G E O L O G Y

DATABASES : in relevance order.

GeoRef
Covers the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. Over 3,000 journals in 40 languages are indexed, as well as books, maps, reports and most USGS publications.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary sciences citation database. Includes Science citation index 1899- present, and conference proceedings from 1990 - present. Covers over 10,000 high-impact journals and over 120,000 conference proceedings

SCOPUS 
Multidisciplinary sciences citation database. Covers more than 46 million items from over 20,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes trade publications, book series and conference proceedings. Scopus also indexes over 430 million web sources and 23 million patents. Does not work with IE9

Geofacets
Geological maps from around the world. Includes New Zealand. Does not work with IE9
GeoScience World
A searchable collection of over 30 peer-reviewed geoscience journals on the HighWire platform. The publishers represented include the Geological Society of America, Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Society of America, Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland, and the Paleontological Society.
ScienceDirect
provides full- text access to over 2000 journals, mostly in the sciences. ScienceDirect classifies some 125 journals under "Earth & Planetary Sciences".  Daily or Weekly Alert service available.
GEOBASE
Indexes 2,000 journals in physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies, from 1980 to the present.
Current Contents
Indexes table of contents pages from approximately 7,000 journals.
Compendex
An international database which includes environmental, geological, civil and energy engineering. It indexes and abstracts the world's significant scientific and technological literature, including over 1,500 international journals and 600 conference proceedings.
MINABS Online 
The online version of Mineralogical Abstracts. Coverage is from 1982.

SciFinder
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases, covering physics, geology, and environmental science. It is necessary to register before use.
Please read User Registration for SciFinder (PDF) and email Sonya Donoghue for the registration form URL. To register, you must provide an email address for the domain auckland.ac.nz or aucklanduni.ac.nz.

SpringerLink
SpringerLink gives full-text access to over 1900 journals published by Springer, Birkhauser, Karger, and others as well as full-text access to some 16,000 books. The core of the collection is in Science, Engineering, and Medicine. The Library does not have access to the complete SpringerLink content. Access is shown by a box beside each reference with three following options - If the box is filled with green, then there is access to it all, if it is half filled then there is access to some, and if it is white there is no access.

CRCnetBASE
Contains over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.

New Zealand Science
NZ Science (formerly also known as "SIRIS" and "STIX") is a comprehensive index of New Zealand Science, provided by The Crown Research Institutes (CRIs previously the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, DSIR) and the Royal Society of New Zealand.
Cold regions bibliography project
Published by the American Geological Institute with contributions from the Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge. Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.
IGA Geothermal Conference Papers Database
A searchable online collection of conference papers on geothermal science produced by the International Geothermal Association. 1975-
Also check databases listed in Engineering subject guide
Geology Departmental Publications
A list of published material 1888-2002, authored by staff and students of the Geology Department, University of Auckland, excluding abstracts, and unpublished conference proceedings.
Geology Reprints (New Zealand)
A collection of reprints and pamphlets on New Zealand geology. Contact the Subject Librarian for School of Environment to view listed items.
 
 

Comments to Priscilla Cameron Last updated  February 8, 2012