LEGAL REFERENCE
|
| New
Zealand Legal Resources | Other
Jurisdictions | International Legal Journals |
| Area of Law by
Topic | Database & Course Guides |
Davis
Law Library |
|
|
Citation
/ Style Guides | Legal
Abbreviations | Encyclopediae |
Dictionaries - General | Dictionaries
- Law
|
|
CITATION / STYLE GUIDES 
|
- LCANZ- Legal Citations of Aotearoa New Zealand - Online guidance on the citation of all major New Zealand legal journals and law
reporting series.
- New Zealand Law Style Guide - by Geoff McLay, Christopher Murray and Jonathan Orpin. Use this to help with referencing queries. Also
available Davis Law Short Loan K114 L1 MLA
- Guide
to Theses and Dissertations (PDF)-
produced by the University of Auckland Library
See Also: Australian
Guide to Legal Citation Produced by
the Editorial Committee of the Melbourne University Law Review; also available Davis Law Quick Reference K114 K1 MEL
|
LEGAL ABBREVIATIONS

|
- LCANZ- Legal Citations of Aotearoa New Zealand - Online guidance for abbreviations of all major New Zealand legal journals and law reporting series.
- Law Reports Held by the Davis (PDF
39 KB) - search for law report abbreviations. Includes location details of law reports held in the Davis Law Library
by abbreviation
- Cardiff
Index to Legal Abbreviations - search law report
abbreviations AND journal abbreviations, good
international coverage, some
NZ coverage
- Beiber's
Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations in Lexis.com
> Legal > Reference > Law.
- TIP: Use
Restrict by Segment when
looking for an abbreviation
Also available Davis Law Quick Reference K112 BIEc2001
|
ENCYCLOPEDIAE

|
- The Laws of New Zealand in
LexisNexis
NZ > use General Search Sources > Commentary /Other to search or
browse
|
DICTIONARIES
- GENERAL 
|
- Oxford
English Dictionary the complete 20 volume Second Edition with over
600,000 words and 2.5 million quotations. Regarded as the definitive
authority on the English language. See also Davis Law Quick Reference K120 OXFn
2003
- Wakareo
- an online Maori to English, and English to Maori dictionary
- Collins
German Dictionary - the 1999 edition online
See Also Internet Sites:
|
DICTIONARIES -
LAW 
|
- Black's
Law Dictionary - the complete 8th ed. 2004 in Westlaw
> Westlaw International > Shortcuts. The classic
text for the USA. Also held Davis Law Quick Reference K120.5 G1 BLA
2004
- Collins
Dictionary of Law by W.J. Stewart and Robert Burgess 1996 - covers
UK, EU and general business law
- Lexis.com
- explore Legal > Reference > Law, includes:
- Ballantines
Law Dictionary
- Dahl's
French-English Law Dictionary
- Dahl's
Spanish-English Law Dictionary
- Dictionary
of Modern Legal Usage
- Modern Dictionary for the Legal
Professional
- New
Zealand Legal Words and Phrases - located in Quick Reference
K120.7 L1 NEW
- Oxford
Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions by Kermit L. Hall
1999 - includes over 400 entries on major Supreme Court cases through history
|
See Also Internet Sites:
- A
Dictionary
of Law (Oxford) 7th ed. 2009. Covers all jurisdictions where the legal system is founded on English law.
Also held Davis Law Quick Reference K120.5
A1 OXF 2009
- Glossarist.com - a
compendium of internet glossaries and dictionaries on Justice and Law
|
|
|
Contact: davis@auckland.ac.nz
|
|
Last Updated:
September 7, 2010 |