INTERNET GATEWAY : GEOGRAPHY & ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE
Geography - Select an Internet Category... ------------------------------------------- Databases Web Reference Sites People & Organizations Online Guides Internet Gateway (other subjects)
P E O P L E & O R G A N I Z A T I O N S
This page contains a number of links to New Zealand, Australian and International university Geography and Environmental Science departments, government departments, and organizations.
Lincoln University Environmental Studies
Massey University Institute of Natural Resources School of People, Environment and Planning : Geography Programme
University of Auckland School of Environment Centre for Development Studies
University of Canterbury Department of Geography New Zealand School of Forestry
University of Otago Department of Geography Department of Tourism Environmental Science
University of Waikato Department of Earth Sciences Department of Geography, Tourism and Environmental Planning Victoria University of Wellington Institute of Geography School of Geography, Environment and Earth Sciences
Antarctica New Zealand
Australian and New Zealand Map Society
Clean Air Society of Australia and New Zealand
Department of Conservation
Foundation for Research, Science and Technology Statutory authority which is responsible for about 60% of the public expenditure on research and development in New Zealand. It covers almost all fields of science, including the social sciences but excluding defence and health.
Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences
IUCN Invasive Species Specialist Group
Joint Geospatial Support Facility Part of the Royal New Zealand Navy, the Facility's role is to acquire, collate and maintain high integrity databases for production and dissemination of Geospatial products and services to static and deployed NZDF HQs and Force Elements.
Land Information New Zealand (LINZ)
Landcare Research New Zealand
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry
Ministry of Economic Development
Ministry of Science and Innovation Formed 1 February 2011 from the merger of the Foundation for Research, Science and Technology and the Ministry of Research, Science and Technology (MoRST). The Science Board is responsible for most of the public expenditure on research and development in New Zealand. It covers almost all fields of science, including the social sciences but excluding defence and health.
Ministry for the Environment New Zealand
New Zealand Centre for Environmental Law
New Zealand Geographical Society
NIWA - National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment
Resource Management Law Association of New Zealand
Royal Society of New Zealand
Science New Zealand Represents the nine Crown Research Institutes. Enables collective action on behalf of its members.
Statistics New Zealand
Australian National University Department of Geography Fenner School of Environment and Society
Charles Darwin University School for Environmental Research
Curtin University of Technology School of Agriculture and Environment
Deakin University School of Life and Environmental Sciences
Flinders University School of the Environment
Griffith University Australian Centre of the Asian Spatial Information and Analysis Network
James Cook University of North Queensland School of Tropical Environment Studies and Geography
Macquarie University Graduate School of the Environment Environmental Science Human Geography
Monash University Department of Earth Sciences School of Geography and Environmental Science
Murdoch University School of Environmental Science
University of Adelaide School of Earth and Environmental Sciences School of Social Sciences: Geographical and Environmental Studies
University of Melbourne Department of Resource Management & Geography
University of New England Department of Geography and Planning
University of New South Wales Institute of Environmental Studies Marine and Coastal Studies School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Newcastle Centre for Urban and Regional Studies School of Environmental and Life Sciences
University of Queensland School of Geography, Planning and Architecture School of Natural and Rural Systems Management
University of Sydney School of Geosciences
University of Tasmania Centre for Environment Centre for Spatial Information Science (CenSIS) School of Earth Sciences School of Geography and Environmental Studies
University of Wollongong School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Australian Geographic
CSIRO
Federation of Australian Scientific and Technological Societies (FASTS)
Geographical Society of New South Wales, Inc
Institute of Australian Geographers
Royal Geographical Society of South Australia, Inc
Commonwealth Geographical Bureau The representative body of some 300 geography departments, units, sections and faculties within universities and higher institutes of learning in the 58 countries of the Commonwealth. Includes links to Geography departments, and to forthcoming conferences.
Geographische Institute im Internet Links to Geography Departments around the world. Currently contains links to over 900 Departments in nearly 80 countries.
Geography Departments Worldwide A searchable database of Geography Departments around the world. Currently contains links to 995 Departments in 85 Countries.
Social Science Grapevine : Geography Departments An extensive listing of Geography Departments in the United Kingdom.
Scholarly Societies Project - Environmental Sciences Scholarly Societies Project - Geography An up-to-date site maintained by the University of Waterloo, with links to professional and scholarly environmental science and geography societies around the world.
APEC Virtual Center for Environmental Technology Exchange (APEC-VC)
Association of American Geographers
CAB International (CABI)
Canadian Association of Geographers
Centre for Computational Geography, University of Leeds
Ecological Society of America
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) see United States Environmental Protection Agency
Global Volcanism Program
Institute of British Geographers (now with the Royal Geographic Society)
Integrative Oceanography Division (IOD), Scripps Institution of Oceanography (SIO)
International Society of Biometeorology
IUCN : The World Conservation Union
National Geographic Society
NOAA (U. S. National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration)
Royal Geographical Society
Royal Scottish Geographical Society
Smithsonian Institution - National Museum of Natural History
Society for Ecological Restoration
Statistics Canada
UNESCO Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC)
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
U. S. Geological Survey
World Resources Institute
Subject Librarian: Geography & Environmental Science- Priscilla Cameron
File last updated : March 20, 2011 Comments and suggestions to : Priscilla Cameron