WEB     REFERENCE     SITES


Accidents
Anthropology

Bloodstain Patterns

Clandestine Laboratories
Coroner / Coronial
Crime Scene Investigation
Death Investigation

DNA Profiling
Document Examination
Drugs

Entomology

Evidence
Explosives

Fingerprints

Fire Investigation

Firearms
Knots

Legislation - New Zealand

Legislation - United Kingdom

Linguistics Resources
Literature

Odontology

Physical Evidence

Shoe

Tyres

 

Case Studies in Use of DNA Evidence
This 1996 report is the result of a US National Institute of Justice project commissioned to encourage discussion of the challenges to the scientific and justice communities presented by DNA evidence.

Coronial process in Victoria, Australia

Forensic Science Portal
Established by Ben Joseph, a practicing Forensic Toxicologist in Canada, to assist in the sharing of new developments in forensic science, interactions amongst professionals and exchanging of ideas

Forensic Science Resources
An extensive collection of links to a variety of forensic resources.

Forensic Science Resources in a Criminal Fact Investigation Index
Bibliography and refrence guide to the forensic sciences.

Forensic Science Society Journal Bibliography - Literature Search
Access to the Forensic Science Society's Journal Bibliography for Journal of the Forensic Science Society and Science & Justice (name changed in 1995). It also includes some references to other journals, abstracts from which have been published in Science & Justice, plus some forensic science books and publishers.

Forensim
Simulation tools and statistical methods developed by forensic scientists for forensic scientists as freeware for others to use.

Google Calculator Function
To use Google's built-in calculator function, simply enter the calculation you'd like done into the search box and hit the Enter key or click on the Google Search button. The calculator can solve math problems involving basic arithmetic, more complicated math, units of measure and conversions, and physical constants.

Human Genome Project Information

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
National and international clearinghouse for the exchange of information in the criminal justice area for the National Institute of Justice (NIJ), the research and development agency of the U.S. Department of Justice. See the NCJRS Abstracts Database.

National Coroners Information System
Managed by the Monash University National Centre for Coronial Information (MUNCCI)

National Institute of Forensic Science - Research Projects Searchable Database
This database contains information on current and completed research projects undertaken in the field of forensic science. For each project the following information can be viewed: organization; contact; status; completion date; abstract (if available).  

Reddy's Forensic Home Page

Reference Manual on Scientific Evidence (pdf)

World Criminal Justice Library (Electronic) Network

Zeno's Forensic Page
Substantial page of well organised links to forensic science resources.

Accidents

TARO - The Traffic Accident Reconstruction Origin
Devoted to matters relating to traffic accident reconstruction. Links to the TARO Journal.

Anthropology

Forensic Anthropology Center, University of Tennessee
Home of the "Body Farm".

Bloodstain Patterns

Bloodstain Pattern Analysis
Associations and companies concerned with the analysis of bloodstain patterns.

International Association of Bloodstain Pattern Analysis
The IABPA is an organization of forensic experts specializing in the field of bloodstain pattern analysis.

Clandestine Laboratories

Drug Enforcement Agency. Guidelines for Law Enforcement for the Cleanup of Clandestine Drug Laboratories. 2005 Edition.

top

Crime Scene Investigation

Crime Scene Investigation
Collection of resources relating to crime scene investigation. Includes crime scene photography, guidelines, preservation of evidence and training.

Handbook of Forensic Services
Handbook published by the FBI to provide guidance and procedures for safe and efficient methods of collecting and preserving evidence and to describe the forensic examinations performed by the FBI Laboratory.

Forensic Services Guide
Washington State Patrol Forensic Laboratory Services Bureau. "This bureau provides a wide range of forensic science expertise to city, county, and state law enforcement officers, assisting agencies at crime scenes, preparing evidence for trial, and providing expert testimony".

Death Investigation

NecroSearch International
A non-profit organization that specializes in the search for clandestine gravesites. The NecroSearch mission is to assist law enforcement agencies by providing applied research, training, and on-site investigations. NecroSearch scientists and investigators work on a volunteer basis.

top

DNA Profiling

Criminal Law Resources: DNA Post-Conviction Resources
An article contains a collection of recent and representative web-based materials concerning DNA technology developments and legal research on the impact of wrongful convictions and DNA exonerations on the justice system.

Forensim
Simulation tools and statistical methods developed by forensic scientists for forensic scientists as freeware for others to use.

Document Examination

Iron Gall Ink
This 2002 article by Lois Fruen accompanies the textbook The Real World of Chemistry 6th ed by Lois Fruen Kendall/Hunt Publishing ISBN 0-7872-9677-5.

Drugs

Drug Classification under the Misuse of Drugs Act 1975 (Nov 2003)
New Zealand Parliamentary research paper.

Guidelines for Law Enforcement for the Cleanup of Clandestine Drug Laboratories - 2005 Edition
Available from the site as a 5MB pdf file. From the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA):
"In 1990, the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), in cooperation with the Environmental protection Agency (EPA) and the U.S. Coast Guard (collaborately known as the Joint Federal Task Force), published the Guidelines for the Cleanup of Clandestine Drug Laboratories, known by those in the industry as "The Redbook." It was developed following the enactment of Section 2405 of the 1988 Anti-Drug Abuse Act. Now with more than a decade of experience, DEA, along with the assistance of the EPA, has updated the book to reflect the vast base of knowledge obtained since the first publication."

Street Terms : Drugs and the Drug Trade
From the United States government, the
Street Terms database contains over 2,300 street terms that refer to specific drug types or drug activity. The database is used by police officers, parents, treatment providers and others who require a better understanding of drug culture.

Entomology

Forensic Entomology
This page was created in order to assist in the education of crime scene technicians, homicide investigators, coroners, medical examiners, and others involved in the death investigation process.

 

Evidence

Australian Criminal Justice Statistics

Explosives

Blackpowder to Pyrodex and Beyond
An essay by Randy Wakeman on the origins and history of gunpowder / blackpowder. 

Fingerprints

Automated Fingerprint Identification Systems

Fire Investigation

FIREDOC
A fire research bibliographic database. The database reflects the 55,000 holdings (published reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and audiovisual items) of the Fire Research Information Service. Each reference has complete bibliographic information including the title, author, journal, book, or conference identification, keywords, identifiers, and abstract (if available).

FireNet : Fire Investigation : Electronic pages for the British Fire Service

Firearms

Centerfire Cartridges Headstamp Identification
Listings by country (as well as a Commonwealth listing), of headstamps, the companies which used them, and the years they were in business. 

Legislation - New Zealand

Legal Citations of Aotearoa New Zealand (LCANZ)
"provides guidance on the citation of all major New Zealand legal journals and law reporting series. More than 120 law journals and law reporting series are searchable by either title or abbreviation. Examples of citations provided for all entries are in accordance with the New Zealand Law Style Guide."

Arms Act (consolidated)

Copyright Act (consolidated)

Coroners Act 2006

Crimes Act (consolidated)

Criminal Investigations (Bodily Samples) Act 1995

Crown Research Institutes Act 1992

Evidence Act 2006

Explosives Act (consolidated) (repealed 2001)

Hazardous Substances and New Organisms Act (consolidated)

Misuse of Drugs Acts (consolidated)

Toxic Substances Act (consolidated) (repealed 2001)

Legislation - United Kingdom

UK Legal - The Crime Site 
Collection of U.K. legal resources.

Linguistics Resources

Centre for Forensic Linguistics at Aston University
Research centre at Aston University, Birmingham, United Kingdom.

top

Literature

Science and Technology Resources on the Internet: Forensic Science Resources on the Internet
by Cynthia Holt, Science & Engineering Librarian, The Gelman Library, The George Washington University, Washington, DC

Odontology

Worldwide Forensic Odontology Contacts
A list of contacts to be used by Dental DVI (Disaster Victim Identification) Teams, or other authorities when requiring antemortem dental information.

Physical Evidence

How Things Work
Created by Louis A. Bloomfield, Professor of Physics, The University of Virginia, to encourage people to learn about the physics and science of the world around them by providing answers to questions posted online.

Officer's Evidence Handbook
From the Washington State Patrol.

Shoe

C. A. S. T. Website: Shoe Print and Tire Track impression examination resources

Tyres

C. A. S. T. Website: Shoe Print and Tire Track impression examination resources


Chemistry Subject Librarian with related programmes:
Food Science, Forensic Science, Polymers and Coatings Science, and Wine Science - Sonya Donoghue


File last updated : January 24, 2012 .
File location : formeta.htm
Comments and suggestions to : Sonya Donoghue