FILM, TELEVISION & MEDIA STUDIES
DATABASES


DATABASE
NZ FTVMS Databases
New Zealand Television Audience Measurement Online Ratings Reports
A numeric estimate of the television viewing audience collected from a representative sample of households in New Zealand.
NZ Film Archive Database
Indexes the collections held at the New Zealand Film Archive
NZ General Databases with FTVMS Content
Index New Zealand: INNZ
General index to NZ newspapers, journals, conferences etc. from 1987 on.
International FTVMS Databases
American Film Scripts Online
An online collection of feature film scripts that will eventually contain 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes. Many of the scripts have never been published. The database is fulltext searchable and includes detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people. 
Film Index International Online
Major resource for information on films and movie personalities, and for tracing reviews, articles and interviews about them
Film Literature Index
The Film Literature Index annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
IIPA Full-Text: International Index to Performing Arts
An online database from ProQuest covering the performing arts, including dance, film, drama, television, the arts and entertainment industry, stagecraft, magic, musical theatre and performance art.
IMDB : Internet Movie Database
The Internet movie database covers more than 100,000 movies and contains over a million and half filmography listings for actors, producers, directors and others associated with film making. It contains plot summaries, character names, movie ratings, years of release, movie trivia, quotes, goofs, soundtracks, production companies, distributors, special effects companies, languages, reviews, Academy Award information, plus other information relating to the motion picture industry.
IMDB-Pro
Designed for use by the entertainment industry, IMDbPro.com is an enhanced version of IMDB. Additional components include contact listings, a company directory, entertainment news from the Hollywood Reporter, in production charts, popularity rankings, box office data, a calendar of theatrical releases, film festivals and events.
International Index to Film Periodicals
A bibliographical index produced by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexing around 300 academic and popular film journals from 1972 onward. The database includes the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979-1998); Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
Paley Center Seminars
A searchable online collection of videos and transcriptions of interviews and panel discussions recorded at the Paley Center for Media in New York and Los Angeles.
Press Display
A searchable online newspaper collection, providing access to the current issues (and a 60 day backfile) of over 1,000 newspapers from 82 countries. The newspapers are presented in facsimile format, as they appear in print, and are released at the same time (sometimes earlier) than the print editions.

Rock's Backpages
Searchable full-text access to over 13,000 magazine articles on rock music plus audio interviews with artists, including Jimi Hendrix, Mick Jagger, Joni Mitchell, Johnny Cash and Tom Waits. 'A cultural resource for students ... and a great way of whiling away a wet afternoon.'

International General Databases with FTVMS Content
Academic Research Library
Multidisciplinary fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
Academic Search Premier
Abstracts and indexes over 2,700 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more, with a high proportion in full text.
Art Full Text
This database contains full-text articles from more than 100 periodicals from 1997. Indexing begins 1984. Subject areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography.
Expanded Academic (InfoTrac OneFile)
Multidisciplinary fulltext database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. 
Informaworld
An online platform for Taylor & Francis publications. Includes subject areas for Film & Media.
JSTOR
A fulltext archive of scholarly journal literature.
MLA International Bibliography
A bibliographic database which indexes scholarly journals covering film, television, mass media, cultural theory, gender, and popular culture.
Project Muse
Database of current international fulltext serials covering the humanities and social sciences.
Sage Full Text Collections
Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full-text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 4,200 articles.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (1900-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-) 

File last updated : 17 May, 2011 .