GEOGRAPHY & ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE  

DATABASES
Databases (primary)
Geobase 
Indexes 2,000 journals in physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management 
Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences from over 6,000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources.
SCOPUS 
Provides citations, abstracts and references covering 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from 4,000 publishers. It includes approximately 27 million abstracts. Subjects covered are Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and General Science.
ENVIROnetBASE
An online collection of books, including handbooks, published by CRC. It is possible to browse an individual title or search across all titles, or selected titles, for a particular word or phrase.

Web of Science
This is a multidisciplinary citation database indexing 34 million articles from over 8000 journals. Web of Science consists of Science Citation Index (1956- ),  Social Sciences Citation Index (1995- ) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975- ).

Databases (secondary)
Antarctic Bibliography
Published by the American Geological Institute with contributions from the Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge, Antarctic Bibliography covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.
Auckland Regional Council Information Centre Database
The old Auckland Regional Council (ARC) Information Centre Database includes records of books, newspaper clippings, reports and journal articles. It covers information relating to regional and local government, planning, resource management, environment, heritage, transport and parks.
Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
Published by the American Geological Institute, and funded in part by the National Science Foundation and the U. S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory, the Bibliography includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.
CliFlo (National Climate Database)
Cliflo provides access to the National Climate Database. It returns raw data and statistical summaries. Raw data include ten minute, hourly and daily frequencies. Statistical data include about 80 different types of monthly and annual statistics and 6 types of thirty-year normals. The database includes about 6500 stations from 1850 to the present. Access is by password. Register via the home page for free access. The home page links to a guide - CliFlo for dummies.
Expanded Academic 
Multidisciplinary fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
GeoRef 
Covers the world's literature in geology and the geosciences.
Index New Zealand: INNZ 
General index to NZ newspapers, journals, conferences etc. from 1987 on.
Infoshare
A freely available database from Statistics New Zealand providing a wide range of official time series data. Infoshare replaces the INFOS database.
Journal Citation Reports
Find high impact journals in your subject. Divided into two editions: JCR Science Edition and JCR Social Sciences Edition.

In the Sciences Edition the following categories may be of interest: Agricultural Economics & Policy, Biodiversity Conservation, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Geography - Physical, Geosciences - Multidisciplinary, Imaging Science and Photographic Technology, Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences, Remote Sensing, and Water Resources.

In the Social Sciences edition the following categories may be of interest: Demography, Environmental Studies, Geography, Health Policy and Services, Planning and Development, and Urban Studies.
New Zealand Antarctic Bibliography
Compiled by Antarctica New Zealand, the New Zealand Antarctic Bibliography contains resources from a wide range of sources about Antarctica, the Southern Ocean and Antarctica New Zealand.
New Zealand Time Series 
A collection of statistical information from Statistics New Zealand.
Newzindex 
Indexes articles of interest to business from 4 major daily NZ newspapers and business periodicals from 1985 on.
Newztext Plus
Newztext Plus is a research archive that indexes many of New Zealand's key news and business publications. The database search interface can be broken down into four collections: Newspapers (full text); Magazines (full text); Newzindex (indexes / abstracts) and Newswires (Radio NZ Newswires). You can choose to search all or a combination of databases.
NZ Science 
NZ Science (formerly also known as "SIRIS" and "STIX") is a comprehensive index of New Zealand Science, provided by The Crown Research Institutes (CRIs previously the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, DSIR) and the Royal Society of New Zealand.
ScienceDirect 
Contains the fulltext of over 2500 journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences, plus abstracts for another 8,500 journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index 
Covers over 1,400 scholarly journals in the Social Sciences. Can be used to trace who has cited a particular article or book.
SpringerLink
Full-text online access to over 13,000 books and 1800 journals ... primarily published by Springer-Verlag (a major publisher in Maths), but also including titles from Birkhauser, Karger, & others.  For technical reasons, we do not yet have links to some of these books from Voyager, the Library catalogue. — now full-text searchable.

Te Puna
Union catalogue for holdings in New Zealand libraries. Good source for New Zealand government and organisation reports.

United Nations Common Database
Selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas. Do not click the Log In link. Click directly into the options listed under Data Query & Extraction. Date coverage varies, depending on the data source.
 

WATERnetBASE
An online collection of monographs and handbooks from Taylor & Francis on water science and engineering. Coverage is multidisciplinary, and the collection offers reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands.


 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                Subject Librarian, Environment- Priscilla Cameron


Comments to Priscilla Cameron Last updated: March 12, 2012