NEW ZEALAND CASE LAW

  NZ Legislation  |  NZ Legal Journals  |   NZ Legal Commentaries & Encyclopediae  

   NZ Internet Resources  |   Davis Law Library


NZ Case Law Online  |  NZ Case Law in the Library  |  Indexes to NZ Case Law  |  Unreported Judgments

 NZ Case Citators  |   Finding NZ Law Report Abbreviations  |  Selected Internet Resources

NZ CASE LAW ONLINE - LIBRARY DATABASES Top of page

NZ CASE LAW IN THE LIBRARY Top of page

  • All New Zealand case law is located on Level 2 of the Davis Law Library (entrance level) with the New Zealand materials, Stacks 2B to 3B.  
  • Use Law Reports Held by the Davis (PDF 110KB) to locate details of particular reporting series

INDEXES TO NZ CASE LAW Top of page

Use the following databases when you are looking for New Zealand cases:

See also: New Zealand Case Law Digest Archive  - in Brookers Online 1985 - 2004

UNREPORTED JUDGMENTS Top of page

  • The library provides fulltext access to selected unreported judgments through Briefcase  in Brookers Online 1986-; AND LinxPlus available in LexisNexis NZ AND direct access using LinxPlus  1986-

TIP: Search both databases, coverage differs between products

NZ CASE CITATORS Top of page

  • New Zealand Case Citator  - a comprehensive case citator of reported NZ case law and subsequent histories
  • Casebase in LexisNexis NZ - a comprehensive case citator covering more than 60 Australian and overseas report series, including New Zealand, and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court and the Supreme Courts of all Australian states and territories and other selected jurisdictions. See online Casebase User Guide
  • Australian and New Zealand Citator to UK Reports - open International Cases in LexisNexis NZ and select Australian & New Zealand Citator to UK Reports in the Sources drop down box.  Finds UK cases cited in Australia or New Zealand law reporting series

FINDING NZ LAW REPORT ABBREVIATIONS Top of page

SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES Top of page


Contact:  davis@auckland.ac.nz

File Last updated: 3 May 2011