British Historical Sources in the University of Auckland Library
Microforms
Books
The Catalogue
The Catalogue 
Use The Catalogue to find additional primary sources.
Published editions and reproductions of primary sources will often have the word 'sources' in the subject headings. Examples of subject headings and keywords:
Microforms (microfilm, microfiche, microprint) 
Parliamentary papers, acts, state papers - Microforms
Archives of the British Labour Party
National Executive Committee Minutes of the Labour Representation Committee, 1900-1906, and the Labour Party since 1906
1900-1964.
Library copies
British Museum MSS (Cottonion Titus F.1)
Record of Parliamentary Sessions of 1559, 1563, 1566, 1571, 1572, 1576, 1581, 1584, 1586-7
Library copies
Cromwell, Thomas, fl. 1572-1584
Diary for Parliamentary Sessions of 1572, 1576, 1581, 1584
Library copies
Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords
Original Acts (Manuscripts) for the Parliaments of 5 Elizabeth (1562 & 1563) 8 Elizabeth (1566) 13 Elizabeth (1571) 14 Elizabeth (1572)
Journals (Manuscript) for the Parliaments of 5 Elizabeth (1562 & 1563) 8 Elizabeth (1566) 13 Elizabeth (1571) 14 Elizabeth (1572)
Library copies
Great Britain. Prime Minister
Cabinet Reports by Prime Ministers to the Crown
1837-1916.
Library copies
Great Britain. Public Record Office (PRO)
The Complete State Papers Domestic. Series 1, 1547-1625
Library copies
Great Britain. PRO
Unpublished State Papers of the English Civil War and Interregnum
(1642-1660)
Library has only part one of the series. Material illustrates the work
of the parliamentary committees.
Library copies
Personnel of the Parliament of 1584-1585
Library copies
Politics and Administration of Tudor England: Reproduced from the Lansdowne Collection in the British Library in London
Contents: Lord Burghley's papers; Sir Julius Caesar's papers.
Library copies
British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1916
Library copies
The Main Papers of the House of Lords
Part 1, 1509-1641. Part 2, Protestation Returns, 1641-1642.
Library copies
The Statutes of the Realm
Text of all laws enacted in Britain between 1225 and 1713.
Library copies
British Sessional Papers
House of Commons
1801-1899 and 1960-1966
Library copies
Journals of the House of Commons
1547-1900
Library copies
Hansard
Great Britain Parliamentary Debates - House of Commons
3rd series 1830-1891
4th series 1892-1908
5th series House of Commons, 1909-1918
5th series House of Commons, 1919-1928
House of Commons, 1928/29-1937/38
5th series House of Commons, 1938/39-1948
5th series House of Commons, 1948/49-1957/58
House of Commons, 1986-2000
Library copies
Hansard
Great Britain Parliamentary Debates - House of Lords
5th series House of Lords, 1909-1918
1947-1975
1978-1998
Library copies
Parliamentary Papers online
British Parliamentary Papers microfiche
Nineteenth-century subject set; Bills; Command Papers; Sessional Papers, House of Commons; Parliamentary Debates, House of Commons; Journal, House of Commons; Parliamentary Debates, House of Lords.
Offsite Archival Storage.
Personal papers and social history - Microforms 
Coke, Sir Edward, 1552-1634
Papers
Personal and political papers of Coke, Lord Chief Justice of England
1613-1617.
Library copies
Holkham Estate
Seventeenth Century Holkham Estate Deeds
Records comprise part of the Holkham muniments. Group 1, Holkham 1579-1641, concerning Norfolk County business.
Library copies
Leicester, Robert Dudley, Earl of. 1532-1588
Dudley Papers
Papers of one of Elizabeth I’s favourites at Court.
Library copies
Oxford University. Bodleian Library. MSS (Tanner 393)
Commonplace Book, 1571-1577
Anonymous diary.
Library copies
Witchcraft in Europe and America
Comprises 1045 individual titles from a plethora of sources and covering
the fifteenth-century through to the twentieth-century, exploring the phenomenon
from a variety of perspectives.
Library copies
Working Women in Victorian Britain, 1850-1910
The diaries and letters of Arthur J. Munby (1828-1910) and Hannah Cullwick
(1833-1909). Cullwick was first the servant, and later (secretly) the wife
of Munby, an ‘ethnologist’ fascinated by working-class women.
Library copies
Records of an English Village. Earls Colne 1400-1750
Comprises the State, Estate, and Church records of the Essex village
of Earls Colne between 1400 and 1750.
Library copies
British Industry, Labour and Trade Unionism, 1887-1934
Library copies
The Peoples’ History: Working Class Autobiographies
1792-1920
The microfilms contain the full text of the items and the work is based on The Autobiography of the working class: An annotated critical bibliography edited by John Burnett, David Vincent, and David Mayall.
Library copies
Agricultural Returns for Great Britain 1867-1901
Agricultural Statistics 1902-1938
Agricultural Statistics, England and Wales 1939-1966
Scottish Agricultural Economics 1950; 1967-1980
Library copies
Annual Report of the Registrar General of Births, Deaths and Marriages in England
1839-1920
Library copies
Census of Production of the United Kingdom
1907-1967
Library copies
Urban and Rural Social Conditions in Industrial Britain: The Local Reports to the General Board of Health, 1848-1857
Library copies
Books 
Parliamentary papers, acts, state papers - Books
Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900
Library copies
Journals of the House of Lords
1509-1980 with gaps.
Library copies
Calendar of the Journals of the House of Lords
1509-1826.
Library copies
Commons Debates, 1621
Comprises more than nine separate accounts of the debates in the House of Commons during the parliament of 1621.
Library copies
Journals of the House of Commons
1547-1984 with gaps, 240 volumes.
Library copies
Calendar of the Close Rolls
1227 (Henry III)-1485 (Richard III)
Library copies
Calendar of Patent Rolls
1216 (Henry III)-1582 (Elizabeth I)
Library copies
Calendars of State Papers
Library copies
Tudor Royal Proclamations
1485-1603
Library copies
The History of Parliament
The House of Commons
1386-1820, ongoing
Lists constituencies and biographical details of members.
Library copies
British and Foreign State Papers
1812 (George III)-1977 (Elizabeth II)
Miscellaneous documents relating to Britain and foreign powers. Includes the text of many treaties.
Library copies
Documents on British Policy Overseas
1945-1952
Papers concerning Britain's place in the world in the aftermath of World War II.
Library copies
British Documents on Foreign Affairs
Series B The Near and Middle East 1856-1914
Library copies
The Labour Government and the End of Empire 1945-1951
The Conservative Government and the End of Empire 1951-1957
Papers charting the British government’s policy during the breakdown of colonial rule.
Library copies
Other historical sources - Books 
Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts
An ongoing series compiling manuscripts held in various British repositories (noble seats, abbeys etc). Some of the documents are reproduced in full.
Library copies
The 1851 Census: A National Sample of the Census Enumerators' Returns
137 microfiche with an introductory guidebook.
Library copies
The Roxburghe Ballads
A collection of miscellaneous popular ballads from the seventeenth-century, some with accompanying woodcut illustrations.
Library copies
Harleian Miscellany
A collection of 'scarce, curious and amusing tracts and pamphlets', mostly from the early-modern period.
Library copies
The Annual Register
1761- (although first year covered is 1758).
Began as a 'view of the history, politicks and literature' of each year but later became a register of world events. The first editor was Edmund Burke.
Library copies
The New Annual Register
1781-1814
A review of the history, politics and literature of the year in the same vein as the entry above.
Library copies
Publications of the Scottish History Society
A collection of miscellaneous works relating to Scottish history from the sixteenth-century to the nineteenth-century.
Library copies
English Historical Documents
Reprints of selected sources from the 6th to 20th centuries.
Library copies
Raphael Holinshed
Holinshed's Chronicles
A 6 volume history of England, Scotland and Ireland written in the sixteenth-century. A collaborative and officially sanctioned work.
Library copies
Rerum Britannicarum Medii Aevi Scriptores
Chronicles and memorials of Great Britain and Ireland during the Middle Ages.
99 volumes.
Library copies
The Victoria History of the Counties of England
A series begun in 1904 which is still an ongoing project. It provides an indepth history/national history of each English county. Many volumes are available from British History Online.
Library copies
List and Index Society
Published lists and indexes from the Public Record Office and other public archives in Great Britain.
Library copies
Royal Historical Society and Camden Society publications
A collection of miscellaneous works on British history.
Library copies
Illustrations of British History, Biography and Manners, in the Reigns of Henry VIII, Edward VI, Mary, Elizabeth I, and James I
Various royal and noble documents from the Tudor and early Stuart periods especially concentrating on the reign of Elizabeth I.
Library copies
Alan Macfarlane (ed.)
The Diary of Ralph Josselin, 1616-1683
The diary of an Essex clergyman kept during the English Civil War, Interregnum and Restoration. Josselin was minister in the village of Earls Colne, the records of which are also available.
Library copies
Sir John Fortescue (ed.)
The Correspondence of King George the Third from 1760 to December 1783
Library copies
A. Aspinall (ed.)
The Later Correspondence of George III
1783-1810
Library copies
F. J. Child (ed.)
The English and Scottish Popular Ballads
Library copies
J. S. Farmer (ed.)
Merry Songs and Ballads Prior to the Year A.D. 1800
Library copies
University of Glasgow
The Euing Collection of English Broadside Ballads
Modern transcriptions of the collection of Glasgow book collector William Euing (1788-1874).
Library copies
J. Holloway and J. Black (eds.)
Later English Broadside Ballads
Covers the eighteenth- and nineteenth-centuries.
Library copies
The English Experience
964 supremely eclectic volumes published in facsimile and covering the 'English Experience' between 1475-1640. Many of these are in Early English Books Online.
Library copies
The English Experience: A Descriptive Catalogue
A partial catalogue of the collection.
Library copies
E. S. de Beer (ed.)
The Diary of John Evelyn
1620-1706
The record of a man who lived through the reigns of six monarchs and one republic. Available in several editions.
Library copies
R. Latham amd W. Matthews (eds.)
The Diary of Samuel Pepys
1660-1669
Perhaps the most famous diary in the world, an unsurpassed record of political and social life in the early years of the Restoration.
Library copies
W. G. Day (ed.)
The Pepys Ballads
A collection in facsimile of the ballads from Samuel Pepys's own collection.
Library copies
London School of Economics and Political Studies
The New Survey of London Life and Labour
A survey undertaken in 1928 detailing many aspects of working-class life and work, modelled on the 19th Century research of Charles Booth.
Library copies
Henry Mayhew
The Morning Chronicle Survey of Labour and the Poor: The Metropolitan Districts
Mayhew was the metropolitan correspondent for the Morning Chronicle during its national survey of 1849-1850. He is regarded by some as the originator of oral history.
Library copies

Compiled by F. Andrewes, University of Auckland Library, February 1996
Created: September 10, 1997
Last updated: December 19, 2011 Contact p.abela@auckland.ac.nz
|