and practical guide to UK company administration

  • Dominion Tax Cases. Canadian income tax cases from 1920. Includes a topical index, cases cited, a listing of appeals filed, summaries of unreported cases and case comments.

  • Early New Zealand Statutes A searchable, open access collection of assent versions of New Zealand ordinances and statutes from 1841-1941.

  • English Reports  (ER) From Justis Publishing.  English Nominate Reports published from 1220 to 1865.  Also on HeinOnline  

  • Fenton's Important Judgments Chief Justice Fenton's Important Judgments delivered in the Compensation Court and Native Land Court 1866 to 1879
  • Hague Academy Collected Courses Online. Searchable online version of the courses of the Hague Academy of International Law. The courses deal with the theoretical and practical aspects of public and private international law and related subjects, including legislation and case law
  • Hansard Contains the weekly transcript of debates in the House of Representatives
  • HeinOnline An electronic archive database providing fulltext access to hundreds of key American, Canadian and international legal periodicals, as well as classic legal texts, many of which are now out-of-print
  • Index New Zealand (INNZ)  Indexes selected New Zealand newspapers and journals about New Zealand and the South Pacific

  • Index to Common Law Festschriften  An index to over 270 common law Festschriften
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals  From 1985, published by University of California Press. Indexes international and comparative law journals
  • Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1922 (ed. Jones and Chipman) Available within the Nineteenth Century Masterfile Series 1 database
  • Index to Legal Periodicals  From 1981, published by HW Wilson, available in Westlaw.   International coverage including the US, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and NZ.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective 1908-1981, published by HW Wilson available in EbscoHost. Indexes articles, case notes, book reviews and monographs

  • INTAX - International Taxation Issues Database  From 1990, produced by the Australian Taxation Office. Indexes and abstracts published material on taxation from over 60 Australian and international journals. 

  • IntelliConnect (CCH)   Access to fulltext New Zealand legal resources published by CCH New Zealand. Includes fulltext legislation, case law, and  commentary.  Subject specific areas include tax, employment, company, health and safety, business law, trusts, property and conveyancing, e-commerce, customs and duties, and sales and marketing
  • International Humanitarian Law  Access to full text treaties, conventions, protocols and examples of legislation to implement international humanitarian law from the ICRC
  • JustCite From Justis Publishing.  Indexes UK and European legal resources including The Law Reports, The Weekly Law Reports, European Union information, UK Statutes and transcripts from the Court of Appeal, Administrative and Crown Office judgments (from Smith Bernal Reporting).

  • Justis From the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales:includes the Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and the English Reports
  • Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports On Justis, from the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales.  The Law Reports are from 1865 onwards; The Weekly Law reports are from 1953.  The Digest series for each reporting series are also available 

  • LegalTrac  from 1980 - published by Thomson Gale. Indexes US, British Commonwealth, EU and international law

  • Legislation NZ Published by the Knowledge Basket. Provides legislation as it was passed, that is, with no later amendments.  For current legislation incorporating amendments see Brookers Online and LexisNexis NZ

  • Lexis.com

    • Australian - Provides access to decisions from Australian Commonwealth courts and tribunals, and
      state and territory supreme courts, including Australian Company Law Reports; Australian Corporations and Securities Reports; Australian Law Reports; and Victorian Reports; and a range of fulltext Australian legal journals 

    • Canada - Provides access to treaties; legislation and regulations; reported and unreported case law; and a large number of fulltext Candian legal journals

    • United Kingdom - Provides access to Statutes and Statutory Instruments; Halsbury's Laws Of England Monthly Review - Bills which tracks the progress of bills through the UK Parliament; reported and unreported case law, including The Law Reports; and a large number of fulltext UK legal journals

    • United States - Major fulltext legal resource providing access to an extensive range of primary and secondary US legal materials  

  • LexisNexis NZ:  

  • New Zealand - Access an extensive range of fulltext New Zealand legal resources published by LexisNexis NZ.  Includes consolidated NZ legislation; fulltext reported case law series including The New Zealand Law Reports; subject specific Practice Area and pages with fulltext legal commentary; the New Zealand legal encyclopedia Laws of New Zealand; and access to the case law and journal indexing database LinxPlus

  • Australia - Provides access to a range of fulltext Australian legal resources. Includes New South Wales Law Reports, Queensland Reports, Victorian Reports and the case citator Casebase

  • Linxplus. Published by the Law Society libraries of NZ, hosted by LexisNexis NZ.  Indexes selected New Zealand  case law since 1986, with access to unreported judgments where provided by the courts. Includes links to the fulltext of New Zealand Law Reports and CCH New Zealand report series.  LinxPlus also indexes legal journal articles and books received by the New Zealand Law Society libraries in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch

  • Making of Modern Law (MOML) - Treatises 1800-1926. A fulltext database of 22,000 British Commonwealth and American legal treatises published

  • Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926. Searchable database providing facsimile copies of over 10,000 items. Includes transcripts, court documents and popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder and other scandalous crimes.
  • Maori Land Court Minute Books Index Indexes the nineteenth century NZ Land Court minute books

  • Maori Land Legislation Database Provides a summary of all New Zealand legislation since 1840 (including private and local Acts) which has affected Maori or Maori land

  • Maori Land Online (MLOL) On the Maori Land Court website. Use to locate contemporary information about individual Maori land blocks including ownership details,
  • NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository. Provides access for working papers, reports, lecture series, workshop presentations, and other scholarship created by faculty at NELLCO member schools (which includes Yale and Cornell Universities)
  • New Zealand Law Journal Archive 1925 - 2001 Fulltext searchable archive of the New Zealand Law Journal from Vol 1. no.1 1925 to February 2001

  • NewzText Plus   A combined database of daily newspapers (including the NZ Herald), magazines, Newzindex, and Radio New Zealand's Newswire

  • RefWorld  Easy access to a wide range of information on international and national law and practices

  • State Trials  Contains the majority of Britain's most celebrated trials from 1163 to 1858

  • Tax Research Network (United States)  Includes United States Federal and State Tax materials. Federal Taxes includes the CCH Federal Tax Guide, Internal Revenue Code, Federal Tax Regulations, practice aids and topical indexes. State Taxes included State Tax Day and Advance Release Documents

  • United Nations Treaty Collection  A full text site offering access to bilateral and multilateral treaties

  • US Master Tax Guide Plus  Fulltext of the US Master Tax Guide

  • Waitangi Tribunal Reports Fulltext reports on Treaty issues from the Waitangi Tribunal from 1977 

  • Westlaw.com:

  • Australia - A dedicated Westlaw Australia tab provides easy access to decisions from Australian Commonwealth courts and tribunals, and state and territory supreme courts.  A Keycite citator for Australian case law is available; as is a Table of Contents service to access Australian Commonwealth legislation

  • Canada - A dedicated Canadian Research tab provides easy access to legislative materials; case law; fulltext legal journals; and fulltext legal commentaries.  A Keycite citator for Canadian case law and Table of Contents access to materials are available 

  • United Kingdom - A dedicated Westlaw UK tab provides easy access to legislative materials; case law including The Law Reports and Sweet & Maxwell law report publications; fulltext legal journals; and fulltext legal commentaries.  A Keycite citator for UK case law and Table of Contents access are also available 

  • United States - Major fulltext resource providing access to an extensive range of US legal, news, and business materials


Contact: davis@auckland.ac.nz

Last Updated: 18 January, 2012