BIBLIOGRAPHY - GEOGRAPHY OF NEW ZEALAND WINE

Websites and Blogs

Overviews

Journals

Economic Aspects

Environmental Factors

Environmental Management

Regional Accounts

Wine Labels

Wine Marketing

Wine Tourism

Legal Aspects

 

  Priscilla Cameron
Subject Librarian:
Geography & Environmental Science


Room M11, Level M
General Library
University of Auckland
p.cameron@auckland.ac.nz
Ph 09 3737599 ext. 88452

Websites and Blogs

Corbans Viticulture
Corbans Viticulture provides innovation-led viticultural products and services to the New Zealand wine-growing industry.

Gimblett Gravels Winegrowers Association

Industry Guide : Wine Industry
A Business and Economics Information Services page which contains a wealth of information about finding material relating to the wine industry, both locally and internationally.

International Wine Marketing Database
An online bibliographic resource produced by the University of South Australia. The International Wine Marketing Database indexes and abstracts articles from published material on all aspects of the global wine industry, and includes full-text for around 500 articles.

Lincoln University. Centre for Viticulture and Oenology

nzresearch.org
This website is a gateway to the open-access research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand. Useful for finding out what research is being conducted beyond the University of Auckland.

New Zealand Society for Viticulture and Oenology

Subject Guides : Wine Science
Links to a variety of resources that relate to the science of making wine.

University of Auckland. School of Chemical Sciences. Wine Science

VITIS-VEA
VITIS-VEA, Viticulture and Enology Abstracts is an international German or English-language literature database in the field of viticulture and enology. It covers grapevine morphology, physiology, and biochemistry, soil science, genetics and grapevine breeding, phytopathology and grapevine protection, cellar techniques, economics of viticulture and enology, and the microbiology of wine.

Wine Institute of New Zealand (New Zealand Winegrowers)


Overviews Top of page

A.A. Corban & Sons. [1961?]  Father to son tradition in wine making.  A.A. Corban & Sons, Henderson.

Angus, N.S., O'Keeffe, T.J., Stuart, K.R. and Miskelly, G.M. 2006. Regional classification of New Zealand red wines using inductively-coupled plasma-mass spectrometry (ICP-MS). Australian journal of grape and wine research, 12(2): 170-176.

Arnold, E. 2007. First big crush : the down and dirty on making great wine down under. New York, Scribner.

Benson-Rea, M. and Wilson, H. 1997. Coopers Creek and the New Zealand wine industry. New Zealand strategic management, 3(1): 50-58.

Berrysmith, F. 1968. Grape growing prospects throughout New Zealand. New Zealand journal of agriculture, 117(1): 91-95.

Beverland, M.B. and Bretherton, P.B. 1998. The evolution of strategy in medium and large Auckland (New Zealand)-based wineries. Journal of wine research, 9(1): 43-53. [Management strategy].

Beverland, M.B. and Bretherton, P.B. 1998. The strategic challenges facing the New Zealand wine industry. Journal of wine research, 9(1): 55-64.

Bradley-Streeter, D.  1994.  New Zealand wines and vineyards : a bibliographic guide.  "Compiled as part of the requirements in LIBR 824, for the Diploma in Library and Information Studies".

Bragato, M.  1906. Viticulture in New Zealand: with special reference to American vines ...  Government Printer, Wellington.

Cooper, M. 1977. The wine lobby: pressure group politics and the New Zealand wine industry. M.A. thesis (Political Studies), University of Auckland.

Cooper, M.  1996. The wines and vineyards of New Zealand.  Hodder Moa Beckett, Auckland.

Cooper, M.  2002.  Wine atlas of New Zealand.  Hodder Moa Beckett, Auckland.

Cooper, M.  2005.  Classic wines of New Zealand.  2d ed.  Hodder Moa, Auckland.

Cooper, M. 2008. Wine atlas of New Zealand. 2d edition. Hodder Moa, Auckland.

de Blij, H.J. 1985. New Zealand: Vinifera victorious, in Wine regions of the Southern Hemisphere. Rowman & Allanheld, Totowa, NJ, pp.222-238.

Dunleavy, T. 2006. Wine Institute 30 years on. New Zealand winegrower, 10(2): 10-13.

Forder, P.G. 1977. The Te Kauwhata Viticultural Research Station (1886-1977). Research Essay (M.A., History), University of Auckland.

Hayward, D. and Lewis, N. 2008. Regional dynamics in the globalising wine industry: the case of Marlborough, New Zealand. Geographical journal, 174(2): 124-137.

Judd, K.and Campbell, B. 2009. The landscape of New Zealand wine. Craig Potton, Nelson.

Lewis, N. 2003. Associational governance and industry making: New Zealand winegrowers. Proceedings of the 22nd New Zealand Geographical Society Conference: 319-323.

Lewis, N. 2004. The New Zealand wine industry: issues and status at vintage 2004,WIRI-NZTE Wine Industry Research Project, commissioned by New Zealand Trade and Enterprise, Auckland Uniservices Ltd: Auckland. [Not held by University of Auckland Library].

Lewis, N. 2007. Wines of Gisborne strategic plan. Report prepared for Auckland Uniservices Ltd., Auckland. [Not held by University of Auckland Library].

Lewis, N. 2008. Constructing economic objects of governance: the New Zealand wine industry, in Le Heron, R. and Stringer, C. (eds.), Agri-food commodity chains and globalising networks. Ashgate, Aldershot, 319-323.

McMenamin, A.R. and Moran, W.  1989.  New Zealand vineyard survey, 1989.  Department of Geography, University of Auckland, Auckland.

McMenamin, A.R., Moran, W. and Hawke, D.  1989.  Vineyard regions of New Zealand, 1989.  Department of Geography, University of Auckland, Auckland.  [Atlas]

Mabbett, J. 1997. Prehistory of the New Zealand wine industry. Journal of wine research, 8(2): 103-14.

Mabbett, J. 1998. The Dalmatian influence on the New Zealand wine industry: 1895-1946. Journal of wine research, 9(1): 15-25.

Mabbett, J. 1998. Sociological aspects of the development and current structure of the New Zealand wine industry. Ph.D. thesis (Sociology), University of Auckland.

Maharaj, S. 2008. That temperamental grape : research scale winemaking of New Zealand pinot noir. M.Sc. thesis (Wine Science), University of Auckland.

Moran, W.  1958. Viticulture and wine-making in New Zealand : its national and regional character.  M.A. thesis (Geography), University of Auckland.

Moran, W. 2000. Culture and nature in the geography of the New Zealand wine industry (Culture et nature dans la geographie de l'industrie vinicole neo-zelandaise. Annales de geographie, no.614-615: 525-551. [Not held by University of Auckland Library].

Moran, W. 2007. Regions making wines, winemaking regions. New Zealand winegrower magazine, 10(2): 32-38, and New Zealand winegrower magazine, 10(3): 40-47.2006 Romeo Bragato Address. Part 2 is titled How wine was established in Marlborough, Central Otago.

N.Z. Department of Industries and Commerce.  1961.  Wine in New Zealand.  Department of Industries and Commerce, Wellington.

N.Z. Industries Development Commission.  1980.  The wine industry development plan to 1986.  The Commission, Wellington.

Overton, J. 1996. The wine industry. In Le Heron, R. and Pawson, E. (eds.), Changing places: New Zealand in the nineties. Longman Paul, Auckland, pp.150-154.

Overton, J. and Heitger, J. 2008. Maps, markets and Merlot: the making of an antipodean wine appellation. Journal of rural studies, 24(4): 440-449.

Parr, W.V. et al. 2007. The distinctive flavour of New Zealand sauvignon blanc: sensory characterisation by wine professionals. Food quality and preference, 18(6): 849-861.

Pickering, G.J. (ed.). 2000. Proceedings of the 1st EIT viticultural and oenology seminar series, June-December 1999. Campus Press, Napier.

Poncini, G. 2007.  Exploring the image of new world wine producers: website texts for wineries in  Australia and New Zealand.  Journal of Asian Pacific communication, 17(1): 105-125.

Read, H.I.  1988.  The impact of government on the New Zealand wine industry: the grapevine extraction scheme.  M.Sc. thesis (Geography), University of Auckland.

Saker, J. 2010. Pinot noir : a celebration of New Zealand’s premium wine. Random House, Auckland.

Scott, D.  1964.  Winemakers of New Zealand.  Southern Cross Books, Auckland.

Scott, D.  2002.  Pioneers of New Zealand wine.  Reed/Southern Cross, Auckland.

Scott, D.  2002.  A stake in the country : Assid Abraham Corban and his family, 1892-2002.  Reed, Auckland.

Stewart, K. 2005. The great wines of New Zealand. Viking, Auckland.

Stewart, K. 2010. Chancers and visionaries : a history of New Zealand wine. Godwit, Auckland.

Thorpy, F.  1983.  Wine in New Zealand.  Penguin Books, Auckland.

Townsend, M.A.  1976. Location of viticulture in New Zealand.  M.A. thesis (Geography), University of Auckland.

Wall, K.N. 1999. Learning to make wine "the Dallie way" : exploring transformations and continuities in a New Zealand-Croatian winemaking community. M.A. thesis (Anthropology), University of Auckland.

Wine Institute of New Zealand.  1979. The New Zealand wine industry : a study and development plan.  The Institute, Auckland.

Wine Institute of New Zealand.  1992. New Zealand wine, 1993-2000: a working paper.  Wine Institute of New Zealand, Auckland.

Woodfin, J.C. 1928-29. Grape-vines for New Zealand conditions. New Zealand journal of agriculture, 36(2): 106-110, and 39(4): 262-266.

Woodfin, J.C. 1938. Development of viticulture. New Zealand journal of agriculture, 57(2): 124-126.

Workman, M.  1993.  Geographic organisation of the wine industry in New Zealand.  M.A.  thesis (Geography), University of Auckland.


Journals

Annual report / New Zealand Winegrowers.  Library has 2002 onwards.

Annual report for year ending ... / Wine Institute of New Zealand.  Library has 1977, 1979-1989, 1992, 2000.

Annual report / Cooks New Zealand Wine Co. Ltd.  Library has 1975-1977, 1979-1984.

Australian & New Zealand grapegrower & winemaker : national journal of the grape and wine industry. Library has no.468(2003) onwards.

Australian and New Zealand wine industry directory.  Library has 2002, 2004-2005.

Bank of New Zealand wine & grape industry statistical annual.  Library has 1998-2001.

International journal of wine business research. Library has 2007 onwards.

International journal of wine marketing. Library has 1989-2006.

New Zealand wine and grape industry statistical annual.  Library has 2002-2003.

New Zealand winegrower : official journal of the New Zealand wine & viticultural industry. Library has vol. 7(2003) onwards.

New Zealand winegrowers statistical annual. Library has 2004 onwards.

Romeo Bragato Conference [Annual conference proceedings]. Library has 6th (2000), 8th (2002), 10th (2004).

Wine review : journal of the New Zealand wine industry. Library has [1966-1971] with gaps.

Wine science press. Published annually by the Wine Science Programme, University of Auckland. no.1(2005) -


Economic Aspects

Barker, J., Lewis, N. and Moran, W. 2001. Re-regulation and the development of the New Zealand wine industry. Journal of wine research, 12(3): 199-221.

Barton, J.R., Gwynne, R.N., and Murray, W.E.  2007.  Competition and co-operation in the semi-periphery: Closer economic partnership and sectoral transformations in Chile and New Zealand.  Geographical journal, 173 (3): 224-241.

Beer, C. and Lewis, N.  2006.  Labouring in the vineyards of Marlborough: experiences, meanings and policy.  Journal of wine research, 17(2): 95-106.

Beverland, M. and Lockshin, S. 2001. Organizational life cycles in small New Zealand wineries. Journal of small business management, 39(4): 354-362.

Ballingall, J. and Schilling, C. 2009. Economic impact of the New Zealand wine industry : an NZIER report to New Zealand winegrowers. New Zealand Institute of Economic Research, Wellington.

Bryson, J., Pajo, K., Ward, R. and Mallon, M.  2006.  Learning at work: organisational affordances and individual engagement.  Journal of workplace learning, 18(5): 279-297. [Based on a "case study of a large New Zealand wine company"].

Chetty, S.K.and Wilson, H.I.M. 2000. Collaborating with competitors to acquire resources in the context of internationalization. Dept. of Commerce, Massey University at Albany, Auckland. [Wine industry case study].

Gwynne, R.N.  2006. Export-orientation and enterprise development: a comparison of New Zealand and Chilean wine production. Tijdschrift voor economische en sociale geografie, 97(2): 138-156.

Gwynne, R.N.  2006.  Governance and the wine commodity chain: Upstream and downstream strategies in New Zealand and Chilean wine firms.  Asia Pacific viewpoint, 47(3): 381-395.

Investment New Zealand.  2007. New Zealand wine industry.  Investment New Zealand, Wellington.

Lewis, N., Moran, W., Perrier-Cornet, O. and Barker, J.  2002.  Territoriality, enterprise and réglementation in industry governance.  Progress in human geography, 26(4): 433-462.

Mead, P.R. 1989. Viticulture : value aspects as an urban fringe land use. Research project (BPA), University of Auckland.

Moran, W., Perrier-Cornet, P. and Traversac, J. 2000. Economic organisation and territoriality within the wine industry of quality: a comparison between France and New Zealand. In Sylvander, B., Barjolle, D. and Arfini, F. (eds.), The socioeconomics orf origin-labelled food products in agri-food supply chains: spatial, institutional and coordination aspects. INRAEditions, Versaille, no.17-1: 315-328. [Not held by University of Auckland Library]

Perry, M., Le Heron, R., Hayward, D.J. and Cooper, I.  1997.  Growing discipline through total quality management in a New Zealand horticulture region.  Journal of rural studies, 13(3): 289-304. [Hawkes Bay].

Vandersyp, C.J. 1979. A case study of protection : the New Zealand wine industry. M.Com. thesis, University of Auckland.


Environmental Factors

Badger, R.P. 1994. Modelling grapevine physiology against climate : examples from Marlborough. M.Sc. thesis (Geography), University of Auckland.

Berrysmith, F. 1976. Viticulture in New Zealand, 1819-1975 - climate and varieties. Annual journal, Royal New Zealand Institute of Horticulture, no.4: 9-12.

Fitzharris, B.B. and Endlicher, W.  1996. Climatic conditions for wine grape growing: Central Europe and New Zealand. New Zealand geographer, 52(1): 1-11.

Greven, M. et al. 2003. The effect of reduced irrigation on yield and quality of Sauvignon Blanc grapes in Marlborough. Australia & New Zealand grapegrower and winemaker, no.474: 101-104.

Imre, S.P. and Mauk, J.L. 2009. Geology and wine 12. New Zealand terroir. Geoscience Canada, 36(4): 145-159. [Click on the Expanded Academic link].

Johnston, P. and Arnold, N. 2007. Status of soil health in Hawkes Bay vineyards. New Zealand wine grower, 10(6): 76,89.

Jones, G. 2007. How climate change may affect viticulture in NZ; warming to advance harvest date? or CO2 to delay it? New Zealand winegrower magazine, 11(2): 47-51.

Limmer, A. 2006. Is global warming likely to affect our wine industry? New Zealand wine grower, 10(2): 87-88, and New Zealand wine grower, 10(3): 48-52. Part 2 is titled Global warming and our industry - Part II.

Mills, T.S.  2006.  Relations among geology, soil type and Sauvignon Blanc vineyard variation in Marlborough, New Zealand.  M.Sc. thesis (Wine Science), University of Auckland.

Miskelly, G.M.,  Angus, N.S.,  O’Keeffe, T.J., and  Stuart, K.R.  2006.  Elemental profiles of New Zealand Pinot Noir and other red wines.  Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta, 70(18), Supplement 1: page A422.

Moran, W. 2000. Culture et nature dans la geographie de l'industrie vinicole Neo-Zelandaise. Annales de geographie, 109: 525-551. [Not held by University of Auckland Library]

Singleton, P.L. and Maudsley, D. 1996. Pattern of water extraction by grapevines on two soils in the Waikato, New Zealand. New Zealand journal of crop and horticultural science, 24(4): 415-424.

Smart, R.E. 1988. Wind and water effects on wine quality, in Naylor, A.P. (ed.), Proceedings of Seminar "Quality winegrowing - an industry perspective", held at the Marlborough Centre, Blenheim ... 1987. New Zealand Society for Viticulture and Oenology, Auckland West, pp.1-5.

Stanfield, S.W.  2001. The origins and implications of cool climate viticulture : a critique of the role of climate in the production of quality wines.  M.A. thesis (Geography), University of Auckland.

Tesic, D., Woolley, D.J., Hewett, E.W. and Martin, D.J. 2002. Environmental effects on cv. Cabernet Sauvignon (Vitis vinifera) L.) grown in Hawke's Bay, New Zealand. 1. Phenology and characterisation of viticultural environments. Australian journal of grape and wine research, 8(1): 15-26. 2. Development of an index site. Australian journal of grape and wine research, 8(1): 27-35.

Woodfin, J.C. 1938. Development of viticulture: climate compares favourably with wine-producing countries. New Zealand journal of agriculture, 57(2): 124-126.


Environmental Management

Booth, L.H., Bithel, S.L., Wratten, S.D. and Heppelthwaite, V.J.  2003.  Vineyard pesticides and their effects on invertebrate biomarkers and bioindicator species in New Zealand.  Bulletin of environmental contamination and toxicology, 71(6):1131-1138.

Dastgheib, F. and Frampton, C.  2000. Weed management practices in apple orchards and vineyards in the South Island of New Zealand.  New Zealand journal of crop and horticultural science, 28(1): 53-58.

Fairweather, J.R., Campbell, H.R. and Manhire, J.  1999.  The ’greening’ of the New Zealand wine industry : movement towards the use of sustainable management practices.  Department of Anthropology, University of Otago, Dunedin.

Fiedler, A.K., Landis, D.A., and Wratten, S.D.  2008.  Maximising ecosystem services from conservation biological control: the role of habitat management.  Biological control, 45(2): 254-271.

Gabzdylova, B., Raffensperger, J.F. and Castka, P. 2009. Sustainability in the New Zealand wine industry : drivers, stakeholders and practices. Journal of cleaner production, 17(11): 992-998.

Greven, M. et al.  2005.  Regulated deficit irrigation (RDI) to save water and improve Sauvignon Blanc quality?  In Sustainable viticulture and winery wastes management: selected proceedings of the 3rd International Specialised Conference on Sustainable Viticulture and Winery wastes management, held in Barcelona, Spain, 21-26 May 2004. IWA Publishing, Colchester. (Water science and technology, 51(1): 9-17.

Gurr, G.M., Scarratt, S.L., Jacometti, M. and Wratten, S.D. 2007. Management of pests and diseases in New Zealand and Australian vineyards, in Vincent, C., Goettel, M.S., and Lazarovits, G. (eds), Biological control, a global perspective. CABI, Wallingford, 392-398.

Hughey, K.F.D., Tait, S.V. and O’Connell, M.J.  2005.  Qualitative evaluation of three ‘environmental management systems’ in the New Zealand wine industry.  Journal of cleaner production, 13(12): 1175-1187.

Jacometti, M.A., Wratten, S.D. and Walter, M.  2007.  Management of understorey to reduce the primary inoculum of Botrytis cinerea: enhancing ecosystem services in vineyards.  Biological control, 40(1): 57-64.

Ko, B-G.  et al. 2007. Mobility of copper, chromium and arsenic from treated timber into grapevines.  Science of the total environment, 388(1-3): 35-42. ["Chromated copper arsenate (CCA) is the most common wood preservative used in New Zealand"].

Morgan, R.K. and Taylor, E.  2004.  Copper accumulation in vineyard soils in New Zealand.   Environmental sciences, 1(2): 139-167.

Riddell, P. 1988. Water requirements and irrigation design - Montana vineyards - Marlborough, in Naylor, A.P. (ed.), Proceedings of Seminar "Quality winegrowing - an industry perspective", held at the Marlborough Centre, Blenheim ... 1987. New Zealand Society for Viticulture and Oenology, Auckland West, pp.17-25.

Robinson, B. et al.  2006. Leaching of copper, chromium and arsenic from treated vineyard posts in Marlborough, New Zealand.  Science of the total environment, 364(1-3): 113-123.

Sadlier, E.J. 2007. Leaching of copper, chromium and arsenic from CCA treated timber into vineyard soils in the Auckland and Waikato regions. M.Sc. thesis (Geography), University of Auckland.

Trought, M.C.T. and Naylor, A.P. 1988. Irrigation responses in a cool climate, in Naylor, A.P. (ed.), Proceedings of Seminar "Quality winegrowing - an industry perspective", held at the Marlborough Centre, Blenheim ... 1987. New Zealand Society for Viticulture and Oenology, Auckland West, pp.6-16.

Wheeler, S.J.  2005. Vineyard floor management improves wine quality in highly vigorous Vitis vinifera 'Cabernet Sauvignon' in New Zealand.  New Zealand journal of crop and horticultural science, 33(3): 317-328.


Regional Accounts

Baragwanath, L. 2010. The Waiheke Project : overview of tourism, wine and development on Waiheke Island. School of Environment, University of Auckland. 2 vols.

Baragwanath, L. and Lewis, N. 2010. Lessons from a changing place. University of Auckland news, 40(8): 5. [Summary of findings from the Waiheke Project].

Boardman, M.K. 1999. Central Otago wine : organisation and investment in a new regional industry. M.Sc. thesis (Geography), University of Auckland.

Bodkin, A.W.  1997.  Vines in the valley : the development of the wine growing industry in the Alexandra/Clyde district of Central Otago, 1864-1997 : a personal perspective.  A.W. Bodkin, Clyde.

Bretherton, P. and Simpson, K. 2003. Co-operating to compete in the wine industry: a case study of the Matakana region, New Zealand. Proceedings of the 22nd New Zealand Geographical Society Conference: 309-313.

Buchan, D.J.et al. 2000. Going for gold : an analysis of the wine-growing industry in Central Otago.  Horticulture and Food Research Institute of New Zealand, Palmerston North.

Cull, D. 2001. Vineyards on the edge : the story of Central Otago wine. Longacre, Dunedin.

McCallum, N.K. 1988. Developments in Martinborough. in Naylor, A.P. (ed.), Proceedings of Seminar "Quality winegrowing - an industry perspective", held at the Marlborough Centre, Blenheim ... 1987. New Zealand Society for Viticulture and Oenology, Auckland West, pp.46-49.

McDonald, R. 1999. Pinot noir in Hawke's Bay, are we going to be surprised? In Lincoln University Annual Grape & Wine School Saturday 24 - Sunday 25 July 1999, The School, Lincoln University, pp.39-44.

Marlborough Regional Development Council.  1978.  Development of Marlborough : a one-day seminar, Thursday 30 November, Chateau Commodore, Blenheim, 1978.  Dept. of University Extension, Victoria University of Wellington, in conjunction with the Marlborough Regional Development Council, Wellington.

Marter, C.A.  2004.  Development and contest on Auckland’s urban fringe: a case study of the Matakana wine region.  M.A. thesis (Geography), University of Auckland.

Oram, R.  2004. Pinot pioneers : tales of determination and perseverance from Central Otago.  New Holland, Auckland.

Perry, P.J. and Norrie, B.P. 1991. The origins and development of a new world vignoble: Marlborough, New Zealand, 1970-1990. Journal of wine research, 2(2): 18p.

Prater, J. 1988. Viticultural developments in Canterbury and Otago, in Naylor, A.P. (ed.), Proceedings of Seminar "Quality winegrowing - an industry perspective", held at the Marlborough Centre, Blenheim ... 1987. New Zealand Society for Viticulture and Oenology, Auckland West, pp.50-56.

Saintignan, A. 2009. The culturability, biodiversity and biogeography of a New Zealand vineyard yeast community. M.Sc. thesis (Biological Sciences), University of Auckland. [Kumeu River].

Schuster, D.F., Jackson, D. and Tipples, R.  2002.  Canterbury grapes & wines 1840-2002.  Shoal Bay Press, Christchurch.

Stewart, K.  1997.  Te Mata : the first 100 years.  Godwit, Auckland.

Taggart, P.  2004. The quest: a search for Hawke’s Bay’s best Bordeaux-style wine.  Hawke’s Bay Today, Hastings.

Tipples, R. 2007. Wines of the farthest promised land from Waipara, Canterbury, New Zealand. In Campbell, G. and Guibert, N. (eds.), Wine, society, and globalization : multidisciplinary perspectives on the wine industry. Palgrave Macmillan, New York, p.241-254.

Yardin, (Rev. Father). 1890. On vine-growing in Hawke's Bay. Transactions and proceedings of the New Zealand Institute, 23: 528-531.


Wine Labels

Morris, J.  2006. Wine makers and their labels, as printed by Falcon Press Ltd., printers to the wine industry.  J. Morris, Waitakere.

Saunders, P.L. 1976. Wine label language. Wineglass Publishing, Auckland.


Wine Marketing

Banks, G., Kelly, S., Lewis, N., and Sharpe, S.  2007.  Place 'From One Glance': The use of place in the marketing of New Zealand and Australian wines.  Australian geographer, 38(1): 15-35.

Benson-Rea, M.  2005. Network strategy in the New Zealand wine industry : how firms in an industry understand and use their business relationships.  Ph.D. thesis (Marketing), University of Auckland.

Beverland, M. 2003. An exploratory investigation into NZ consumer behaviour. Australian and New Zealand wine industry journal, 18(1): 90-92, 94-96, 98.

Beverland, M.  2004. Brand value, convictions, flexibility and New Zealand wine.  Business horizons, 47(5): 53-61.

Beverland, M. and Lockshin, L.  2003.  A longitudinal study of customers’ desired value change in business-to-business markets.  Industrial Marketing ManagementVolume 32(8):653-666.

Dunleavy, T. 2007. NZ wine unveils new brand imagery. New Zealand wine grower, 11(1):

Fehsenfeld, R. 2004. New venture network dynamics. M.Com. thesis (Marketing), University of Auckland.

Forbes, S.L., Cohen, D.A., Cullen, R., Wratten, S.D. and Fountain, J. 2009. Consumer attitudes regarding environmentally sustainable wine: an exploratory study of the New Zealand marketplace. Journal of cleaner production, 17(13): 1195-1199.

Garcia, R., Bardhi, F. and Friedrich, C.  2007.  Overcoming consumer resistance to innovation.  MIT Sloan management review, 48(4): 82-88+92.  [Screwtop closures]

Hamlin, R.P. and Watson, V. 1997. The role of the appellation in wine marketing - does the New Zealand wine industry know what it's getting? International journal of wine marketing, 9(2): 52-69.

Hollebeek, L.D., Jaeger, S.R., Brodie, R.J., and Balemi, A. 2007. The influence of involvement on purchase intention for new world wine.  Food Quality and Preference, 18 (8):  1033-1049.

Marshall, K.  1992. The New Zealand wine industry : an examination of the relationship between the marketing mix and export performance.  Thesis (M.Com.), University of Auckland.

Mitchell, R. and Hall, C.M.  2004. The post-visit consumer behaviour of New Zealand winery visitors.  Journal of wine research, 15(1): 39-49.

Morgan, P., Cash, M. and Taurima, W. 2002. The experience of the first indigenous wine company to export high quality wine from New Zealand (a bicultural research project). Open Polytechnic of New Zealand, Lower Hutt. [Tohu Wines Ltd.]

Pawson, E.  1997.  Branding strategies and languages of consumption.  New Zealand geographer, 53(2): 16-21.

Petoukhova, I.  2005. Exporting New Zealand wines to Russia : an analysis of distribution networks. Dissertation (MIntBus), University of Auckland.

Schamel, G. and Anderson, K.  2003. Wine quality and varietal, regional and winery reputations: hedonic prices for Australia and New Zealand.  Economic record, 79(246): 357-369.

Thomas, A. 2000. Elements influencing wine purchasing: a New Zealand view. International journal of wine marketing, 12(2): 47-62.

Thomas, A. and Pickering, G.  2003.  Behavioural segmentation: a New Zealand wine market application.  Journal of wine research, 14(2-3): 127-138.

Wilson, M.M.J. and Goddard, R. 2004. Creating value in the New Zealand wine industry. International journal of wine marketing, 16(2): 62-73.


Wine Tourism

Alonso, A., Fraser, R.A. and Cohen, D.A. 2007. Investigating differences between domestic and international winery visitors in New Zealand. International journal of wine business research, 19(2): 114-126.

Hall, C.M.  2003.  Biosecurity and wine tourism: is a vineyard a farm?  Journal of wine research, 14(2-3): 121-126.

Hall, C.M.  2005.  Biosecurity and wine tourism.  Tourism management, 26(6): 931-938.

Hall, C.M., Cambourne, B., Macionis, N. and Johnson, G. 1997. Wine tourism and network development in Australia and New Zealand: review, establishment and prospects. International journal of wine marketing, 9(2): 5-31.

Hall, C.M. and Macionis, N. 1998.Wine tourism in Australia and New Zealand, in Butler, R.W., Hall, C.M. and Jenkins, J.M. (eds.), Tourism and recreation in rural areas. Wiley, Chichester,

Janssen, P.2007. Vineyard visits. HarperCollins, Auckland.

N.Z. Ministry of Tourism. 2007?- Tourist activity. Wine tourism. [Annual publication.]

Talmont, R.  1995. New Zealand wineries & vineyards, 1996. Hodder Moa Beckett, Auckland. (AA Leisure Guide).


Legal Aspects

Barker, J.P.H. 2004. Different worlds : law and the changing geographies of wine in France and New Zealand. Ph.D. thesis (Law and Geography), University of Auckland.

Bell Gully. 2006. Winemaker's legal handbook. Bell Gully [Auckland?].

Vince, K.  2000. In vino veritas? : a consumer protection study of the New Zealand wine industry.  Dissertation (LLB – Hons), University of Auckland.


Contact: Priscilla Cameron
File Last updated: April 29, 2011