E U R O P E A N   L A N G U A G E S   A N D   L I T E R A T U R E S


DATABASE CATEGORIES

Languages & literatures databases:
Credo Reference
ITER;
JSTOR;
MLA;
Periodicals Archive Online

Translation studies
Translation Studies Abstracts

French interest:
Black Women Writers | Caribbean Literature
Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue francaise | Frantext: Base Textuelle Frantext
German interest:
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft; Deutsche Literatur des 18. Jahrhunderts; Der literarische Expressionismus Online; DigiZeitschriften; IBZ online
Italian interest:
Torrossa: Casalini Full Text Platform
Latin American / Spanish interest:
Bibliografia de la Literatura Espanola desde 1980; HAPI : the Hispanic American Periodical Index; Latin American Women Writers;Latino Literature; Public Life in Contemporary Argentina;
Caribbean Literature

 


  Database name and description
Art History Image Database
The collection comprises approximately 5,000 images representing all facets of Art History taught by the University of Auckland.  As well as work from Europe and the U.S.A., it includes images from New Zealand and the Pacific, both traditional and contemporary.
Bibliografia de la Literatura Espanola desde 1980
A scholarly online bibliography of literary works and criticism published in any language. It covers critical editions of literary works, translations, critical studies, periodical articles, book reviews, bibliographies, conference proceedings, and other miscellaneous material.

Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale
A current bibliography of monographs on the Middle Ages published worldwide

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
An international Bibliography of German Literature and Literary Studies.

Black Women Writers
A searchable online collection from Alexander Street Press providing fiction, poetry, and essays by black women from twenty countries in Africa, North America, Europe, and the Caribbean.

Cambridge Collections Online
This database contains e-books of titles in the Cambridge Companions series.

Caribbean Literature
A searchable online collection of Caribbean poetry and fiction from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, including hard-to-find works in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Credo Reference
An online quick reference collection. The works cover a wide range of subjects, including art history, political studies, philosophy, history, linguistics, and religious studies.
Deutsche Literatur des 18. Jahrhunderts Online
This online database contains first editions and complete historical editions of leading representatives of the Enlightenment. All the texts are in German. There is a search interface in both English and German.
Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue francaise
The database is a full-text electronic version of Le Dictionnaire de l'Ancienne Langue Française et de tous ses Dialectes du IX au XV Siècle, published between 1880 and 1902, an essential reference for medieval French language and lexicography.
DigiZeitschriften
The database is a searchable online archive of over 140 scholarly journals in German. The subject coverage is very wide, and includes literature, history, art, education, music, law, and the sciences. This is an archival journal collection; current issues are not included.
eHRAF World Cultures
a full-text online database for disciplines with an interest in cultural diversity.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
A bibliographical index produced by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexing around 300 academic and popular film journals from 1972 onward. See other film resources.
Frantext: Base Textuelle Frantext
Searchable collection of French literary texts (may have software problems)
Gender Studies Database
Combines Women's Studies International, Men's Studies, and Sexual Diversity Studies. It covers the spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
HAPI : the Hispanic American Periodical Index
Worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and literary works.
IBZ online
An international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature mainly from the humanities, social sciences and arts. Coverage is from 1983.
ITER Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
An online collection of scholarly databases for medieval and Renaissance studies.
JSTOR
Journal Storage Project (JSTOR) is an archive of scholarly journal literature with over 600 digitised fulltext journals.
Latin American Women Writers
Latino Literature
A searchable online collection from Alexander Street Press providing plays, poetry, novels and other prose works by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Covers all areas of linguistics and applied linguistics, including language teaching and learning. Covers from 1973-

Der literarische Expressionismus Online
A searchable online collection providing full-text coverage of over 150 journals, yearbooks, collections and anthologies published in Germany in the early twentieth century.


Literature Online
An extensive 'library' of resources including the full text of major works from 600 AD to the present across all forms of literature. It includes web texts and resources, secondary material from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and some full-text journal articles.
Medieval Sources online
Contains annotated and edited full-text medieval sources
MLA
Indexes material on modern Language, Literature, Linguistics and folklore.
Periodicals Archive Online
A major online periodical archive in the humanities and social sciences, covering over 600 journals from their inception and providing access to over a million articles.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses [Digital Dissertations]
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses at over 1000 universities worldwide
Public Life in Contemporary Argentina 
A collection of three full-text databases containing more than 11,000 articles and documents on social and political movements in contemporary Argentina. 

Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
A searchable collection of primary source material covering popular culture, student protest, and civil rights from 1950 to 1975.  Themes include changing lifestyles, youth culture, student protest across Europe and the United States, Mai '68, civil rights and women's liberation, consumerism, censorship, nuclear disarmament.

Sociological Abstracts
Coverage is 1952-. Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations and papers. Abstracts are included from 1974.

Torrossa: Casalini Full Text Platform
An online collection of more than 40,000 articles and scholarly texts. Over 30 Italian publishers contribute to the collection with more than 1,500 monographs and proceedings and 140 journals. incorporates material previously available through Editoria Italiana Online and BIZ, Biblioteca Italiana Zanichelli.

Translation Studies Abstracts and Bibliography of Translation Studies
A searchable database of abstracts and annotated bibliographic records. Focusses on all aspects of research within the fields of translation studies and crosscultural communication. Translation Studies Abstracts consists of abstracts of articles from journals, electronic publications, collected volumes, and doctoral theses.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information, comprising Science Citation Index (1900-) Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-) 
Interdisciplinary databases
Bibliographic Index Plus, Current Contents, Google Scholar; Kiwi Research Information Service, etc

File last updated : December 13, 2011
 

Comments and suggestions to : m.hangartner@auckland.ac.nz