A Guide to Medieval History Resources
in
The University of Auckland Library
Introduction
Reference Books: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Bibliographies
Primary Sources
Journal Articles and Databases
Introduction
This guide focuses on the medieval history resources in The University of Auckland Library.
These lists are selective. Links to the catalogue will help you find additional resources.
Reference Books: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages, Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief. New York: Scribner, c1982-c1989.
- L'Europa del Medioevo e del Rinascimento: Storia, prolusioni di Averil Cameron et al.; cronologia e dizionario a cura di Roberto Barbieri con la collaborazione di Emanuela Rodriguez. Milano: Jaca Book, 1992.
- The Middle Ages: A Concise Encyclopaedia, general editor, H.R. Loyn. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1989.
- Handbook of European History, 1400-1600: Late Middle Ages, Renaissance, and Reformation, edited by Thomas A. Brady, et al. Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1994-1995.
- Handbook of Medieval Sexuality, edited by Vern L. Bullough and James A. Brundage. New York: Garland Pub., 1996.
More are listed in The Catalogue
Middle Ages - Dictionaries
Civilization, Medieval - Dictionaries
Handbook AND (medieval OR "middle ages")
Bibliographies
For books with medieval primary sources, try this subject heading in the library catalogue.
Middle ages - History - Sources
Examples
- Downs, Norton. Basic Documents in Medieval History, Princeton: Van Nostrand, 1959.
- Hollister, C. Warren. Medieval Europe: A Short Sourcebook, 3rd edn. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1997.
- Geary, Patrick J. (ed.) Readings in Medieval History, 2nd edn. Peterborough, Ont.: Broadview Press, 1997.
- Taylor, John. The Use of Medieval Chronicles, London: Historical Association, 1965.
- Caenegem, R.C. van. Introduction aux sources de l'histoire meŽdieŽvale, Amsterdam: North-Holland, 1997.
- Bak, János M. Medieval Narrative Sources: A Chronological
Guide: With a List of Major Letter Collections, New York: Garland, 1987.
Primary Sources
Subject Headings
Manuscripts, Medieval - England
Manuscripts, Medieval - France
including catalogues, indexes, and facsimiles.
Keywords
medieval AND sources
medieval AND texts
Examples:
- Rouse, Mary A. Authentic Witnesses: Approaches to Medieval Texts and Manuscripts, Notre Dame, Ind.: University of Notre Dame Press, c1991.
- Rowland, Beryl. Medieval Woman's Guide to Health: The First English Gynecological Handbook: Middle English Text, Kent, Ohio: Kent State University Press, 1981.
- Gehrke, Pamela. Saints and Scribes: Medieval Hagiography
in its Manuscript Context, Berkeley: University of California Press,
c1993.
- Parkes, M. B. Scribes, Scripts, and Readers: Studies in the Communication, Presentation, and Dissemination of Medieval Texts, London: Hambledon Press, 1991.
- O'Mara, V. M. A Study and Edition of Selected Middle English
Sermons: Richard Alkerton's Easter Week Sermon Preached at St. Mary Spital
in 1406, a Sermon on Sunday Observance, and a Nunnery Sermon for the Feast
of the Asssumption, V.M. O'Mara. Leeds: School of English, University
of Leeds, 1994.
- Doane, A.N. and Pasternack, Carol Braun (eds) Vox Intexta: Orality and Textuality in the Middle Ages, Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin Press, c1991.
Journal Articles and Databases
To find the Library's journals on medieval history either look up the journal title or try these subject heading searches:
Subject Headings
Middle Ages - Periodicals
Civilization, Medieval - Periodicals
Databases
Primary and secondary sources including an extensive collection of ebooks and ejournals are available in the Library's databases.
|