MECHANICAL    ENGINEERING

INTERNET    RESOURCES


Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


Alternative & Advanced Fuels from the Alternative & Advanced Fuels Data Center
Provides information on alternative & advanced fuels including Biodiesel, Ethanol, Hydrogen, Methanol, Natural Gas, Propane, Biobutanol, Biogas, Biomass to Liquids (BTL), Coal to Liquids (CTL), Fischer-Tropsch Diesel, Gas to Liquids (GTL), Hydrogenation-Derived Renewable Diesel (HDRD), P-Series, and Ultra-Low Sulfur Diesel along with related topics such as Fuel Blends, Fuel Prices, Fuel Properties, and Fueling Stations. For Biodiesel publications see: http://www.afdc.energy.gov/afdc/fuels/biodiesel_publications.html.

Aerospace , UK.
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
American Welding Society (AWS)
Animated Engines
Contains descriptions and animations of nineteen different kinds of engines. Each animation shows how the piston, crankshaft, and other components move together to generate power.
Automotive Intelligence
Contains news and articles on products, companies and events from the international automobile industry.
AviationNow
International aviation news.
E4 Network
The E4 Network is a group of sites from UK business publisher Centaur Communications providing information and services to those working in industry and the engineering professions. The E4 Network includes e4engineering.com, e4data.com, e4jobnet.com, and e4production.net.
Encyclopedia Astronautica
Comprehensive reference for the history of spaceflight from 1930 to the present with information on rockets, spacecraft, launch vehicles, astronauts, cosmonauts, engines, & exploration.
Forest Products Society
The Forest Products Society is an international not-for-profit technical association providing an information network for all segments of the forest products industry. It seeks to foster innovation and research in the environmentally sound processing and use of wood and fiber resources.
Forest Research (NZ)
IPENZ Publications
Publications from The Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ), the professional body which represents professional engineers from all disciplines in New Zealand.
Jane's Defence site
Widely recognised as the publishers of Jane's Defence Weekly, Jane's Fighting Ships and Jane's All the World's Aircraft, the Jane's product line includes weekly, monthly, quarterly and annual information products with almost 200 releases in varied frequency and media in any given year.

Manufacturing Business Technology
Provides information technology for manufacturing management including a free subscription to MSI magazine and access to other electronic newsletters, and current news of business companies, products and events.

MicroElectroMechanical Systems (MEMS)
MicroElectroMechanical systems (MEMS) are small integrated devices or systems that combine electrical and mechanical components.
The site covers : a bibliography of current research in the area, links to relevant Web sites, a glossary of useful terms.
Examples of MEMS device applications include : inkjet-printer cartridges; accelerometers; miniature robots; microengines; locks; inertial sensors; microtransmissions; micromirrors; micro actuators; optical scanners; fluid pumps; transducers; chemical, pressure and flow sensors.
NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)
NTRS allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. Specifically, it is a unified interface to many separate WAIS servers.
National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA)
It is a searchable UK archive of digitised NACA Reports maintained by the AERADE team.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
NTIS is the largest, central resource for US government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information currently available. It provides free searching of 450,000 abstracted publications and a portal to online purchasing.
Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL)
The ORNL is a multiprogram science and technology laboratory managed for the U.S. Department of Energy by UT-Battelle, LLC. It develops new energy sources, technologies, and materials by conducting research in the biological, chemical, computational, engineering, environmental, physical, and social sciences.
OSTI
You can search science information and download research results using special federated search technology tools.
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME )
The Society of Manufacturing Engineers is the world’s leading professional society supporting manufacturing education. Through its member programs, publications, expositions, and professional development resources, SME promotes an increased awareness of manufacturing engineering and helps keep manufacturing professionals up to date on leading trends and technologies. Website features include a technical paper archive and e-library, the SME bookstore, and free technical quarterlies, online newsletters, and SME news.
SpaceDaily
SpaceDaily contains news on space exploration and associated topics and produces the SpaceDaily Express which is a free text-based newsletter distributed via email most working days.
Tutorial on Internet information skills for mechanical engineering
A free "teach yourself" tutorial on Internet information skills for mechanical engineering.
Wind energy
Hosted by the Danish Wind Industry Association, this excellent site on wind power contains more than 100 animated pages and calculators on wind resources, wind turbine technology, economics, and environmental aspects of wind energy in the Guided Tour and a 28 minute video.

Back to top

These sites are recommended by Emil Melnichenko and staff.


Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated: 8 September, 2011

This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Emil Melnichenko