MULTINATIONAL
RESOURCES
Voyager - the
Library catalogue
Voyager - Example subject headings for finding general resources on law and indigenous
peoples:
Databases:
- AGIS
Plus Text (Australian database. Source documents include Australian,
New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law
journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom)
- EbscoHost
Academic Search Premier (4000 full text scholarly journals covering
wide range of subject areas)
- First Nations Periodical Index (Index of Canadian journals aimed at students, educators and researchers
interested in indigenous issues. Contains articles on New Zealand,
Australian and North American indigenous populations)
- Index to
Legal Periodicals (Index of articles, case notes, legislation notes,
book reviews, conference reports from the United States, Puerto Rico,
Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. Click here for search help)
- Hein
Online (Full text archival collection of US and selected international law
journals)
- Index
New Zealand (Indexes
over 300 journals and magazines. Coverage primarily New Zealand, but some
comparative content in articles)
- Lexis.com (US database. See Legal (excluding US) for non US resources)
- LinxPlus (An index of journal articles from
New Zealand law
journals. Selected coverage of Australia, UK and Canadian titles. Click here for search help)
- Westlaw.com (US database. Use the World Journals tab to search across all journals)
Conventions, declarations and UN materials
Web Resources
- Background
paper No.
15 1997–98: Indigenous
Affairs in Australia, New Zealand, Canada, United States of America,
Norway and Sweden (briefing
paper to Senators and Members of the Australian Parliament summarising indigenous
affairs in six countries, including Australia)
- Becoming
Visible: Indigenous Politics and Self-Government (Papers on the international indigenous rights movement in Australia,
Guatamala, Scandinavia and Canada. Proceedings of the Conference on
Indigenous Politics and Self-Government in Tromsø, 8-10 November, 1993)
- Briefing Paper on the
Rights of Indigenous Peoples in International Law (Fergus MacKay,
B.A., J.D.)
- Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS
aims to foster better understanding between peoples through the
publication and distribution of literature written and voiced by leading
contributors from Fourth World Nations.)
- Fourth
World Documentation Project (Provides UN documents, treaties,
agreements, constructive documents, internationally focused and tribal
documents. Access is by region and document type)
- Fourth World Journal (Published by CWIS. It provides articles from indigenous activists and
scholars from around the world)
- Indigenous and
Tribal Peoples (Information on the ILO's involvement in indigenous
issues. Includes a bibliography of publications)
- Indigenous
Peoples' Human Rights Project (Joint initiative of University of
Minnesota Human Rights Center and International Indian Treaty Council.
Links to See presentation for discussion includes precursors to 20th
century human rights documents, categories of human rights, selected human
rights conventions and the Draft Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous
Peoples)
- Indigenous
Peoples and the Law (Published by Victoria University of
Wellington. This resource aims to provide links to the best and latest
articles on indigenous issues available on the internet)
- Indian Law
Resource Center (Focus on the Americas, but some Pacific rim content.
Topics include indigenous rights and international human rights, land
rights, environmental protection, sovereignty and self-governance)
- NativeWeb:
Indigenous Law & Legal Issues (Information
about law and legal issues related to indigenous peoples of the world)
- Office of the United Nations High Commissioner of Human Rights
- Researching
Indigenous Peoples Rights under International Law (Steven C. Perkins,
1999)
- Rights of
Indigenous People in International Law: an annotated bibliography (Roy
and Miller, 1985 University of Saskatchewan Native Law Centre)
- UNHCR - Indigenous
Peoples (Link to fact sheet on indigenous rights, information on the
international decade of the world's indigenous people, documents and
working groups)
- United
Nations Guide for Indigenous Peoples
- United Nations Permanent
Forum on Indigenous Issues
- WorldLII:
Indigenous Law (A searchable database of indigenous legal resources
from a variety of countries)
- WWW Virtual Library:
Indigenous Studies (Resources from Africa, Asia, the Middle East,
the Americas and the Pacific)
NEW
ZEALAND 
Example subject headings for finding resources in Voyager:
Databases providing
commentary on indigenous issues in English and Mäori:
New Zealand legal
databases providing case law and commentary on indigenous issues:
Resources available in Brookers
Online.
- Briefcase (Full text reported and unreported judgments)
- DSL
Environmental Library (Resources for
looking at Maori and the RMA)
Resources available in LexisNexis NZ.
- LinxPlus (Full text reported
and unreported judgments. An index of journal articles from New Zealand law
journals. Some international coverage)
- Laws of New
Zealand (New Zealand's
legal encyclopedia. Good coverage of Mäori issues)
Web Resources
- Indigenous
Peoples and the Law (Published by Victoria University of
Wellington. This resource aims to provide links to the best and latest
articles on indigenous issues available on the internet. It is an
excellent source of news on Mäori issues)
- Resources for Mäori land law (Compiled by the University of Auckland. Print and web resources relating to Mäori land. Includes Government and
Mäori perspectives on the foreshore and seabed)
- Mäori Organisations of New Zealand (Directory of iwi and organisation contacts, links to law and land
resources, links to other Mäori and indigenous web sites)
- Mäori Studies
Guides (Compiled by the University of Auckland. Topics include Mäori
land, material culture, Mäori views and perspectives, Treaty of Waitangi
and Waitangi Tribunal materials)
- Te Puna Web
directory - Mäori Subject List (Compiled by the National Library. This
includes sections on Iwi and government, law and politics)
PACIFIC
ISLANDS 
Example subject headings for finding resources in Voyager:
Databases
- LinxPlus (An index of journal articles from New Zealand law
journals. Some international coverage. Good source of information on Pacific
law. Select Journals to limit search to articles)
- Index
New Zealand (Indexes
over 300 journals and magazines. Coverage includes some pan-tribal and iwi
specific publications)
- Newztext
Plus (Full text magazines and newspapers.
Will provide commentary on events in the Pacific)
- Newzindex (Index of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Will provide commentary on events in the Pacific)
Web Resources
AUSTRALIA
Example subject headings for finding resources in Voyager:
Databases
- AGIS
- ATSIS (Deals with legal issues such as land rights, native title,
customary law, Aboriginal deaths in custody, Aboriginals in the criminal
justice system, racial discrimination, indigenous intellectual property,
and Aboriginal youth and juvenile justice)
- AGIS
Plus Text (Full text of main Australian University law journals,
Indigenous Law Bulletin and Land, Rights, Laws: Issues of Native Title)
- AUSTLII (Full text Australian
cases from a variety of courts)
- CINCH-ATSIS (Index of articles on the involvement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait
Islander peoples in the Australian justice system. Subject coverage
includes all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections,
crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law
enforcement, police and victims of crime)
- Indigenous
Australia (Index of articles, book chapters, parliamentary
information, case law, audiovisual materials and internet resources on Aboriginal and Torres Strait
Islander life. Compiled by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
Commission Library)
Internet Resources
- Aboriginal
Justice Advisory Committee (Links to reviews,
reports and issue papers on Police, Prisons and Custody, Women, Children
& Juveniles and International Issues)
- Agreements, Treaties, and Negotiated Settlements Project This resource examines treaty and
agreement-making with Indigenous Australians and the nature of the
cultural, social and legal rights encompassed by past, present and
potential agreements and treaties. Searchable index of agreements with
links to related agreements and legislation, seminar papers and a
bibliography. Some items are full text)
- ATSIC:
Law and Justice (Links under Publications to the Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths
in Custody report, Stolen Generations report and submissions on the Senate
Inquiry into the Human Rights (Mandatory Sentencing of Juvenile Offenders)
Bill 1999). This site is now no longer active and is only available in archive form. Date of archive is 2006.
- Indigenous Peoples and the Law ( Parliament of Australia, Parliamentary Library. Contains links to legislation, court and tribunal decisions, links to national
bodies and publications on native title. Useful index of journal articles and reports arranged by year.
Most items listed are full text online)
- Indigenous Portal (Links to
Government resources specific to indigenous Australians. See Justice &
Law, Land & Native Title)
- INFOKOORI (State
Library of New South Wales. INFOKOORI is an index of Aboriginal and Torres
Strait Islander newspapers and magazines. INFOKOORI reports on people,
issues and events that affect Indigenous peoples from all over Australia
— from an Indigenous perspective)
- Mabo and
the Wik decision (Links to discussion on the impact of these decisions
on Native Title in Australia. See also Noel Pearson's article 'The Concept
of Native Title in Common Law'. Compiled by P.L. Duffy Resource Centre,
Trinity College, Western Australia)
- NNTT: National Native Title Tribunal (Provides information about the Tribunal, native title applications, the
future act processes, indigenous land use agreements, mediation and other
information related to native title and the Native Title Act 1993. See publications for full text newsletters and research papers)
- NTRB: Native Title Representative Bodies (Representative
bodies are primarily service delivery agents who are responsible for
providing professional native title services to their clients in an
effective and equitable manner. The NTRB site provides links to
news and resources)
- Reconciliation and Social Justice Library (Full text publications from a range of agencies including ATSIC, AIATSIS, AIC, ALRC,
Australians for Native Title and Reconciliation ANTaR, government departments,
HREOC, Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody, University of New
South Wales Law Journal and Uniya - Social Justice Centre)
- WebLaw
- Native Title (Legislation, case law and commentary relating to native title and Aboriginal and Torres
Strait Islanders)
- Wik: the Aftermath
and Implications (Full text articles on the Wik decision from the
University of New South Wales Law Review)
- WWW
Virtual Library: Aboriginal Studies (Native title resources)
- Yorta
Yorta Native Title Case (Article briefly reviewing judgment)
AMERICAS
Alaska
- Alaska Native
Issues (Compiled by Tribal Clearinghouse)
- Alaska Native Knowledge Network (Articles and guides on various topics including cultural and intellectual
property rights, heritage protection)
- Stock, Corporations and the
Native Land Claims Settlement (This booklet is one of a collection of
articles written by people who are interested in Native land claims produced
by the University of Alaska and Alaskan Department of Education. See also Environmental
Issues in Land Claims, New
Tribes for New Times, Politics
and Alaska Natives)
- Arctic Circle: Social Equity and Environmental Justice (Links to
articles, commissions of inquiry, resolutions and reports on indigenous land
rights. Resources pertaining to the Alaska
Native Land Claims Settlement Act of 1971)
- Alaska
Native Claims Settlement Act (Full text of the Act, an electronic book,
newspaper and journals articles, Alaska
Native Commission Reports)
- Turtle
Island Native Network (Land rights resources. Links to Aboriginal title,
treaties and self-governance)
Canada and Nunavut
Example subject headings for finding resources on law and
First Nations in Voyager:
Databases
- Index to
Legal Periodicals (Index of articles, case notes, legislation notes,
book reviews, conference reports from the United States, Puerto Rico,
Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. Click here for search help)
- First Nations Periodical Index (Index of journals aimed at students, educators and researchers interested
in indigenous issues. Links through to full text online issues where
available)
- Hein
Online (Full text archival collection of US and selected international law
journals. Use the search options to locate articles on Canadian issues in
other journals)
- Lexis.com (Legal > Legal (excluding U.S.) > Canada
- legislation, case law, and journal articles)
- Westlaw.com (Directory > International / Worldwide Materials >
North America > Individual Country Materials > Canada - legislation,
case law and journal articles. Also try the World Journals tab for journal
articles)
Case Law
Web Resources
- A Brief
Introduction to Aboriginal Law in Canada (Bill Henderson)
- Aboriginal
Canada Portal (information on Indigenous Canadian social, land and legal
issues. See Claims and Treaties for full text of the Nunavut Agreement Act)
- Aboriginal
Justice Learning Network - a voluntary network of representatives of
the justice system and Aboriginal communities (Department of Justice,
Canada)
- Canadian Journal of Native
Studies (the CJNS is full text online from volume one. The CJNS is
indexed by the First Nations Periodical Index )
- CBC
Archives: The Creation of Nunavut (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation's
coverage of the Nunavut settlement. Includes TV footage and radio
interviews)
- Delgamuukw
Backgrounder - how the decision affects us (This is a three
page overview from the Lower Mainland Treay Advisory Committee)
- Delgamuukw
/ Gisday'wa National Process (an extensive
collection of resources relating to the Delgamuukw decision. This site has
been designed to provide First Nations with the best available legal
research and practical tools for implementing Delgamuukw on the ground. See Research for papers on the meaning of Aboriginal title, proof of Aboriginal title,
economic dimensions of Aboriginal title,
Delgamuukw and treaties, Delgamuukw and the extinguishment of Aboriginal
title in Canada)
- Department of Justice - Research and Statistics (Full text research papers on Aboriginal issues, youth justice, Inuit
women and access to justice, bibliography of Nunavut justice issues and domestic violence)
- Fourth
World Documentation Project - Canada (documents
and information on issues effecting indigenous populations in Canada)
- Indian and Northern
Affairs (Department of Justice, Canada) -See publications for full text resources on First Nations land and legal issues. See online
resources for full text contemporary, historical and treaty specific
information. Bibliographies on treaty and aboriginal issues, full text research
reports on treaty issues, timelines
and historical maps, treaty
guides and final agreements
- Interviewing
Inuit Elders. Tirigusuusiit, Piqujait and Maligait: Inuit Perspectives on Traditional Law (Interviewing Inuit Elders Series explores interviews conducted
as part of the first Legal Studies Program offered by Nunavut Arctic College
in Iqaluit. Chapter Two discusses Inuit concepts and traditional law.
Comparision is made between Inuit and Western perspectives. This chapter may
be viewed online or downloaded in PDF)
- Law Society of Nunavut (See 'Polar Barrister' for discussion of recent legal issues)
- Legislative
Assembly of Nunavut (See Hansard for debates)
- Nunavut Government (See links
to Acts and Regulations)
- Nunavut Human Rights Consultation Workshop 2001 (Preliminary review of issues in
the development of Human Rights Legislation for Nunavut)
- Nunavut
: Inuit regain control of their lands and their lives (IWGIA report 102)
- Nunavut "Our
Land" (Links to information on Nunavut government and a
bibliography providing useful legal articles)
- WORLDLII - Indigenous
Law - Canada (Links to websites providing full text cases,
commentary on legal issues, directories of contacts)
North America
Example subject headings for finding resources on law and
Native Americans in Voyager:
Databases
- Hein
Online (Full text archival collection of US law journals. Full coverage
of the American Indian Law Review. Use the search options to locate articles
in other journals)
- Index to
Legal Periodicals (Index of articles, case notes, legislation notes,
book reviews, conference reports from the United States, Puerto Rico,
Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. Click here for search help)
- Lexis.com (Legal > Area of Law by Topic > Native American Law)
- Westlaw.com (All Databases > Topical Materials by Area of Practice > Native
American Law. Also try the World Journals tab for journal articles)
- First Nations Periodical Index (index of journals aimed at students, educators and researchers interested
in indigenous issues. Links through to full text online issues where
available. Native American content is included)
Internet Resources
- Findlaw:
Indian and Native Peoples Law (directory of
contacts, legislations, case law, journals and other documents)
- Fourth World
Documentation Project - United States (documents
and information on issues effecting indigenous populations in the United
States)
- Indian
Affairs: Laws and Treaties (compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler,
is an historically significant, 7-volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws
and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes)
- International
Indian Treaty Council (an organization of Indigenous Peoples from North,
Central, South America and the Pacific working for the Sovereignty and
Self-Determination of Indigenous Peoples and the recognition and protection
of Indigenous Rights, Traditional Cultures and Sacred Lands)
- Legal
Information Institute - Indian Law (links to the US Constitution,
relevent titles in the U.S Code and case law from various courts)
- MegaLaw:
Native American Law (directory of contacts, legislation, case law, and
Native American tribal websites)
- Native American Law -
New England School of Law (Primary material, bibliographies, collections
of Internet resources, cultural property organizations, individual Indian
nations,other Aboriginal and Indigenous Peoples' sites)
- The Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development (Topical reports covering issues such as tribal courts and alternative dispute resolution,
indigenous people in international law, intellectual property rights, and resource management)
- Tribal Court
Clearinghouse - a project of the Tribal Law and Policy Institute (tribal, federal and state legislation and case law, directory of contacts,
resources by topic and a section on emerging issues)
Latin America -
South and Central
Example subject headings for finding resources on law and
Latin American peoples in Voyager:
ASIA 
Example subject headings for finding resources on law and indigenous Asian populations in Voyager:
Example subject headings for Te
Puna:
| Ainu legal status, laws, etc. |
Minorities government policy Japan |
| Ainu government relations |
Indigenous peoples Japan |
EUROPE
(FOCUSING ON THE SÁMI)
Example subject headings for finding resources on law and the Sámi in Voyager:
Example subject headings for Te
Puna:
| Sami (European people) land tenure |
Sami (European people) legal status laws etc |
- Baiki: The North American Sámi
Journal (a current affairs and indigenous issues magazine. Contents of back issues are also available)
- Dam
a river, damn a people? : Sámi (Lapp) livelihood and the Alta/Kautokeino
Hydro-Electric Project and the Norwegian Parliament (IWGIA report 45)
- Do Fences Make Good Neighbors - The Influence of Territoriality on Sámi-State Relations (land and resource rights and state responses to Sámi self
determination)
- EU
policy on indigenous peoples
- Full text articles by Peter Jull, University of Queensland, on Australian, Canadian and
Scandinavian indigenous issues
- Historical
Synopsis of the Sámi / United Nations Relationship (paper by Christian
Jakob Brumeister Hicks discussing relationships with the ILO and World
Council of Indigenous Peoples)
- Land
Rights, Linguistic Rights, and Cultural Autonomy for the Finnish Sámi People (The Finnish Sámi Parliament, 1997)
- Land Sales Act of
1902 as a Means of Norwegianization
- IWGIA index (See
Saamiland/Sampi for Sámi articles in Indigenous Issues journal)
- Sámi
Movement, Norwegian Labour Party and Sámi Rights
- Sámi
of Norway (Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
- Sámi Land Rights -
(see Issues: Land Rights comment on 1996 judicial decisions in Sweden)
- Self
determination and indigenous peoples : Sámi rights and northern
perspectives (IWGIA report 58)
- The
Development of Sámi Rights since 1980 (Carsten Smith, University of
Oslo)
- The
Nordic Sámi Council and National Sámi Associations (history Sámi
political mobilization)
- The
Sámi of Lapland (Minority Rights Group Report No. 55, London. 1982)
- University of Tromso Centre
for Sámi Studies (links to Sámi law court decisions,
articles and bibliographies, information on conferences, abstracts from
conference proceedings and links to organisations interested in indigenous
issues. Note: some parts of this site are in Norwegian only)
- WWW
Virtual Library - Sámi resources
|