WEB REFERENCESITES   :   GEOGRAPHY & ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE 

The following is a combined list of links to websites, resources and reference material (eg. dictionaries, encyclopedias etc.) on the internet.  The links are arranged under the following groupings:

New
Bibliographic

Biodiversity, Conservation, and Ecology
Climatology
Cyber-geography
Dictionaries, Glossaries and Acronyms
Distances
Environmental Management
GIS
Human Geography
Images
Legislation

Map Librarianship

Maps, current
Maps, historical
Physical Geography
Place Names & Gazetteers
Political Geography & Country or Regional Studies
Pollution and Contaminants


New

ChinaDataOnline
An online service provided by the All China Market Research Company in association with the the China Data Center at the University of Michigan, China Data Online offers a wide range of statistical reports on China.
The Library has licensed the DemographicsNowChina segment of CDO, providing spatial data reports and maps using census statistics.

Environmental Protection Authority Act 2011
This Act establishes a new Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) as a standalone crown agent from 1 July 2011.

NZMS 13 cadastral maps 1inch to the mile / 1:63, 360 1914-1961
This series is being digitized and made available through the National Digital Heritage Archive. To find them go to the National Library of New Zealand catalogue, set quick limits to Map and search for <NZMS 13 online>. Many of the maps show Maori land blocks.

Marine and Coastal Area (Takutai Moana) Act 2011
Repeals the Foreshore and Seabed Act 2004

Auckland (Spatial) Plan discussion document - Auckland Unleashed
The Auckland Plan is intended to integrate economic, ecologic, environmental, social and cultural objectives for the region. The discussion document sets out the initial proposals for managing land use, infrastructure and environmental protection.

Japan Sendai Earthquake Data Portal
Initiative of Harvard Center for Geographic Analysis, for sharing of data related to the earthquake off Sendai, Japan on 11 March 2011.

The Geospatial Revolution
A series of online videos from PennState Public Broadcasting about the world of digital mapping and how it is changing our world.

Spatial Humanities
A project of the Institute for Enabling Geospatial Research, hosted by University of Virginia Library. Mapping using GIS for the humanities - includes tutorials


Bibliographic

nzresearch.org.nz (Kiwi Research Information Service)
This website is a gateway to the open-access research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand. This websitecan be used tosearch for research, look up specific subjects or authors,browse the research in various ways, and keep abreast of emerging research activity.

Top of page

Biodiversity, Conservation, and Ecology

American Museum of Natural History : Center for Biodiversity and Conservation 
Offers an in-depth exploration of the many values of and threats to biodiversity, and the varied ways individuals and organisations are working to preserve the world's species and ecosystems.

Biodiversity Glossary of Terms 
Compiled by The World Resources Institute.

Biodiversity: measuring the variety of nature 
Contains discussion and graphs on the topics of Biodiversity Value, Rarity and Endemism, Conservation Priority & Gap Analysis, and Biogeography. Information is gathered by the Biogeography & Conservation Lab, a unit within the Natural History Museum. 

Biodiversity and Conservation 
Online text book developed by Professor Peter J. Bryant, at the University of California, Irvine.  Covers such topics as human population growth, biodiversity, the history of life, depletion and extinction from over-exploitation, exotic introductions, and deforestation. 

Biodiversity Information Online
Information is provided about New Zealand's native biodiversity, how it is being conserved and managed, and who is involved.

Botanical Glossaries 
This document gives access to glossaries of botanical terms on the Internet. Maintained by Centre for Plant Biodiversity Research and Australian National Herbarium, Canberra, Australia.

A Dictionary of Ecology
From acid rain, CFCs, and the greenhouse effect to the food-chain and the gene bank, this dictionary provides entries on all aspects of ecology and the environmental sciences. It covers a wide range of subjects, from plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography. It includes developments in this rapidly evolving field, particularly in the areas of molecular ecology, conservation, and the management of habitats, and has biographical notes on eminent ecologists and other scientists.

ELDIS Biodiversity Resource Guide
ELDIS is a gateway to information on development issues, providing access to a wide range of high quality online resources. Edited and hosted by the Institute of Development Studies in Sussex (UK), this site includes a collection of subject-focused resource guides, one of which is biodiversity, with quick access to key documents, organisations, research themes, discussions and other key resources. The entire site is searchable. Perform a quick keyword search from the box at the lower left on the front page, or use advanced search. Boolean operators and stemming are supported.

Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia of Earth is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.

Global Invasive Species Database
Developed by the IUCN/SSC Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) as part of the global initiative on invasive species led by the Global Invasive Species Programme (GISP). It provides global information on invasive alien species to agencies, resource managers, decision-makers, and interested individuals. The database focuses on invasive species that threaten biodiversity and covers all taxonomic groups from micro-organisms to animals and plants. Species information is supplied by expert contributors from around the world and includes; species' biology, ecology, native and alien range, references, contacts, links and images.

Hawaiian Ecosystems at Risk (HEAR) Project
The aim of the project is to provide resources (technology, methods, and information) to resource managers statewide to aid in the fight against invasive alien species. The site contains distribution maps of selected alien species in Hawaii, the Harmful Non-Indigenous Species Database and full-text articles on alien species in Hawaii.

National Aquatic Biodiversity Information System
The National Aquatic Biodiversity Information System (NABIS), a New Zealand government operated website, is an online application using GIS tools to provide spatial and visual representation of our marine biological and fisheries management data.

Species 2000
Aims to create a Catalogue of Life, a unified catalogue of the 1.75 million known species of living organisms on earth, as a the baseline dataset for studies of global biodiversity. It will also provide a simple access point enabling users to link from here to other data systems for all groups of organisms, using direct species-links.

UNEP-WCMC 
The UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre (WCMC) is a collaboration between the United Nations Environment Programme and WCMC 2000 which is a UK-based charity. The Centre "provides information services on conservation and sustainable use of the world's living resources, and helps others to develop information systems of their own". The WCMC maintains databases on the world's threatened species, protected areas, forests, marine and coastal resources. It also provides National Biodiversity Profiles for a number of countries.  

Virtual Library of Science > Environment 
Reviews internet information sources pertaining to ecology and biodiversity based on their educational value.

 


Climatology

ARM Acronyms and Abbreviations
The Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM) Program is a global change research program supported by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). 

Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center - Acronyms and Abbreviations
Contents taken from Global Change Acronyms and Abbreviations, 1995.  Developed by the Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA.

Climate Acronyms: From the Permanent Servidce for Mean Sea Level (PSMSL).

Climate Change: a guide to the information and disinformation
Provided by the Society of Environmental Journalists, with the aim of advancing public understanding of environmental issues by improving the quality, accuracy and visibility of environmental reporting. Presents a nicely organized collection of annotated links to (mostly) online resources, from basic science to government agencies and organizations, to research institutions, environmental groups and more.

Climate Literacy
A U.S. federal government document that seeks to educate everyone about the Earth's climate. This document, titled Climate Literacy: The Essential Principles of Climate Science, presents information that is deemed important for individuals and communities to know and understand about Earth’s climate, impacts of climate change, and approaches to adaptation or mitigation. The document is based on seven essential principles for climate science.

Common Questions about Climate Change: United Nations Environment Programme and the World Meteorological Organization answer some of the most commonly asked questions about climate change.

Current New Zealand Weather
Links to real-time New Zealand weather stations online. Provides detailed data for 14 stations within the Auckland region (from Helensville south to Waiuku and Pukekohe), and for various stations in other parts of New Zealand. There are also links to other New Zealand weather sites.

Current Weather
Weather and climate data for the New Zealand region provided by MetVUW (Meteorology at Victoria University of Wellington). Contains the latest upper air data, weather radar images, satellite imagery From GMS-5, and Tropical Cyclone advisories for the Pacific Ocean.

A Dictionary of Weather
A Dictionary of Weather provides a comprehensive body of information about weather, forecasting, and climate terms, along with detailed illustrative examples of specific events and weather extremes. Using the list of weather records, you can also check climate data for different weather types from around the world. Key terms from the related fields of oceanography, hydrology, and climatology are covered as are the important people in the development of meteorology.

Global climate change: research explorer - the exploratorium
Designed by a team of nonexperts with advice and input from a range of scientists, this provides straightforward answers in a well-structured and concise format to some frequently voiced questions about climate change.

New Zealand Climate Change Programme
Information is provided on the New Zealand Climate Change Programme, and there are useful links to other sources of related information, including ministerial speeches, cabinet papers, and full text climate change publications. Other links are to glossaries of climate change and global warming terms, and to summary tables and graphs for the 1999 New Zealand Greenhouse Gas Inventory.

New Zealand Climate Data
Data are available in the following categories: overview, climate summaries, mean relative humidity, mean number of days of ground frost, mean monthly sunshine (hours), mean 10cm earth temperature (°C), mean daily maximum temperatures, mean monthly temperatures, mean daily minimum temperatures, mean monthly rainfall, mean monthly wet-days, mean daily global radiation, and climate extremes. Climate station details are also available.

NIWA Online Publications
Links to Aquatic Biodiversity and Biosecurity Update, Climate-Energy Solutions Update, Coasts & Oceans Update, Climate Update, Fisheries & Aquaculture Update, Island Climate Update, Natural Hazards Update, Water & Atmosphere, Water Resources Update
Both current and back issues of each title are available.

Science Photo Library
A collection of 100,000 images relating to scientific, medical, technological and space themes. Of interest to geographers will be images relating to earth and environment, geology and fossils, mapping and cartography, industry (energy and mining), industry (manufacturing and commerce), pollution, and transport.

Weatherpost: Historical Weather Data
Provides monthly historical weather data for almost 1,000 cities worldwide in more than 200 countries and territories. Hosted by the Washington Post.

WINDandSEA: The Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Locator
This site is a substantial atmospheric and Oceanic sciences list prepared by the NOAA Central Library. It lists over 800 links, each having been reviewed and annotated by a NOAA Central Library staff technical information specialist. It is intended to make searching more efficient for those concerned with oceanic and atmospheric issues

World Meteorological Organization links to Climate data sets
This WMO site provides a brief list of links to internet sites with data on climate, ice, temperature and greenhouse gases. The World Climate Data and Monitoring Programme (WCDMP) is a program of the World Climate Programme that facilitates the effective collection and management of climate data and the monitoring of the global climate system, including the detection and assessment of climate variability and changes.

WorldClimate: Weather rainfall and temperature data
WorldClimate contains over 85,000 records of world climate data (historical weather averages) from a wide range of sources. Information is found by entering the name of a city or town into a search box.

Top of page

Cyber-geography

CyberGEO
CyberGEO is the online site of the European Journal of Geography. It deals with the entire range of geographical concerns and interests, with no preferences for any particular school or theme. Access to the published articles is facilitated by a system of headings and key-words. For as long as is possible, access will be kept unrestricted and free of charge. CyberGEO is intended as a response to the specific needs of academic communication, by offering the possibility of a rapid exchange of information, immediate feedback on articles and events relevant to geography, on-going discussions, the latest research on specific questions, offers of results or documents, information about the availability of maps, and so on. In addition to the journal itself, a GeoWeb Services heading offers a range of geographical information (data bases, servers, journal summaries, and so on).

Cyber Badger Research Blog
By Martin Dodge, lecturer in human geography at the University of Manchester.

 

Top of page

Dictionaries, Glossaries and Acronyms

ARM Acronyms and Abbreviations
The Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM) Program is a global change research program supported by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). 

Biodiversity Glossary of Terms 
Compiled by The World Resources Institute.

Botanical Glossaries 
This document gives access to glossaries of botanical terms on the Internet. Maintained by Centre for Plant Biodiversity Research and Australian National Herbarium, Canberra, Australia.

Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center - Acronyms and Abbreviations
Contents taken from Global Change Acronyms and Abbreviations, 1995.  Developed by the Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA.

Climate Acronyms: From the Permanent Service for Mean Sea Level (PSMSL).

Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing
Created by staff at the University of California - Berkeley Library, this dictionary decodes abbreviations and acronyms found in various publications including maps and websites. These abbreviations or acronyms, therefore, are not necessarily authoritative or standardized in format or content.

A Dictionary of Ecology
From acid rain, CFCs, and the greenhouse effect to the food-chain and the gene bank, this dictionary provides entries on all aspects of ecology and the environmental sciences. It covers a wide range of subjects, from plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography. It includes developments in this rapidly evolving field, particularly in the areas of molecular ecology, conservation, and the management of habitats, and has biographical notes on eminent ecologists and other scientists.

A Dictionary of Weather
A Dictionary of Weather provides a comprehensive body of information about weather, forecasting, and climate terms, along with detailed illustrative examples of specific events and weather extremes. Using the list of weather records, you can also check climate data for different weather types from around the world. Key terms from the related fields of oceanography, hydrology, and climatology are covered as are the important people in the development of meteorology.

GIS Dictionary
Includes definitions for 980 terms compiled from a variety of sources which either relate directly to GIS or which GIS users may come across in the course of their work. The dictionary is also supplemented by 52 diagrams. Developed by the Association for Geographic Information.

Glossary of Terms for Physical Geography
This glossary is from The Fundamentals of Physical Geography website, designed to be a FREE online textbook for University and College students studying introductory Physical Geography, available from Okanagan University College.

Green Building Glossary
An alphabetical listing of terms, produced by the City of Seattle's Department of Planning and Development.

Ozone Depletion Glossary
Written by the  Stratospheric Protection Division of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.  Many of the glossary entries have hypertext links to other sites on the Internet.

Terms Of Environment
Defines in non-technical language the more commonly used environmental terms appearing in Environmental Protection Agency publications, news releases, and other Agency documents available to the general public, students, the media, and Agency employees. The terms selected for inclusion are derived from previously published lists, internal glossaries produced by various programs and specific suggestions made by personnel in many Agency offices. The chemicals and pesticides selected for inclusion are limited to those most frequently referred to in Agency publications or that are the subject of major regulatory or program activities.

Top of page

Distances

The Earth According to WGS84
A site that lists the distance between degrees of longitude at every degree of latitude. A similar table is available for every ten minutes of latitude.

Great Circle Distances Between Cities 
Allows the user to calculate great circle distances between certain cities around the world.   Cities are chosen from a pull-down menu, and the latitude and longitude for each city, and the distance between them (in kilometres, miles and nautical miles) are displayed.   There are just over 300 cities to chose from (including both Auckland and Wellington).

Great Circle Mapper
Allows you to find the great circle distance between airports. Route paths are entered according to airport code (e.g. LAX-AKL to determine the distance between Los Angeles and Auckland), or by latitude and longitude. Distances can be displayed in kilometres, miles, or nautical miles. A map showing the great circle route is also displayed.
[Here is a searchable listing of airport codes]

Surface Distance Between Two Points of Latitude and Longitude
Allows the user to calculate distances (in kilometres, miles or nautical miles) between points on the globe by entering the latitude and longitude of each point.

Travelmate
An Australian site that gives directions for travel from any suburb or town to any other suburb or town in Australia. Distances, and a map of the route, are also given.

Top of page

Environmental Management

ACToR: Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource
ACToR (Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource) is a collection of databases collated or developed by the US EPA National Center for Computational Toxicology (NCCT). More than 200 sources of publicly available data on environmental chemicals have been brought together and made searchable by chemical name and other identifiers, and by chemical structure. Data includes chemical structure, physico-chemical values, in vitro assay data and in vivo toxicology data. Chemicals include, but are not limited to, high and medium production volume industrial chemicals, pesticides (active and inert ingredients), and potential ground and drinking water contaminants.

The APEC Virtual Center for Environmental Technology Exchange (APEC-VC)
Works in the Asia-Pacific region to address environmental issues.  APEC-VC disseminates a wide range of information related to protecting the earth, split up into three main categories, global, local and programs. The local information is naturally based in the Asia-Pacific area. There is also a section called Eco-Market which is a bulletin board promoting business transactions of environmental technologies, products and services.

Arctic Environmental Atlas
An interactive atlas launched by the Norwegian Office of the United Nations Environmental Programme. Users can zoom by clicking on an area of interest or by selecting one of 40 pre-defined sub regions. Basic themes which can be viewed include topography, human impact, population density, land cover, permafrost, geology, geomorphology, tectonic plates, solar radiation and precipitation. Other available features include national and administrative boundaries, urban areas, and city/country text labels.

Biofuels Information Exchange
This site details the latest research on biofuel crops. It is possible to get in touch with experts and discuss the latest biofuel issues.

Department of Conservation (N. Z.)
What DOC does, and links to policies, plans and reports; summaries of relevant legislation; conservation issues, including the Biodiversity Strategy, marine and coastal conservation, the Oceans Policy, whaling, regional coastal plans, and wetlands. There is a map showing Conservation Board boundaries, along with information for each Conservancy; and a glossary of conservation terms, including acronyms, abbreviations and jargon - the Concise English DOCtionary.

Department of Conservation : Publications
PDF files of many DOC science publications are available free for downloading. Current and past titles are listed by series, and each title published since 1999 has a link to the pdf file.

ELDIS: the gateway to development/environment information 
Provides an ever increasing number of detailed descriptions of and links to a variety of information sources. You can search by subject or keyword through more 7000 fulltext documents from some 3000 organisations.  Subjects include environment management, biodiversity and conservation, climate, desertification pollution, soils and wastewater. 

Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia of Earth is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.

EnviroLink Network 
A non-profit organisation, "dedicated to providing the most comprehensive, up-to-date environmental resources available".  This site can be searched by keyword or browsed by topic (e.g. transportation, ecosystems).  EnviroLink provides a news service with daily news alerts it provides links to green marketplace, discussion groups, archives, Green living, sustainable business. 

Global Change Master Directory 
NASA's Global Change Master Directory (GCMD) is a directory of descriptions of data sets of relevance to global change research.  Search the GCMD database for descriptions of data sets covering climate change, the biosphere, hydrosphere & oceans, geology, geography, and human dimensions of global change. 

Green Building Glossary
An alphabetical listing of terms, produced by the City of Seattle's Department of Planning and Development.

International Corporate Sustainability Reporting Site 
Gateway to corporate environmental reports available on the internet as well as articles, research papers, and seminars.  Organises websites under such topics as legislation for environmental reporting, environmental accounting, benchmarking of environmental performance, environmental attestation/auditing of environmental reports, environmental performance and shareholder value. 

N.Z. Ministry for the Environment
The Ministry advises the Government on New Zealand’s environmental laws, policies, standards and guidelines, monitors how they are working in practice, and takes any action needed to improve them. The Ministry reports on the state of the environment, on local government performance on environmental matters, and on the work of the Environmental Risk Management Authority and the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority. Their website includes links to a wide range of online publications, online text about environmental reporting (including the text of The State of New Zealand's Environment 2007), the text of relevant legislation, and background data on environmental issues.

Office of the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment
The Parliamentary Commissioner reviews and provides advice on the system of agencies and processes established by the New Zealand Government to manage the allocation, use and protection of natural and physical resources. This site includes full text copies of recent publications from the Office.

Publications, Ministry for the Environment
"The Ministry for the Environment produces a wide range of publications on environmental topics, legislation and policies. This includes general publications (for general audiences), best practice guides and guidelines, consultation documents, technical reports, information papers, factsheets and brochures."

Science Photo Library
A collection of 100,000 images relating to scientific, medical, technological and space themes. Of interest to geographers will be images relating to earth and environment, geology and fossils, mapping and cartography, industry (energy and mining), industry (manufacturing and commerce), pollution, and transport.

State of the Environment report Environment New Zealand 2007.
The second national-level state of New Zealand's environment report. Summary and Full versions (HTML). Also available as a PDF.

Sustainability Web Ring 
Gateway to websites that deal with the principles, policies, and best practices for sustainable development. Find information from around the world on how to deal with such crucial issues as: climate change, cleaner production, waste, poverty, consumerism, natural resource management, and governance.

Terms Of Environment
Defines in non-technical language the more commonly used environmental terms appearing in Environmental Protection Agency publications, news releases, and other Agency documents available to the general public, students, the media, and Agency employees. The terms selected for inclusion are derived from previously published lists, internal glossaries produced by various programs and specific suggestions made by personnel in many Agency offices. The chemicals and pesticides selected for inclusion are limited to those most frequently referred to in Agency publications or that are the subject of major regulatory or program activities.

United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 

  • Browse by topic 
  • Pesticides 
  • Climate Change
  • EcoTox database data on relative risk of chemical pollutants on aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife.
  • Envirofacts Data Warehouse Developed by the EPA as a single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data. Data sets on air, chemicals, facility information, grants/funding, hazardous waste, risk management plans, superfund, toxic releases, and water permits, drinking water, drinking water contaminant occurrence, and drinking water microbial and disinfection byproduct information. 
  • EPA's Office of Environmental Information provides information on how OEI collects information, the technology infrastructure, the analysis & public access and what they are doing to improve the quality of the agency's decisions.  

WINDandSEA 
An atmospheric and oceanic sciences internet resource locator provided by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Central Library. This locator was built in response to reference questions that are posed to the library and is meant to make Internet searching more efficient. Over 1,000 have been reviewed and annotated. 

The World Environment Library
Developed by the Department of Computer Science at Waikato University. It contains 400 publications (45,000 pages) of ideas and solutions in the fields of Agriculture, Biodiversity, Climate Change, Environmental Impact Assessment, Energy, Health, Natural Resources, Policy, Sustainable Development, Waste Management and Water.
Developed by the National Technology Transfer Center (NTTC), Wheeling, USA.

Top of page

GIS - see separate GIS page

Top of page

Human Geography

For statistical information see Subject Guides: Statistics and Numerical Data.

Company Information : New Zealand
A flow chart showing how to find information about New Zealand companies in the University of Auckland Library.

Company Information : International
A flow chart showing how to find information about international companies in the University of Auckland Library.

Electorate Profiles (NZ)
Electorate profiles for each of the seven Maori electorates and 63 general electorates in New Zealand are published here. Electorate profiles are produced by the Parliamentary Library. Each profile includes election results, statistics about people, households and industries, and maps.

ELDIS Gateway to Development Information
ELDIS is a gateway to information on development issues, providing access to a wide range of high quality online resources. Edited and hosted by the Institute of Development Studies in Sussex (UK), this site includes 14,850 online documents, 4,500 organizations, 15,000 email messages, 32 email bulletins and 31 newsfeeds (as of February 1, 2005). Includes a collection of subject-focused resource guides with quick access to key documents, organisations, research themes, discussions and other key resources. Currently, there are guides for 28 different development-oriented topics, from Aging Populations to World Bank and IMF. The entire site is searchable. Perform a quick keyword search from the box at the lower left on the front page, or use advanced search. Boolean operators and stemming are supported.

FAS (USDA Foreign Agricultural Service)
The Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) works to improve foreign market access for U.S. products, build new markets, improve the competitive position of U.S. agriculture in the global marketplace, and provide food aid and technical assistance to foreign countries. This site includes market and trade data; commodities and products data, tables, and links to other sites; country information; trade agreements & negotiations; trade capacity building and development; and more.

New Zealand Immigration Chronology
A paper from the Parliamentary Library outlining key immigration events since 1840. The paper first outlines pre-1840 New Zealand before describing later events. Events are listed chronologically under six headings that summarise key historical trends.

New Zealand Industry Information
How to find industry and company information. An aid to searching the University of Auckland Library Catalogue for any books on a particular industry; finding recent industry news and articles; looking at industry reports, profiles and overviews; looking for company information; looking for industry association and organization websites; using an internet search engine to find additional industry overviews and global scenarios; identifying the ANZSIC code and industry description; and finding statistics including trade statistics.

Population and Social Integration Section - U. N. Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
Links to ESCAP's Population Journal and the Asia-Pacific POPIN Bulletin; directories of population institutions, research, and population experts; and a wide variety of databases.

Population and Sustainable Development
The Population and Sustainable Development website provides access to a
comprehensive collection of New Zealand population statistics provided by a wide range of government departments and agencies.  It provides authoritative information about New Zealand’s current and emerging population issues.  This website will help you find what demographic information is available, understand how to access it, become familiar with some of the key frameworks used to analyse population issues,understand some key population terms, get expert advice on how to use population information, and find sources of further information and expertise.

Population Index
Published since 1935, this is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics. The entire published database for 1986-1998 (Volumes 52-64) is available and can be searched by author, subject matter, geographical region, and year of publication. A free-text search is now available for all issues from 1986 to 1998 which enables users to search for text anywhere in a citation, including the title, series, and abstract.

Population Information Network, Western Asia
Links to news items; online regional publications; the latest issue of the ESCWA Population Bulletin; discussions of regional population issues; summary population data for the countries of western Asia; and to demographic, policy and socio-economic databases.

Social Anthropology and Human Geography
This is the British Academy's directory of online resources in the humanities and social sciences. It is designed as an entry point to available resources for those working in higher education and research. Links lead to a number of sites relating to earth science resources, environmental information, El Nino/Southern Oscillation information, the UK census, a database of indigenous knowledge and practices, an ethnographic atlas, a GIS dictionary, and other similar resources.

Te Puna Korero Whenua Maori - Access to Maori Land Information
This site assists those conducting research into Maori land information, and explains how to access information held by Land Information New Zealand. There are links to: What is Maori land?, searching for Maori land records, organisations that can be contacted, available resources, and an explanation of technical terms. Further links are provided to explanations of LINZ's role in the acquisition and disposal of land, and LINZ's role in Treaty of Waitangi settlements.

Tourism Research - Ministry of Tourism 
This website brings together the Government's core tourism data. Included are reports, statistical data and some tourism flow maps. Researchers can add webpages etc. to the site. There are also some contact addresses and links.

Market New Zealand
This is the official export website of Trade New Zealand, the New Zealand Government's trade promotion agency. MarketNewZealand.com helps international buyers and importers find products and services from New Zealand's leading exporters. It offers New Zealand exporters a direct channel to promote their goods and services to the world. Information about exporting companies, and country and industry sector profiles, is included.

United States Census 
Census data for the United States. Includes selected historical data from 1790.

 

Top of page

Images

ESA Earth Image Gallery
An interactive globe to find satellite images by keyword. Images are accompanied by descriptive text. Provided by the European Space Agency.

Science Photo Library
A collection of 100,000 images relating to scientific, medical, technological and space themes. Of interest to geographers will be images relating to earth and environment, geology and fossils, mapping and cartography, industry (energy and mining), industry (manufacturing and commerce), pollution, and transport.

Science.gov Image Search
Searches the metadata from images provided by US Federal agencies NASA, NOAA and USGS.

Technical Advisory Service for Images
This site offers advice and guidance for managing both small and large scale digitisation projects, creating digital images (including raster, vector and animated formats), delivering digital images to users, and using digital images to support teaching, learning and research.

 

Legislation

Biosecurity Act 1993

Cadastral Survey Act 2002

Climate Change Response Act 2002

Conservation Act 1987

Conservation Law Reform Act

Copyright Act 1994

Dairy Industry Restructuring Act 2001

Electricity Industry Reform Act 1998 

Environment Act 1986

Fisheries Act 1983

Foreshore and Seabed Act 2004

Forests Act 1949

Land Act 1948

Land Transport Management Act 2003

Local Government Act 1974

Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009

New Zealand Geographic Board (Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008

Resource Management Act 1991

Territorial Sea, Contiguous Zone, and Exclusive Economic Zone Acts 1977

Top of page

Next page...


Subject Librarian: Geography & Environmental Science - Priscilla Cameron


File last updated : July 6, 2011 .
Comments and suggestions to : Priscilla Cameron