FILM, TELEVISION & MEDIA STUDIES
INTERNET RESOURCES
CONTENT SITES


International Films  New Zealand Films  Silent Films  Television

International Films
AFI Seminars
Transcripts of seminars by notable Hollywood directors, including James Cameron, Amy Heckerling and Robert Towne.
The Art and Craft of Movie Making
From the BBC Education site. Contains interviews with filmmakers, reviews of film websites, how to edit a film on a PC, etc.
Australian Film
Collection of essays, dissertations and reviews from Murdoch University, Western Australia.
Dogme 95
The official site of the Danish film movement.
Do Look Back: the story of Cinema Verité
Interviews with Cinema Verité pioneers, including Wiseman, Pennebaker and the Maysles brothers.
ENCULTURATION 
Special issue "On the Film/Image", including essays on Deleuze, Bigelow, Cronenberg and Greenaway.
The Film 100
"The one hundred most influential people in the history of the movies".
Film Genres
An introduction to the concept of genre.
Film Noir Essays
From the University of California at Berkely.
Film Sound Design
Site created by Sven E. Carlsson, a teacher of Media at Birka Folkhögskola in Sweden: "Carlson has created an excellent collection of resources and links which can claim to be the starting point on the Web for those interested in film sound." 
Framework
Special online issue of the print journal, "on cinema and social space".
French Films of the 1930s
A discussion of important films, together with filmographies of major figures.
F/X Porn
Essay by David Foster Wallace, focusing on Terminator 2.
The Greatest Films
The greatest American films.
Guides to the National Library of Australia Screen Studies Collection
A collection of introductory essays to variety of topics, including genre, comedy, film noir and the woman's film.
International Film
Discussion of films, film books and other film resources. From the Institute of Communications Studies, Leeds, UK.
The Kubrick Site
Featuring articles, reviews, interviews and screenplays.
SOFIA – Study of Film as an Internet Application 
Site maintained at the University of North London – “an attempt to present film theory and study in a fresh way. By using the hypertextual and graphic medium of the web, it is possible for users to access the site globally, and get the relevant information for free....As film is a subject well represented on the web already, I am trying to break ground in an area not yet covered, whilst also providing links to other existing related sites. An eventual aim is for SOFIA to act as a 'hub' for film study activity on the Web.”
Warner Bros Cartoon Companion
Everything you need to know about Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck etc.
Women's Studies Film Reviews
Part of a "Women's Studies Database" maintained at the University of Maryland.
X-Factor
Online Conference for Experimental Media.
New Zealand Films
Broken English - official site maintained by Sony Pictures
Channelling Baby - official site
Fourth World - the Heavenly Creatures Website
Exhaustive exploration of the film and the events which inspired it.
Hopeless - official site
The Irrefutable Truth About Demons - official site
Jubilee - official site
Len Lye
Site maintained at the Govett-Brewster Gallery, New Plymouth.
Lord of the Rings - official site
Magik and Rose - official site
Once Were Warriors - official site maintained by New Line Pictures.
The Price of Milk - official site
Scarfies - official site
Shortland Street - unofficial fan site
Stickmen - official site
When Love Comes - official site
Wild Blue - official site
Silent Films
Anima
Fascinating site featuring animations of the work of cinema precursors such as Muybridge and Marey
The Complete History of the Discovery of Cinematography
Early Motion Pictures - 1897-1929
Includes film clips and histories of the films from: President William McKinley and the Pan-American Exposition of 1901; early films of New York City; San Francisco Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire; and early American animation. Part of the "American Memory Project" of the Library of Congress.
Institut Lumière
Includes an account of the invention of the Cinématographe, and an explanation of how it works.
The Silent Era
Collection of resources on silent films - still in development but a promising start.
The Silent Film Bookshelf
Original documents from the silent era reprinted.
Silent Film Sites
From the University of New Orleans, featuring downloadable clips of silent films.
The Silent Westerns
From the American Studies programme of the University of Virginia.
Television
The bfi TV 100
The British Film Institute's selection of the hundred best British television programmes.
The Dennis Potter Homepage
From the College of Ripon and York, UK. Features biography, filmography, bibliography and interviews.
epguides.com
Episode guides to over 1475 television series.
Shortland Street - unofficial fan site

= Internet site accessible in the Library at no cost

File last updated : 09 June 2005
File location : filmcont.htm
Contact : s.etheridge@auckland.ac.nz