WEB     REFERENCE     SITES   :   FOOD   SCIENCE


Food Additives
Food Standards

General Resources


Food Additives

Food Standards Australia and New Zealand
have made available the following lists of food additives in PDF format.

Food Standards

Food Standards Code
The Food Standards Code is a collection of individual food standards developed by Food Standards Australia New Zealand (formerly ANZFA). Food standards have the force of law. Because food standards are given legal effect by Australian and New Zealand laws, it is important to read the Food Standards Code in conjunction with the relevant food legislation.

General Resources

Food Chemicals Codex
Please note the fifth edition is being purchased and will be linked here when it is available.

Food Composition Database
From the webpage: "New Zealand Food Composition Data for Nutrition Information Panel (NZFCD-NIP) is an online tool that is designed to assist food manufacturers in estimating NIPs for their products. The NZFCD-NIP database presents seven core nutrients for more than 2,700 foods and ingredients." Registration and login required.

Google Calculator Function
To use Google's built-in calculator function, simply enter the calculation you'd like done into the search box and hit the Enter key or click on the Google Search button. The calculator can solve math problems involving basic arithmetic, more complicated math, units of measure and conversions, and physical constants.

IFIS - scientific and technological literature - Food Science Resource
White papers and blog postings from IFIS, which produces the FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts database.

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Forage Crop Diseases
Contains information and photographs relating to diseases of forage crops (mostly grasses and legumes). Also contains a link to an encyclopaedia of fungi.

Search Cereal Chemistry Abstracts
Searchable access to abstracts from 42 years of Cereal Chemistry.

US Code of Federal Regulations
A codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Title 21 relates to 'Food and Drugs'.

Top of page  


Chemistry Subject Librarian with related programmes:
Food Science, Forensic Science, and Wine Science - Sonya Donoghue


File last updated : January 18, 2012 .
Comments and suggestions to : Sonya Donoghue