F O O D    S C I E N C E

DATABASE
FSTA, Food Science and Technology Abstracts  
Covers every aspect of food science, food products, and food processing including biotechnology, economics, manufacturing, legislation, and commodity packaging. 
SCOPUS 
Provides citations, abstracts and references covering 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from 4,000 publishers. It includes approximately 27 million abstracts. Subjects covered are Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and General Science.
FOODnetBASE
An online full-text food research reference collection from CRC Press.
VITIS - Viticulture and Enology Abstracts  
An international English-language literature database in the field of viticulture. Publications are accessible on the following areas: Morphology, physiology, and biochemistry of grapevine; Soil science; Genetics and grapevine breeding; Phytopathology and grapevine protection; Cellar techniques; Economics of viticulture and enology; Enology; Microbiology of wine. 

SciFinder (web version)

ScienceDirect
provides full- text access to over 2000 journals, mostly in the sciences. ScienceDirect classifies over 90 journals as mathematical.  Daily or Weekly Alert service available.
Analytical Abstracts
Abstracting service designed specifically to meet analytical chemistry information needs. It provides comprehensive coverage of new techiques and applications.
Food Standards Code
A collection of individual food standards developed by Food Standards Australia New Zealand (formerly ANZFA). There are also a number of User Guides available.
ASTM Standards
A searchable online collection of standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.
Biological Abstracts 
Covers biology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (1990-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1995-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1995-). Records include an article's cited reference list or bibliography.

Web of Science - Online Tutorials and Support Material

NZ Science
A comprehensive index of New Zealand Science, provided by The Crown Research Institutes. Searches can be restricted to all or any of the following: NIWA, Landcare, HortResearch, Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences (GNS) and the Forest Bibliography.
  SPECTRUM Library Only
This CDROM collection of science and technology databases from former DSIR Divisions, Research Associations and the Royal Society of New Zealand also includes abstracts of RSNZ and DSIR journals from 1918-1993.
Brookers Online 
Provides access to over 50 full text New Zealand legal resources, including a searchable database of New Zealand Acts of Parliament (Statutes of NZ).
Interdisciplinary Databases  
Dissertation Abstracts, UnCover etc.

Comments to S Donoghue Last updated March 1, 2012