General reference works 
General histories
In chronological order.
- Thomson, Arthur S., The Story of New Zealand: Past and Present, Savage and Civilized, London: Murray, 1859.
- Rusden, George William, History of New Zealand, 2nd.edn, Melbourne: Melville, Mullen & Slade, 1895. First edn, 1883.
- Pember Reeves, William, The Long White Cloud: Ao Tea Roa, London: H. Marshall, 1898.
- Shrimpton, A.W. and Alan Mulgan, Maori & Pakeha A History of New Zealand, Auckland: Whitcombe & Tombs, 1921.
- Beaglehole, J.C., New Zealand: A Short History, London: G. Allen & Unwin, 1936.
- Morrell, W.P., A History of New Zealand Life, Christchurch: Whitcombe and Tombs, 1957.
- Condliffe, J.B. and and W.T.G. Airey, A Short History of New Zealand, 9th edn, Christchurch: Whitcombe & Tombs, 1960. Originally published in 1929.
- Oliver, W.H., The Story of New Zealand, London: Faber, 1960.
- Sinclair, Keith and Wendy Harrex, Looking Back: A Photographic History of New Zealand, Wellington: Oxford University Press, 1978.
- Cumberland, Kenneth B., Landmarks, Surry Hills, N.S.W.: Reader's Digest, 1981.
- Hawke, G.R., The Making of New Zealand: An Economic History, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1985.
- Sinclair, Keith, A Destiny Apart: New Zealand's Search for National Identity, Wellington: Allen & Unwin, 1986.
- Barber, Laurie H., New Zealand: A Short History, Auckland: Century Hutchinson, 1989.
- Binney, Judith, The People and the Land = Te Tangata me te Whenua: An Illustrated History of New Zealand, 1820-1920, Wellington: Allen & Unwin, 1990.
- Walker, R. J., Struggle Without End = Ka Whawhai Tonu Matou, Auckland: Penguin, 1990.
- The Oxford History of New Zealand, 2nd edn, Auckland: Oxford University Press, 1992. First edn, 1981. Includes 70 pages of bibliography.
- King, Michael, Maori: A Photographic and Social History, Rev. edn, Auckland: Reed, 1996. First edn, 1983.
- Belich, James, Making Peoples: A History of the New Zealanders: From Polynesian Settlement to the End of the Nineteenth Century, Auckland: Penguin, 1996.
- Bohan, Edmund, New Zealand: The Story So Far: A Short History, Auckland: HarperCollins, 1997.
- Sinclair, Keith, A History of New Zealand, Rev. edn, Auckland: Penguin Books, 2000. First published 1959.
- Belich, James, Paradise Reforged: A History of the New Zealanders from the 1880s to the Year 2000, Auckland: Allen Lane, 2001.
- King, Michael, The Penguin History of New Zealand, Auckland: Penguin, 2004.
- Mein Smith, Phillippa, A Concise History of New Zealand, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005.
Guides to sources 
- Traue, J.E., New Zealand Studies: A Guide to Bibliographic Resources, Wellington: Victoria University Press, 1985.
- Wood, G.A., Studying New Zealand History: A Guide to Sources, Dunedin: University of Otago Press, 1999.
- Labrum, Bronwyn, Women's History: A Short Guide to Researching and Writing Women's History in New Zealand, Wellington: Bridget Williams Books, 1993.
- Royal, Charles, Te Haurapa: An Introduction to Researching Tribal Histories and Traditions, Wellington: Bridget Williams Books and Historical Branch, Dept. of Internal Affairs, c1992.
Encyclopedias 
- Te Ara The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
- Bateman New Zealand Encyclopedia, 6th edn, Auckland: David Bateman, 2005.
- The Cyclopedia of New Zealand: Industrial, Descriptive, Historical, Biographical, Facts, Figures, Illustrations, Wellington: Cyclopedia Co. Ltd., 1897-1908.
Lots of information on businesses, associations and clubs.
- An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A.H. McLintock, Wellington: Govt. Print.,1966.
Also available online within Te Ara.
- Jackson, W. K. and Alan McRobie, Historical & Political Dictionary of New Zealand, Auckland: Longman, 2008.
- Lambert, Max, Air New Zealand Almanac, 1982-1989.
The almanacs were a very detailed collection of facts and figures covering not just the 1980s but also earlier years.
- New Zealand's Heritage: The Making of a Nation, Wellington: Hamlyn, 1971-73.
Originally issued in 105 weekly parts. A good source for illustrations. Author, title, and artist index in no.105.
Chronologies 
- The New Zealand Book of Events, Auckland: Reed Methuen, 1986.
Chronologies cover various subject areas.
- Finn, George, Datus: A Chronology of New Zealand from the Time of the Moa, 4th edn, Auckland: National Printing, 1932.
- Jackson, W. K. and Alan McRobie, Historical & Political Dictionary of New Zealand, Auckland: Longman, 2008.
Includes 33 page chronology.
- New Zealand Official Yearbook, Wellington: Dept of Statistics, 1892-
1997 edn has 26 pages covering the period from 1893. Other recent volumes have 2 page summaries.
Yearbooks 
Yearbooks provide not only basic statistical data, but also useful general information about government policy and activity.
Biography 
- The Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, Wellington: Allen & Unwin/Dept. of Internal Affairs, 1990-2000.
Five volumes covering 1769-1960.
Selections of Maori biographies have been published separately in Māori and English, eg,
The People of Many Peaks: The Maori Biographies from the Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, Volume 1, 1769-1869, Wellington: Bridget Williams Books, 1991.
The Turbulent Years: The Maori Biographies from the Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, Volume 2, 1870-1900, Wellington: Bridget Williams Books, 1994.
Ngā Tāngata Taumata Rau, Wellington: Allen & Unwin: Te Tari Taiwhenua, 1990.
- Scholefield, Guy H., A Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, Wellington: Dept of Internal Affairs, 1940.
Vol. 2 contains an index of cross references.
- New Zealand Who's Who, Aotearoa, 1992- editor, Alister Taylor, Auckland: New Zealand Who's Who Ltd., 1992-
- Who's Who in New Zealand, Wellington, 1908-
Published in 1908, 1925, 1932, 1941, 1951, 1956, 1961, 1964, 1968, 1971, 1977 and 1991. In addition to biographical details it contains useful directory information such as lists of privy councillors, supreme court judges.
- Wilson, J.O., New Zealand Parliamentary Record, 1840-1984, 4th edn, Wellington: Govt. Print., 1985
Details of parliamentary careers of ministers, under secretaries, MPs, and MLCs. See the 1950 edition for information on members of Provincial Councils.
- The Book of New Zealand Women = Ko Kui Ma te Kaupapa, edited by Charlotte Macdonald, Merimeri Penfold and Bridget Williams, Wellington: Bridget Williams Books, 1991.
- Fletcher, H.J., Index of Maori Names.
Microfilm of a manuscript compiled around 1925 held by the Alexander Turnbull Library. The names are from the first 19 vols of Journal of the Polynesian Society; the first 42 vols of the Transactions of the New Zealand Institute; Shortland's three books, and White's Ancient History of the Maori.
- Alexander Turnbull Library, Alexander Turnbull Library Biographies Index, 1995.
Originally begun in the 1940s as an in-house index at The Alexander Turnbull Library. Covers a wide range of published and some manuscript sources, including over 300 newspapers, journals and magazines. Replaced by Index New Zealand for newspapers and serials after 1987.
- Alexander Turnbull Library, New Zealand Biographical Clippings, 1890-1988, Wellington: National Library, 1997.
Atlases, maps & gazetteers 
The Map Room on Level M in the General Library holds all maps for the New Zealand and Pacific area. These include early topographical and cadastral series and miscellaneous publications. The Auckland War Memorial Museum Library and Auckland City Libraries have large collections of historical maps.
- Guide to Finding New Zealand Historical Maps, The University of Auckland Library, 2011.
- Bateman New Zealand Historical Atlas = Ko Papatuanuku e Takoto Nei, Malcolm McKinnon (editor), with Barry Bradley and Russell Kirkpatrick, Auckland: Bateman in association with Historical Branch, Dept. of Internal Affairs, 1997.
Maps and diagrams covering many themes and all epochs in NZ history.
- Hargreaves, Raymond P., Maps in New Zealand Provincial Council Papers, Dunedin: University of Otago Press, 1964.
- Hargreaves, Raymond P., Maps in the Appendices to the Journals, House of Representatives: A Chronological Listing, Dunedin: University of Otago, Geography Department, 1968.
- Hargreaves, Raymond P., Maps of New Zealand Appearing in British Parliamentary Papers, Dunedin: University of Otago Press, 1962.
- He Korero Purakau mo nga Taunahanahatanga a nga Tupuna = Place Names of the Ancestors, a Maori Oral History Atlas, Wellington: New Zealand Geographic Board, 1990.
- McLintock, Alexander H., A Descriptive Atlas of New Zealand, Wellington: Govt. Print., 1959.
- Maling, Peter Bromley, Historic Charts & Maps on New Zealand, 1642-1875, Auckland: Reed, 1996.
A selection - beautifully reproduced.
- Marshall, Brian, Atlas of New Zealand Boundaries, text Brian Marshall, maps Jan Kelly, new edn, Auckland: Auckland University Press, 1996.
Includes maps showing changes in provincial and county boundaries with brief explanatory notes.
- New Zealand. Dept. of Lands and Survey, Gazetteer of New Zealand Place Names, Wellington, 1968.
Lists all names used on the Department's topographical maps before October 1966. The definitive source of spelling. The 1990 edition is available in the Microtexts room. For most recent changes see the LINZ Find Names database (previously known as the New Zealand Geographic Place Names database).
- Reed, Alexander W., Place Names of New Zealand, Auckland: Raupo, 2010.
Alphabetical list of place names with descriptions of meanings and origins. Gives approximate location.
Bibliographies 
Te Puna National Union Catalogue
Te Puna is a catalogue of New Zealand libraries. It has a comprehensive list of New Zealand resources including some material published overseas.
National bibliographies
A national bibliography lists all books and pamphlets published in a particular country, or containing significant reference to it, or written by authors of that country.
To 1960
- Bagnall, Austin G., New Zealand National Bibliography to the Year 1960, Wellington: Govt. Print., 1969-1985.
- Hocken, Thomas M., A Bibliography of the Literature Relating to New Zealand, Wellington: Govt. Print., 1909.
The standard 19th Century New Zealand bibliography. A chronological arrangement of publications (both New Zealand and foreign) relating to New Zealand. Provides an author subject index. For the later years becomes increasingly unreliable. Should be used in conjunction with Johnstone's supplement and New Zealand National Bibliography.
- Hocken, Thomas M., A Bibliography of the Literature Relating to New Zealand Supplement, compiled by A.H. Johnstone, Wellington: Govt. Print., 1927.
- Chapple, Leonard J.B., A Bibliographical Brochure Containing Addenda and Corrigenda to Extant Bibliographies of New Zealand Literature, Dunedin: Reed, 1938.
- Williams, Herbert W., A Bibliography of Printed Maori to 1900, Wellington: A. R. Shearer, Govt. Printer, 1975.
- Sommerville, A.D., A Supplement to the Williams Bibliography of Printed Maori.
Covers 1900-1947.
1950-1965
- Current National Bibliography, Wellington: National Library, 1950-1965.
An annual list of publications with subject references. Bound in with Index to New Zealand Periodicals.
1966-1999
- New Zealand National Bibliography, Wellington: National Library, 1966-1999.
Published monthly with annual cumulations. Alphabetical listing of author, title and subject references.
2000s
Subject bibliographies 
To find bibliographies on a particular subject, search the Catalogue for subject headings with the subdivision "bibliography", eg,
New Zealand - History - Bibliography
This is a selection of the many bibliographies on New Zealand history:
- Hallett, R.C. and A.P.U. Millett, eds., Bibliography of the Waikato Region, Hamilton: University of Waikato Library, 1988.
- Dow, Derek A., Annotated Bibliography for the History of Medicine & Health in New Zealand, Dunedin: Hocken Library, University of Otago, 1994.
- Lineham, Peter J., Religious History of New Zealand: A Bibliography, Palmerston North: Dept. of History, Massey University, 1993.
- Nga taonga o te Tai Tokerau: He pukapuka kahui korero. Te wahanga tuatahi, Nga tuhinga tawhito. Te wahanga tuarua, Nga tuhinga o muri ake. Te wahanga tuatoru, Nga tuhinga whakapae me nga pukapuka = A collection of information. Part one, Early manuscripts. Part two, Later manuscripts. Part three, Theses and books, Auckland: James Henare Maori Research Centre, The University of Auckland, 1998.
- The Oxford History of New Zealand, 2nd edn, Auckland: Oxford University Press, 1992. First edn, 1981. Includes 70 pages of bibliography.
- Taylor, C.R.H., A Bibliography of Publications on the New Zealand Maori and the Moriori of the Chatham Islands, London: Oxford, 1972.
- Sargison, Patricia A., Victoria's Furthest Daughters: A Bibliography of Published Sources for the Study of Women in New Zealand, 1830-1914, Wellington: Alexander Turnbull Library, 1984.
- Ville, Simon P., A Select Bibliography of the Business History of New Zealand, Auckland: Dept. of Economics, The University of Auckland, 1993.
Periodicals 
General interest magazines
Early general interest New Zealand magazines are difficult to locate because there are no authoritative lists. They are particularly useful for studies of representations and perceptions.
The Index to New Zealand Periodicals lists those it has indexed at the front of each annual volume from 1941 to 1986 including the Weekly News but not the Women's Weekly.
Some useful New Zealand magazines held in the NZ & Pacific Collection are:
19th Century
- The Auckland Weekly News 1863-1963. [Microfilm Serials]
- Southern Monthly Magazine 1863-1866. [NZ Glass Case 052 S726]
- New Zealand Magazine: A Quarterly Journal of General Literature 1876-1877. [NZ Glass Case 052 N531]
- New Zealand Country Journal 1877-1886, 1888-1898. [NZ Glass Case 630.5 N54]
- New Zealand Farmer 1887- [NZ & P Storage 910 N53]
- New Zealand Punch 1888-1889, 1899. [N Z Glass Case 052 P98]
- Zealandia: A Monthly Magazine of New Zealand Literature by New Zealand Authors 1889-1890. [NZ Glass Case 052 Z41]
- The Tribune: An Avocate of Social, Political and Religious Liberty 1894-1895. [NZ Glass Case 052 T82]
20th Century
- The Auckland Weekly News (The Weekly News) 1900-1963. [NZ & P Microfilm Serials]
- New Zealand Farmer 1887- [NZ & P Storage 910 N53]
- School Journal [Various titles] 1907- [NZ & P 372.4 S372]
- White Ribbon. Christchurch: Printed for the W.C.T.U. of N.Z. by Smith, Anthony, Sellars [Microfiche Serials] 1895-1960. An index is available.
- Brooks, Caroline. A Bibliography of Articles Published in The White Ribbon, The Official Organ of the New Zealand Women's Christian Temperance Union, 1895-1919. [NZ & P 016.17810995 B87 and MICROFICHE 93-243]
- New Zealand Illustrated Magazine. 1899-1905. [NZ Glass Case 052 N538]
- New Zealand Graphic and Ladies' Journal. 1890-1908. [Microfilm Serials]
- Weekly Graphic and New Zealand Mail. 1908-1913. [NZ Glass Case 079.95 W395 and Microfilm Serials]
- New Zealand Railways Magazine. 1926-1940. [NZ Glass Case 385.0995 N542] A cumulative index is also available.
- New Zealand Listener. 1939- [NZ & P 791.405 N53] Indexed by the Index to New Zealand Periodicals and Index to the New Zealand Lstener 1939-1987. [MICROFICHE 96-102]
- Zealandia [later New Zealandia and NZ Catholic] 1971-77, 1979- and two earlier vols. [NZ & P 282.05 Z41]
- Catholic Review. 1945-1949. [NZ & P 282.05 C36]
- Tomorrow. 1934-1940. [NZ Glass Case 052 H54] Index. Left-wing and literary.
- Broadsheet. 1972-1997. [NZ & P 301.4120995 B86]
- Out [previously New Zealand Gay News] 1972-1998. [NZ & P 301.4240995 G28]
- New Zealand Woman's Weekly. 1932-1986. [Microfilm]
See also lists of newspapers. The Auckland Museum Library and Auckland City Libraries also have useful collections in this area.
Indexes 
Periodical indexes
- Index to New Zealand Periodicals, Wellington: National Library, 1941-1986.
An annual publication which indexed most New Zealand periodicals. Included articles in overseas journals about New Zealand or by New Zealanders.
- INNZ: Index New Zealand Wellington: National Library, 1987- .
Continues the Index to New Zealand Periodicals including 300 journals and also some newspaper articles, social sciences theses, reports and conference papers. A retrospective indexing programme is in progress and some journals and magazines are indexed back to the early 20th Century.
Other indexes 
- Fildes, H.E.M., Selective Indexes to Certain Books Relating to Early New Zealand, Wellington: Victoria University of Wellington Library, 1984.
Originally compiled 1920-1937. Over 500 books and journals were indexed under the headings, Europeans, Maoris, Ships, Places.
- Maori Bibliography At Te Whare Wananga o Waikato.
Indexes chapters from books and journal articles on Maori subjects not covered by Index New Zealand.
Government publications 
Central government
In library catalogues, government publications are normally listed under the name of the country, followed by the department or organization, eg,
New Zealand. Waitangi Tribunal.
New Zealand. Dept of Labour.
New Zealand. Royal Commission to Inquire into ...
An indispensable overview is provided by:
Ringer, J.B., An Introduction to New Zealand Government: A Guide to Finding out about Government in New Zealand, its Institutions, Structures and Activities, Christchurch: Hazard Press, 1991.
Wilson, James O., 'The Papers of Parliament' New Zealand Libraries, v.25, Sep.1962, p.213-224.
The most used sources are:
Gazettes 
The Gazette is the official newspaper of the Government and reports a wide variety of detail about its day to day business including proclamations, Orders in Council, a summary of parliamentary proceedings, government notices, some official appointments, notices regarding public lands and, periodically, lists of members of some professional groups such as teachers and medical practitioners. Early Gazettes include material, such as minutes of the Executive Council and trade statistics, which was later part of the Appendices.
Journals 
- New Zealand. Parliament. House of Representatives, Journals of the House of Representatives of New Zealand, 1858- Wellington.
The minutes of the proceedings of the House. Lists accounts and papers laid upon the Table (whether printed or not); bills and their progress; members of select committees, petitions presented.
- New Zealand. Parliament. Legislative Council, Journals of the Legislative Council of New Zealand, 1860-1867 [NZ & P 328.95 N53l Z]
- New Zealand. Parliament. Legislative Council, Journals and Appendix to the Journals of the Legislative Council of New Zealand, 1867-1914 [NZ & P 328.95 N53l]
- New Zealand. Parliament. Legislative Council, Journals of the Legislative Council of the Dominion of New Zealand, 1915-1950 [NZ & P 328.95 N53l]
Appendices 
Parliamentary debates 
- New Zealand. Parliament. New Zealand Parliamentary Debates. 1854- Wellington. [NZ & P 328.95 N53]. Often referred to as "Hansard", this is a record of all speeches made in the House of Representatives and the Legislative Council. Some volumes from the 19th Century have an index at the beginning or end of the volume. There isn't a consolidated index for all the Parliamentary debates, but from 1898 sessional indexes have been published. Initially not all of the Hansard volumes that contain one have an indication to that effect on their spines.
Provincial governments, 1853-1876 
- Provincial government publications are similar to those Parliamentary items listed above. There are Gazettes; Journals (often called Votes and Proceedings) and Ordinances (laws). When searching for them in the Catalogue use the name of the province as the author, or keywords, eg,
Auckland province
Wellington province
Auckland provincial acts
Statutes and regulations 
Statutes 
- The Ordinances of New Zealand Passed in the First Ten Sessions of the General Legislative Council, A.D. 1841 to A.D. 1849, to which are prefixed the Acts of Parliament, Charters and Royal Instructions relating to New Zealand, Wellington: Printed for the Colonial Government, 1850.
- Reprint of the Statutes of New Zealand, 1908-1957, Wellington: Govt. Print.,1958-1980. 16 vols. [Davis Law Library B/NZ]
- Reprinted Statutes of New Zealand, Wellington: Govt. Print., 1979- [NZ & P 346.3 N56re]
- Statutes of New Zealand, 1854- [NZ & P 346.3 N56]
- Statutory Regulations: Being the Regulations issued under the Regulations Act 1936, 1936- Wellington: Govt. Print. [NZ & P 346.1 S79]
- New Zealand Statutes and Regulations - Heritage Collection (1842-1999)
Selected historical statutes.
- Early New Zealand Statutes Collection 1841-1935
Ordinances 1841-1854 and Acts of Parliament 1854-1935. The ENZS is a collection of assent statutes and does not include subsequent amendments or revocations.
- New Zealand Acts As Enacted (1842-2007)
Does not include any later amendments or show whether acts have been repealed.
Indexes to laws 
- The Consolidated Statutes of the Dominion of New Zealand, Passed in the Eighth Year of the Reign of His Majesty King Edward VII and the Fourth Session of the Sixteenth Parliament of New Zealand, Wellington, 1908.
The index volume provides a chronological listing of all ordinances and statutes to 1908, and a subject index to legislation as at 1908.
- Index to the Laws of New Zealand ... down to the end of the year 1930, 27th edn, edited by T.D.H. Hall, Wellington: Govt. Printer, 1931. [NZ & P 346.3 N56si 1931]
Includes tables of acts in force, lists of repealed and obsolete legislation, and subject indexes to all general legislation. The NZ & Pacific Collection also holds two of the the earlier editions of this index: 16th (1908) and 26th (1929), both edited by E.H. Redward.
- Bassett, Heather, The Maori Land Legislation Manual = Te Puka ako Hanganga mo nga Ture Whenua Maori written and compiled by Heather Bassett, Rachel Steel and David Williams for the Crown Forestry Rental Trust, Wellington: Crown Forestry Rental Trust, 1994.
British parliamentary papers 
These cover the same sort of material as the Appendices for the period before New Zealand had a Parliament of its own, and remain a substantial source into the 1870s.
- Great Britain. Parliament, Irish University Press series of British Parliamentary Papers. Colonies: New Zealand, Dublin: Irish University Press, 1968-71. [NZ & P 354.95 G78]
Facsimile reprint of papers relating to New Zealand tabled in the British Parliament between 1837-96. See also Royal Commissions. They have been comprehensively indexed. See:
- Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons, Index to British Parliamentary Papers on Australia and New Zealand 1800-1899, Dublin: Irish University Press, 1974. [NZ & P 354.95 G78i]
- Wilson, James O., A Finding List of British Parliamentary Papers Relating to New Zealand, 1817-1900, Wellington: General Assembly Library, 1960.
Bills, acts, papers, wholly or partially relating to New Zealand in chronological order. In addition to this list a number of more general guides and indexes to the British parliamentary papers are available.
- See also unpublished Colonial Office correspondence relating to New Zealand:
Great Britain. Colonial Office, Original Correspondence, New Zealand, 1830-1837, Canberra: Commonwealth National Library, 1975?
Further reels cover the years 1837-1901. Each volume has an index at the end with brief notes about the contents of each letter.
Great Britain. Colonial Office, Registers of Out Letters, Correspondence, 1892-1900: New Zealand. Correspondence, Entry Books of, Letters from Secretary of State, Offices and Individuals, 1859 Feb 1-1864 Dec 9.
Royal Commissions 
Newspapers 
- Harvey, Douglas Ross,Union List of New Zealand Newspapers before 1940: Preserved in Libraries, Newspaper Offices, Local Authority Offices and Museums in New Zealand, Wellington: National Library of New Zealand, 1985.
- Peacocke, Kathryn, Newspaper Indexes in New Zealand: Guide, Hamilton: University of Waikato Library, 1994.
- New Zealand Newspapers on Microfilm, Wellington: National Library of New Zealand, 1995 [NZ & P Reference 016.07995 N27 1995] Slightly out-of-date. Microfilmed newspapers are available from the National Library via Interlibrary loan.
- Index: Maori/Maoris to Otago Daily Times, Evening Star, Otago Witness and other Dunedin Newspapers 1861-1986, Dunedin: Dunedin Public Library, 1986.
- Index to Early Wellington Papers, 1839-1865. [Microfiche 96-101]
- Index to the New Zealand Mail 1871-1907. [Microfiche 96-100]
- Niupepa Maori Maori, English language, and bilingual newspapers published between 1842-1933.
- Papers Past 19th and early 20th Century New Zealand newspapers.
NZ newspapers on microfilm 
Some runs of newspapers are incomplete. Check the Catalogue to see the exact holdings.
To see a complete list of the newspapers in the library, in print, online, or microtexts, do a Subject Heading Search for: Newspapers New Zealand.
The Dominion 1907-1959; 1979-2002
Evening Post 1865-2002
The Gisborne Times 1905-1937
The Hawkes Bay Herald 1877-1904
The New Zealand Graphic and Ladies Journal 1890-1908
The New Zealand Herald 1863-
New Zealand Truth (earlier Auckland Truth) 1906-1979
New Zealand Weekly News 1863-1934
The Northern Advocate 1887-1939
Otago Daily Times Nov. 1861-1970; 1977-
The Press 1861-1943, 1987-
The Southern Cross 1843-1855
Thames Star Jan. 1893-1938; 1943 ; 1945
The Weekly Graphic and New Zealand Mail 1908-1913
See also selected magazines
- The library also has an extensive collection of Maori language newspapers and newsletters from the 1840s to the 1930s. These are available online in the Niupepa database and in a microfiche collection.
There is also a 12 page introductory booklet. Guide to Niupepa, 1842-1933: Maori Newspapers, Wellington: Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, 1996.
Published collections of documents 
- McIntyre, William D., Speeches and Documents on New Zealand History, Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971.
- McNab, Robert, Historical Records of New Zealand, Wellington: Govt. Printer, 1973. [NZ & P 995 M16h 1973] Facsimile reprint of original edition published 1908-14.
- Material by Maori from the Appendices to the Journals of the House of Representatives, 1860-1869, compiled by Evan Morgan & Jane Falloon, Wellington: Waitangi Tribunal Division, Dept. of Justice, 1993. (Waitangi Tribunal occasional publication; no. 2)
- National Archives of New Zealand, Raupatu Document Bank, Wellington: Waitangi Tribunal, 1989-1990.
140 volumes of selected documents covering the 1870s to 1960s consulted by the Waitangi Tribunal in its investigation of claims relating to confiscated land. The main index is the "Introduction and list of contents" volume while indexes to AJHR papers and maps are also provided. A Guide to the Raupatu Document Bank is shelved with these volumes.
- New Zealand. Ministry of Foreign Affairs, New Zealand Foreign Policy: Statements and Documents, 1943-57, Wellington: Govt. Printer, 1972. [NZ & P 327.95 N535]
- Levine, Stephen, Paul Harris, ed., The New Zealand Politics Source Book, 3rd edn, Palmerston North: Dunmore Press, 1999.
Contains documents relating to the constitution, parliamentary elections, political parties, Parliament, Cabinet, state sector, local government and international relations.
- New Zealand. Waitangi Tribunal, Waitangi Tribunal Records of Documents and Submissions, Wellington: Victoria University of Wellington. [MICROFICHE 95-113]
- Rutherford, James, Select Documents Relative to the Development of Responsible Government in New Zealand, 1839-1868, Auckland: Auckland University College, 1955. [NZ & P 342.95 R97]
- Scholefield, Guy H., The Richmond-Atkinson Papers, Wellington: Govt. Print., 1960. [NZ & P 995 S36] Letters and diaries covering the period 1841-1890s.
Manuscripts and archives 
The University of Auckland
Special Collections
The University of Auckland Library holds a large amount of original material, with particular strengths in the areas of trade unions and University organisations. There are also copies of many other important manuscripts and archives on microfilm and in photocopy. All original archives and manuscripts and microfilm and photocopied material is listed on the database Manuscripts and Archives Catalogue Special Collections/Kohikohinga Motuhake (General Library).
Maori language manuscript material in the General Library Special Collection includes copies of the Grey Manuscripts from Auckland City Libraries, the John White and Edward Shortland Manuscripts and Papatupu Block Comittee minute books.
Microfilm Collections
This guide provides references to published and unpublished guides and inventories which exist for some of the larger collections:
A Guide to Manuscripts and Archives Collections on Microtext at Auckland University Library. Auckland: Auckland University Library, 1981.
Two large microfilming projects have undertaken to cover manuscripts and archives around the world relating to Australasia and the Pacific. The following items list the material covered.
Australian Joint Copying Project
Australian Joint Copying Project Handbook, 2nd edn, Canberra: National Library of Australia and the State Library of New South Wales, 1984- 10 volumes.
Guide to microfilms of archives and manuscripts relating to Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific, most of South East Asia, and Antarctica. Those microfilms not held by the library may be obtained on Interlibrary loan from the Alexander Turnbull Library. Good coverage of early British official sources.
Pacific Manuscripts Bureau
Search for "Pacific Manuscripts Bureau" in the Catalogue for a list of the microfilms. The PMB focus on Pacific material includes New Zealand in areas such as the records of early whaling vessels. The University of Auckland Library has been a member of the PMB consortium since 1995 and has received copies of all microfilms published since then. The website includes a catalogue of all PMB items. You can get microfilms not held by the library using Interlibrary loan.
Other New Zealand institutions 
The Alexander Turnbull Library and an online version of Tapuhi (the ATL MSS & Archives database)
Union Catalogue of New Zealand and Pacific Manuscripts in New Zealand Libraries, interim ed., Wellington: Alexander Turnbull Library, 1968.
Part I: Notifications from libraries other than the Alexander Turnbull Library.
Part II: Notifications from the Alexander Turnbull Library.
A simple alphabetical sequence, arranged by author or organization responsible, no subject or chronological arrangement, no index.
Continued by The Community Archive (formerly NRAM National Register of Archives and Manuscripts)
Macmillan Brown Library University of Canterbury.
Hocken Library at the University of Otago.
Directories of archives in New Zealand 
- Rogers, Frank, Archives New Zealand. 4, Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Fiji, Niue, Tokelau, Tonga and Western Samoa, Plimmerton: Archives Press, 1992. [NZ & P Quick Ref. 025.171 R72 1992]
- Szekely, Chris, Te Hikoi Marama: A Directory of Maori Information Resources, Auckland: Auckland Public Library, 1993.
- Directory of New Zealand Photograph Collections, Wellington: Alexander Turnbull Library, 1992.
Matapihi is an excellent source for images kept in galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
- Archives of Women's Organisations: A Register of Collections held at New Zealand Archives, Institutions, Libraries, Museums and Historical Societies, Wellington: Alexander Turnbull Library, 1993.
Outside New Zealand 
Other directories and catalogues 
- Women's Words: A Guide to Manuscripts and Archives in the Alexander Turnbull Library relating to Women in the Nineteenth Century, Wellington: Alexander Turnbull Library 1988.
- Womanscripts: A Guide to Manuscripts in the Auckland Institute and Museum Library relating to Women, Auckland: Auckland Institute and Museum, 1995.
- Curnow, Jenifer Mary, Nga Pou Arahi: Ko te rarangi-a-iwi o nga tuhituhinga mo nga taonga Maori, ara mo te reo, mo nga whakapapa, mo nga waiata, mo nga korero, mo nga tikanga, mo nga whakatauki = Tribal Inventory of Manuscripts relating Maori Treasures, Language, Genealogy, Songs, History, Customs and Proverbs, Auckland: Auckland Institute and Museum, 1995.
- Oral History in New Zealand: A Directory of Collections, 1992, Wellington: National Oral History Association of New Zealand in association with the Oral History Centre, Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, 1992.
- Sounds Historical: A Catalogue of the Sound History Recordings in the Sound Archives of Radio New Zealand, Timaru: Radio New Zealand Sound Archives, 1982.
- Rogers, Frank, Archives New Zealand. 3, Medicine and Public Health, Plimmerton: Archives Press, 1990.
National archives 
- New Zealand. National Archives, Preliminary Inventory, Wellington: Dept of Internal Affairs,1953.
A series of nine pamphlets which list and describe briefly the contents of the various series of archives. For additions, both originals and microfilms, since these inventories were published, see the National Archives section of the annual report of the Dept of Internal Affairs (AJHR H.22), and since 1966 see:
- National Archives of New Zealand, Summary of Work, Wellington, 1966-1977. Annual publication which includes lists of new accessions and notes on citation of National Archives files.
Two particularly useful articles which have appeared in the Summary of Work are:
- Hornabrook, Judith S., 'Sources of contemporary history', Summary of Work, 1972, p.15-25
- Collier, Rosemary, 'National Archives holdings of microfilm copies of overseas archives', Summary of Work, 1974, p.13- 24
- National Archives of New Zealand, A Cumulative List of Holdings, 1976, Wellington: Dept of Internal Affairs, 1977.
List of National Archives holdings but does not give location.
- National Archives of New Zealand, Business Archives: A Bibliography of the Resources of National Archives, Wellington, Wellington: New Zealand National Archives, 1974.
- National Archives of New Zealand, A Guide to Maori Sources at National Archives, Wellington: Te Puni Kokiri: National Archives, 1995.
- National Archives of New Zealand, Maori Affairs Department: Series List, Wellington: The Archives, 1961.
- National Archives of New Zealand, Series List of the Archives of the Legislative Department.
- Two important articles are:
Campbell, Cheryl, 'Archivists and historians; how can we assist each other?' New Zealand Journal of History, v.19, no.2, p.151-163 Oct. 1985
Strachan, Stuart, 'Archives for New Zealand social history', New Zealand Journal of History, v.13, no.1, p.89-95 Apr. 1979.
Statistics 
Statistical publications are kept in the Statistics Collection on Level M in the General Library.
- Begin with the New Zealand Official Yearbook, Wellington: Dept of Statistics, 1892-
Provides an excellent range of summary statistics and an overview of government activity and national life.
The most comprehensive printed data is in the Census publications and Statistics of New Zealand.
- Statistics of New Zealand from 1853 on. The most detailed source of historical statistics.
[General Library Statistics Collection, call number S2/NZ STAs]
- Census In separate volumes from 1871 on.
[General Library Statistics Collection, call number S2/NZ CEN]
Key statistical publications:
- Bateman New Zealand Historical Atlas = Ko Papatuanuku. e Takoto Nei, Malcolm McKinnon (editor), with Barry Bradley and Russell Kirkpatrick, Auckland: D. Bateman in association with Historical Branch, Dept. of Internal Affairs, 1997.
Includes many graphs and tables.
- Bloomfield, Gerald T., New Zealand: A Handbook of Historical Statistics, Boston: Hall, 1984.
- Neale, E.P., Guide to New Zealand Official Statistics, 3rd edn, Wellington: Whitcombe & Tombs, 1955.
Covers the main concerns of government statistics including demography, trade, justice, finance and industry. Lists limitations, points to watch, "cautionary remarks" about each type of publication. Invaluable, though somewhat dated.
- New Zealand. Dept of Statistics, Statistical Publications, 1840-2000, Wellington: Statistics New Zealand, 2004.
- New Zealand Time Series Database Some data series cover long periods, eg, consumer price index 1918-
- The University of Auckland. Dept of Economics, Statistics of New Zealand for the Crown Colony Period, 1840-1852, Auckland, 1955.
Includes statistical tables collected from various sources, including gazettes and "blue books".

|