I N T E R N E T G A T E W A Y : G E O L O G Y
Geology - Select an Internet Category... ------------------------------------------- Databases Reference Selected Web Sites, Datasets & Internet Resources People & Organisations Internet Gateway (other subjects) -------------------------------------------
R E F E R E N C E
Dictionaries and glossaries
Encyclopedias
Maps and spatial data
Oxford Dictionary of Earth Sciences
Geologylink geologic glossary
Glossary of Geology Third Edition (to be updated) 5th edition is available as iphone app at the American Geological Institute
INFOMINE dictionary A dictionary of mining and mineral terms and definitions. Includes a translation tool
back to top
Encyclopedia of astronomy and astrophysics
Encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences
Encyclopedia of energy
Encyclopedia of geobiology
Encyclopedia of geology
Encyclopedia of ocean sciences
Encyclopedia of paleoclimatology and ancient environments
Encyclopedia of quaternary science
Encyclopedia of solid earth geophysics
Keys to soil taxonomy
Oxford companion to the earth
Maps, images and spatial data
Geofacets Database of geological maps from around the world. Doesn't work with IE9
GNS Science photo library Includes New Zealand aerial imagery, landscape and closeups of rock and mineral types
QMAP 1:250,000 geological map of New Zealand Download Mr Sid images of the QMAP series. Print copies with accompanying text and discs with vector and raster data available from the General Library map room
LRIS portal Online GIS viewer for New Zealand environmental data. Includes rock and soil layers. Layers can be downloaded
Geological maps of New Zealand and other countries and aerial photographs of New Zealand are available from the General Library map room
Subject Librarian Environment- Priscilla Cameron
File last updated : February 8, 2012 File location : geolref.htm Comments and suggestions to : Priscilla Cameron