HISTORY DATABASES

These databases are accessible through the Library website. There are also some links to free websites, especially those with good primary source collections.

Twentieth century Secondary | Primary sources
Nineteenth century Secondary | Primary sources
Eighteenth century Secondary | Primary sources
 
Early modern history Secondary | Primary sources
 
Britain and Ireland Secondary | Primary sources
Medieval history Secondary | Primary sources
   
 
North America Secondary | Primary sources
 
 
Latin America Secondary | Primary sources
 

History databases

Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding North America. Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
America: History and Life (1964- )
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 2,400 journals, on all aspects of US and Canadian history from prehistory to the present.
History Compass
Peer-reviewed survey articles.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Index of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields, published since 1975.
Humanities E-Book Project
A collection of 1500 full-text searchable history ebooks. Formerly known as History E-Book Project.
History websites

Humanities and social sciences databases   Top of page

ARTstor
A collection of 500,000 images intended to serve the scholarly and instructional needs of art historians, as well as students and faculty in the humanities and related social sciences. Covers art from prehistory to the modern era.
JSTOR
A full-text archive of 700 scholarly journals, including approximately 100 History journals. Journals from recent years are not available in JSTOR (generally the last three to five years).
Project Muse (1993- )
Current international full-text serials covering the humanities and social sciences, including a large selection of History titles.
Periodicals Archive Online
Over 300 journals from the eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries in the humanities and social sciences
Academic Research Library (1986- )
Multidisciplinary full-text database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. ARL is one of the ProQuest collection of databases.
Expanded Academic
Multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers, containing 3000 indexed titles, with more than half of them available in full-text.
Current Contents (1995- )
Indexes the table of contents pages from approximately 7,000 science, social sciences, medical, arts and humanities journals.
Web of Science
Interdisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)
Citations to journal articles from a wide range of humanities and social sciences journals.
MilitaryNetBASE
Monographs on warfare and military history.
EconLit (1969- )
Index of international literature in the field of economics, including economic history.
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service (1972- )
Contains abstracts from the international public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences.
World Biographical Information System
Biographical profiles of people from all centuries and countries and regions worldwide. The articles are from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, reproduced as facsimile images.

Bibliographies and Book Reviews   Top of page

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies of Medieval, Renaissance & Reformation, and Atlantic History.
Bibliographic Index Plus
Indexing of 450,000 bibliographies in books and articles, plus 136,000 in full-text.
Book Review Digest Retrospective (1905-1982)
An index of reviews, and descriptive summaries of the books and excerpts from reviews.

New Zealand secondary sources | Primary sources   Top of page

FindNZArticles
Articles and book chapters from Index New Zealand and other indexes.
Index New Zealand INNZ (1987- )
Indexes New Zealand newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Newzindex and Auckland Index
Newzindex is a research archive of indexed records of articles from many New Zealand key news and business publications.
Auckland Index includes history, art, theatre, film and music references from Auckland area newspapers and journal articles.
Te Puna National Union Catalogue
New Zealand and overseas books, reports and theses, with links to New Zealand holding libraries.
Index of Te Ao Hau Periodical (1952-1975)
An index to three Maori periodicals.
Te Ao Hou is indexed from volume 1 (1952) to volume 76 (June 1975).
Te Maori is indexed from volume 1 (1969) to volume 7 no. 1 (1975).
Te Kaunihera Maori is indexed from volume 1 (1966) to Autumn 1969.
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Australian and New Zealand magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information.
ARI Australasian Religion Index
An index of eighty religious and theological serials published in Australasia and representing all religious traditions.
MIHILIST - Australasian Military History Database (1987-1999)
Index of articles on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand and Papua-New Guinean military history.
Waitangi Tribunal Reports (1977- )
Information about the Tribunal and text of the reports.
New Zealand history websites

New Zealand history - Primary sources

Papers Past (1840-1945)
Nineteenth and early Twentieth Century New Zealand newspapers.
Early New Zealand Books (1807-1890)
Books published in or about New Zealand.

Māori

Niupepa (1842-1933)
Māori, English and bilingual newspapers written for Māori readers.
Māori Land Courts Minute Books Index (1865-1910)
Index of minute books from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts.
Maori Land Legislation Database (1840- )
Summary of all New Zealand legislation since 1840 (including private and local Acts) which has affected Maori or Maori land.
Fenton's Important Judgements (1866-1879)
Chief Judge Fenton's Important Judgments delivered in the Compensation Court and Native Land Court 1866 to 1879.

Parliament

AtoJs Online (1858-1914)
Appendix to the Journals of the House of Representatives (AJHR).
Hansard (1987- )
Hansard gives access to debates in the New Zealand House of Representatives from 1987 onwards. You may search and view the transcripts of the debates.
New Zealand Statutes and Regulations - Heritage Collection (1842-1999)
Selected historical statutes.
Early New Zealand Statutes Collection 1841-1935
Ordinances 1841-1854 and Acts of Parliament 1854-1935. The ENZS is a collection of assent statutes and does not include subsequent amendments or revocations.
New Zealand Acts As Enacted (1842-2007)
Does not include any later amendments or show whether acts have been repealed.

Manuscripts, Archives, Images

Manuscripts and Archives Catalogue
Index to the manuscripts and archives held in the University of Auckland Library, including both original and copied material such as microfilm.
The Community Archive (Formerly know as NRAM National Register of Archives and Manuscripts)
A catalogue of archival collections held in museums, local government bodies, libraries, historical societies, community repositories, and in-house business, educational, religious and sporting archives throughout New Zealand, but excluding the National Archives and Turnbull Library collections.
Matapihi
Digital collections from various New Zealand libraries, galleries and museums. Includes photographs, drawings, paintings, sculpture and some 3-D virtual museum objects, as well as a small number of sound files and textual items.
New Zealand and Pacific Databases
Links to more New Zealand resources.

Pacific secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

Hawai'i Pacific Journal Index  (1890- )
An index of journals and magazines published in and about the Pacific region.
Pacific history websites

Pacific history - Primary sources

Archives Unbound
Historical documents on a wide range of topics:
  • Global Missions and Theology, 1800-1899.
Niustext (1990- )
Pacific Islands publications from 1990 to the present, including: Cook Islands Herald; Cook Islands Times; FemLINKPacific; Islands Business; Pacific Business Online; Pacific Islands News Association; Pacific Media Centre; Solomon Islands Broadcasting Corporation; South Pacific Regional Environment Programme.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (1974-1996)
The FBIS compiled news media reports, speeches, and broadcasts.

Australian secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Information Service  (1978- )
Australian political, economic, legal and social affairs, including Australian history. Full-text coverage from 1995; indexing from 1978.
Australian Dictionary of Biography Online
Scholarly biographies of persons who were significant in Australian history, or who represent the diverse nature of the Australian experience to 1980. The incorporation of forthcoming volumes into the site will extend coverage until 2000.
Australian National Bibliographic Database
The Australian equivalent of Te Puna National Union Catalogue.
Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
Australian history websites

Australian history - Primary sources

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (1974-1996)
The FBIS compiled news media reports, speeches, and broadcasts.
Australian Historic Records Register
AHRR is a list of paper-based records held in private hands in Australia, dating from settlement to 1988. For more Australian resources see the Informit Database Collection.

Asian secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

Bibliography of Asian Studies  (1971- )
More than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
China Academic Journals (1994- )
A full-text collection of 2,000 Chinese journals in history, arts and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
The Informit Database Collection includes databases relating to South-East Asia.
National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals (1833-2009)
NICNP, prepared by the Shanghai Library, indexes around 18,000 newspaper and periodical titles published in mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan.
New Zealand Asia Information Service (1972- )
References for books and articles about business and engagement between New Zealand and Asia.
Asian history websites

Asian history - Primary sources

Archives Unbound
Historical documents on a wide range of topics:
  • Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963.
  • Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China relations, 1945-1955.
  • Global Missions and Theology, 1800-1899.
  • Intelligence reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975.
  • International women's movement: Pan Pacific Southeast Asian Women's Association, 1950-85.
  • Japan at war and peace, 1930-1949 - U.S. State Department records.
  • Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993.
  • U.S. and Iraqi relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (1974-1996)
The FBIS compiled news media reports, speeches, and broadcasts.
Foreign Office Files for China (1949-1980)
British Foreign Office papers dealing with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan during the period 1949-1980.
Kikuzo II (1945- )
A Japanese newspaper database from Asahi Shimbun containing over 7 million articles published since 1945.

British and Irish secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

Bibliography of British and Irish History (55BC-present)
An index of books, chapters, and journal articles in British, Irish, Imperial and Commonwealth history.
BBIH is the successor to the RHS Royal Historical Society Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History.
C19 Nineteenth Century Index (1770-1919)
C19 contains over 16 million bibliographic records for a wide range of 19th century source material including books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Indexes and bibliographies covered include the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900, Palmer's Index to the Times, Parliamentary Papers, Nineteenth Century Series, Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism.
Dictionary of National Biography (4th century BC - 2004)
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography contains 50,000 biographies of people connected with British history.
Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
British history websites

British and Irish history - Primary sources

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (1500-1950)
Searchable and indexed primary material.
Electronic Enlightenment (1619-1878)
Annotated primary sources, based on major printed editions of correspondence centred on the "long 18th century".
Empire Online (1492-1969)
Images, documents and essays relating to relating to Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceania, and South Asia.
In the First Person (1558-2005)
An index to over 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English.
Women War and Society 1914-1918
Documents and photographs from the Imperial War Museum's Women's Work Collection plus interpretative essays.

Parliament, Government Documents, and Archives

Parliamentary Papers (1660-2009)
British parliamentary sessional papers, bills, acts, and proceedings. The 18th Century collection includes both House of Commons and House of Lords. The 19th and 20th Century collections have only the Commons.
Parliament Rolls of Medieval England (1275-1504)
Full-text edition and translation of the rolls of parliament, the official records of the meetings of the English parliaments from Edward I to Henry VII.
State Papers Online (1509-1714)
British government documents from the 16th and 17th century, with each manuscript linked to its calendar entry.
Documents on British Policy Overseas (1846-1989)
Documents from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office:
British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914.
Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939.
Documents on British Policy Overseas.
Women in the National Archives
A finding aid to women's studies resources held in the U.K. National Archives at Kew, and a searchable collection of over 5,000 pages of manuscript documents relating to women's suffrage in Britiain 1903-1928, and the granting of women's suffrage in the British Empire, 1930-1962.

Popular Culture

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera (1540-1955)
The John Johnson Collection at the Bodleian Library has printed ephemera focussing on nineteenth century entertainment, the book trade, popular prints, advertising, broadsides and other popular material relating to crime, murder and executions.
London Low Life
Ephemera, maps and books relating to London in the nineteenth and early twentieth century. The ephemeral source materials include chapbooks, pamphlets, tracts, ballads, cartoons, advertisements and street cries.
Mass Observation Online (1937-1972)
Mass Observation file reports, publications, surveys, diaries, and photographs.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protests (1950-1975)
Primary source material covering popular culture, student protest, and civil rights in Britain and North America.
Victorian Popular Culture (1830s-1930s)
Primary source material on popular entertainment in late eighteenth and nineteenth century Britain and America, with supporting essays. It includes manuscripts, printed books, pamphlets, periodicals, photographs, posters, handbills, children's literature, and celebrity memoirs.
There are three parts to this collection: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; and Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment.

Newspapers

Times Digital Archive (1785-2006)
A full-text archive of The Times of London.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
The Irish Times (1859-2010) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958)
The Manchester Guardian (1821-1959), The Guardian (1959-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
The last few years are not included, but a new year's content is added annually.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
The Illustrated London News, from its inception in May 1842 to 2003.
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2006)
The Economist magazine.
Listener Historical Archive (1929-1991)
The British Listener from its inception in 1929 to the last issue, published in January 1991.
British Newspapers 1600-1900
17th and 18th Century newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations from London, British Isles, and colonies.
19th Century national and regional newspapers.
19th Century UK Periodicals
Popular magazines and periodicals covering New Readerships: Women and children; Sports and leisure; Humour and satire, and Empire: Travel and anthropology; Economics; Missionary and colonial. Includes publications from Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand, South Africa, and the UK.
18th Century Journals (1685-1815)
Facsimiles of rare journals printed between 1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.

Books and Pamphlets

Making of the Modern World (1450-1914)
A collection of 62,000 monographs published from 1450-1914 on economic, political, business and social history.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises (1800-1926)
22,000 British Commonwealth and American legal treatises encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical and practical literature by the most influential writers and key legal thinkers of this period.
Making of Modern Law: Trials (1600-1926)
A companion to the Making of Modern Law: Treatises, MOML Trials includes transcripts, briefs, arguments, and other court documents, as well as popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes.

European secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

IBZ Online (1983- )
An international index with special emphasis on European periodicals and topics in the humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
European history websites

European history - Primary sources

Archives Unbound
Historical documents on a wide range of topics:
  • Economy and war in the Third Reich, 1933-1944.
  • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's response to Jewish emigration.
  • Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848.
Electronic Enlightenment (1619-1878)
Annotated primary sources, based on major printed editions of correspondence centred on the "long 18th century".

North American secondary sources| Primary sources   Top of page

America: History and Life (1964- )
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 2,400 journals, on all aspects of US and Canadian history, culture, government, political science and current affairs from prehistory to the present.
American National Biography
Biographies of more than 17,000 men and women, from all periods of American history, who are no longer living.
C19 Nineteenth Century Index (1770-1919)
C19 contains over 16 million bibliographic records for a wide range of 19th century source material including books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Indexes and bibliographies covered include the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900, Palmer's Index to the Times, Parliamentary Papers, Nineteenth Century Series, Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Tables of data with background essays.
North American history websites

North American history - Primary sources

Film and Video

American History in Video
Archival footage, historical newsreels, and modern documentaries.
American Film Scripts Online (1903-2002)
A collection of feature film scripts including indexing of scenes, characters, and people.
Paley Center Seminars (1998-2008)
A collection of videos and transcriptions of interviews and panel discussions recorded at the Paley Center for Media in New York and Los Angeles.

Government Documents and Archives

U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1994) and American State Papers (1789-1838)
All the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
1817-1994. 15th Congress - 103rd Congress, 2nd session through SS no. 14277.
CQ Electronic Library
Historic Documents (1972- ) contains primary source documents relating to key events such as treaties, presidential addresses, major legislative events, scientific breakthroughs.
CQ Weekly (1983- ) contains information on the week in Congress, status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes manoeuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.
Archives Unbound
Historical documents on a wide range of topics:
  • Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963.
  • American Indian Movement and Native American radicalism, 1968-1979.
  • Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China relations, 1945-1955.
  • Federal response to radicalism in the 1960s.
  • Federal surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984.
  • In response to the AIDS crisis, 1983-1994.
  • Intelligence reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975.
  • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's response to Jewish emigration.
  • International women's movement: Pan Pacific Southeast Asian Women's Association, 1950-85.
  • JFK's foreign affairs and international crises, 1961-1963.
  • Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993.
  • Through the camera lens: The Moving Picture World and silent cinema era, 1907-1927.
  • U.S. and Iraqi relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958.
  • Women's issues and their advocacy within the White House, 1974-1977.
Digital National Security Archive (1945-2011)
U.S. National Security Archive documents, including more than 80,000 declassified documents relating to U.S. policy decisions from 1945-2011.

Newspapers and Magazines

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
The Afro-American (1893-1988)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1988)
The Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
The New York Times (1851-2008)
The Washington Post (1877-1995)
HarpWeek
Harper's Weekly 1858-1912.

Books and Pamphlets

Sabin Americana
Books, pamphlets, serials and other documents from 1500 to the early 1900s.
American West
Manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources on the American West, from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Documents include manuscript travel journals and tales of frontier life, literary and historical works, maps, emigrant guides, store catalogues, city directories, posters, and photographs.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between indigenous peoples of North America and travellers, traders, and explorers in the 15th to 19th centuries.
Making of the Modern World (1450-1914)
A collection of 62,000 monographs published from 1450-1914 on economic, political, business and social history.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises (1800-1926)
British Commonwealth and American legal treatises encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical and practical literature by the most influential writers and key legal thinkers of this period.
Making of Modern Law: Trials (1600-1926)
A companion to the Making of Modern Law: Treatises, MOML Trials includes transcripts, briefs, arguments, and other court documents, as well as popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protests (1950-1975)
Primary source material covering popular culture, student protest, and civil rights in Britain and North America.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature (1859-1995)
Handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.

Latin American secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

HAPI Hispanic American Periodicals Index (1970- )
Index to articles, book reviews and other material on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Covers more than 400 social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
Latin American history websites

Latin American history - Primary sources

Archives Unbound
Historical documents on a wide range of topics:
  • Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958.
Public Life in Contemporary Argentina (2000- )
PLICA is a collection of articles and documents on social and political movements in contemporary Argentina.
Sabin Americana
Books, pamphlets, serials and other documents from 1500 to the early 1900s.

Twentieth century history secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

World History in Context (prehistory-present)
Online database on world history, integrating full-text books from Gale, Macmillan and Scribner, academic journal articles, full-text and facsimile images of primary documents.
Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the US and Canada (for which see America: History & Life). Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (55BC-present)
An index of books, chapters, and journal articles in British, Irish, Imperial and Commonwealth history.
BBIH is the successor to the RHS Royal Historical Society Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History.
Twentieth century history websites

Twentieth century history - Primary sources

Archives Unbound
Historical documents on a wide range of topics:
  • Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963.
  • American Indian Movement and Native American radicalism, 1968-1979.
  • Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China relations, 1945-1955.
  • Economy and war in the Third Reich, 1933-1944.
  • Federal response to radicalism in the 1960s.
  • Federal surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984.
  • Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958.
  • In response to the AIDS crisis, 1983-1994.
  • Intelligence reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975.
  • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's response to Jewish emigration.
  • International women's movement: Pan Pacific Southeast Asian Women's Association, 1950-85.
  • Japan at war and peace, 1930-1949 - U.S. State Department records.
  • JFK's foreign affairs and international crises, 1961-1963.
  • Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848.
  • Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993.
  • Through the camera lens: The Moving Picture World and silent cinema era, 1907-1927.
  • U.S. and Iraqi relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958.
  • Women's issues and their advocacy within the White House, 1974-1977.
Documents on British Policy Overseas (1846-1989)
Documents from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office:
British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914.
Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939.
Documents on British Policy Overseas.
Empire Online (1492-1969)
Images, documents and essays relating to relating to Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceania, and South Asia.
World History in Video
Archival footage, historical newsreels, and modern documentaries.
In the First Person (1558-2005)
An index to over 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English.
John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera (1540-1955)
The John Johnson Collection at the Bodleian Library has printed ephemera focussing on nineteenth century entertainment, the book trade, popular prints, advertising, broadsides and other popular material relating to crime, murder and executions.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protests (1950-1975)
Primary source material covering popular culture, student protest, and civil rights in Britain and North America.
Mass Observation Online (1937-1972)
Mass Observation file reports, publications, surveys, diaries, and photographs.
Parliamentary Papers (1660-2009)
British House of Commons papers.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History (1818-1976)
Travel writing by women, dating from the early nineteenth to the late twentieth century. The material is selected from a collection at the Schlesinger Library of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University, and includes diaries, correspondence, photographs, manuscripts and guidebooks.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature (1859-1995)
Handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1994) and American State Papers (1789-1838)
All the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
1817-1994. 15th Congress - 103rd Congress, 2nd session through SS no. 14277.
Vogue Archive (1892-2010)
The U.S. edition of Vogue magazine. A complete archive including articles, covers, photos, illustrations, and advertisements.
Women and Social Movements International
Primary sources on the legal and social impediments faced by women, from 1840 to the present.
Women War and Society 1914-1918
Documents and photographs from the Imperial War Museum's Women's Work Collection plus interpretative essays.
First World War: Personal Experiences
Primary source documents including diaries and journals, letters, reminiscence, trench literature, postcards, photographs, sketches and paintings, sheet music, trench maps, cartoons and comics, propaganda and recruiting posters.

Newspapers

Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
The Illustrated London News, from its inception in May 1842 to 2003.
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2006)
The Economist magazine.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Britain and Ireland
The Irish Times (1859-2010) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958)
The Manchester Guardian (1821-1959)
The Guardian (1959-2003)
The Observer (1791-2003)
U.S.
The Afro-American (1893-1988)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1988)
The Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
The New York Times (1851-2008)
The Washington Post (1877-1995)
Times Digital Archive (1785-2006)
An archive of The Times of London.

Nineteenth century history secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

C19 Nineteenth Century Index (1770-1919)
C19 contains over 16 million bibliographic records for a wide range of 19th century source material including books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Indexes and bibliographies covered include the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900, Palmer's Index to the Times, Parliamentary Papers, Nineteenth Century Series, Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (1802-1907)
19th Century Masterfile is an accumulation of various indexes to printed materials from the nineteenth century. Series I includes Pooles Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907.
Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC) (1801-1919)
Index of all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English.
Victorian Database (1945-2004)
An interdisciplinary index to books, articles, and dissertations published on every field of nineteenth-century British studies. Includes histories of England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, and the British colonial empire; military and naval history; and science, technology and medicine.
World History in Context (prehistory-present)
Online database on world history, integrating full-text books from Gale, Macmillan and Scribner, academic journal articles, full-text and facsimile images of primary documents.
Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the US and Canada (for which see America: History & Life). Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (55BC-present)
An index of books, chapters, and journal articles in British, Irish, Imperial and Commonwealth history.
BBIH is the successor to the RHS Royal Historical Society Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History.
Nineteenth century history websites

Nineteenth century history - Primary sources

Defining Gender 1450-1910
Essays and primary source documents relating to gender studies.
Early New Zealand Books (1807-1890)
Books published in or about New Zealand.
Empire Online (1492-1969)
Images, documents and essays relating to relating to Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceania, and South Asia.
In the First Person (1558-2005)
An index to over 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English.
John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera (1540-1955)
The John Johnson Collection at the Bodleian Library has printed ephemera focussing on nineteenth century entertainment, the book trade, popular prints, advertising, broadsides and other popular material relating to crime, murder and executions.
Making of the Modern World (1450-1914)
A collection of 62,000 monographs published from 1450-1914 on economic, political, business and social history.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises (1800-1926)
British Commonwealth and American legal treatises encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical and practical literature by the most influential writers and key legal thinkers of this period.
Making of Modern Law: Trials (1600-1926)
A companion to the Making of Modern Law: Treatises, MOML Trials includes transcripts, briefs, arguments, and other court documents, as well as popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes.
Parliamentary Papers (1660-2009)
British House of Commons papers.
Romantic Era Redefined (1800-1830)
Poetry, drama, novels, letters and diaries, as well as political and philosophical works by authors in Britain, the British Empire and North America. The primary texts are supported by over fifty critical essays from Romantic-era scholars.
Sabin Americana
Books, pamphlets, serials and other documents from 1500 to the early 1900s.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History (1818-1976)
Travel writing by women, dating from the early nineteenth to the late twentieth century. The material is selected from a collection at the Schlesinger Library of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University, and includes diaries, correspondence, photographs, manuscripts and guidebooks.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1994) and American State Papers (1789-1838)
All the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
1817-1994. 15th Congress - 103rd Congress, 2nd session through SS no. 14277.
Victorian Popular Culture (1830s-1930s)
Primary source material on popular entertainment in late eighteenth and nineteenth century Britain and America, with supporting essays. It includes manuscripts, printed books, pamphlets, periodicals, photographs, posters, handbills, children's literature, and celebrity memoirs.
There are three parts to this collection: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; and Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment.
Women and Social Movements International
Primary sources on the legal and social impediments faced by women, from 1840 to the present.

Newspapers

Times Digital Archive (1785-2006)
An archive of The Times of London.
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2006)
The Economist magazine.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
The Illustrated London News, from its inception in May 1842 to 2003.
Listener Historical Archive (1929-1991)
The British Listener from its inception in 1929 to the last issue, published in January 1991.
British Newspapers 1600-1900
17th and 18th Century newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations from London, British Isles, and colonies.
19th Century national and regional newspapers.
19th Century UK Periodicals
Popular magazines and periodicals covering New Readerships: Women and children; Sports and leisure; Humour and satire, and Empire: Travel and anthropology; Economics; Missionary and colonial. Includes publications from Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand, South Africa, and the UK.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Britain and Ireland
The Irish Times (1859-2010) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958)
The Manchester Guardian (1821-1959)
The Guardian (1959-2003)
The Observer (1791-2003)
U.S.
The Afro-American (1893-1988)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1988)
The Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
The New York Times (1851-2008)
The Washington Post (1877-1995)

Eighteenth century history secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the US and Canada (for which see America: History & Life). Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (55BC-present)
An index of books, chapters, and journal articles in British, Irish, Imperial and Commonwealth history.
BBIH is the successor to the RHS Royal Historical Society Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History.
Eighteenth century history websites

Eighteenth century history - Primary sources

British Newspapers 1600-1900
17th and 18th Century newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations from London, British Isles, and colonies.
19th Century national and regional newspapers.
Defining Gender 1450-1910
Essays and primary source documents relating to gender studies.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) (1701-1800)
A digitised collection of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Consists of nearly 150,000 books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.
Eighteenth Century Journals (1685-1815)
Facsimiles of rare journals printed between 1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
Electronic Enlightenment (1619-1878)
Annotated primary sources, based on major printed editions of correspondence centred on the "long 18th century".
In the First Person (1558-2005)
An index to over 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English.
Making of the Modern World (1450-1914)
A collection of 62,000 monographs published from 1450-1914 on economic, political, business and social history.
Making of Modern Law: Trials (1600-1926)
A companion to the Making of Modern Law: Treatises, MOML Trials includes transcripts, briefs, arguments, and other court documents, as well as popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes.
Parliamentary Papers (1660-2009)
British parliamentary sessional papers, bills, acts, and proceedings. The 18th Century collection includes both House of Commons and House of Lords.
Times Digital Archive (1785-2006)
A full-text archive of The Times of London and its predecessor The Daily Universal Register.

Early modern history secondary sources | Primary sources  Top of page

Historical Abstracts (1954- )
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the US and Canada (for which see America: History & Life). Over 2,000 journals are indexed.
Iter Bibliography
Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopaedias and exhibition catalogues).
Bibliography of British and Irish History (55BC-present)
An index of books, chapters, and journal articles in British, Irish, Imperial and Commonwealth history.
BBIH is the successor to the RHS Royal Historical Society Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies of Medieval, Renaissance & Reformation, and Atlantic History.
Early modern history websites

Early modern history - Primary sources

British Newspapers 1600-1900
17th and 18th Century newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations from London, British Isles, and colonies.
19th Century national and regional newspapers.
British Literary Manuscripts Online (1120-1900)
Standard editions of Latin literature from antiquity up to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
Defining Gender 1450-1910
Essays and primary source documents relating to gender studies.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (1475-1700)
Reproduces the works listed in the Thomason Tracts - a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War (1640-1661); Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640); and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700). Currently includes more than 125,000 early printed works.
Making of the Modern World (1450-1914)
A collection of 62,000 monographs published from 1450-1914 on economic, political, business and social history.
Making of Modern Law: Trials (1600-1926)
A companion to the Making of Modern Law: Treatises, MOML Trials includes transcripts, briefs, arguments, and other court documents, as well as popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes.
State Papers Online (1509-1714)
British government documents from the 16th and 17th century, with each manuscript linked to its calendar entry.
English Short Title Catalogue (1475-1700)
Online bibliography providing extensive descriptions and holdings information for materials printed in Great Britain or its dependencies in any language, and materials printed in English anywhere else in the world.

Medieval history secondary sources| Primary sources   Top of page

IMB International Medieval Bibliography (1967- )
The world's leading bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Over 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volumes are indexed. The IMB includes the index of monographs and book reviews from the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale. The International Directory of Medievalists is also available here.
Iter Bibliography
Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopaedias and exhibition catalogues).
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies of Medieval, Renaissance & Reformation, and Atlantic History.
ATLA Religion Index
An index of articles, essays and book reviews on Church history, including links to full-text.
Middle English Compendium
Electronic versions of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (55BC-present)
An index of books, chapters, and journal articles in British, Irish, Imperial and Commonwealth history.
BBIH is the successor to the RHS Royal Historical Society Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History.
Le Dictionnaire de l'Ancienne Langue Française
A full-text electronic version of Le Dictionnaire de l'Ancienne Langue Française et de tous ses Dialectes du IX au XV Siècle, published between 1880 and 1902, an essential reference for medieval French language and lexicography.
Medieval history websites

Medieval history - Primary sources

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (About 300 BC/BCE to about 1500 AD/CE)
Standard editions of Latin literature from antiquity up to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
British Literary Manuscripts Online (1120-1900)
Standard editions of Latin literature from antiquity up to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (1475-1700)
More than 125,000 early printed works.
La Librairie des ducs de Bourgogne
Illuminated manuscripts owned by the Valois dukes of Burgundy, now in the Belgian Royal Library. A textual database consists of all the descriptive notes of the manuscripts, while an image bank comprises the reproductions of all illustrations. In addition, there is a series of background articles relating to the history of the Burgundy Library, important persons, or stylistic trends.
The database is available only in the Library.
Library of Latin Texts (2nd-15th Centuries)
Patristic and medieval texts.
Medieval Family Life (15th Century)
Five major letter collections and associated manuscripts from fifteenth century England: the Paston, Stonor, Cely, Plumpton and Amburgh papers. Full colour facsimiles of the original manuscripts are presented alongside searchable transcriptions from printed editions.
Medieval Sourcesonline
Provided by Manchester University Press, Medieval Sourcesonline contains annotated and edited full-text medieval sources arranged into subject collections.
Medieval Travel Writing (13th-16th Centuries)
Manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing, real and imaginary. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.
Parliament Rolls of Medieval England (1275-1504)
Full-text edition and translation of the rolls of parliament, the official records of the meetings of the English parliaments from Edward I to Henry VII.

Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Philip Abela
Last updated: 1 May, 2012