Science Information Skills for Geography & Environmental Science

Subject Guides - Geography and Environmental Science

 


This portal is designed as a quick guide to the most important resources (core competencies) that students of Geography and Environmental Science/Management will find useful at various levels of study/research, and in many cases will be expected to know.
Although there is no fixed chronological sequence of links, students are advised to at least have a working knowledge of most of the introductory levels before accessing more advanced ones

 


Level 1 - Introductory Library links Non-library links
Know the location and layout of the General Library, Kate Edger Information Commons, Tamaki and other libraries Library Maps and Floorplans
Information Commons
Campus Map

Be familiar with the Library home page and library resources

Library & Resources Overview workshop (choose from the drop down menu)  

Abide by library regulations

Regulations, Guidelines and Policies

 
Know where to find help

Enquiry Desk Level G, General Library Ask a librarian

Student Learning
English Language Self Access Centre (ELSAC)

Understand how to use NetAccount

Uni IT Essentials workshop (choose from the drop down menu)
NetAccount - Services
Learn how to access Library resources: Catalogue, Readings and exams (includes Short Loan Collection), Inter-Campus Library Delivery Services (ICLDS)

Find course readings, articles and exams workshop (choose from the drop down menu)
Readings and exams search
ICLDS

 
Be familiar with photocopying, printing and scanning

 

University of Auckland Copy and Print Service
Be able to identify the components of a reference Interpreting references  
Find full text Video: Finding full text articles from a reading list  
Be able to find past exam papers

Readings & Exams

 
Level 2 - Basic Library links Non-library links

Know how to contact subject librarians and Library Liaison Officers

Subject librarians
Subject Librarian, Environment: Priscilla Cameron
Library Liaison Officers

 
Know how to construct a search strategy Concept map
Boolean operators
 
Know your core databases and use them efficiently & effectively

Environmental Sciences databases

 
Know how to evaluate information sources

Primary, review, and popular journals
Evaluating websites

 

Resolve a DOI, find Journal Abbreviations

CASSI

DOI
Understand reference styles and referencing

Referencing Styles Recommended by Science Departments

Referencite

Understand citation management (e.g. using EndNote)

EndNote
EndNote Parts I and II: Science workshop (Choose from the drop down menu)
RefWorks
Refworks workshop (Choose from the drop down menu)

 
Plagiarism  

Referencite > Plagiarism

Access to resources not held at the University of Auckland library InterLibrary Loan Requesting Service and VDX  
Maps, GIS, datasets and spatial representation

Guide to the Map Room
Guide to Finding Historical Maps
Referencing a Map
GIS - Geographic Information Systems

Land Information New Zealand (LINZ)
LINZ data service
New Zealand Geospatial Strategy data.govt.nz

Level 3 - Intermediate Library Links Non-library links
Understand the literature research process The Research Process  
Understand scientific writing and publishing processes

Research and Writing Hints

 
Citation tracking and bibliometrics

Citation Impact
Who is Citing Whom?

 
Theses - finding, using - University requirements

Theses
Theses and dissertations - how to find them (workshop handout)

 
Conferences and conference proceedings

Finding conferences and conference proceedings

 
Newspaper articles
Finding newspaper articles
 
Open access resources

Guide to Open Access Information

 
Current awareness (auto-alerts, RSS, list-servs)

Staying Current handout

 
Awareness and selection of other, non-core databases (e.g. INNZ)

List of databases relevant to Geography & Environmental Science

 
Knowledge of Ethics  

Human Ethics

Support and services for postgraduates   Centre for Academic Development
Career planning
List of University of Auckland support services
Level 4 - Advanced Library links Non-library links
Theses - writing and submitting

Theses and Dissertations

Funding Sources
Performance Based Research Fund (PBRF)
Research Support
PBRF Help
Marsden Fund
PBRF
Ministry of Science and Innovation (MSI)   MSI

Publishing - ResearchSpace
Publishing and communication advice from the Royal Geographical Society

  ResearchSpace
Publishing in Geography
Research collaboration

 

ResearcherID


File last updated : March 12, 2012 .
Comments and suggestions (including potential additions) to : Priscilla Cameron