PATENTS DATABASES

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

 

International Patents

PATENTSCOPE - Search International and National Patent Collections

PATENTSCOPE is provided by WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization) which is a specialized agency of the United Nations. "It is dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property (IP) system, which rewards creativity, stimulates innovation and contributes to economic development while safeguarding the public interest." PATENTSCOPE provides access to 7,768,061 patent documents including 1,883,234 published international patent applications (PCT).

Pat2PDF is a free patent search tool. You can search and download a copy of a patent from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

European Intellectual Property Association (EIPAWEB)

EIPAWEB represents over 100 non-governmental and other not-for-profit organisations interested in protection the intellectual property of all europeans. You can search for patents information and find more information on EIPAWEB and its activities from this website.

European Patent Office (EPO)

EPO offers inventors a uniform application procedure which enables them to seek patent protection in up to 40 European countries. Supervised by the Administrative Council, the Office is the executive arm of the European Patent Organisation. It's website provides the access to Espacenet which offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 onwards.

Its online services is designed to allow applicants, attorneys and other users to conduct their EPO business electronically in a secure state-of-the-art environment.

EPO is also staffed by experts on Asian patent information incluidng Japanese, Chinese and Korean patent systems, offers assistance in searching original-language patent databases and the efficient use of free internet sources.

Delphion (fee-based)

Delphion was called The Intellectual Property Network which was an initiative within IBM in 1997. "Delphion was spun out of IBM in 2000 and created as a wholly independent entity, incorporating the IBM Intellectual Property Network. Now, with its extensive data coverage - collections from all over the world and value added functionality, it has evolved into one of the most comprehensive sources for finding and viewing patent information."

"Delphion is a product offering of Thomson Reuters and is one of the world's most popular online destinations for intellectual property and scientific research. Many of the original developers of the IPN are still leading innovation on Delphion today". It gives you the patent collections & searching options you need to see inside the world's important patent databases.

WIPS GLOBAL

The WIPS GLOBALis pay service provider of patent information searches. It contains data from patent offices all over the world that has been saved in a uniform format so that it may be easily accessed through the integrated web-based search system. Of particular interest to Western firms is their collection of Korean, Chinese and Japanese patent information that is searchable in the English language, a feature not available in competing products. Search functions such as saved queries, data clustering, and patent mapping tools add to the functionality of the product.



Patents by Country

Australian Patents (1979 - present, free searching and display , but using stand-alone program)

The Australian Patents database is provided by Australian Intellectual Property Office .
There are 2 mainframe computer patent databases, which allow you to access bibliographic information of Australian patents: 1. Patent Administration System (PatAdmin) -- information about Australian patents and patent applications filed since January 1979. In some cases, details of patents filed before that date are also available, but only a limited number of the data fields can be used for searches; 2. Patent Indexing System (PatIndex) -- allows you to search Australian patent applications and patents using one or more International Patent Classification(IPC) codes.

It is using stand-alone Java application program. You may access the mainframe databases by using either Java or emulation software.

Canadian Patent Databases (1924 - present, free searching and display )

The Canadian Patent Database is provided by Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) .
The CIPO Canadian Patent Database contains all Canadian patents (both applications and granted patents) since 1924. For patent documents which are either laid-open applications (an application that has been made available for public viewing but has not yet been granted) or are patents granted since August 15, 1978, the database contains bibliographic data, textual data (titles, abstracts and claims) and image data. For patents granted prior to August 15, 1978, the database contains bibliographic data, the text of titles only (no text of abstracts and claims) and image data.

The database offers Basic, Number, Boolean and Advanced searching. Online searching help is available. Copies of patent documents can be ordered at cipo.contact@ic.gc.ca . The site is available in English and French language versions. Links to other services provided by CIPO are provided.

Chinese patent database (1985 - present, in Chinese, free searching and abstracts display )

The Chinese patent database is provided by SIPO -- State Intellectual Property Office of the People's Republic of China.

The database contains abstracts of all the Chinese patents, including patent applications and granted patents since 1985 and the images since 1996. There are 11 fields can be searched in: IPC (International Patent Classification), Title, Application number, Application date, Patent number, Inventor, Abstract, etc.. The IPC in Chinese is available from this site.

Italian patent database (recent 1 year only, free searching and brief display )

The Italian patent database is provided by FILDATA , an Italian patent information company offers documentation services at the Italian Patent and Trademark office.

The database contains recent one year of Italian patent applications. Searching by Italian patent applications or title keywords in Italian. The search results only the title, application number, application date and applicant will be displayed.

JAPIO - Patent Abstracts of Japan (1985 - present)

"Japan Patent Information Organization (Japio) was established as a comprehensive patent information service institution in 1985. Since then, Japio has been contributing to the economy and to society by providing high-quality intellectual property information".

PAJ database (Japan patent, 1976 - present, free searching and abstracts display )

The PAJ - Patent Abstracts of Japan which is part of Industrial Property Digital Library , is provided by Japanese Patent Office (JPO). The PAJ is a searchable database of Japanese patent applications abstracts and legal status, published by the JPO. The database can be searched by keywords, publication numbers, and so on. PAJ from January 1990 (in application) onward includes the legal status information.

New Zealand patents (free searching & title display )

The New Zealand patents database is provieded by the Intellectual Property Office of New Zealand (IPONZ), a business unit in the Ministry of Commerce.

Information contained in the database accessible through this site has been taken from files held at the Intellectual Property Office of New Zealand. The official trade marks, patents and designs registers are available from IPONZ.

Singapore Patents (1938 - present, fee-based)

The Singapore patents database is provided by the Intellectual Property Office of Singapore, which is a department under the Ministry of Law. It is responsible for the administration of the Trade Marks Act 1998 and the Patents Act (Cap. 221). The Office is also a receiving office for international applications for patents filed under the Patent Cooperation Treaty.

The system allows the public to make enquiries to the database containing all patent applications filed with the Registry (for which the bibliographic information has been published) and all granted or registered patents since 1938. It allows access to the bibliographic information of a particular patent application or patent using the application number, the P-Number or, in the case of a registered patent, the United Kingdom or European Patent Number. It also allows searches on the database on name of proprietors or inventors, and searches on the International Patent Classification (IPC) Class.

Espacenet (UK patent, from 1836 to today)

Espacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 onwards.

USPTO Patent Full-Text (PatFT) Database (1976 - present, free searching and full text)

USPTO Patent Full-Text (PatFT) Database is a free US full text patents database provide by USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office. The database includes the full text of all patents granted since 1976, and the patent number, issue date, and current US classification for all patents granted from 1790 through 1975. The database can be searched by patent number, title and abstract keywords, assignee and other fields. Offers keyword Boolean searching and allows specific year ranges to be searched. At the top of each text display page is a button marked "Images". Clicking on that button will display the full-page image of the first printed page of that particular patent, along with navigational tools allowing the viewing of all the other pages.

"You must have a properly configured Web browser with an image display plug-in capable of displaying TIFF images with T.6 (CCITT Group 4) compression. Further directions are provided on the web page at How to Access Full-Page Images".

US Patent and Trademark Office. Official Gazette

The Official Gazette is provided by USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office. "The Official Gazette (OG) is the official journal of the USPTO, published weekly on Tuesday, that includes bibliographic information and a representative drawing for each patent granted or trademark published on that issue date.  There is a separate Official Gazette for Patents and Official Gazette for Trademarks, and the most recent 52 issues for each are available online".

Free patents online

"The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web".

Patent Fetcher

It provides a free way to access complete U.S. Patent and published Patent Application PDF files. It retrieves patent page images from national patent office web sites, like the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, combine them into a single PDF file, and cache the PDF files on our file server so that you can then perform a patent download from our site.

Subject-based Patent Databases

Agricultural Biotechnology Intellectual Property ( search 1976-2000 Biotechnology Utility Patents by entity and technology)
It provides access to U.S. utility patents on inventions in biotechnology and other biological processes from 1976 and 2000—that are used in food and agriculture. The database also provides information about the ownership of these patents, whether patents are held in the public or private sector, and changes in patent ownership due to firm mergers, acquisitions, and spinoffs.

DNA Patent Database

"This database serves as a resource for members of the general public interested in fields like genomics, genetics and biotechnology. The DPD contains a collection of DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by the United State Patent and Trademark Office, (USPTO), and makes the full-text versions of such patents available at not cost to the public. This searchable database allows researchers to track data or trends of patents and patent applications in categories such as the date of issue, the inventor or the receipt of government funding".


Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

File last updated: 9 December, 2011

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Dahlia Han