Bioengineering 
- BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of computer science.
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the development and design of procedures, equipment, and systems utilized in the production and conversion of raw materials into food and nonfood consumer goods—emphasizing and illustrating the various engineering processes associated with the production of materials with agricultural origin
- Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform. covering areas such as optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics, and biophysics.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
An online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform, the Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology.
- Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker surveying biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials- current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
It contains more than 400 brand new articles that have been added to the site through monthly updates since the encyclopedia was originally launched in April, 2001. Hundreds of articles have also been revised, amended or expanded since publication.
- Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the
ScienceDirect platform, providing articles on a wide range of
subjects in the field of mathematical physics.
- Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine
Online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform, comprising over 200 articles representing a detailed treatment of the molecular and cellular basis of life. The work was originally published in 6 vols in 2005.
- Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
It covers most aspects of the Statistical Sciences -- including
probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics
with emphasis in applications of statistical methods in sociology,
engineering, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, survey
methodology, and a host of other client disciplines.
- Encyclopedia of Statistics in Quality and Reliability
An
online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform focusing on
statistical techniques in quality engineering. It provides in-depth
coverage of a wide variety of topics, including six sigma, data
mining, process capability and measurement systems analysis. It
includes a large selection of case studies and practical
suggestions, and is designed for academics and professionals
applying statistical methods in industry.
- ENGnetBASE
Online collection of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
- Handbook of Statistical Genetics
Online handbook published by Wiley, designed as a reference resource for statisticians interested in genetic applications, and geneticists seeking a deeper knowledge of statistical methods in their field.
- InfoSECURITYnetBAS
Online collection of handbooks on computer security published by CRC Press.
- ITKnowledgeBASE
An online collection of 278 fulltext monographs on information technology, from Auerbach Publications and CRC Press.
- MATHnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and applied mathematics texts published by CRC Press.
- PHYSICSnetBASE
Online collection of books on physics published by Taylor & Francis.
- SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of
over 300 books published by the Society of Industrial and Applied
Mathematics (SIAM).
- STATSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and other
statistical texts published by CRC Press. Covers statistical theory & methods in all areas, including Bayesian approaches, computer
applications, environmental statistics, medical statistics and
biostatistics.
- Wiley
Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform containing
over 350 peer reviewed articles in areas such as biochemical
engineering, biomedical education, biomedical devices and
instrumentation, human performance and reverse engineering,
rehabilitation and orthopedic engineering. It is designed to meet the
needs of readers ranging from undergraduate students to research
scientists.
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley Online Library platform providing broad coverage of mathematical theory, algorithms, modeling, and application issues in operations research and management science. The work has an internatonal focus, and features articles from a diverse range of contributors, from academia, industry, business, government, and the military.
Chemical & Materials
Engineering 
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- CHEMnetBASE
A collection of online chemical dictionaries and reference works
comprising the Dictionary of commonly cited compounds; Handbook of
chemistry & physics; Polymers, a property database; Properties of
organic compounds. Includes the Combined chemical dictionary (CCD
online) which incorporates the contents of the Dictionary of organic
compounds; Dictionary of natural products; Dictionary of inorganic and
organometallic compounds; Dictionary of pharmacological agents;
Dictionary of analytical reagents; Dictionary of drugs.
-
CHEMLIBnetBASE
Online collection of over 180 full-text handbooks and monographs on
chemistry. Areas of chemistry include: analytical, industrial and
applied, inorganic, materials, medicinal, organic, physical, polymer,
and surface & colloid. Also covers electrochemistry, geochemistry, fuels
and petrochemicals, photochemistry, separation science/chromatography,
and spectroscopy.
- CLEANTECHnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs focusing on renewable energy, clean and novel technologies, bio-energy, and eco-friendly agricultural practice.
- ENGnetBASE
Online collection of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
- ERGONOMICSnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of ergonomics.
- ENVIROnetBASE
Online collection of 140 environmental handbooks published by CRC Press. Broad categories covered include ecology, environmental modelling and systems analysis, environmental and ecological risk assessment, environmental and occupational health and safety, environmental chemistry and toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental law, landscape ecology, remote sensing - GIS - mapping, resource management and sustainability, turfgrass science and engineering, water science - technology and engineering.
-
FOODnetBASE
An online food research reference collection from CRC Press.
- IndustrialnetBASE
A searchable online collection of monographs and handbooks on manufacturing and industrial engineering from Taylor & Francis. The focus is on technical issues, quality and standards, and sales, marketing, and service.
- Kirk-Othmer: Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
It is is a comprehensive reference work on applied chemical science. It
features more than 800 articles including analytical techniques,
biochemistry, forensic chemistry, materials science, polymers and
plastics, and wine.
-
Knovel
An online collection of over 600 engineering and science books from a
wide range of publishers.
- OCCUP-HEALTHandSAFETYnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of occupational health and safety.
- POLYMERSnetBASE
A full-text product providing online access to the Polymer Materials Encyclopedia; Polymers, a property database, as well as a collection of books on polymer science published by Taylor & Francis.
-
Referex
This comprises over 300 fully searchable e-books in three
subject collections: chemical, petrochemical and process engineering;
mechanical and materials engineering; electronics & electrical
engineering. Each collection includes handbooks of engineering
fundamentals, titles focused on technique and practice and specialized
scholarly monographs.
-
NUTRITIONnetBASE
Online collection of over 70 handbooks and monographs on food and
nutrition science from Taylor & Francis.
-
MATERIALSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on materials science published by CRC
Press.
-
POLYMERSnetBASE
A full-text product providing online access to the Polymer Materials
Encyclopedia; Polymers, a property database, as well as a collection of
books on polymer science published by Taylor & Francis.
-
BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in
the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical
engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology,
microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- TEXTILEnetBASE
An online collection of monographs and handbooks from Taylor & Francis, covering a broad range of materials and applications, from conventional textiles to smart fabrics and wearable electronics. It provides information on the use of textiles in automotive engineering, sports, and biomedicine and includes several CRC handbooks with up-to-date information on weaving, design, and high-performance fibers.
- WATERnetBASE
An online collection of monographs and handbooks from Taylor & Francis on water science and engineering. Coverage is multidisciplinary, and the collection offers reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands.
-
ASM Handbooks Online
Online version of all current handbooks published by ASM International
plus 2 ASM desk editions. ASM International is the society for materials
engineers and scientists, a worldwide network dedicated to advancing
industry, technology and applications of metals and materials.
-
Characterization
of Materials
Online reference work from Wiley, providing
comprehensive up-to-date coverage of materials characterization techniques,
including computational and theoretical methods as well as crystallography,
mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy, and
more.
- Comprehensive Biomaterials
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform. It describes the current status of most biomaterials
- Comprehensive Biotechnology (2nd ed.)
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform, Comprehensive Biotechnology aiming to cover the essential elements of the field.
- Comprehensive Composite Materials
A searchable online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform covering all aspects of composites, from theory to practical applications.
- Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II
Online version of the second edition of Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry.
- Comprehensive Membrane Science and Engineering
An online reference work on the ScienceDirect platform covering all aspects of membrane science and technology.
- Comprehensive Natural Products II
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform focusing on trends in natural products research.
- Comprehensive Nanoscience and Technology
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform. It focuses on the major classes of nanomaterials in terms of their synthesis, structure, and applications, reviewing nanomaterials and their respective technologies in well-structured and comprehensive articles with extensive cross-references.
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III
Searchable online version of the third edition of Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry (COMC-III) originally published in 13 volumes, November 2006.
- Comprehensive Semiconductor Science and Technology
A searchable online reference work on the ScienceDirect platform. It provides extensive coverage of both the fundamental physics and the technology of semiconductors.
-
Merck Index
The Merck Index online is the electronic counterpart
of the printed Merck Index co-published by Merck & Co., Inc. and
CambridgeSoft. It is an encyclopaedia of organic and inorganic
chemicals, including naturally-occurring substances, laboratory
reagents, pharmaceuticals and drugs.
-
CHERUB - CHemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography
It is a
complete bibliographic reference source to the chemical engineering
literature, including general and specialist topics, taken from 49 of
the most important journals in the field.
-
Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the development and
design of procedures, equipment, and systems utilized in the production
and conversion of raw materials into food and nonfood consumer
goods—emphasizing and illustrating the various engineering processes
associated with the production of materials with agricultural origin.
- Encyclopedia of Aerospace Engineering
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley platform, offering original contributions from expert authors in the fields of engineering science that support the study and development of aerospace technology and vehicle design.
-
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry

Online encyclopedia published by Elsevier on its ScienceDirect platform.
It comprises more than 500 entries encompassing all aspects of
biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related
fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. It
is based on the 2nd print edition, published 2004.
-
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker surveying biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials- current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
-
Encyclopedia of Catalysis
A definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the
most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric,
biomimetic, and biological catalysis.
- Encyclopedia
of Chemical Processing
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker, comprising some 350 articles
on design, engineering and manufacturing practices.
- Encyclopedia
of Dairy Science
The encyclopedia addresses main topics of milk
production and dairy technology, with due recognition accorded to
nutritional and public health issues, as well as to dairy industry
economics, including aspects of trade in milk and dairy products. Its aim is
to provide a complete resource for researchers, students and practitioners
involved in all aspects of dairy sciences.' (Preface).
- Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences (2nd Edition)
A searchable online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform designed as a resource for researchers, students, and practitioners, and those involved with economic and nutritional policy. The second (2011) edition updates the original version published in 2003, incorporating some 120 new articles and many revisions.
- Encyclopedia of Electrochemical Power Sources
A searchable online encyclopaedia on the ScienceDirect platform with a focus on the environmental and economic impact of electrochemical power sources, including batteries, fuel cells, electrolyzers, supercapacitors, and photo-electrochemical cells.
- Encyclopedia
of Energy
This work represents first major scholarly study of an
issue that affects the modern world in every avenue of life, consisting of a
total of 380 overview articles in 20 discrete subject areas, written by
authors representing 40 different nations. All forms of energy are
thoroughly covered, as well as the interplay between energy use and the
environment and the effect of energy on history and society.
- Encyclopedia
of Environmental Microbiology
Comprehensive coverage of the various fields within
environmental microbiology: aeromicrobiology, aquatic, freshwater, marine,
subsurface, soil, extreme environments, biodegredation, public health,
drinking water, wastewater, biofilms, biotechnology, methodology.
-
Encyclopedia
of Food Sciences and Nutrition
Based on the revised 2003 print edition of the
Encyclopaedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition. Covers all aspects of the
field, including many new topics of interest, such as functional foods,
genetically modified foods, and food security.
- Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology
It comprises 400 articles, each approximately 4000 words in length and contains tables, line drawings, black-and-white photographs, or electron micrographs.
- Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences
A searchable online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform covering many aspects of forest science: including the relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management, recent advances in forest science techniques.
-
Encyclopedia of Genetics
One of the most comprehensive reference
works in the field of genetics. Includes over 1700 entries, covering all
aspects of the field.
- Encyclopedia of Industrial Biotechnology
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform, offering extensive coverage of industrial biotechnology in an A-Z format. The focus is on industrial biological processes, techniques, equipment, products, as well as ethical and regulatory issues.
-
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
A searchable and browsable
online encyclopedia from John Wiley, based on the 2nd print edition
published 2005 in 10 volumes. Coverage is extensive, including main
group elements; transition metals and coordination chemistry;
organometallic chemistry; bioinorganic chemistry; solid state,
materials, nanomaterials and catalysis; general inorganic chemistry,
theoretical and computational methods.
-
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
It
features more than 4,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed
articles, making it an essential read for life scientists and a valuable
resource for teaching. Aimed at researchers, students and teachers,
articles provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage, written by
leaders in the field.
-
Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine
Online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform, comprising over
200 articles representing a detailed treatment of the molecular and
cellular basis of life. The work was originally published in 6 vols in
2005.
-
Encyclopedia
of Polymer Science and Technology
Online reference work from Wiley, covering all areas
of polymer science, including nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical
techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, biomimetics, and
more.
- Encyclopedia
of Smart Materials
Online encyclopedia from Wiley, designed for material
scientists, chemists, chemical engineers, process engineers, consultants,
patent attorneys and students. Addresses commercial applications as well as
sophisticated units designed to operate in space, underwater, underground,
and within the human body.
-
Encyclopedia
of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
 All aspects of spectroscopy, and of mass spectrometry
and scattering phenomena, are covered in this comprehensive work, which is
intended for those using spectroscopical techniques for their research or
professional practice. Theoretical background, details of instrumentation
and technology, and current applications, are included for each area of
spectroscopy, together with the history of important areas.
-
Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry
Online encyclopaedia
covering the latest supramolecular advancements and methods in the areas
of chemistry, biochemistry, biology, environmental and materials science
and engineering, physics, computer science, and applied mathematics.
-
Encyclopedia
of Surface and Colloid Science
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker, comprising
over 400 entries and more than 11,000 illustrations (equations, tables,
drawings, photographs). Coverage includes recent developments in drug
delivery, enzyme behavior, and protein adsorption; the current utilization
of colloids, emulsions, foams, gels, and fine particles; chemical behavior
at electrochemical, fluid-fluid, polymer, soil, mineral, and atmospheric
boundaries; mechanisms of catalysis, transport, and adsorption;
characterization of fatty acids and lipids; commercial uses for membranes.
-
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
It covers the physical processes
that drive the oceans and the chemical, biological, and geological
regimes. All methods of studying the oceans, from ship-based systems to
satellite remote sensing are covered, as are ancillary topics such as
the law of the oceans, use of the oceans for food and energy, and the
impact of pollution and climate change.
-
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics and Proteomics
25,000 entries describing terms and concepts in cell and developmental
biology, immunology, hereditary diseases, and molecular evolution, as
well as the state of the art in genomics and proteomics.
-
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
A searchable continuously updated
online reference work devoted to the cross-disciplinary field of chemical
biology.
-
Wiley
Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform containing over
350 peer reviewed articles in areas such as biochemical engineering,
biomedical education, biomedical devices and instrumentation, human
performance and reverse engineering, rehabilitation and orthopedic
engineering. It is designed to meet the needs of readers ranging from
undergraduate students to research scientists.
-
Handbook
of Chemicals and Gases for the Semiconductor Industry
Online reference work from Wiley, providing a
comprehensive guide to the chemicals and gases used in semiconductor
manufacturing. The fabrication of semiconductor devices involves a series of
complex chemical processes such as photolithography, etching, cleaning, thin
film deposition, and polishing. The Handbook offers a convenient source of
information on the properties, applications, and health and safety
considerations of the chemicals used in these processes.
- Handbook of Combustion
A searchable online reference work on the Wiley platform, providing in-depth coverage of fundamentals of gas, liquid, and solid combustion, emerging technologies, and combustion diagnostics and safety. Over 100 academic and industry specialists have contributed to the work, under the editorship of Avanash Kumar Agarwal, Maximilian Lackner, and Franz Winter.
- Handbook
of Plant Technology
Online handbook published by Wiley
providing extensive coverage of the field, including articles on plant
genetic modification; applications of plant biotechnology to crop
improvement in agriculture, production systems for pharmaceutical
proteins, ethics and safety issues, public perception and public
relations; scale-up, and testing and legislation.
- Handbook of Biosensors and Biochips
An online reference work on the Wiley InterScience platform describing many of the applications used in medical diagnostics, environmental control and pharmaceutical and food industries.
- Handbook of Statistical Genetics

Online handbook published by Wiley, designed as a reference resource for
statisticians interested in genetic applications, and geneticists
seeking a deeper knowledge of statistical methods in their field
-
Protein Science Encyclopedia
A continuously updated online
reference work on the Wiley InterScience platform, focusing on the function
of proteins, analytical methods, the engineering of proteins, and medical
aspects. The encyclopedia comprises 160 articles in 14 subject areas.
-
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II
Online version of the second edition of Comprehensive Coordination
Chemistry.
-
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III
Searchable online version of the third edition of Comprehensive
Organometallic Chemistry (COMC-III) originally published in 13 volumes,
November 2006.
- Nanotechnology
A searchable online version of a major handbook published in 9 volumes by Wiley-VCH in 2009. It provides a comprehensive overview of nanotechnology and nanoscience using a cross-disciplinary approach. Fundamentals and applications are covered in almost a hundred contributions by leading professionals in this field.
-
ATSDR's toxicological profiles
A searchable collection of
toxicological profiles from the U.S. The profiles cover the effects of
hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds and contain over 40,000
pages of data from the printed version, including information on
mitigation of health effects, data gaps, and all available health data.
-
Dictionary
of
Civil
Engineering
It
is available in SpringLink database covering
Engineering, Characterization
and Evaluation Materials, Hydrogeology, Industrial Chemistry/Chemical
Engineering, Geotechnical
Engineering and
Civil
Engineering.
-
Springer
Handbook
of
Engineering
Statistics
It is available in SpringLink database
covering Engineering, Quality
Control, Reliability, Safety and Risk,
Statistics for
Engineering, Physics, Computer
Science, Chemistry & Geosciences, Industrial and Production
Engineering,
Business/Management Science, general and Industrial Chemistry/Chemical
Engineering.
-
Credo Rererence
An online quick reference collection containing more than 1,000,000 entries and
5,000 images. It comprises dictionaries, directories and encyclopaedias from
publishers such as Bloomsbury, Harper Collins, Penguin, Routledge, and Thames &
Hudson. The works cover a wide range of subjects, including art history,
political studies, philosophy, history, linguistics, and religious studies. This
collection was previously titled Xrefer.
- Martindale's Calculators On-line Center
(Internet)
This site contains over 18,135 calculators for everything from Engineering to recipe conversions.
- NIST Data Gateway
(Internet)
It provides easy access to NIST scientific and
technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and
properties from many different scientific disciplines.
- Britannica online
The complete encyclopedia plus 300,000 links to selected web sites
- Columbia Encyclopedia
(Internet)
This free online encyclopedia
contains over 50,000 entries and more than 84,000 hypertext
cross-references covering a wide range of research and reference topics.
The Columbia Encyclopedia is one of the most complete and up-to-date
electronic encyclopedias ever produced.

Civil & Environmental Engineering 
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
-
ENGnetBASE
Online collection of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
-
Knovel
An online collection of over 600 engineering and science books from a
wide range of publishers.
-
ENVIROnetBASE
Online collection of 140 environmental handbooks published by CRC Press.
Broad categories covered include ecology, environmental modelling and
systems analysis, environmental and ecological risk assessment,
environmental and occupational health and safety, environmental
chemistry and toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental law,
landscape ecology, remote sensing - GIS - mapping, resource management
and sustainability, turfgrass science and engineering, water science -
technology and engineering.
-
NANOnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on nanoscience and nanotechnology
published by CRC Press.
- WATERnetBASE
An online collection of monographs and handbooks from Taylor & Francis on water science and engineering. Coverage is multidisciplinary, and the collection offers reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands.
Encyclopedia
of Environmental Microbiology
Comprehensive coverage of the various fields within
environmental microbiology: aeromicrobiology, aquatic, freshwater, marine,
subsurface, soil, extreme environments, biodegredation, public health,
drinking water, wastewater, biofilms, biotechnology, methodology.
-
Encyclopedia of Geology
Online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform. It
Covers all aspects of geology.
-
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences
 Online encyclopedia on the
Wiley InterScience platform. Written and edited by international
authorities in the field, and comprising approximately 200 substantial
articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed, expert coverage. Organized
into 17 themed parts for the reader’s convenience, it offers up-to-date,
scientifically rigorous information on all key aspects of the subject,
from sub-catchment to the global scale.
-
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
It covers the physical processes
that drive the oceans and the chemical, biological, and geological
regimes. All methods of studying the oceans, from ship-based systems to
satellite remote sensing are covered, as are ancillary topics such as
the law of the oceans, use of the oceans for food and energy, and the
impact of pollution and climate change.
-
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the chemistry, analysis,
and evaluation of soils, with a focus on agriculture development in the
third world, particularly through research on sustainable management of
natural resources, soil productivity and environmental quality. The work
outlines the agricultural, environmental, industrial, and cultural
components that affect soil productivity; advances the design of new
control and purification strategies for soils in a wide variety of
environments; discusses all branches of soil science, from mineralogy
and physics to soil management and restoration.
-
Dictionary
of
Civil
Engineering
It
is available in SpringLink database covering
Engineering, Characterization
and Evaluation Materials, Hydrogeology, Industrial Chemistry/Chemical
Engineering, Geotechnical
Engineering and
Civil
Engineering.
-
Credo Rererence
An online quick reference collection containing more than 1,000,000 entries and
5,000 images. It comprises dictionaries, directories and encyclopaedias from
publishers such as Bloomsbury, Harper Collins, Penguin, Routledge, and Thames &
Hudson. The works cover a wide range of subjects, including art history,
political studies, philosophy, history, linguistics, and religious studies. This
collection was previously titled Xrefer.
- Martindale's Calculators On-line Center
(Internet)
This site contains over 18,135 calculators for everything from Engineering to recipe conversions.
- NIST Data Gateway
(Internet)
It provides easy access to NIST scientific and
technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and
properties from many different scientific disciplines.
- Britannica online
The complete encyclopedia plus 300,000 links to selected web sites
- Columbia Encyclopedia
(Internet)
This free online encyclopedia
contains over 50,000 entries and more than 84,000 hypertext
cross-references covering a wide range of research and reference topics.
The Columbia Encyclopedia is one of the most complete and up-to-date
electronic encyclopedias ever produced.

Electrical & Computer Engineering 
- COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of computer science.
- Comprehensive Semiconductor Science and Technology
A searchable online reference work on the ScienceDirect platform, originally published in six volumes in 2011. Comprehensive semiconductor science and technology provides extensive coverage of both the fundamental physics and the technology of semiconductors.
- CRCnetBASE, ENGnetBASE,
NANOnetBASE,
InfoSECURITYnetBASE, ITKnowledgeBASE, PHYSICSnetBASE, STATSnetBASE
Searchable online databases containing scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis and CRC Press.
- Encyclopedia
of Energy
This work represents first major scholarly study of an
issue that affects the modern world in every avenue of life, consisting of a
total of 380 overview articles in 20 discrete subject areas, written by
authors representing 40 different nations. All forms of energy are
thoroughly covered, as well as the interplay between energy use and the
environment and the effect of energy on history and society.
-
Encyclopedia of Information Systems
An online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform based on the 4
volume work originally published by Academic Press in 2003. Provides
both both general and technical information about major elements,
issues, and opinions on information technology.
-
Encyclopedia of Telecommunications
It provides a broad overview of the
fundamentals of telecommunications and recent advances in the field.
Topics include optical communications, modulation and demodulation,
coding and decoding, communication networks and antennas. Includes more
than 300 articles.
- Energy & Power Source
A searchable online collection on the EbscoHost platform offering indexing and extensive full-text coverage from over 1,000 publications relating to the energy and power industries- petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others. The content includes journals, books, magazines, market reports, and a wide range of trade publications.
-
Handbook
of
Reliability Engineering
It is available in SpringLink database
covering Engineering, Statistics for Engineering, Physics, Computer Science,
Chemistry & Geosciences, Quality Control,
Reliability, Safety and Risk, Software Engineering and Optimization.
-
Handbook
of
Recording Engineering
It is available in SpringLink database
covering Engineering, Signal, Image
and Speech Processing, Electronic and Computer
Engineering, Multimedia Information
Systems and Music.
- Knovel
An online collection of over 600 engineering and science books from a
wide range of publishers.
- Referex
This comprises over 300 fully searchable e-books in three
subject collections: chemical, petrochemical and process engineering;
mechanical and materials engineering; electronics & electrical
engineering. Each collection includes handbooks of engineering
fundamentals, titles focused on technique and practice and specialized
scholarly monographs.
- Safari Tech Books Online
It is a e-reference library for programmers and IT professional.
- Standard handbook for electrical engineers, 15th ed.
This handbook is available in Ebrary database. It is a definitive handbook covering the manufacture, transmission, distribution, measurement and use (including all the technical aspects) needed by engineers working with electrical systems.
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley Online Library platform covering topics of interest to computer scientists and engineers, including computer architectures, networks, and interconnects, performance evaluation and real-time computing, artificial intelligence, electronic commerce, and computer education.
- Britannica online
The complete encyclopedia plus 300,000 links to selected web sites
- Columbia Encyclopedia
(Internet)
This free online encyclopedia
contains over 50,000 entries and more than 84,000 hypertext
cross-references covering a wide range of research and reference topics.
The Columbia Encyclopedia is one of the most complete and up-to-date
electronic encyclopedias ever produced.
- Credo Reference
An online quick reference collection containing more than 1,000,000 entries and
5,000 images. It comprises dictionaries, directories and encyclopaedias from
publishers such as Bloomsbury, Harper Collins, Penguin, Routledge, and Thames &
Hudson. The works cover a wide range of subjects, including art history,
political studies, philosophy, history, linguistics, and religious studies. This
collection was previously titled Xrefer.
- Martindale's Calculators On-line Center (Internet)
This site contains over 18,135 calculators for everything from Engineering to recipe conversions.
- NIST Data Gateway (Internet)
It provides easy access to NIST scientific and
technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and
properties from many different scientific disciplines.

Engineering Science
- BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
- Comprehensive Biomaterials
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform. It describes the current status of most biomaterials.
- Comprehensive Biotechnology (2nd ed.)
A searchable online handbook on the ScienceDirect platform, Comprehensive Biotechnology aiming to cover the essential elements of the field.
- COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE
A collection of full-text handbooks and monographs covering most areas of computer science.
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker surveying biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials- current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the development and design of procedures, equipment, and systems utilized in the production and conversion of raw materials into food and nonfood consumer goods—emphasizing and illustrating the various engineering processes associated with the production of materials with agricultural origin.
- Encyclopedia of Aerospace Engineering
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley platform, offering original contributions from expert authors in the fields of engineering science that support the study and development of aerospace technology and vehicle design.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform. covering areas such as optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics, and biophysics.
- Encyclopedia of Geology
Online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform. It Covers all aspects of geology.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
It contains more than 400 brand new articles that have been added to the site through monthly updates since the encyclopedia was originally launched in April, 2001. Hundreds of articles have also been revised, amended or expanded since publication.
- Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
A searchable online encyclopedia on the ScienceDirect platform, providing articles on a wide range of subjects in the field of mathematical physics.
- Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine
Online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform, comprising over 200 articles representing a detailed treatment of the molecular and cellular basis of life. The work was originally published in 6 vols in 2005.
- Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker covering the chemistry, analysis, and evaluation of soils, with a focus on agriculture development in the third world, particularly through research on sustainable management of natural resources, soil productivity and environmental quality. The work outlines the agricultural, environmental, industrial, and cultural components that affect soil productivity; advances the design of new control and purification strategies for soils in a wide variety of environments; discusses all branches of soil science, from mineralogy and physics to soil management and restoration.
- Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences

It covers most aspects of the Statistical Sciences -- including probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics with emphasis in applications of statistical methods in sociology, engineering, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, survey methodology, and a host of other client disciplines.
- Encyclopedia of Statistics in Quality and Reliability
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform focusing on statistical techniques in quality engineering. It provides in-depth coverage of a wide variety of topics, including six sigma, data mining, process capability and measurement systems analysis. It includes a large selection of case studies and practical suggestions, and is designed for academics and professionals applying statistical methods in industry.
- ENGnetBASE
Online collection of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
- InfoSECURITYnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on computer security published by CRC Press.
- ITKnowledgeBASE
An online collection of 278 fulltext monographs on information technology, from Auerbach Publications and CRC Press.
- Knovel
An online collection of over 600 engineering and science books from a wide range of publishers.
- MATHnetBASE
An online, searchable collection of texts in pure and applied
mathematics, published by CRC Press.
- PHYSICSnetBASE
Online collection of books on physics published by Taylor & Francis.
- SIAM Reference Collection
A searchable online collection of over 300 books published by the
Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
-
Safari Tech Books Online
It is a e-reference library for programmers and IT professional.
- STATSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks and other statistical texts published by CRC Press. Covers statistical theory & methods in all areas, including Bayesian approaches, computer applications, environmental statistics, medical statistics and biostatistics
- Wiley
Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform containing over
350 peer reviewed articles in areas such as biochemical engineering,
biomedical education, biomedical devices and instrumentation, human
performance and reverse engineering, rehabilitation and orthopedic
engineering. It is designed to meet the needs of readers ranging from
undergraduate students to research scientists.
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science
A searchable online encyclopedia on the Wiley Online Library platform providing broad coverage of mathematical theory, algorithms, modeling, and application issues in operations research and management science. The work has an internatonal focus, and features articles from a diverse range of contributors, from academia, industry, business, government, and the military.
-
Handbook of Statistical Genetics
Online handbook published by Wiley, designed as a reference resource for
statisticians interested in genetic applications, and geneticists
seeking a deeper knowledge of statistical methods in their field.
-
NANOnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on nanoscience and nanotechnology
published by CRC Press.
-
Referex
This comprises over 300 fully searchable e-books in three
subject collections: chemical, petrochemical and process engineering;
mechanical and materials engineering; electronics & electrical
engineering. Each collection includes handbooks of engineering
fundamentals, titles focused on technique and practice and specialized
scholarly monographs.
-
Springer
Handbook
of
Engineering
Statistics
It is available in SpringLink database
covering Engineering, Quality
Control, Reliability, Safety and Risk,
Statistics for
Engineering, Physics, Computer
Science, Chemistry & Geosciences, Industrial and Production
Engineering,
Business/Management Science, general and Industrial Chemistry/Chemical
Engineering.
- Credo Rererence
An online quick reference collection containing more than 1,000,000 entries and
5,000 images. It comprises dictionaries, directories and encyclopaedias from
publishers such as Bloomsbury, Harper Collins, Penguin, Routledge, and Thames &
Hudson. The works cover a wide range of subjects, including art history,
political studies, philosophy, history, linguistics, and religious studies. This
collection was previously titled Xrefer.
- Martindale's Calculators On-line Center
(Internet)
This site contains over 18,135 calculators for everything from Engineering to recipe conversions.
- NIST Data Gateway
(Internet)
It provides easy access to NIST scientific and
technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and
properties from many different scientific disciplines.
- Britannica online
The complete encyclopedia plus 300,000 links to selected web sites
- Columbia Encyclopedia
(Internet)
This free online encyclopedia
contains over 50,000 entries and more than 84,000 hypertext
cross-references covering a wide range of research and reference topics.
The Columbia Encyclopedia is one of the most complete and up-to-date
electronic encyclopedias ever produced.

Mechanical
Engineering
- CRCnetBASE
A searchable online database containing over 3,000 scientific and technical handbooks, reference works and other texts published by Taylor & Francis.
- ENGnetBASE
Online collection of engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
-
CHEMnetBASE
A collection of online chemical dictionaries and reference works
comprising the Dictionary of commonly cited compounds; Handbook of
chemistry & physics; Polymers, a property database; Properties of
organic compounds. Includes the Combined chemical dictionary (CCD
online) which incorporates the contents of the Dictionary of organic
compounds; Dictionary of natural products; Dictionary of inorganic and
organometallic compounds; Dictionary of pharmacological agents;
Dictionary of analytical reagents; Dictionary of drugs.
-
MATERIALSnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on materials science published by CRC
Press.
-
POLYMERSnetBASE
A full-text product providing online access to the Polymer Materials
Encyclopedia; Polymers, a property database, as well as a collection of
books on polymer science published by Taylor & Francis.
- TEXTILEnetBASE
An online collection of monographs and handbooks from Taylor & Francis, covering a broad range of materials and applications, from conventional textiles to smart fabrics and wearable electronics. It provides information on the use of textiles in automotive engineering, sports, and biomedicine and includes several CRC handbooks with up-to-date information on weaving, design, and high-performance fibers.
- ProjectManagementnetBASE
A searchable online collection of monographs and reference works from Taylor & Francis.
-
Knovel
An online collection of over 600 engineering and science books from a
wide range of publishers.
-
BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
An online collection of over 90 full-text handbooks and monographs in
the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical
engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology,
microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
-
NANOnetBASE
Online collection of handbooks on nanoscience and nanotechnology
published by CRC Press.
-
ASM Handbooks Online
Online version of all current handbooks published by ASM International
plus 2 ASM desk editions. ASM International is the society for materials
engineers and scientists, a worldwide network dedicated to advancing
industry, technology and applications of metals and materials.
-
Characterization
of Materials
Online reference work from Wiley, providing
comprehensive up-to-date coverage of materials characterization techniques,
including computational and theoretical methods as well as crystallography,
mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy, and
more.
-
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker surveying biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials- current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
-
Encyclopedia
of Chemical Processing
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker, comprising some 350 articles
on design, engineering and manufacturing practices.
-
Encyclopedia
of Energy
This work represents first major scholarly study of an
issue that affects the modern world in every avenue of life, consisting of a
total of 380 overview articles in 20 discrete subject areas, written by
authors representing 40 different nations. All forms of energy are
thoroughly covered, as well as the interplay between energy use and the
environment and the effect of energy on history and society.
-
Encyclopedia
of Polymer Science and Technology
Online reference work from Wiley, covering all areas
of polymer science, including nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical
techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, biomimetics, and
more.
- Encyclopedia
of Smart Materials
 Online encyclopedia from Wiley, designed for material
scientists, chemists, chemical engineers, process engineers, consultants,
patent attorneys and students. Addresses commercial applications as well as
sophisticated units designed to operate in space, underwater, underground,
and within the human body.
-
Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry
Online encyclopaedia
covering the latest supramolecular advancements and methods in the areas
of chemistry, biochemistry, biology, environmental and materials science
and engineering, physics, computer science, and applied mathematics.
-
Encyclopedia
of Surface and Colloid Science
Online encyclopedia from Marcel Dekker, comprising
over 400 entries and more than 11,000 illustrations (equations, tables,
drawings, photographs). Coverage includes recent developments in drug
delivery, enzyme behavior, and protein adsorption; the current utilization
of colloids, emulsions, foams, gels, and fine particles; chemical behavior
at electrochemical, fluid-fluid, polymer, soil, mineral, and atmospheric
boundaries; mechanisms of catalysis, transport, and adsorption;
characterization of fatty acids and lipids; commercial uses for membranes.
-
Wiley
Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
An online encyclopedia on the Wiley InterScience platform containing over
350 peer reviewed articles in areas such as biochemical engineering,
biomedical education, biomedical devices and instrumentation, human
performance and reverse engineering, rehabilitation and orthopedic
engineering. It is designed to meet the needs of readers ranging from
undergraduate students to research scientists.
-
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II
Online version of the second edition of Comprehensive Coordination
Chemistry. The first edition (CCC-I) appeared in 1987 under the
editorship of Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson (Editor-in-Chief), Robert D.
Gillard and Jon A. McCleverty. It was intended to give a contemporary
overview of the field, providing both a convenient first source of
information and a vehicle to stimulate further advances. The second
edition (CCC-II) builds on the first and will survey developments since
1980 authoritatively and critically with a greater emphasis on current
trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary
scientific interest.
-
Referex
This comprises over 300 fully searchable e-books in three
subject collections: chemical, petrochemical and process engineering;
mechanical and materials engineering; electronics & electrical
engineering. Each collection includes handbooks of engineering
fundamentals, titles focused on technique and practice and specialized
scholarly monographs.
-
Dictionary
of
Civil
Engineering
It
is available in SpringLink database covering
Engineering, Characterization
and Evaluation Materials, Hydrogeology, Industrial Chemistry/Chemical
Engineering, Geotechnical
Engineering and
Civil
Engineering.
-
Springer
Handbook
of
Engineering
Statistics
It is available in SpringLink database
covering Engineering, Quality
Control, Reliability, Safety and Risk,
Statistics for
Engineering, Physics, Computer
Science, Chemistry & Geosciences, Industrial and Production
Engineering,
Business/Management Science, general and Industrial Chemistry/Chemical
Engineering.
-
Credo Rererence
An online quick reference collection containing more than 1,000,000 entries and
5,000 images. It comprises dictionaries, directories and encyclopaedias from
publishers such as Bloomsbury, Harper Collins, Penguin, Routledge, and Thames &
Hudson. The works cover a wide range of subjects, including art history,
political studies, philosophy, history, linguistics, and religious studies. This
collection was previously titled Xrefer.
- Martindale's Calculators On-line Center
(Internet)
This site contains over 18,135 calculators for everything from Engineering to recipe conversions.
- NIST Data Gateway
(Internet)
It provides easy access to NIST scientific and
technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and
properties from many different scientific disciplines.
- Britannica online
The complete encyclopedia plus 300,000 links to selected web sites
- Columbia Encyclopedia
(Internet)
This free online encyclopedia
contains over 50,000 entries and more than 84,000 hypertext
cross-references covering a wide range of research and reference topics.
The Columbia Encyclopedia is one of the most complete and up-to-date
electronic encyclopedias ever produced.
-
eFunda: The Ultimate Online Reference
for Engineers (Internet)
The ultimate online reference for the
mechanical engineering community.

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources
Guides
| Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering
File last updated :
24 January, 2012
This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Dahlia Han |