Collections Management
The Engineering Library Manager is responsible for the selection of material for the Engineering Library, and for the withdrawal of items which are no longer required.
If you wish to recommend books, journals, or audiovisual items for the Library, please fill in an electronic form or printed book recommendation form or contact Patsy Hulse, Engineering Library Manager (telephone x 88129 or email :p.hulse@auckland.ac.nz)
FAQs Chapter 12: Where is ... ? answers: Where can I find an atlas? Where are the dictionaries? Where is Perry's? Where are the encyclopedias? Where are the library's collections of standards? Where can I get the university calendar, handbook, prospectus or awards handbook? Where is the library? This book or journal is not in The Catalogue. Where is the nearest library that holds it?
Acquisitions
Staff: Patsy Hulse x 88129 , Hayley Sun x 84227
If you wish to place an order for an item please contact the relevant subject librarian:
Patsy Hulse. Civil and Environmental Engineering x 88129
Emil Melnichenko. Mechanical Engineering x 87200
Dahlia Han. Electrical and Computer Engineering
x 86997
Susan Brookes. Chemical and Materials Engineering, Engineering Science and Bioengineering Institute.
x 84995
FAQs Chapter 2: Acquisitions answers: How do I make a book recommendation? How do I request that a journal subscription be purchased? How do I know if a journal is still being received? Can I get the table of contents of a journal the Library does not hold? Do you have a list of new books?
Serials
Serials Staff:Kavita Narayan x 88130
Serials may also be called journals, periodicals, or magazines.
The Serials Librarian is responsible for:
- the management of the Engineering Library Serials collection.
- maintaining the accuracy of serials records on Voyager.
- receiving issues of current serials.
- claiming for missing issues.
- organising binding procedures.
- overseeing the shelving of current and back issues.
- answering queries from users relating to serials.
FAQs Chapter 2: Acquisitions answers: How do I make a book recommendation? How do I request that a journal subscription be purchased? How do I know if a journal is still being received? Can I get the table of contents of a journal the library does not hold? Do you have a list of new books?
Cataloguing and Processing
Staff: Fiona Zhao x 86997 f.zhao@auckland.ac.nz
The Cataloguing and Processing Department is responsible for:
- creating catalogue records on Voyager for new books and other items ordered by the Library.
- processing items i.e. providing the books with the requisite labels.
Short Loan Collection material
- Material such as prescribed texts are available on short loan and are issued for 2 hours or 1 hour if in high demand. Copies may be used outside the library (e.g. in study areas or labs) and are also available for overnight loan.
- Patrons can take out a maximum of 2 items simultaneously.
- Short loan material should be returned to the desk librarian. Do not put short loan material in the return box, or leave it unattended on the issue desk. Heavy fines are charged for overdue short loan items.
- Short Loan copies are only available for overnight loan from two hours before closing. They should be returned by 9.00am the next day the library is open Monday-Friday. When the Library is open 10am - 6pm on Saturdays and Sundays then they must be returned by 11am. Heavy fines are imposed for material returned after this time.
- 3-Day Loan items cannot be renewed and must be returned directly to the Engineering Library.
- Staff members wishing to place books into the Short Loan collection should submit an online form containing the relevant information to the library. Printed forms are available from the library and emails are also acceptable.
Special collections
In addition to the loan, Reference and Short Loan collections, the Engineering Library houses special collections. Ask at the Front Desk for the following:
- .Standards Collection: The Library has collections of NZ, Australian, British and ASTM standards on short loan in addition to the New Zealand Standards Online database.
- CD ROM Collection: These often accompany texts and may be borrowed
- Video and DVD Collection: A growing collection useful for accompanying lectures. These are borrowable
- Part 4 & Geothermal Diploma project reports: Indexes for all years are available at the Front Desk on the Web.
- Bolt and Walsh Collections: which include historically important works in aerodynamics
- Glass Case Collection: includes New Zealand and historically important books
- Micromaterials Collection: For viewing microfilm, please visit the Microtext room on the first floor of the General Library
- Floppy Disks Collection: 3 1/2" & 5 1/4" formats which usually accompany texts
Access to Electronic Resources
- The library has access to a number of Engineering Electronic resources.
- There is no charge for the use of these electronic resources in the Library, but there may be some charges if accessing databases from home using your NetAccount. Printing from databases in the Library will incur a cost per page.
- Access to most of these resources is available off-campus.
File last updated:
5 October, 2011
This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Rod Chan
|