Electrical and Computer Engineering Web Resources

Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources
Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


Websites & Technical Information | Electronic books | Electronic journals | Organisations | Software

Software for ECE:
Useful sources for software information include the databases SpringerLink and Safari. In addition, these sites contain textbooks, guides, tutorials, examples, and the software itself. They are grouped under the following headings:

General software

Altium Designer

C, C+, C#, etc 

Gnuplot

JabRef 

JML

LASI

Linux

LTSpice

LyX

NS2

PSpice

Python

Quartus

R

Snack

Tcl

Xfig

General software links:

National HPCC Software Exchange
http://www.nhse.org
"The National HPCC Software Exchange (NHSE) is a distributed collection of software, documents, data and information of interest to the high performance and parallel computing community (HPCC)." Development of the NHSE is carried out by the Center for Research on Parallel Computation (CRPC) at Rice University. The site has a searchable software catalogue, and searchable HPCC Related Bibliographies and Reports sections, together with links to other software catalogues and repositories. There is a web-based electronic journal (NHSE Review) dedicated to reviewing HPCC software and technologies in a comparative fashion. There are also links to commercial hardware and software.

Operating systems, software information
http://www.oopweb.com/
"Search thousands of mirrored tutorials, lecture notes and online books : on Ada - Assembly - C / C++ - CSS - HTML - Java - JavaScript - LISP - Perl - Prolog - Python - XHTML – XML Algorithms - Compilers - Communications - Dictionaries - Graphics - Operating Systems - OOD"

Programming resources
http://freeprogrammingresources.com/
"Free Programming Resources is a directory of links to free programmer resources and free webmaster resources, including free programming tutorials, free online programming books, free compilers, free interpreters, free programming tools, and free source code. There are also free web design and free web programming links and free webmaster resources."

Safari Tech Books Online
www.library.auckland.ac.nz/databases/learn_database/public.asp?record=SafTecBooOnl
A collection of books on information technology (including Artificial Intelligence, Computer Science, Hardware, Human-Computer Interaction, Internet/Online, IT Management, Markup Languages, Multimedia, Networking, Operating Systems, Programming, Security, Software Engineering) from a range of publishers e.g. O'Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley, Prentice Hall, and Cisco Press.

Altium Designer

http://www.altium.com/products/altium-designer/en/altium-designer_home.cfm
Link to Altium Designer and Learning guides.

C, C+, C#, etc

C++ In Action
http://www.relisoft.com/book/
"The author of C++ In Action calls this a 'web book'; it also exists in printed form. It aims to help readers to be able to " write reliable and maintainable code, easy to understand by other members of the team. The person should know advanced programming techniques such as synchronization in a multithreaded environment, effective use of virtual memory, debugging techniques, etc."

http://www.research.att.com/~bs/C++.html
A page by the "designer and original implementor of C++." that contains many useful tips.

http://www.computer-books.us/c.php
Links to free online books on C, standards, and other information

Gnuplot

http://www.gnuplot.info/
"Gnuplot is a portable command-line driven interactive data and function plotting utility for UNIX, IBM OS/2, MS Windows, DOS, Macintosh, VMS, Atari and many other platforms. The software is copyrighted but freely distributed (i.e., you don't have to pay for it). It was originally intended as to allow scientists and students to visualize mathematical functions and data. It does this job pretty well, but has grown to support many non-interactive uses, including web scripting and integration as a plotting engine for third-party applications like Octave. Gnuplot has been supported and under development since 1986. Gnuplot supports many types of plots in either 2D and 3D. It can draw using lines, points, boxes, contours, vector fields, surfaces, and various associated text. It also supports various specialized plot types. Gnuplot supports many different types of terminals: interactive screen terminals (with mouse and hotkey functionality), pen plotters (like hpgl), printers (including postscript and many color devices), and printings to output file as vectorial pseudo-devices like LaTeX, metafont, pdf, svg, or bitmap png. Gnuplot is easily extensible to include new devices.

JabRef

JabRef Reference Manager
http://jabref.sourceforge.net/
" JabRef is an open source bibliography reference manager. The native file format used by JabRef is BibTeX, the standard LaTeX bibliography format. JabRef runs on the Java VM (version 1.5 or newer), and should work equally well on Windows, Linux and Mac OS X."

JML

The Java Modeling Language (JML)
http://www.eecs.ucf.edu/~leavens/JML/

This page contains links to articles and information about JML and how to use it and associated tools.

LASI

LAyout System for Individuals
http://members.aol.com/lasicad/
"is a "general purpose" IC layout and design system. It was not specifically intended for CMOS logic circuits, but most people use it for that purpose. LASI can also draw and analyze schematics and do an LVS. It can also be used for PC boards, MEMS and project documentation drawings. It is however not really optimized for elaborate mechanical or architectural drawings.  LASI hopefully teaches not only IC design but a better understanding of what you are really doing. To use LASI, you need to know something about IC technology, the physics involved and have some circuit intuition, not just know how to run software."

Linux

The Linux Documentation Project.
http://www.tdlp.org/
Useful information on using Linux, including in depth books, guides, FAQs and recent news and upgrades.

Your Daily Source for Embedded Linux Information
http://alllinuxdevices.com/
Good information on Linux including tutorials. Categories are: Linux Applications, Linux Companies, Linux Distributions, Linux Multimedia – Games, Linux Network Administration, Linux News – Media, Linux Software, Linux Support – Tutorial, Linux Security – Networking, X-Windows Systems

LTSpice

Linear Technology site for LTSpice with downloads, guides and demo circuits
http://www.linear.com/designtools/software/

LTSpice user's group
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/LTspice/
"This Group will include relevant information about Berkeley Spice 3, which is a core element of the program. It will contain links to models, hints and kinks not contained in the program's Help or website, etc."

Lyx

LyX
http://www.lyx.org/
"LyX is a document processor that encourages an approach to writing based on the structure of your documents, not their appearance. It is released under a Free Software / Open Source license. "

Desktop software
http://www.linux.com/feature/118403
"LyX 1.5: What you see is what you mean By Nathan Willis on August 10, 2007.  According to its Web site, LyX is "the first WYSIWYM document processor," coupling a familiar word processing front end to the powerful LaTeX typesetting engine. Last month's new version 1.5 release includes a revamped interface, big improvements in multilanguage support, and enhanced tools for incorporating math, tables, and outlines. "

Litt's LyX Library
http://www.troubleshooters.com/linux/lyx/
Links to help with Lyx for book/ report writing.

NS2

The Network Simulator ns-2: Documentation
http://www.isi.edu/nsnam/ns/ns-documentation.html
"The ns Manual (formerly ns Notes and Documentation). The VINT Project A Collaboration between researchers at UC Berkeley, LBL, USC/ISI, and Xerox PARC. Kevin Fall hkfall@ee.lbl.govi, Editor Kannan Varadhan hkannan@catarina.usc.edui, Editor.   February 12, 2007.   ns c is LBNL’s Network Simulator [24]. The simulator is written in C++; it uses OTcl as a command and configuration interface. ns v2 has three substantial changes from ns v1: (1) the more complex objects in ns v1 have been decomposed into simpler components for greater flexibility and composability; (2) the configuration interface is now OTcl, an object oriented version of Tcl; and (3) the interface code to the OTcl interpreter is separate from the main simulator."

PSpice

PSpice tutorials
http://www.uta.edu/ee/hw/pspice/index.php/
These tutorials by the University of Texas at Arlington include examples of proper syntax (beginning with the basic notation used to describe connectivity within a circuit), various circuit elements, and the process of performing transient analysis.


Python

http://www.voidspace.org.uk/python/index.shtml
"The programs page contains links to, and descriptions of, the handful of complete programs that I've written. The modules page has links to all the python modules I've written. This includes ConfigObj which is a very useful config file parser that sneaks into most of what I do. There are several high quality modules here. Some of them deserve, and have got, their own pages. These will only be of interest to python programmers. The recipebook contains smaller modules and useful snippets of code. Python is a great language for delivering web applications. Check out my CGI Homepage for the online apps and modules that I've written. There are online versions to test, and code to download. In the articles section are various articles and tutorials. They are on Python and other computer related subjects. Most of them are by me, but there is also a set of links to other relevant articles on Voidspace.

http://www.python.org/
The official Python site.

Quartus

http://www.altera.com/literature/lit-qts.jsp
"The Altera® Quartus® II design software is the most comprehensive environment available for system-on-a-programmable-chip (SOPC) design. This manual is designed for the novice Quartus II software user and provides an overview of the capabilities of the Quartus II software in programmable logic design."

R

http://www.r-project.org/foundation/
"Among the goals of the R Foundation are the support of continued development of R, the exploration of new methodology, teaching and training of statistical computing and the organization of meetings and conferences with a statistical computing orientation."

Snack

Snack Sound Toolkit
http://www.speech.kth.se/snack/
"The combination of Snack and a scripting language makes it possible to create sound tools and applications with a minimum of effort. This is due to the rapid development nature of scripting languages. As a bonus you get an application that is cross-platform from start."

Tcl

http://www.tcl.tk/
This site is "the primary source of developer information about Tcl and Tk on the web. This site and its content is maintained by volunteers in the Tcl community; the site itself is presently hosted at ActiveState." It contains advocacy, tutorials, documentation, links, news, and more.

Xfig

http://www.xfig.org/
"This site provides resources for Xfig and related software." It includes a user manual, Xfig/Transfig software, JPEG software, an artwork gallery, examples and much more.


Engineering Library home | Engineering resources | Engineering databases | Engineering web resources

Guides | Engineering Library services | Part 4 & Geothermal reports | Faculty of Engineering


File last updated : July 14, 2011
This page is part of the Engineering Library website. Suggestions to: Susan Brookes