Frequently Asked Questions at the Engineering Library
  

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources  | Engineering databases  | Engineering web resources 

Guides  | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


1. General information 

2. Acquisitions  

3. Lending 

4. Computers  

5. Copy services 

6. Databases/Indexes 

7. Interlibrary loan

8. Voyager

9. Standards and patents

10. Printing at the Engineering Library

11. General subject areas 

12. Where is ... ?

1. General information   

Where is the library? 
What are the hours? 
Where can I park? 
Who can use the library? 
How do I find a book or a journal in the library? 
How many people work in the library? 
Who is the librarian that can help me with... ? 
Can I make an appointment if a librarian is not available at the Reference Desk? 
Where are the group study rooms? Can I make a reservation for one? 
Where are the nearest toilets? 
Contributions or suggestions from you….

2. Acquisitions

How do I make a book recommendation? 
How do I request that a journal subscription be purchased? 
How do I know if a journal is still being received? 
Can I get the table of contents of a journal the library does not hold? 
Do you have a list of new books?
 

3. Lending

What will happen if I don't return a book? 
What will happen if I don't pay my fines? 
Where do I pay my fines? 
I know my book is overdue, what will the fine be? 
If I keep an item past its due date will I receive an overdue notice? 
Who should I talk to about the bill I received for my overdue book? 
I got a notice saying something was on hold for me. Where do I go?  
Can I renew a book over the phone? By e-mail? On this homepage? 
Can I find out how many books I have borrowed? 
How do I recall an item that is on loan to someone else? 
I am looking for a book on The Catalogue that says  it is "Available" but is not on the shelves. Where is it? 
What does the message "Recalled" mean? 
Can I return a book here that I borrowed from another University of Auckland campus library? from the public library? 
Can I borrow items from the special collections such as the microfiche, disks, CDs and videos? What about Glass Case books or those from the Bolt and Walsh collections?  
How many books can I borrow at a time?

4. Computers

Where can I find computers? 
Where can I get help with hardware or software problems? 
Is a printer connected to library computers? 
Where can I buy a CD? 

5. Copy services

Where can I add money to my photocopy card, or purchase a photocopy card? 
Are there any coin-operated photocopiers in the library? 
Where are the photocopiers/printers? What does it cost? 
What if I do not have an ID card or a photocopy card? 
Can I make transparencies? Can I make double-sided (two-sided) copies? 
Where can I make a paper copy from a microfiche or microfilm? What does it cost?  
Where is a stapler, hole punch and guillotine?

6. Databases/Indexes

How do I find an article on a subject? 
How do I use this particular database? 
Can I send the results of this search through e-mail? 
How do I find out who has cited this journal article? 
What should I do if get lost?

7. Interlibrary loan

Who can make an Interlibrary Loan request? 
Is there any Copyright Restriction? 
What does it cost? 
Can I request Thesis from overseas? 
Where to return? How to renew? 
Am I able to make a request as an associate member? What about UniServices Contracts?

8. Voyager

What should I do if Voyager says "On Loan" or "Renewed" what should I do? 
How do I search for articles or papers in Voyager? 
How do I search for conference proceedings in Voyager? 
How do I search for a journal title in Voyager? 
How do I get more information about Voyager?

9. Standards and patents

Will someone be able to assist me with standards or patent searching? 
Where in the library is the standards collection located? 
What are the differences among standards, patents, copyright, trademarks, and trade secrets? 
I have a standard or patent number. How do I find it? 
How do I find a standard or patent on a subject? 
Where do I search for a patent if I have the inventor's name? 
How do I get copies of standards or patents?

10. Printing at the Engineering Library

Is this computer connected to a printer? 
Why can't I print?

How do I print from a database?

11. General subject areas

What classification system does the Engineering Library use to shelve its books and how does it work?

12. Where is ... ?

Where can I find an atlas? 
Where are  the dictionaries? 
Where are the encyclopedias? 
Where are the library's collections of standards? 
Where can I get the university calendar, handbook, prospectus or awards handbook? 
Where is the library? 
This book or journal is not in the Catalogue. Where is the nearest library that holds it?


Engineering Library home | Engineering resources  | Engineering databases  | Engineering web resources 

Guides  | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated: 16 June, 2011

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Rod Chan