I N T E R N E T   G A T E W A Y   :   F O O D    S C I E N C E  

P E O P L E   &   O R G A N I Z A T I O N S


This page contains a number of links to New Zealand, Australian and International university Food Science departments, government departments, and organizations.


New Zealand

Universities


Lincoln University
Department of Wine, Food and Molecular Biosciences

Massey University
Institute of Food, Nutrition and Human Health
which includes the following areas:
AgriBusiness
Animal Nutrition
Food Science and Technology
Health and Life Sciences

Human Nutrition

University of Auckland
Food Science Programme

University of Otago
Department of Food Science


Organizations / Societies / Institutes


AgResearch

FoodSafety (New Zealand Food Safety Authority)

Food Standards Australia New Zealand (formerly known as ANZFA)

Forest Research (Scion)

Health Research Council

The Horticulture and Food Research Institute of New Zealand Ltd / HortResearch : : see New Zealand Institute for Plant and Food Research Ltd. (Plant & Food Research)

Institute of Environmental Science and Research (ESR)

Industrial Research Limited

Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences Limited (GNS Science)
IGNS

Manaaki Whenua - Landcare Research New Zealand Ltd

Marsden Fund

Ministry for Primary Industries
Merger of the Ministry of Fisheries, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry (MAF), and Food Safety Authority, which took effect from 1 May 2012.

Ministry of Science and Innovation
Formed 1 February 2011 from the merger of the Foundation for Research, Science and Technology and the Ministry of Research, Science and Technology (MoRST). The Science Board is responsible for most of the public expenditure on research and development in New Zealand. It covers almost all fields of science, including the social sciences but excluding defence and health.

National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research Ltd (NIWA)

New Zealand Forest Research Institute Limited / Forest Research

New Zealand Institute for Crop & Food Research Ltd : see New Zealand Institute for Plant and Food Research Ltd. (Plant & Food Research)
Provides research, technologies and services to support the development of high quality products from cereals, vegetables, flowers and seafood. Staff expertise includes plant breeding and biotechnology, food technology, nutrition, biochemistry, postharvest technology, agronomy, plant physiology, and pest and disease control.

New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology (NZIFST)

New Zealand Institute for Plant and Food Research Ltd. (Plant & Food Research)
Formed from the merger of HortResearch and Crop and Food Research

New Zealand Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry (MAF)

New Zealand Pastoral Agriculture Research Institute Ltd / AgResearch

Nutrigenomics New Zealand
A Centre of Excellence in Nutrigenomics, this is a strategic collaboration between the University of Auckland, AgResearch, HortResearch and Crop & Food Research.

Plant and Food Research (New Zealand Institute for Plant and Food Research Ltd.)

The Royal Society of New Zealand

Science New Zealand
Represents the nine Crown Research Institutes. Enables collective action on behalf of its members.

Scion (Forest Research)

TechNZ
Part of the Foundation for Research Science and Technology (FRST), TechNZ is designed to help businesses develop and adopt new technology.


Companies


Fonterra Co-operative Group
Fonterra is a leading multinational dairy company, co-operatively owned by 13,000 New Zealand supplier shareholders. Exporting 95 percent of our shareholders' production, Fonterra is the world's largest exporter of dairy products, responsible for a third of international dairy trade across open borders.

Foundation for Research, Science and Technology
Statutory authority which is responsible for about 60% of the public expenditure on research and development in New Zealand. It covers almost all fields of science, including the social sciences but excluding defence and health.

New Zealand Pharmaceuticals
Mission is to prosper as a supplier of biochemicals to the international pharmaceutical, biotechnology, cosmetic and health food industries and to provide benefits for our shareholders, employees and the community.

NZ Bio
A group of leading New Zealand providers of biotechnology and pharmaceutical products and services. It is supported by Tradenz, the New Zealand Government's export promotion arm. Member companies and organizations offer a broad range of raw and refined products, contract manufacture and research services to an international clientele for use in pharmaceuticals, food, nutraceuticals, diagnostics, cosmetics, agriculture and forestry.

Wine Institute of New Zealand Inc / New Zealand Winegrowers
Represents the New Zealand wine industry in all matters requiring a co-ordinated approach.


Australia

Universities

University of Adelaide
School of Agriculture, Food and Wine

University of Ballarat

Food and Nutritional Sciences

University of New South Wales
Food Science and Technology Group

University of Queensland
School of Agriculture and Food Sciences

University of Western Sydney
Centre for Plants and the Environment


Organizations / Societies / Institutes


AusBiotech (formerly the Australian Biotechnology Association)
The national body of companies and individuals dedicated to the development and prosperity of the Australian biotechnology industry. Aims to bring together and encourage communication between organizations, corporations and individuals involved in research, manufacture, production and marketing of biotechnological products and services; represent the biotechnology industry by advertising and lobbying government and other national and state bodies; represent Australian biotechnology internationally; provide companies with information on patenting matters and regulatory affairs relevant to products derived using biotechnology; improve the understanding of all Australians but particularly students, of the economic and social benefits to be gained from the application of biotechnology.

Australian Food News
A comprehensive site for Australian Food Science. Includes an online bookshop, the latest in Australian Food Law and Food Policy, and an extensive list of Australian Food Science links.

Australian Institute of Food Science And Technology Incorporated
Aims to promote the application of science, technology, engineering, education and sound practices to the improved production and utilisation of foods to provide safe, high quality, nutritionally sound foods for Australians. As well as nationwide information, the site also has current information relating to branches in each State.

Cereal Chemistry Division: The Royal Australian Chemical Institute
Concentrates on chemical aspects of the cereal-grain industry, relating chemical composition to functional properties in all aspects of grain utilisation, such as bread and other products from wheat, beer and malt from barley, and quality considerations of the many other economically important grains of Australian agriculture. Activities flowing from this concern lead to the improvement of the quality and market value of the Australian grain crop and better products for consumers because of more efficient processing.

CSIRO Australia

CSIRO Food & Nutrition Sciences Australia
A joint venture of CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation) and the Victorian government.

CSIRO Food and Agriculture

Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries
Searchable site of one of Australia’s leading food technical consulting organisations, providing commercial services to the post-harvest sector of the national food industry. The Department works for small, medium and large food manufacturers and processors in all aspects of value-adding and post-harvest technology, from handling fresh product to minimally processed and highly processed food for domestic consumption and export. The Department participates in food testing, training/information, research and development and product development.

Food Standards Australia New Zealand (formerly ANZFA)



International

Universities


Oklahoma State University
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Ohio State University
Food Science and Technology

Penn State University
Biology Department

Purdue University
Interdisciplinary Life Sciences

University College (Cork, Ireland)
Faculty of Food Science and Technology

University College (Dublin)
Department of Agricultural and Food Engineering

University of California, Davis
Food Science and Technology Department
Robert Montavi Institute for Food and Wine Science

University of Illinois
Urbana Champaign Campus : Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition

University of Massachusetts at Amherst
Department of Food Science

University of Natal
School of Agricultural Sciences and Agribusiness

University of Reading
School of Food Biosciences

University of Wisconsin-Madison
Department of Food Science


Organizations / Societies / Institutes


American Association of Cereal Chemists (AACC)
The American Association of Cereal chemists is an international organization of cereal science and other professionals studying the chemistry of cereal grains and their products or working in related fields. This site offers visitors updates on the latest news and trends in cereal science, career information and an online bookstore.

American Chemical Society

American Council on Science and Health (ACSH)
A consumer education consortium concerned with issues related to food, nutrition, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, lifestyle, the environment and health.

American Dietetic Association
Nutrition resources, and a large number of links to food and nutrition sites across the United States.

American Egg Board
The American Egg Board (AEB) is the United States' egg industry's promotion arm. AEB's basic task is to improve the demand for shell eggs, egg products, as well as spent fowl throughout the United States. Site includes egg industry information, links to other sites relating to the egg or poultry industries and egg recipes.

American Institute of Biological Sciences

American Meat Institute
AMI, a national trade association, represents packers and processors of 70% of the United States' beef, pork, lamb, veal and turkey products and their suppliers. The Institute provides legislative, regulatory and public relations services, conducts scientific and economic research, offers marketing and technical assistance and sponsors education programs. Site offers pertinent regulatory information and tips as well as facts and statistics about the meat and poultry industry.

American Meat Science Association
Provides credible, science-based information to the industry and facilitates a greater understanding of muscle foods and associated animal products as a major food source in the United States and world economies.

American Physiological Society

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

The American Society for Cell Biology

American Society for Nutrition
Dedicated to improving the quality of life through the science of nutrition. The Society fosters and enhances research in animal and human nutrition. Site also provides a comprhensive list of career opportunities in the Nutritional Science arena.

American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE)
Formerly the American Society of Agricultural Engineering (ASAE), a non-profit professional and technical organization of members worldwide interested in engineering knowledge and technology for food and agriculture, associated industries, and related resources. Site includes a database search facility and an online catalogue of publications.

American Society of Baking
The purpose of the Society is to promote the advancement of baking science technology through the exchange of information and interaction among baking industry professionals. The site includes a comprehensive list of links to related and affiliated sites.

American Society of Plant Biologists

Anaerobe Society of the Americas
Aims to stimulate interest in anaerobes and to encourage and facilitate interchange among anaerobists from all disciplines, including medical, dental, veterinary, environmental and basic sciences; to bring together investigators, clinicians, and technicians interested in anaerobes and anaerobic infections for formal and informal meetings; to review and assess new advances in the field; to discuss areas of controversy and to mark future directions. An online newsletter is avsailable as are links to related sites, including journals.

AOAC International
An association of scientists in the public and private sectors devoted to the validation of chemical and microbiological analytical methods and promotion of quality measurements in the analytical sciences.

Arbor Nutrition Guide
A searchable site devoted to nutrition, food and food science. Each topic is divided by subject under which there is a comprehensive list of links to other related sites.

Beer Institute
Formed in 1986, the Beer Institute is the trade association for the malt beverage industry. More than 200 members worldwide represent the diversity of brewers and suppliers.

CAB International

Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition (CFSAN)
Searchable site which offers information about biotechnology, cosmetics, dietary supplements, food additives and premarket approval, foodborne illnesses, food labeling and nutrition, imports, exports, inspections, recalls and HACCP, and pesticides and chemical contaminants. CFSAN is a branch of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion
The CNPP develops and coordinates nutrition policy within the USDA; assesses the cost-effectiveness of government sponsored nutrition programs on food consumption, food expenditures, food-related behavior, and nutritional status; prepares periodic updates on the cost of family food plans and of raising children; investigates techniques for effective nutrition communication for Americans and evaluates the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply.

Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI)
CSPI strives to provide useful, objective information to the public, represent citizens’ interests before legislative, regulatory, and judicial bodies, and ensure that advances in science are used for the public’s good. This site focusses on career opportunities in the Center, advertising job vacancies and internships.

Codex Alimentarius Commission 
Created in 1963 by FAO and WHO to develop food standards, guidelines and related texts such as codes of practice under the Joint FAO/WHO Food Standards Programme.

Consumer Information Catalogs
Full text versions of U.S. government pamhlets on food and nutrition for consumers.

Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST)
Mission is to identify food and fiber, environmental, and other agricultural issues and to interpret related scientific research information for legislators, regulators, and the media for use in public policy decision making. Site contains an extensive list of publications.

Dairy Management Inc.
The domestic and international planning and management organization that builds demand for U.S.-dairy produced dairy products on behalf of America’s 100,000 dairy farmers. Most valuable feature is the Research and Technology site, which contains a comprehensive list of dairy links.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
The food industry and food supply are essential concerns of DEFRA, within a Europe-wide market. It monitors food safety, the quality and choice offered to the consumer, and the nation's nutrition patterns.

Dyadic Industries International Ltd., Inc.
Dedicated to research, development, manufacturing, and marketing of industrial enzymes, minerals, chemical formulations, and processing aids for the natural fiber and food processing industries. Provide state-of-the-art products and superb customer service for the textile, detergent, food, pulp and paper, grain, starch, and animal feed processing industries.

Economic Research Service
Part of the United states Department of Agriculture, this is the searchable site of the ERS, which provides economic analysis on efficiency, efficacy, and equity issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development to improve public and private decision making.

FDA : US Food and Drug Administration

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) 
Searchable site focussing on the FAO's activities in land and water development, plant and animal production, forestry, fisheries, economic and social policy, investment, nutrition, food standards and commodities and trade.

Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
One of several information centers at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the United States Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Agricultural Research Service (ARS). There is access to all of FNIC's resource lists and databases, as well as many other food and nutrition related links from this award winning site.

Food and Nutrition Service
Administers the nutrition assistance programs of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The mission of FNS is to provide children and needy families better access to food and a more healthful diet through its food assistance programs and comprehensive nutrition education efforts. FNS has elevated nutrition and nutrition education to a top priority in all its programs. In addition to providing access to nutritious food, FNS also works to empower program participants with knowledge of the link between diet and health.

Food Institute Online
Non-profit information and reporting association whose members include growers, food processors, importers, exporters, brokers, wholesalers, supermarket chains, independent retailers, food industry suppliers, food service distributors, advertising and banking executives, government officials, and others.

Food Research Institute
The FRI in the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, University of Wisconsin-Madison, is both a research institute and an academic department. It occupies its own building, operates its own laboratories, and administers its own research and service programs. Its mission is to research in the cause and control of foodborne disease, provide a service to the public, government, and industry and provide training for scientists and technical specialists in advanced and basic food safety technology and management.

Food Safety and Inspection Service
The public health agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture responsible for ensuring that the nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and correctly labeled and packaged. Contains full-text reprints of newsreleases and speeches.

Food Science Central (home of the International Food Information Service)
Leading provider of information on food science, food technology, and human nutrition. Best known for bibliographic database Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA), it provides an essential information source for anyone working in the food sector, whether in industry, government or academia.

Food Science Department Links in North America
Links to Food Science Departments in the United States, Canada and Mexico, arranged alphabetically by State.

Fraunhofer-Institute for Process Engineering and Packaging IVV
Offers market-oriented services in the field of industrial research and development. Scope of work comprises the development and optimisation of processes and products of process-related industries, especially agroindustry, chemical industry, foodstuffs and luxuries industry, pharmaceuticals and cosmetics industry, and packaging industry.

Grocery Manufacturers Association (GMA)
Membership of more than 300 leading food, beverage and consumer product companies. Based in Washington, D.C., GMA’s member organizations include internationally recognized brands as well as localized brands. In 2007 the GMA merged with the Food Products Association (formerly the National Food Processors Association), the principal scientific and technical trade association for the food industry.

Guelph Food Technology Centre (GFTC)
Searchable site of Canada’s only independent technology transfer centre specializing in food. Helps entrepreneurs and food companies develop the processes, products and packages, and get the technical training they need to compete.

Institute of Food Research (IFR)
Undertakes independent science for food and health. Research stimulates industrial innovation, improves the safety of the food supply, helps consumers choose a healthy diet and contributes to the quality of food and ingredients.

Institute of Food Science & Technology (IFST)
Independent incorporated professional qualifying body for food scientists and technologists. Its purposes are: serving the public interest by furthering the application of science and technology to all aspects of the supply of safe, wholesome, nutritious and attractive food, nationally and internationally; advancing the standing of food science and technology, both as a subject and as a profession; assisting members in their career and personal development within the profession; and upholding professional standards of competence and integrity. Site contains an extensive list of links to food resources around the world, organised by country.

Institute of Food Technologists
A nonprofit scientific society with 28,000 members working in food science, food technology, and related professions in industry, academia and government. Site has comprehensive information and links to resources in education and training as well as career opportunities and scholarships in the food science industry. Also contains a comprehensive compilation of worldwide food science and food technology links.

International Association for Food Protection
IAFP Members work in all areas of food protection, industry, government, and academia. Members keep up-to-date on rapidly changing technologies, innovations and regulations; learn of the latest findings in research; and establish and maintain contacts outside of their individual areas of expertise. IAMFES provides this information network through its two monthly scientific journals, its Annual Meeting, and other Member benefits, as well as interaction with other food safety professionals.

International Food Information Council Foundation (IFIC)
Provides sound, scientific information on food safety and nutrition to journalists, health professionals, educators, government officials and consumers. Searchable site provides information on food additives, pesticides, labeling, regulations, foodborne illnesses, and food allergies.

International Food Information Service - now known as Food Science Central
Leading provider of information on food science, food technology, and human nutrition. Best known for bibliographic database Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA), it provides an essential information source for anyone working in the food sector, whether in industry, government or academia.

Leatherhead Food International
Serves the technical and information needs of the food and drinks industry worldwide.

National Academy of Sciences

National Center for Food Safety & Technology (NCFST)
Managed by the Illinois Institute of Technology, NCFST contributes important data to the food safety database through a research program, thereby: fostering the adoption of new technology in food processing and production, supporting the USFDA's regulatory/policy decisions, and enhancing the safety of the American food supply.

National Confectioners Association
The major association representing the entire confection industry, offering education and leadership in manufacturing, technical research, public relations, retailing practices, government relations, and statistical analyses.

National Meat Association
Advocates the interests of the meat industry in federal regulatory issues and national legislation that impacts the industry. Through expert guidance, the US National Meat Association assists its members to meet the consuming public's expectation for safe food produced in a competitive market environment. Site includes an extensive list of meat-related links.

National Science Foundation (US)

Nutrient Data Laboratory
One of six units in the Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center (BHNRC) of the Agricultural Research Service (ARS). NDL and its predecessor organizations in USDA have been compiling and developing food composition databases for over a century. NDL has an interdisciplinary staff composed of nutritionists, food technologists, and computer specialists.

The Protein Society

Royal Society

School Nutrition Association (formerly the American School Foodservice Association)
America's only national association dedicated to protecting and enhancing children's health and well-being though school meals and sound nutrition education.

Snack Food Association (SFA)
An international association representing more than 800 company members, including snack manufacturers and suppliers to the snack industry. Provides information about snacks, the snack food market and government policies regarding snacks. Offer industry training manuals and aids for production, nutrition labeling, quality control, environmental compliance and more.

United States Department of Agriculture
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN)
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion
Economic Research Service
Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
Food Safety and Inspection Service
Nutrient Data Laboratory

US Food and Drug Administration : FDA

United States Poultry & Egg Association
Dedicated to the growth, progress, and welfare of the poultry industry and all of its individual and corporate interests. All segments of the industry are represented, from producers of eggs, turkeys, and broilers to the processors of these products and allied companies which serve the industry.

Wine Institute
The public policy advocacy association of California wineries. Brings together the resources of 450 wineries and affiliated businesses to support legislative and regulatory advocacy, international market development, media relations, scientific research, and education programs that benefit the entire California wine industry. The mission of the Wine Institute is to initiate and advocate state, federal and international public policy to enhance the environment for the responsible consumption and enjoyment of wine.

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
The Food Safety Division regulates the entire food chain, from the point of production to the point of retail sale. This allows the Division to address food safety risks and food-related consumer protection issues that affect producers, processors, distributors, retailers, and consumers in a comprehensive and systematic way.



Chemistry Subject Librarian with related programmes:
Food Science, Forensic Science, and Wine Science - Sonya Donoghue


File last updated : May 10, 2012 .
Comments and suggestions to : Sonya Donoghue