Patents Offices and Standards Organizations
This is a list with links of Patent Offices and Standards Organizations from international organizations such as WIOP (World Intellectual Property Organization), ISO (International Standards Organization), specialized standards organizations such as ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineering), major industrial countries such as America, Australia, Britain, Canada, Europe, Japan, Russia, as well as New Zealand and some Asian countries.
Patents and Standards FAQs
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about patents and standards, such as What is a patent? What are standards? What is IPC? How do I search a patent database? What patents / standards databases are available on the Internet? etc. Also, FAQs Chapter 9: Standards & Patents answers: Will someone be able to assist me with standards or patent searching? Where in the library is the standards collection located? What are the differences among standards, patents, copyright, trademarks, and trade secrets? I have a standard or patent number. How do I find it? How do I find a standard or patent on a subject? Where do I search for a patent if I have the inventor's name? How do I get copies of standards or patents?
Standards Databases
This is an annotated bibliography of standards databases from international organizations such as ISO (International Standards Organization), and the standards issueing bodies of e.g. USA, Australia, Britain, Canada, Europe, German, Japan, Russia, New Zealand and Singapore.
Patent Databases
This is an annotated list with links to patent databases (free and some fee-based) from international organizations such as WIOP (World Intellectual Property Organization), and the patent offices of e.g. USA, Australia, Britain, Canada, Europe, Japan, Russia, New Zealand, Singapore and China.
Online Patent Tutorial
This was created by the Engineering Library, University of Texas at Austin, USA. It contains online tutorials on definiations and types of patents, what is patentable? patent myths, why perform a patent search, patent application searching and online patent searching.
Glossary of Patents
Patents are special technical documents and before start to search for patent information, you need to understand patent terminology in order to understand how to search for the proper patent documents and how to read the patent documents. An alphabetic terminology of patents is listed here.